Ashling Hotel Dublin Parkgate Street, Dublin 8, Dublin, Ireland

Also known as: Best Western Ashling
8/10.0 Based on 117 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Ashling Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in February 2018

Lovely hotel, my room was comfortable & very clean. Very convenient & quiet, just what I had hoped for. Staff so professional & pleasant. I would recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2017

We arrived at 12 and were able to go the room immediately. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. The gluten free breakfast was superb as was the whole buffet breakfast. The coeliac offering "for dinner" is the menu that was limited just one dish I think.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Lovely hotel close to Heuston station. Red Luas line passes outside the door making it convenient to get to. Often when you book a single room in a hotel you are hoping to get a double room for single use as usually these rooms are more like a broom cupboard where someone decided to put a bed in. Quite the opposite in the Ashling! I was given a single room on the 7th floor that was just as luxurious as the double room I stayed in previously. Plenty of space, and a lovely bathroom with shower only. Wish more hotels would recognize that business travelers still want a decent room even if there's only one person sleeping there. Breakfast was great, a huge selection from the buffet, and food in the bar was good too.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff and an amazing breakfast selection. Our room was a bit small for 3 adults and there was a shortage of electrical sockets but neither of these things would put me off staying again, already booked our next stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Had a fab weekend, the room was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. Make sure you book breakfast with your stay, other top hotels should check the breakfast offering at the Ashling, the best ever by far. I've already booked another visit👍

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

We stayed in the Ashling Hotel on Sat 29th April and were given a complimentary upgrade as we had just gotten engaged. The hotel was very busy as it was a bank holiday weekend and we appreciated the lovely gesture to make our weekend even more special. We ate in the hotel that evening and the food was delicious and I highly reccommend the breakfast too many options to choose from something for everybody. The staff were friendly and very helpful also, cannot fault this hotel at all.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2016

Arguably one of the best hotels in Dublin. Everything was perfect and the breakfast is definitely one of the best anywhere in the world, never mind Dublin. Rooms have everything you could ask for. I know this sounds like an ad but it is true. I highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2016

Excellent staff room very good and location really good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2015

We had a short one night stay at the Ashling recently to attend a concert in Dublin. We were most impressed by the quality of the hotel and its pleasant location near the city centre. The hotel has its own multi story car park which is a must in Dublin. On arrival we were told that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a Deluxe room with king size bed and the biggest hotel bathroom I have ever seen. The room was quiet and comfortable and had its own balcony/terrace looking out over the river Liffey. Breakfast was most impressive with a large number of items to choose from - the hot breakfast was served by a chef which meant it was piping hot and hadn't been rifled through by other guests. Breakfast was excellent. I would highly recommend the Ashling, particularly to anyone attending a concert at nearby Vicar Street or travelling from the North as it is very accessible from the main route into Dublin.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Great hotel and in a great location. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Very fast check in. Friendly staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

We are regular visitors to the Ashling. On our most recent visit we stayed in a Superior Twin room. The decor and bathroom were very modern, the beds were comfortable, and the sound-proofing meant that we had a peaceful night's sleep at the front of the hotel. Our only negative criticism of the room is in relation to the very short bottom sheets on the beds; they do not 'tuck in' and consequently are uncomfortable. Breakfast was excellent, a meal in the Bar satisfactory, and as always the staff were smiling and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

We(there were 4 of us) enjoyed out stay in the Ashling Hotel. We had 2 twin rooms which were excellent, beds were very comfortable, could not find fault with them. We were in Dublin for a concert and we had bar food before we went to the concert, that too was great. Staff both at Reception and the bar were so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

A comfortable bed, a good shower and a breakfast with a wide variety of freshly prepared food are the most important features of any hotel. The Ashling provides all of these superbly. The receptionists and dining room staff are friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The hotel is close to Heuston Station and tram stops.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

We spent one night in Ashling Hotel Dublin when back from our holidays, the room was big, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good, the only thing I would like to remark is that an additional fee was due to have a cappuccino instead of filter coffee. Overall, I can recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

A most enjoyable stay. Everything about this hotel is good! Spotless rooms, fast check in and great food.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel, we passed it many times and did not realise how busy it was, had an evening meal, lovely,and the selection for breakfast was second to none. Really good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

