The Ardilaun Hotel Galway Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 61 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Ardilaun Hotel Galway

Our Customer stayed here in April 2018

This is a charming and cosy hotel with lovely friendly staff, particularly noteworthy was Anna Lisa on reception who was especially helpful. The pool and gym area are lovely and we enjoyed the aqua classes we attended. Breakfast was delicious and offered good variety. Would highly recommend this hotel and we hope to stay again in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

Will be back again soon.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

We were a party of five and were very pleased with our stay. The only think I would ask as one of our party is celaoic would be a bigger variety of gluten free breakfast foods. Thank you

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2015

Shame the power pressure was not good - I had to stand right in under it beside the wall.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

This was our first time staying here and we were delighted to see such a lovely large reception area. Lots of cosy armchairs and space. The check in and out was excellent and we could not fault the room, good size, all the usual facilities. There is a slight leaning towards showing its age but it still ticks all the boxes. Plenty of free car parking and a 25 minute walk or short taxi ride to Galway city centre and even closer to Salthill, adds to the appeal.Bar menu looked fine but we went into town and the staff were all very professional , friendly and helpful. No problem returning as it was excellent value for a Saturday night.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

We really enjoyed our stay for the new year at the Ardilaun hotel. The single room was very spacious and staff were very friendly. All the girls at reception were very friendly and helpful. The only thing was my nephew and his wife and three kids were not going to the ball on New Years eve and they had to eat in the bar, he was not informed he had to book a table also they were told there was a child's disco on the night but this not happen but they enjoyed the pool. We were a party of twenty two and that was the only complaint. His 1st room was awful but he was moved and that room was much better. We certainly would recommend this hotel and go back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Stayed there for a wedding and found overall experience very satisfactory.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

Nice hotel. Pool and hammam are perfect.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Utterly disappointing hotel. Attended for a wedding two weeks ago and was completely underwhelmed with the tiny, tired room (307) charged at extortionate prices. The beds were old and uncomfortable and the carpets in desperate need of renewal. Food at the wedding was lovely, breakfast only average. There are far better located hotels in Galway with far superior rooms for often less money.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Very clean well maintained Hotel. Staff could not have been more attentive and professional. Breakfast from hot buffet disappointing- lukewarm fried eggs and dried out bacon but I believe this is in hand.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ardilaun. We stayed for a weekend break recently. The reception area and staff were very welcoming. We ate lunch in the bar on the first day and it was very tasty. You couldn't fault the room in any way, it was very clean and tidy. The leisure facilities are good but shame the sauna was out of order during our stay. It is an old style hotel and could probably do with some modernisation, especially in the bar. All in all it was a very friendly hotel with good location for the city or to explore the sites of Galway.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

We were in Galway for a wedding at another hotel which was booked out. Booked through roomex as the Ardilaun was just down the road. Our room was nice one of the up to date ones by the look of the hotel & the other rooms. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way it should be. Staff are very friendly and helpful in every way. The one fault is the breakfast area this was way to small for the amount of rooms in the hotel we had to wait 15 min for a table at breakfast which was at 9:15. Overall the hotel could do with a face lift just to Give it a fresh new look inside as its very old looking but still clean & tidy.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Ardilaun Hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and efficient. Rooms were comfortable quiet and showers were very good.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Very happy with stay. Comfortable. Good pool and facilities. Good breakfast. Freiendly staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

I've stayed in the Ardilaun and am sorry to say that I usually leave feeling disappointed. The room that you get is very much the luck of the draw. Get one in the newer part of the hotel, and you're fine. The older rooms leave a bit to be desired. They're clean, but they feel like they've definitely seen better days. Many of them are VERY far away from the lift. If mobility is even remotely an issue for you, you should indicate this when you're booking. I encountered a few weary older people making their way from the lift to their room beside mine. I did eventually see another lift, but it takes you down to an emergency exit and, if you're going up, there's no signpost to it from the lower floors. I had no chance of finding it a second time. Breakfast is just about okay (mind you, the fruit is inexplicably diced into tiny, tasteless pieces), but nothing special. The staff, too, are okay. My general impression this time, as on previous occasions, is that it is reasonable, and nothing more. Given the choice, the Ardilaun is not where I'd go. It's functional rather than exciting. I've had recent stays in The Harbour Hotel and the The Galway Bay and I'd prefer those - for the food, the welcome and the ambience. It's clear that the Ardilaun has a lot of local loyalty and that is, to an extent, a good sign. However, it often seems that the staff/management are comparatively lazy when it comes to making an effort for non-Galwegians. When I was checking in, the woman next to me tried to engage the reception guy in conversation on three separate occasions (about the weather, her journey, whether Galway was busy). She got nowhere. On paper and in the brochures, the Ardilaun looks like it should be unbeatable. In the flesh, it's a bit of a let-down.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

