23%

Russell Court Hotel Dublin Reviews

3 Star Hotel
Harcourt Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland(republic Of), Dublin, Ireland (republic Of)
based on 49 reviews
3.2 out of 5

Here are the latest reviews for Russell Court Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in April 2014
Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5

I have never in my life stayed in such a bad hotel, it should'nt even be rated as a hotel, its more like a hostel.... everything is old, dirty, dated, wallpaper coming off the walls, threadbare carpet, rude staff.. we were in a tiny room, the bedside lights were broken, the window was too heavy and stuck, it would'nt open, (had to get a porter up twice to air the room)... It was like Beirut outside, the noise was outrageous... the hotel do state it can be noisy but this was beyond bearable, even with the earplugs provided...there were Ambulances, Firebrigades and Police swarming the place during the night... really scary stuff...we got no sleep...when we complained The Manageress was rude and 'offish'....would not recommend at all....you would be as well sleeping on the street......

Our Customer stayed here in February 2014
Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5

Room adequate, breakfast excellent, noise awful! Grand if you want to party until 4.am and then go to bed.

Our Customer stayed here in December 2013
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

Noise from nightclub is horrendous! 7.20 am next morning, truck was unloaded out front with kegs of beer.. Very noisy room on the front. Brekkie was really nice!

Our Customer stayed here in November 2013
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

The cottage I stayed in was perfect for a group of people to stay in Dublin City centre! Cheap, clean and well furnished with a nice breakfast the following day!

Our Customer stayed here in August 2013
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

Room was ok bit old and there was slight gaps in the balcony door so all noise came into the room and since the room was over looking the beer garden it was a noisy night (We stayed a Friday night). There was also bit of mould in the bathroom around the bath. However the room was clean with clean sheets, towels, etc. Breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly. The bar was lively and great for a night out. If you are out for the night this would be a good spot but if you are looking a quiet night and a full nights sleep i would avoid here at the week end. However other rooms away from the part of the hotel we stayed in could have been quieter

Our Customer stayed here in July 2013
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

Good value for money & ear-plugs worked deadening disco so got a good night's sleep!

Our Customer stayed here in July 2013
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Could not complain about the russel court hotel,the only thing was it was a bit noisey but we were told about that when booking,we brought our own ear plugs and then discovered the hotel supplied them also,the room was fab "FOUR POSTER BED",BREAKFAST was also very nice.

Our Customer stayed here in May 2013
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Lovely hotel and very friendly staff at reception and restaurant. Big rooms with high ceilings and large window. Very nice room, only downside was that is was ot very warm, over all lovely plave and highly recommend.

Our Customer stayed here in April 2013
Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5

Don't stay in this hotel ! The noise from the night club below made it impossible to sleep . Thus should not be a hotel !!!!

Our Customer stayed here in February 2013
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Had a great stay ..just remember its young and lively

Our Customer stayed here in January 2013
Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5

Too noisey

Our Customer stayed here in January 2013
Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5

Bad for sleep. It is good for a party. Breakfast and staff are good.

Our Customer stayed here in January 2013
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

The room was very dark and small and far too hot with no way of controlling the temperature. The bathroom was clean but the shower door was very narrow for entering and exiting the shower. Breakfast was fine.

Our Customer stayed here in November 2012
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

Had a great weekend. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Hotel in great location on Harcourt St right next to the famous "Copper Face Jacks". I got parking right across the road from the hotel but if not available it would have been awkward to find another car park. The Royal College of Surgeons was recommended but was a bit away on foot and couldn't be found on Google maps so with little experience of the area this could have n tricky. Would be help if hotel could recommend parking on their website and better still give info for sat navs. The only complaint i'd have is that the room was so warm for a November night and i could not turn down heating which was on all night and well into the morning. It was stifling. Also a ripped tatty looking couch in the centre of what was a nice bedroom didn't do it any favours.

Our Customer stayed here in September 2012
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

nice room but bathroom left a lot to be desired, toilet cistern comes away from the wall when you sit on the toilet and one on the Recess light fittings was hanging down by the wire from the ceiling, otherwise the room was ok.