We have stayed in the Ashling several times. The hotel has a wonderfully spacious reception area with seating where, unlike many hotels, one does not feel obliged to order a drink or coffee. As on previous visits, we met friendly staff at reception and throughout the hotel. We had requested a quiet room, and our room at the back of the hotel was indeed very quiet, well furnished and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had a very good shower over a full-size bath. Breakfast in the bright dining room was excellent with a huge choice of fresh fruit, cereals, freshly-baked bread, rolls and croissants, plus hot and cold savory items. There is even a gluten-free section. We had an enjoyable meal in the bar where the menu is varied and interesting. It is also a good place for a drink, with huge comfortable sofas. We will be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

We availed of "Room Only" for just one night. Reception very friendly and efficient. Room was good and well equipped. It was our first visit to the hotel, hopefully the first of many. The location is excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Very pleased with our stay in the Ashling. From the minute we stepped inside the door we were treated with the upmost courtesy

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

My stay at the Ashling was perfect, everything worked as it should. check-in, room quality, food and relaxed atmosphere. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay !

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Ashling Hotel. Hotel Lovely, room was beautiful and food great too. The staff were amazing. It was so convenient to access the O2 via the Luas for the Andre Rieu concert. It was also very convenient to Heuston Station. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

The Ashling is a good hotel in what is for me a great location. Reception staff are friendly and quick, the common areas of the hotel are both nice and clean, and the beds are comfortable. Car parking is 8 Euros per day and there is a great public transport hub 100m away at Heuston Station. So I parked my car on arrival, slept well, attended to all my duties in different city centre locations on the following day, collected my car and drove home. QED

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Very welcoming and comfortable hotel set in an ideal location if you are travelling to Dublin by rail.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Really nice Hotel. Reception staff could make more eye contact with customers while dealing with them and not give the impression that its a chore!! Great Hotel which has hugely improved in all areas in recent years

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Staff highly efficient and very friendly. Room very clean and comfortable. Toilet/Shower sparkling. Clean Towels were supplied without requesting them-nice thought-will certainly re-visit.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

we had a very nice stay in the Ashling,Our room was a little small and terribly warm due to high temperatures.It had 1 double and 1 single bed.2 doubles like we had on our last stay would have been so much better.Very clean room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Great rooms. Very clean and modern. Comfortable beds. Some of the back rooms are close to exhaust fans of the hotel, and that makes some noise, however, it did not disturb my sleep. Food borderline expensive, but very good quality.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Clean and comfortable. Staff efficient and friendly

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

Back again from the Ashling hotel had another fantastic stay there. We go there as a group from Cork to attend the Ireland soccer matches. Everything about the hotel is fantastic, the location right next to the train station, the comfort of the rooms, and the staff are always very welcoming. I would recommend the Ashling hotel for a great stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

Arrived in late after a flight delay. Checkin was swift and friendly. Room was big, cosy and had all I needed. The heating didn't seem to be on which was strange. Also the wifi never worked. Shame as otherwise it's very nice.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

well done up lovely feel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Very convenient location. Staff were friendly and helful. Accommodation and food wwere to a very good standard.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

It was a disgrace.the breakfast server was so rude and slopped my plate with beans the full plate she was arrogant and I left after paying for breakfast and ate nothing as u couldnt eat what was on the plate very bad quality.the room was tired old and dirty I actually took photos of the dirt and hair in the bed and will be contacting the hotel myself with these as its unacceptable.the window latch was broken so it wudnt close and the noise outside was very loud.ive told numerous people in work and at home about the awful room and lack of breakfast due to a staff member I will be going further on this matter

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

The overall experience was very positive.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Stayed here a while back and i got a fab room. Stayed here Saturday nite and got the worst room. The bed was so small we didnt sleep a wink!! The room was really old. I did ask for an upgrade but they told me they were booked up. Went doen for breakfast on Sunday morning and i was the member of staff was so rude. When checking out i was never asked did i enjoy my stay or anything!! Very disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

lovely hotel, beautiful rooms, brilliant staff. only downside our room was just above the luas track which was very noisey late into the night and very early in the morning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Have stayed here on several occasions. Enjoyed the lovely cosy room. Dining room excellent with friendly and helpful staff such as Maria. Looking forward to going back again,

