Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork Cork City Military Road, St Luke's Cross, Cork City, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 32 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork Cork City

Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and comfortable. Great location. Lovely hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Very attentive and helpful staff. The room was a long way from the entrance. The heat wasn't great. The room was well fitted out. The bathroom was a bit small. The hotel is in super location walking distance of Cork City Centre. On the breakfast was just to much food especially the 'fry'.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

What a fantastic hotel. The Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Receptionists were exceptional and so are the night staff shift. Was conversational and helpful in every way. The rooms were modern,clean and the beds .ie. the mattress was so comfy would love a mattress like that at home! The food was delicious and reasonable in price, the views magnificent and the outside seating area ideal for a lazy sunny afternoon. Overall one of the best hotel stays I have had in a long long time well done! I will be back to stay in the Ambassador asap

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Large, well appointed rooms with very comfortable beds (although the pillows were disappointing). We found the staff to be very professional and courteous throughout our stay. While the food was quite good, the menu definitely wasn't 4* standard. Great location.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

It's quite some time since I've been to this hotel and I'm delighted to see that it is being upgraded. The new bar/restaurant to the left of reception is fabulous with great views over the city. Whilst we did not eat dinner there, we had a superb breakfast, everything was hot and served with a smile. Our bedroom was a newly renovated one and was very big and spacious - as good as many 4 star hotels I have stayed in. The only downside to the hotel is that the reception area is still dowdy but I guess that will be worked on in due course. Also, it's a bit of a maze getting to the bedrooms depending on which one you are in, we had to take one lift up one floor and then down some corridors before getting another lift up 2 more floors - a minor complaint after a wonderful stay. It's a great hotel for the price and I will return.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Excellent location, very friendly and accommodating, only downside there is no longer smoking rooms located in the hotel, which is a pity! wouldn't always stay here when I'm in Cork.....

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Positives;We had a very pleasent stay. It was good value and the staff were very helpful. It was 15 mins walk to patrick street which was all downhill. Trouble was the walk back was all uphill. Would recommend getting a taxi back which cost 10 euro. Parking was free. Negatives; the room was small. There was a wedding on the night we stayed which meant breakfast was very busy and there didnt seem to be enough staff on.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Hotel was lovely, staff were friendly from reception to bar to breakfast serving staff. had drinks in the bar on the night of our stay, bar felt a bit cold but that was minor issue as it was late in the evening. The lifts were a bit shakey felt as if they were going to breakdown each time we used them but they served there purpose. The breakfast was fabulous really good choice of cold / cereal buffet and the hot food was scrumptious. Room was spacious and comfortable. and hotel is about 15 mins walk to patrick street and you can leave car there and save city center parking rates. Overall would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

The hotel was very good and had a very nice room. Staff at reception very friendly also the late bar bar attendent. My only down side was the location of the hotel. We found the hill a bit difficult as we had walked from the station. Otherwise all good

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Always stay here when in Cork for the jazz festival, rooms are spacious, comfortable and bright. Breakfast is very good and staff are very helpful. Location is close to the city - leave your car at the hotel and it is only a ten minute walk to Patrick St.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

Had a pleasent stay at this hotel. Staff are very friendly. Hotel overall is very clean. After returning from our night out in the city we were greeted by hotel porter Don with who we had a great chat with. Will return here again in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

Excellent location and very accommodating staff!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

On arrival, we were given a very small depressing double room which looked out on a flat roof and chimney. We were not happy as we were staying for two nights. I immediately called reception and we were then given a much nicer room overlooking the city. Reception staff were very helpful and accommodating. Apparently there was a problem with the boiler and therefore we had cold showers on both days. Bar staff were pleasant and efficient, however I'm not sure about returning there in the future.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Lovely hotel with character. Food excellent. Only negative is parking was scarce on site but we got a space!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

I booked a triple room and room consisted of two double beds and one single bed. Room was most comfortable. Breakfast was very satisfactory and enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it was comfortable and warm and has a lovely view of the city.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

I was very impressed with my stay at the Ambassador Hotel, loved the size of the room,the staff very nice and helpful. Fab views from the hotel, we would have loved a balcony got to see a room with one, our friends were staying in one. We had a meal which was fabulous at the hotel. My only complaint were the pillows very hard. Overall impression very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

I booked a single room, it had a king size bed but the pillows were very hard (don't understand why most hotels have hard pillows, you'd think they'd try & make it comfortable for residents).It had a nice balcony. Bathroom was nice too, towels on heated rail etc.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The staff were very nice and the bed was really comfortable, but the hotel was shabby and a bit of a disappointment. The fan in the bathroom didn't work, the shower temperature was all over the place, the food was mediocre, the waiter didn't know what free-range chicken was! Not impressed at all.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

The Ambassador is a very friendly hotel . Staff are very pleasant,Room was very comfortable , breakfast was expectant. Over all stay. Very pleasant! "will be back" .