This hotel was fab and de staff couldn have been any nicer will stay again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Stayed one night, quite a while to check in due to large wedding in progress (fair enough), room keys didnt work and long trek from our 'garden' room back to reception. Several attempts at room service before having to go through reception to get our order through. Main gripe would be the room was cold, there was a hint in that they had an extra plugin heater in the room. Major gripe was shower, ran inconsistently incredibly hot and cold, thankfully didnt have the kids with us who like showers as it would have been potentially disastrous. Staff were pleasant and feel bad saying it was poor but too many negatives in such a short time. Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

An excellent hotel, very good room and excellent breakfast. The spa/swimming pool was also very good. One small thing that could have been better: the heating was not on in the bedroom when we arrived. Otherwise, an excellent experience and good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Service not good & ignorant woman Catherine on reception. Not made feel v welcome & had room with child and v pokey

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

My experience staying at the Ardilaun was very good. Prompt, efficient check in and check out. Room was very clean. No complaints.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Excellent hotel. Extremely helpful staff, special mention to our waiter Pablo who by his pleasant manner and great sense of humour left us all smiling. Great food and our room was lovely too. Its about 5 mins drive from d city centre but is in a great location as it is near Salthill but within easy access to the city. We'll be back!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

This is a lovely hotel. This was my third time to stay here and I'll definitely stay here again. It is a bit away from the city centre. Was lucky to have stayed previously in one of the newer suites and they are lovely. This time we stayed in one of the older more traditional rooms and it was very nice and very clean. The dinner on both nights was delicious and the buffet breakfast is also very nice.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

lovely stay at this great hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

It wasn’t the first time we stayed in Ardilaun and there are reasons why we do keep coming back. You couldn’t possibly fault Ardilaun and its stuff in any aspect…For us it’s a baseline of a solid, top quality standard and also value for money (especially when one gets a “special offer”)…Good old faithful…Thanks again, we shall be back…

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

The Ardilaun has very friendly staff who were accomodating. The hotel has a nice feel and atmosphere. However, I feel that the price paid for the room did not reflect the standard of the room. The fictures and fittings were dated including the bed covers. To pay such a price for one night without breakfast I would have expected more.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Hotel in a nice quiet beautiful location. My room was a little bit on the small side however, I was in another room that was very large and luxurious. Staff pleasant and very helpful. Myself and my partner attended a wedding there and we stayed for 3 nights and we had a really good time.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

attended a wedding and had great weekend, food was good and staff friendly. will be back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Stayed at the Ardilaun first week of May 2012 to attend a wedding. Hotel management certainly have their act together in how to provide for a large wedding. All staff, and especially management, were very attentive and you felt that you could relax and leave matters in their hands. This was very helpful in that you were free to mingle with your guests. Banqueting room was beautifully set up and managed. All-in-all a very pleasant experience.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

I stayed in the Ardilaun Hotel before and could not fault anything at that time This time it was even more satisfactory. The Staff was very helpfull and my evening meal was lovely too. Unfortunately I had no time to use the SPA this time as. I will go back to the ardilaun again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

very well run hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

It was basic,same as every other hotel. Nothing exceptionally good or bad about it. Cold sitting in the reception s the doors keep opening.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

We had a very nice time in this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was fantastic value the deal that we got. €209 for 3 people sharing for B and B and a 4 course dinner also for 3 people. The hotel was clean. However the rooms were a little bit dated. I would have no hesitation in going back again or recommending it to a friend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Were there recently for a wedding - it was nice and comfortable. Was a litle bit disapointed with room as next to lift and noise level re lift and the irish drinkers bit loud so nights sleep broken coupla times Found the bedroom nice and cosy though - breakfast was tasty

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. We dined in the bar one night and the food was excellent. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Excellant Taxi service from the Hotel into Galway City. We will stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

No problems checking in even though did not have booking ref with me Staff could not do enough for us, big room with all requirements, will stay there again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

An excellent hotel, close to Galway City Centre and with ample parking. Very hard to fault in any direction and staff are friendly and go out of their way to look after their guests.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Lovely old style hotel but well kept and held a great wedding event there

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

enjoyed the stay staff wellcoming hotel clean and the food on offer very good will stay there again

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

lovely hotel, room very small,unable to open or look out window, glass was bubble glass so you could not look out at at small dark yard outside window. the room was dark and hot with no fresh air very disapointing. nice breakfast and lesuire centre was good. nice break in hotel but pity about room.would not be rushing back, substandard room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Nice hotel, food was great.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Nice hotel.Plenty parking spaces.Spacious rooms if maybe a small bit dated. Stayed at the hotel for a wedding and the food was very good. Huge reception area with plenty seating which was very nice.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

really enjoyed our stay! Hotel staff very friendly

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Ardilaun is a nice comfortable hotel with good facilities. Free internet and a spacious lounge. Breakfast was substantial if a bit predictable. Staff were friendly and location is fine.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

A very relaxing and most enjoyable stay. We were attending a wedding at the Hotel. Food was first class. Our room was luxurious. Sorry we couldnt have stayed a few days longer. Staff were exceptionally friendly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

This is a 3* at best and gets the fourth star for having a leisure centre attached to it. So unless you're specifically going there for the pool etc I would say it's not worth the money. It's dated and dusty so if you like modern try somewhere else. In it's favour it has free parking, nice garden walks out the back and the staff are nice and helpful.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Main reception and bar areas were very nice. Room was very outdated and dissapointing for the high room rate. Breakfast was very good.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding on the Friday night and stayed there again on saturday through roomex. Our room was a few minutes away, but really spacious. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay !