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Pleasant stay in a very convenient location. Nice foyer area with a good buzz. All staff were very friendly, room was nice and big, and breakfast was very good with a excellent choice.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Stayed at the hotel with my husband last week-end. My overall experience was very good. The Breakfast was the highlight - everything that you could possible want was at hand and such a wonderful variety. The only down side to our stay was the bed - a little on the small side and the toilet behind the bathroom door I didnt like either. Will definately stay again, very uptodate and convenient, easy access to town - right across the road from Luas and Hueston station.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Excellent hotel opposite heuston train station. Ideal location for concerts in Kilmainhaim. Tram stop outside the door for quick and easy access to the city centre. On site reasonably priced car park. Free WiFi. Lovely rooms with all new fittings. Excellent breakfast. Very good staff. Would highly recommend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Rooms Old Fashioned , definately Not a 4 star Hotel which i would Normally stay in . No Mini Bar and called to Reception at 3am for A bottle of wine and was told Sorry No Room service availabe . Bit far out of city centre also . Buffet Breakfast Over cooked and staff Not Really Friendly . First Bad Review i have Ever written and Stay in hotels atleast twice a month .

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

The hotel looks good from outside but by no means is this a four star hotel. The reception of the hotel looks good but rooms were not up to a 4 star standard, old furniture, carpet in bad condition and bathroom very rusty in places. Hotel out of the way from the city centre. Would definitely not stay at this hotel again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

This is a good value for money hotel. I had no fault with the room or bathroom but the duvet was like a floor rug thick and heavy and the pillows were hard. It is now so easy to get good synthetic duvets that there is no reason to use these old heavy ones. The cooked part of the breakfast was not good but the choice was excellent. The coffee was disappointing.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Hotel Room was excellent. When being booked in I was pleasantly surprised to know if we wanted room situated in Front or Back. Expected to get room at 2 pm. On arrival I was informed that room would not be available for at least half an hour. We were requested to sit in Bar, was this a ploy to purchase their overpriced Beverages-€5-30 for a pint of beer-exceptionally expensive!!!!. It seemed there was no system in place to let people know their room was ready and it was only when Guests returned to reception inquiring about availability of room that they were allocated one. It must be taken into account that all guests have traveled,some long distance, and need a rest on arrival so I think it is imperative that rooms are available at the allocated time of 2 pm. Otherwise I found the Hotel excellent value for money principally because of the Room allocated and I would certainly stay in the Ashling Hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Staff throughout the hotel and especially in Reception are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent with a huge range on offer. Bar very atmospheric. rooms well equipped and comfortable, even quiet for a city location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable, perfect if you over look the view of a concrete wall! The food in the Chesterfield Brasserie is excellent. The staff were all extremely efficient and friendly. I would highly recommend the Ashling to anyone visiting the city centre!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Excellent staff,very welcoming. We stayed here for a concert and I have to say they pulled out all the stops. They gave out maps and information at the reception regarding the concert,had late after concert food specials and also had the bands album on in the bar when we got back. The room was lovely and clean. Breakfast was a fantastic spread. All in all 5 out of 5,this is our third time staying here and we shall be back!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