Our Customer stayed here in August 2012
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Nice room, pleasant staff, shame about the Irish Breakfast with no bacon, but we were late for breakfast. Would recommend to everyone to stay.

Our Customer stayed here in April 2012
Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5

This hotel is a definite NO, if you like to sleep! The music was so loud in the room we were staying in that our drinks glasses, beds, floor and furniture actually vibrated!! Music went on until after 4am, earplugs were supplied but made no difference, my bed may have well of been in the middle of the dance floor! After 4 am the party moved out on to the street and carried on till early morning. Breakfast was awful, and we were charged 10 euro room service. I just have to add I am not against having a good night out, in fact I was in the nightclub till after 2am, but the noise level is ridiculous, it should be made absolutely clear that this hotel has absolutely no Sound proofing.

Our Customer stayed here in February 2012
Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5

I've used many of the hotels on Roomex before but this place has got to be the worst ever. The Russell Court is to be avoided at all costs. 1) card machine wasn't working at check in - asked for a cash deposit 2) nightclub underneath - music going before 10pm (a Wednesday night), got to sleep after 2am with the noise. Only noticed the ear plugs in the bathroom in the morning (yes, earplugs in the bathroom!!) 3) rooms had a lingering odour of cigarette smoke 4) staff at breakfast not interested in Guests needs - coffee only offered as leaving Would have been expensive even if free. It's just a kip. Never again.

Our Customer stayed here in February 2012
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Very good location

Our Customer stayed here in December 2011
Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5

excellent location as we were attending a party in Grafton Street.the room very comfortable and spotless. we enjoyed a very nice breakfast. overall a great expierience, i dont know why more people attending functions or even a days shopping dont avail of a overnight stay in your hotel. No worries about enjoying a few drinks in the city and having to make your way home, cheaper than a taxi fare.

Our Customer stayed here in December 2011
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

We arrived at reception and was ignored by the staff (4 in all) for the first two to three minutes,one counting cash,one on computer and the other two talking among themselves.On our second night the fire alarm went off at 12.30a.m.when we were fast asleep but nobody apolgised or asked had we enjoyed our stay when we checked out the next morning.It was very good value and our room was nice and warm.It was our first time staying there.

Our Customer stayed here in November 2011
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

Very noisy. Staff were very friendly on arrival but bouncers were very ignorant.

Our Customer stayed here in November 2011
Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5

The best night ever. What better hotel to stay in when we have the biggest party ever for our magnificent football team. Plus I loved our room.The decor was very period original looking. It was nice to stay in a room that was unique and not the typical hotel decor. It represented what Ireland is all about.Unfortunately I did not make it for breakfast the next morning to taste the food as I had one too many the night before.... I would definitely recommend this hotel and will book to stay their again Come On Ireland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Our Customer stayed here in November 2011
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

We really had a fantastic stay at the Russell Court Hotel. The Room it self was big and spacious and had plenty of charm. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. We will most definitly be going back to stay in the Russell Court again.

Our Customer stayed here in November 2011
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

Great room size for a reasonable rate!! i was a bit put out when they lookd for a deposit and checked on our room to find that the next person checking out didn't get the same treatment and only paid €45 for the room!!

Our Customer stayed here in November 2011
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

great hotel and so central.

Our Customer stayed here in October 2011
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

When I booked this hotel I was aware of its location and choose it for its convenience and location. If anyone wants a quiet hotel between Thursday and Monday, this is not the hotel for you. I found the room I got to be spacious and clean. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful in assisting with my queries.

Our Customer stayed here in July 2011
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

We were unlucky that one of the boilers went, so there was no hot water for a shower the next day so we had to have a cold shower. Most of the staff were lovely but one or two bouncers were a bit rude

Our Customer stayed here in March 2011
Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5

Dirty room, noisy, bad breakfast, never again!

Our Customer stayed here in January 2011
Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5

The room was large, clean and comfortable, and the en suite bathroom was very well appointed, with an excellent shower. Unfortunately, the hotel has a very busy and noisy night life, which went on until very late. The crowds then decanted onto Harcourt street, directly in front of the hotel (right under my window) to wait for taxis. The noise was horrendous, and when the crowd finally disappeared, I thought I might get some sleep. But the hotel then started to re-stock the bars with barrels, and that cacophony went on for another hour. And this was a Tuesday! I should have known I was in for a bad night when I noticed the complimentary ear plugs next to the shampoos. Sorry, never again.