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

everything in the hotel was 4 star staff very friendly food superb.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Ardilaun Hotel was below 4 star standard. Bathroom was of a very poor standard. Shower was particularly bad - fixed fitting and extremely hard to regulate. Paintwork chipped at side of bath and noisy fan came on every time light was switched on - not restful for the other occupant. Other than that Room and food was fine. TV could be updated!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Stayed for a wedding Octber bank holiday weekend. Through Roomex I paid 115 euro for the night for 2 people bed and breakfast which was exceptionally reasonable given the standard of the hotel, the food and the service provided by the staff. Very satisfied with the stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Not a particularly well located hotel in Galway and not deserving of its 4 star rating. Dated decor in need of upgrade. Reception staff are efficient and friendly Rooms are spacious but not exactly luxurious and in need of upgrade. Breakfast buffet is adequate but hardly spectacular. Restaurant is good but pricey. There are better places to stay in Galway.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Disappointing...expected a lot more from this hotel.It was unclear whether we were on the first or second floor and after several times going up and down in the lift we had to return to reception and ask. Was at the far end of the hotel and once we got onto the floor we had to haul suitcases up and down further flights of stairs. The double room was tiny, with two single beds at either end, the decor was ancient and the smell unbearable. We contacted reception and requested that out room be moved and we were out in a marginally larger room with a double bed, still not great.We saw other rooms that friends of ours were in and they were much better for the same price. It is a lovely hotel; the staff, food and pool are are excellent but the rooms let it down badly

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

what a fab hotel, very comfortable and relaxing, staff courtious, just what we needed, !!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We stayed last weekend for 2 nights in the Ardilaun. I noticed on my return to Dublin I had misplaced some jewellery. I rang the Ardilaun and my jewellery was handed in to reception by the cleaning staff. I would like to thank whoever it was that cleaned our room and in particular for being so kind and honest in handing in my jewellery. It is very much appreciated.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

We stayed in the Ardilaun for 1 night recently. From start to finish we were delighted with our choice - the bright airy reception area hits you as soon as you get in - fabuous. We were there for a surprise party so there were a number of us staying - we had our 8 month old with us but had no problems whatsoever. The cot provided was clean & in good condition (babs slept through the night so that was good!), highchair in the restaurant was fine too. The babysitter we booked was on time, very reasonable & very good with babies (a retired nurse so very experienced also). Our meal in the Camilaun restaurant was superb - service was excellent (there were 15 of us), choice on the table d'hote menu was fantastic & they even organised a cake for us (which they decorated, put candles in, sliced & boxed up for us). The waiting staff were excellent - attentive without hovering and no request too big or small. One minor complaint I would have was in relation to our room & its location. We were in a room near the restaurant & the lift - it was an old lift and so we could hear it cranking up every time it was called - throughout the night! We however didnt hear anything from the very large wedding party that was on in the hotel that day. Having said that though, some of our party who had rooms on a different side of the hotel could hear the music from the wedding well into the small hours & found that some of the rooms weren't as soundproofed as they might have liked! However all in all, we were all very happy with the hotel & the staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

We were initially given a room in the old part of the hotel. The room was by no means 4* standard and decor required re-vamp.We requested a change of room if possible and we were given a room in the new section. This room was amazing,decor beautiful,services fantastic,all staff helpful,a great stay over all.Just proves how reviews can vary so much for the same hotel if the standard of accommodation is so varied within the same premises.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

With the June bank holiday fast approaching we decided to head to Galway for the weekend. After checking around we got great deal with Roomex and booked the Ardilaun Hotel on taylors hill. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. I called in advance to see if we could upgrade the room to a suite but the hotel was fully booked. However when we arrived we were quite surprised as the room was exceptionally large and had a great view over the garden. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, excellent breakfast and the Ardilaum is only 5 minutes from Eyre Square. I would definitely recommend the Ardilaun Hotel and would book again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

lovely hotel but original room wasnt cleaned proberly and wasnt that impressive, but it was dealt with very swiftly and new room was much nicer with better facilities, food was fab and leasure center was well worth a visit

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

very good stay - great breakfast following morning -

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Nice and friendly staff. good location

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5