This hotel is an excellent location for train and luas transport. It is of a very high standard,rooms tastefully decorated,comfortable and cleanliness was excellent. The security system is reassuring for all travellers. Breakfast is of the highest standard. Staff were courteous and welcoming.Very good value for money.I will definitely stay at this hotel on all my future visits to Dublin. Thank you.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Stayed in Ashling Hotel 29th June 2012. It is an ideal location with luas passing by hotel for quick access to city centre. Hotel was very busy and lively. We were upgraded to a superior room which was a nice surprise as we had booked a double room. The hotel is spotlessly clean. We had food in the bar which was very good. Shower excellent. We had stayed here previously and most defintely will return. Underground car park very convenient and safe @ €8 per night for hotel residents.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The Ashing hotel is very conveniently placed for travel to & from Heuston, and it has received a major facelift since I last stayed there many years ago. It's difficult to get a feel of a place over just one night, but my experience there was satisfactory and I probably would stay there again. I have a few criticisms which, I trust, will be taken positively by the staff & hotel. The first is that the staff are rather peremptory; unusual these days in Irish hotels. It's not that I want to have much in the way of conversation, but there was next to no interaction either at check-in or breakfast the next morning. I passed a couple of staff members in the corridor, too, and they preferred to scuttle way rather than even just nod. That does affect one!s perception of a place. At breaakfast, I tried to toast some gluten free bread in the toaster provided, to find that the toaster wasn't plugged in. I asked a staff member if she could do so, she said she would but didn't. I felt I was imposing by even asking. And then there's the shower! It looks impressive, for sure, but it's virtually incomprehensible and, when wet, the markings on the various taps become completely unreadable. Worse than that, once I eventually got it going, it cut out again after a couple of minutes. I phoned reception for help but the phone rang (45 seconds, I timed it) and no-one answered. If convenience to Heuston is your priority, fine. If not, I'd be inclined to look elswehwere. But perhaps I was just unlucky.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Was very pleased with the hotel, staff very friendly, service very good and a very relaxed place to meet people etc. The only negative comment I have is that our room was at the front of the hotel and the Luas woke us early morning, but because it was only a one night stay it was ok. I would definitely recommend the Ashling Hotel to people to stay as it is very central and convenient, and money well spent. Thought it was fantastic for Westlife fans that you had a goody bag and nice food when we got back to Hotel after the concert, well done on that personal touch, very impressed!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Very comfortable room, gorgeous bathroom. I ordered breakfast to be brought to our room in the morning because my 4 year old son doesn't sit still for long. It arrived exactly on time, but the cooked breakfast was cold, the toast wasn't toasted well, there was no spoon for the cereal and the fried egg yolk was solid. Very disappointing for €12. I rang reception for a spoon and ketchup/brown sauce. After a good 10 minutes the spoon arrived but no condiments. I asked again. By the time they arrived I'd eaten the breakfast, cold as it was. The room was lovely but we were on the 1st floor at the front which meant we had the Luas right outside the window. Overall the staff were very warm and friendly, particularly welcoming to my little boy, which was delightful. It's proximity to Heuston, the Luas and the zoo were all very convenient for our stay and the price through Roomex was excellent. I would not recommend having breakfast in the room and I would request a room at the back next time.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Ashling Hotel. It was great to be able to park our car safely there as we were attending the Eucharistic Congress in Croke Park. Of course the other of the many assets the hotel offers is the short distance to the Luas. This is really very pleasant as it is such a short time to the centre of the city. Overall a good experience and we would stay there again. Lovely breakfast too.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here last weekend, this was our first time staying at this hotel. A lovely comfortable hotel, lovely twin room, very clean bathroom, breakfast very good, restaurant staff absolutely lovely. A 2 minute walk from Heuston Station, a 4 minute walk to the nearest Luas stop. All in all very good but no 'cead mile failte' from reception staff :( Also not the best place to stay if you're a smoker :)

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Very good service and excellent food in the restaurant. Very accessible from Heuston Station and Ryan's pub up the street is great for a pint!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Lovely hotel , staff very helpful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

had a very enjoyable stay in the hotel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was spotless &the location excellent near the train station and only a few stops on the luis to town.the breakfast was lovely with a nice variey to choose from. Overall a superb hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

pleasant stay with comfortable room and great shower good value

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

We were a group of four girls and thought hotel was well run. We had a lovely lunch in the bar and the breakfast was great. Loved the fact that the chef served you what you wanted from the hot buffet. Rooms were good and everyone said what a good night's sleep that they got. Would stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at the Ashling in February. We had a superior king room on the 6th floor - it was fantastic. We had a balcony, a gigantic bed and a luxurious ensuite, with double sinks, double shower and bath. The breakfast at the hotel is delicious with lots of choice. We ate dinner there on one night and were very happy with it. The hotel foyer and bar area are spacious and have a good buzz. There are 2 luas stops only a few minutes walk from the hotel, so the location of the hotel is ideal. We had a great stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a relaxing long weekend away. Was delighted with the Ashling the food was wonderful and the staff welcoming and very friendly. The hotel was clean and well maintained slightly disappointed in the size of the room and that the temperature was roasting and although able to turn off radatiors it didnt seem to make much of a difference. The Ashling is well located for travel into town and public transport is very close..... Will def be staying here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Very satisfactory hotel - excellent staff, clean, warm rooms & a good breakfast. Good choice for work, also very convenient for town centre, will stay again!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, Staff very friendly and efficient. Room spotless , breakfast the best ever to satisfy all tastes. Had dinner that night a very high standard. will certainly go back