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

We stayed for 1 night to meet up with friends. Very nice, clean hotel. Beautiful big and comfortable rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast and very good value. Would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

nice hotel no major complaints... shortage of towels but only noticed on day of departure so didn't really take action and i'm sure the staff would of had no problem helping out.. staff were very friendly.. rooms were nice but dated but were clean.. only thing i found a bit off was when walking down the hallway to stairs the windows were been kept open by small shampoo bottles..it's a little thing which just didn't fit in and just looked cheap. nice location but be warned there is a trek up a hill to get to it so be warned great price for a weekend stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

good service, good rooms, a little further from the city, than led to believe, but otherwise very satisfactory, and excellent value

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

The overall hotel was lovely but I was in an attic room. There was a big rip in the curtain and I found the room quite cold ( definitely not 4 star standard) The Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

This is a great hotel; hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Corks main drag you are ensured a quite stay but a special one. The beautiful old red brick building is well maintained and skilfully updated whilst maintaining its olde world charm. Ample parking close to the main door, helpful friendly staff, calm and peaceful atmosphere, good reasonably priced food and a FRESHLY COOKED BREAKFAST. This is a return visit for me and I will return again - definitely my first choice hotel in Cork.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Booking experience fine, staff courtesy fine. accommodation well below the expected standard for a hotel which advertises its accommodation as 'luxury'. There was no heating and the weather was cold (mid-September), there was no bath, just a shower with a broken door. I had to keep the curtains closed because the L-shaped building design enabled other people to look directly into my room. I mentioned these shortcomings on the hotel feedback form but have yet to receive any contact from the hotel, despite specifically asking for an apology. I would not book into this hotel again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

we really enjoyed our stay at the ambassador, on arrival parking was great, staff were so friendly, our room was very clean and comfortable, we used the gym,jacuzzi, steam room and sauna it was nice and relaxing... we had our breakfast there and one evening meal it was fabulous if we stayed again id prefer a room easier to get to we spent more time in the elevator but we'd definatly stay again :o)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Staff were all very helpful and approachable. Room was in excellent condition and hotel in general was a lovely mix of old and new. We ate in the bar one evening and did find the service a little slow but this seemed to be down to a sudden influx of people (it was lashing down at the time too) rather than an issue with the hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

The ambassador gave us a very memorable and enjoyable stay in cork recently. We went to Cork for a girlie weekend. When we checked in we were upgraded to a room that was more like a suite - with massive comfy double beds and a view extending over the city from our balcony - it was fantastic. The staff could not do more for us either, advising us on restaurants and booking appointments for hairdressers they even came out with umbrellas for us to better enjoy our trip to Fota wildlife park! When we returned after a night out painting cork even redder, we were able to enjoy some more drinks and a few laughs in the bar with the friendly night porter in attendance. The breakfast was much appreciated the next morning where we were able to dine with lovely views over a sundrenched Cork. I would recommend the hotel highly - friendly, beautiful and well located - the only down point is the walk up the hill from town - but without that hill there would be none of the fantastic views! :)

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

room was so cold had to get a portable heater from reception.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Made very welcome on arrival, told where all facilities were and given envelope with details of local interest. Very comfortable and generous sized room with huge window looking out over Cork City. Made the ten minute walk down to the city centre and although it is a stiff uphill walk back to the hotel, cabs are available and the hotels down in the city looked as if they could suffer from noise. Breakfast good, with very pleasant waiting staff. Overall a very pleasant stay and would certainly return if visiting Cork again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Great Hotel, fantastic staff and people, great food and a grand stay. Will go back there.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Hotel is situated on top of a steep hill, so may not be suitable for everyone to walk up/down...it was fine for us. Couldn't fault the room in any way, it was clean and tidy with the usual comforts, Staff were friendly & helpful, all in all, an enjoyable stay !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5