Our Customer stayed here in October 2008
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

Room had lots of character - Georgian building, windows, high ceiling and wood panelling. That makes it stand out from the crowd. But enough noise on the street, whether it's from the tram or people leaving the night clubs, I didn't bother to find out. So not a restful night. I was at a private function that night, and there were 2 clubs with lond music. Didn't notice them from the bedroom. Perhaps a room higher up (we were on first floor) and to rear of hotel might have been better.

Our Customer stayed here in October 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Beautiful old Georgian house conversion. Our twin room was a big, high-ceilinged room, with tasteful old leather armchairs and two huge, soft beds, dark panelled furnishings and a spotless bathroom. Full Irish breakfast included in the very reasonable price was just the perfect finishing touch. All in all, a great experience.

Our Customer stayed here in August 2008
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

The hotel was quite basic and fairly clean - not as pristine as I'd hoped. The bars downstairs were very loud, which was fine for us but maybe not for people who want to go to sleep before 3am. We had a few problems in our room but were upgraded for the second night to a suite, which was lovely. Overall a good stay but would probably shop around before my next trip.

Our Customer stayed here in August 2008
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

The room(No 25)was clean and tidy, if a little warm. Facing out onto Harcourt Street, it was a trade-off as to how much we could open the windows for air and be affected by traffic noise. Our room did not get made up on Thursday 7 Aug. In fairness,this was partially our fault as we were in and out somewhat because of the inclement weather. The bathroom badly needs some shelving to enable clients to put out sponge bags, shaving kit,etc. The shower tray emptied very slowly, clearly the runaway was partially blocked. I reported this on the first evening and again when we checked out. Nothing had been done in the interim. The real downside was the noise made by the night-clubbers as they waited for their taxis at between 2.30 - 4.30am on Thursday and Saturday mornings, after the Wednesday and Friday night's events.They were not badly behaved, just noisy at a time when one should be fast asleep. The hotel-supplied earplugs helped, but only a little. I'm afraid this will preclude us staying at the Russell Court again.

Our Customer stayed here in July 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Our hotel stay was very enjoyable, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were beautiful. The entertainment in the hotel was great and very conveniently right on the our door step. All in all it was a very enjoyable evening.

Our Customer stayed here in June 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

The Hotel was very busy when we arrived on Saturday afternoon June 14th. The receptionist was very friendly & helpful. We were surprised to find we were actually given a suite as we had only booked a room for B & B. All in all it was a lovely experience except for the fact that we were heading to a concert & had to leave very early the next morning so we did not get to spend very much time in the hotel. Breakfast & dining room staff were first class. Would we go back? No: Reason, There was a disco next door which was very loud & went on for some hours after we had retired at midnight.

Our Customer stayed here in June 2008
Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5

I thought this Hotel was fantastic. The Staff were very helpfull and friendly, the location is ideal, the price was very reasonable and the breakfast was great. All and all I could not fault this hotel and I will stay again.

Our Customer stayed here in May 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

The hotel was more superior than I'd expected it to be for a three star hotel. We were treated to absolutely beautiful bedrooms with comfy beds and loads of room. Very glad to have a bath facilty as well as the usual shower facility offered at most hotels. The breakfast was great too, all freshly made, which makes a real difference and sets you up nicely for the day. The nightclub disturbed us a bit on our first night at the hotel, but we were expecting this. We didn't notice it on the Saturday night as we had such a busy day nothing would have kept us awake!! The hotel was perfectly located and the staff were very friendly and helpful and attentive to all our needs. A good stay was had by all.

Our Customer stayed here in March 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Efficient & very comfortable accommodation. Staying on a Monday night in March there was no noise disturbance - however, it's in clubland & I wouldn't recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet night during weekends or in-season - the management is obviously aware of this & considerately they include ear-plugs among the toiletries!

Our Customer stayed here in March 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

the room was very clean and wide ,shower and bathroom very nice ,the price is reasnable . the hotel is in the city centre.