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. A smoking room was available for one our party, rooms clean and very comfortable, Breakfast was a treat, the Staff very helpfull, the only snag was that the rooms were not ready till late afternoon, apart from that an enjoyable and comfortable stay alround

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

we enjoyed our stay near heuston station luas outside the door lovely breakfast helpful staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

What a lovely surprise. Good rate, lovely room, very friendly staff, fantastic breakfast. Overall my experience in The Ashling Hotel was very very positive. The only point I'd make that is somewhat negative, is that it is situated in a fairly dodgy area. This is not the hotel's fault of course, and security is excellent. Top marks for the Ashling.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Best hotel in Dublin with friendliest staff and superb value.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

good quality and service, Theresa the waitress at breakfast was very courteous

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

It's a great Hotel, a favourite of ours when visiting Dublin. It's easy to reach, has safe car-parking, has the Luas line at the front door, has a prime view of Guinness' brewery and the re-located Anna Liffy. The staff are friendly and the rooms, meals and service are excellent.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Ashling Hotel was lovely staff very friendly and rooms were lovely. Good Location to city Centre Luas leaves 2 mins from the door of the hotel. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was lovely. Great for a night away.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Stayed for business trip. Lovely hotel, room very nicely done, except had to have heating turned on but bathroom was nice and warm with towel rail hot all the time. Reception very efficient but not friendly at all, 'smile' some more to the customers, but that was only one person, rest of staff at reception seemed to be very friendly. food very nice in Restaurant and staff there were lovely. Really enjoyed my stay there and would recommend and also would return. Hotel very well situated - Luas just outside door for Connolly Station/Bus Aras and for Shopping,plus lots of other places close by. Well done Ashling Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

The location of this hotel is great - particularly if you are going to a concert in the O2 - the Luas stop is outside the hotel and brings you right to the fron door of the O2. The hotel itself has been recently renovated and very quiet and comfortable. The only issue we had was an uninvited visit into the room from housekeeping at 9am! Specify to reception that you don't want to be disturbed in the morning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Wifi in our room with no charge would have made it Superb.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

I recently stayed at the Ashling Hotel while I was on a business trip to Dublin. It was my first expereince with this establishment and I can tell you it will not be my last. From the very outset, I was really impressed with all aspects of the hotel, from friendly adn efficient staff, superb food in both the bar and dining room, to very comfortable and modern bedrooms. The location of the hotel is excellent, especially as I was travelling to and from Heuston Station and also only a short stroll to Dublin City Centre. The warmth and friendliness of staff throuought the hotel was clearly evident during my staff and my only regret was that I had to check out eventually. cheers

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

very friendly and helpful staff. excellent location. rooms lovely and spacious. couldn't fault the hotel

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

I'm a regular at the Ashling, both before and since its recent refurbishment. The new section is clean pleasant well appointed and quiet. The older section suffers a little by comparison, but is still a good night's accomodation for the money. Especially Roomex money! The food is acceptable, and for Dublin, reasonably priced, too. I stay here when I can, I can't say fairer then that!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

IT'S OUR FIFTH TIME STAYING AT THE ASHLING HOTEL. WE LOVE IT THERE AND ALWAYS ENJOY OUR STAY..IT IS SO CENTRAL FOR EVERYWHERE IN DUBLIN.CLOSE TO HEUSTON STATION THE LUAS AND TOWN.THE STAFF AT THE HOTEL ARE VERY FRIENDLY..THE BREAKFASTS WERE SUPERB..WE GO TO DUBLIN A LOT AND WOULD ONLY STAY AT THE ASHLING..WE ALWAYS HAVE A RELAXING BREAK..CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE ASHLING TO EVERYBODY..:)))

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Overall very satisfactory and staff courteous

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

This was my first time to stay in the Ashling Hotel and it will not be my last, if I am looking for a hotel in Dublin. Having taken the train to Hueston station, Dublin, it was only a three minute walk from the station to the hotel and with it being on the Luas (tram) line it could not have been better placed for access to the city centre. The hotel was chic, modern with really pleasent staff and the food in the dining room was excellent with an really good buffet breakfast bar. A nice touch was being greeted on arrival for breakfast and to be asked if my preferrence was tea or coffee, before being shown to my table. I had reserved a single room for three nights and each day it was fully serviced on my return in the evening. The room was a good size room for single occupancy with ultra modern bathroom, flat screen satellite TV, tea/coffee making facility with shortbread biscuit and thermostatically controlled A/C - Heating. It was also my first time using Roomex.com and, again, it will not be my last, using this site. All-in-all, an excellent experience and excellent value for such a fine hotel. I will be recommending both the Ashling Hotel and Roomex.com to my friends and family. Thank you.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

This hotel can be a little deceiving from the photo's. We booked in on Saturday evening and were directed towards the 4th floor which I would gather is the basic room section. Upon entering the room there was a strong smell of cigarettes so I just closed the door and went back to reception. The two ladies in reception were lovely and changed me to another room which thankfully was smoke free. However as they have smoking and non smoking rooms on this floor there is a strong smell of smoke in the corridors. The room itself was nice but basic I did have a higher expectation having stayed in quite a few hotels around Ireland and given the price that was charged for 1 night excluding breakfast. The lobby and bar in the hotel is very nice and the food is very good. While it is very central and beside the luas I would find the hotel suitable for a one night stay but not for more than this. On Sunday morning I was so looking forward to my lie in which is a rare occasion given our newborn and this was the purpose of night away to relax!!! However at 9am cleaners decided to enter the room which woke us and its frustrating that there is not someone in the hotel who can organise an updated sheet on a hourly basis to show them what rooms have checked out and who have not so as to avoid this frustrating error. Just as we were about to leave at 12.15pm our door was knocked on again!!!. While the lady was very nice at reception I found it strange we were not asked did we enjoy our stay as this would be common pratice. So overall this is an okay hotel suitable for one night stay whereby you want close proximity to city centre but not suitable for a long stay.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

Room was clean and warm; breakfast also was quite good. Altogether a positive review. Beside Luas so close to City Centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Arrived late and at short notice - everything worked out very satisfactorily

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Room was very comfortable, though a little dark for reading & writing. Some clear instructions on the complicated bath taps would have pleased my wife. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice, and the bar snacks menu was very good too. Staff very friendly too. Excellent value all round in this newly refurbished hotel. Great views over Guinness Brewery and the Liffey, and the Luas stop is only a couple of minutes walk away. Highly recommended.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

We arrived in Dublin at 8am the hotel took our bags while we went into the city. Our twin room was very spacious and interior was lovely.Our room was facing out looking at the Quays/Heuston Station and it was snowing making a lovely view. Breakfast in the morning was great we couldn fault it. We also had food in the bar which was very filling and priced reasonably. Overall great hotel

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Room lovely and Clean and most importantly it was lovely and quite, food was good with a fine Breakfast in the morning. All staff seem nice and pleasent and all our needs were met. Location is good, next to huston Train Station and the Luas Tram system is just outside so you can be in the City Centre in about 5 minutes. The decor in the hotel is quite modern and even funky which adds to the overall stay. I would have no problem in reccommending this hotel to anyone.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Stayed here midweek for 1 night and couldn't really fault it. Booked at the last minute through Roomex.com as I left work so obviously i arrived before the booking as I had to wait a few minutes while the receptionist could confirm it! I had rang the hotel prior to this but the best rate was online was booked it that way. Was only waiting a few mins and other that the hotel was fab. Very convient location as it'sonly accross the road from hesuston and the luas. Both the hotel and the room were spotless although i would probably ask for a room at the back if you don't fancy the noise of the luas at the front! Buffet breakfast was also included and that was also very nice start to the day indeed. All in all a top notch hotel and would defo stay here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

As always excellent. Friendly staff who go out of their way to help. Highly recommended and arguably the best value in Dublin.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Arguably the best hotel in Dublin in terms of value for money. Friendly willing staff. Would stay there anytime.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

good and friendly service at reception and bar.got a quiet room as requested which was up to expectations.it was very good overall