Our Customer stayed here in January 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

All staff were extremely helpful during our stay. Location is great, 5minute walk to graffton street, 20 minute walk to the zoo and guinness factory. Rooms do not contain an iron, the tv was old and picked up few channels, we only had a shower no bath, room was at times cold, however despite these complaints the room was charming, large and very clean. We were warned about the noise from the clubs below, this was very loud on the Saturday night but stopped around 2.30/3am. Sunday night was quiet and no problems. Overall we all said we would stay here again. The atmosphere was great, the hotel was charming and you felt like you were right in the heart of everything.

Our Customer stayed here in January 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

We had a lovely stay at the Russell Court Hotel, Dublin. It was certainly very lively of a nightime which suited us. The rooms were lovely and the facilities are great. It was my second stay at the Russell Court hotel and I would definately go back again.

Our Customer stayed here in January 2008
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

the russell cort hotel was the most lively hotel i have ever stayed in, it has the best outdoor smoking area i have seen with great heaters. the food was lovely and nicely priced.the room was clean and warm and staff were friendly.there is one bad thing it doesent have a reisent bar and you have to battle to the main bar through crowds of people(nightmare). i would recomend this hotel to people who want a lively hotel. not a place for children you never get them asleep very noisey. overall we had a great time.

Our Customer stayed here in January 2008
Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5

The only advantage was is proximity of the center of Dublin. This hotel was the worse memory of our vacancie in Ireland. All other Hotels and B&B were better than this hotel. Our room was not really in the hotel but near the bar/nightclub. It's impossible to sleep very well :( The room was very sink because it was at the behind of the hotel and the only little windows was opposite of a mall. At the breakfast there's no much choice than all other breakfast i've eaten in Ireland. Can't go in this hotel !!!!! and don't hope to be in a 3* Hotel.....

Our Customer stayed here in December 2007
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

quick check-in, someone showed me to the lift, room was cleaned and ready from the check-in time. noise levels were not exaggerated, which explained the complimentary earplugs in the bathroom but the room itself was beautifully furnished, large and comfortable with a nice bathroom.

Our Customer stayed here in December 2007
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

The rooms very quite small and very HOT! There was a king size bed but it had a double matress so everytime you moved so did the mattress! The rooms served their purposes and was somewhere to get your head down.

Our Customer stayed here in December 2007
Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

stayed at the hotel as i was having a christmas party in the city centre. the hotel is really well located, close to plenty of good bars and clubs. the room was clean and functional, tea coffee making facilities. staff were friendly. although it was only a flying visit i will definately return.

Our Customer stayed here in December 2007
Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5

The Russell Court Hotel in Dublin offers a central good value break for those travelling.Within 5 minutes walk of Grafton Street there is no need for taxis or buses.The decor in the corridors and rooms is a little tired but the overall service and food was very good.We will definitely use this hotel and roomex again.

Our Customer stayed here in November 2007
Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5

This is a really beautiful hotel inside and out. However, The receptionist was not helpful at all. I booked a double room and we were put in two single beds wrapped together in a big sheet!! As we had spent 20plus hours travelling before we arrived (near midnight) at the Russell court, when booking, i knew we would be exhausted and so i requested a room in any quiet area of the hotel, as the website said that some rooms would be noisy due to the club downstairs. Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel and so we were subjected to a constant stream of shouting and drunken singing etc until after 4am. Upon our arrival i did remind them of the fact that we had asked for a quiet room, but i was told that they had 'forgotten' and that there were no other rooms available. When booking, i also asked if it would be possible to get a late check out seeing as we were arriving so late and after such a long journey. They offered us an extra 15minutes, which seems to me that it was a part of our booking that was also 'forgotten'. Most decent hotels that i have stayed at in the past, will happily accommodate a late check-out, especially when it is mentioned at the time of booking. How would 15mins make any difference at all, to anyone??? I was too tired to go down for breakfast which we had paid for, but my partner went down and was told that he had missed it by ONE minute. he was given a paltry cup of coffee and ONE croissant. I am glad to have the opportunity to write this review, as the sub-standard service and disgraceful lack of attention to detail left alot to be desired. It is such a shame, when the building and decor is so beautiful and well maintained. If only their staff and their customer service were maintained to the same standards...


loading...