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

WE HAD A REALLY LOVELY STAY AT THE ASHLING HOTEL..ROOMS WERE VERY COMFORTABLE..LOCATION OF THE HOTEL IS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT..WE BROUGHT MY MUM IN LAW TO SEE THE SIGHTS OF DUBLIN AS SHE IS FROM ENGLAND AND HAD NEVER TOURED DUBLIN..I MYSELF GREW UP IN GREYSTONES,CO.WICKLOW BUT AM NOW LIVING IN CO.ROSCOMMON SO WAS LOVELY FOR ME TO GO BACK TO THE EAST AND HAVE A NICE BASE TO GO FROM.. WE WOULD DEFINITELY BOOK IN TO THE ASHLING HOTEL AGAIN..WE LOVED IT. THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF WHO ARE ALL MOST HELPFUL..

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

We were very pleased with the great location, clean rooms and convenience of the pub and restaurant. We were also very please with the breakfast in the morning and the rate of the room with breakfast and free parking. It was great value.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Extremely impressed with this hotel - everything from the decor, lobby, bar, room, bathroom, staff, loaction, and breakfast were top class! We booked in here for a show as the hotel is to the West of the city (beside Heuston) and easy to find with free parking. Even though we didn't drive to the Grand Canal it was only about €10 give or take €2 each way which is very reasonable and both the Luas and city bus run from right beside the hotel - perfect for shopping etc. Phoenix park is a stone's throw to walk/drive as well and so easy to get out of the city by car. The rooms were more than adequate, perfect temperature, meticulously clean and beatifully decorated. Staff were more than friendly and were only too happy to answer any questions we had about the Luas/ park/ etc. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to family/friends.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

I recently stayed in the Ashling hotel when I was going to a concert in the O2 arena. The location is excellent for anyone travelling to Dublin by train. A quick stroll over the bridge and you are in the beautiful foyer of the Ashling hotel. Myself and my friend stayed in a twin room which was lovely and clean, the sheets were pristine and really soft making for a great night's sleep. We were able to get the luas straight down to the O2 to start our night out. The next morning we had the short hop back over to Heusten station for the journey home - no waiting for taxis, getting stuck in traffic while paying through the nose for it! The most convenient hotel in Dublin for the train traveller!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

hotel lovely, very high standard of accommodation at good (but not brilliant) value. however, one issue I have- Was up for work and had driven. OK, free car parking was mentioned. However, I needed to leave the car till lunch time the next day. When checking out I asked if I would validate the ticket now or later when taking the car (sometimes the validation will only work within 15min when trying to leave). I, at checkout, was told that parking was free - until 12noon which was check out time. after this it was €2-00 per hour. (I realise this is not very dear, but as a cutesy to a customer it was petty. In the end up (and this is leaving more of a taste in my mouth) I arrived back at just after 13.00. I promptly went to reception to validate my ticket and the receptionist - who was rather grumpy at the thought of my validating the parking or some other reason, turned to her colleague and said to her 'charge is from 10 isn't it?' Upon hearing this I said 'no its from 12pm - check out time. to which I was looked at with what I took to be disdain or doubt and ask when was I told this? 'At check out time' I replied. I was then told I owed €2-00 (petty charge and didn't leave me with a sense of good will). Now what really ticks me off is that I had stayed in the hotel a few weeks previously and had to pay a fee for parking after 12.00 (till 4pm =€8-00) and, this is what ticks me off, Miss grumpy was the same person who charged me the previous time and knew exactly when the charge was applied from that time. My first thoughts were 'fiddle'? who exactly is getting the 'excess parking charge...

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

The reception is bright and welcoming. I got a free upgrade to one of their new rooms. Very comfortable. Breakfast was self sevice and the food was fine. Hotel is near a major train station (no Noise heard) and is very close to The LUAS (a tram system ) which brings you into central Dublin) 20-25 mins walk. I was a single female staying alone and I felt secure in this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

on arrival the girl at reception did not give the usual information freely, I had to ask where the lifts were to get to the rooms, she did not mention breakfast times, breakfast room location, all the other usual details etc. There were about 5 girls at reception at that time and I think I might have disturbed an interesting debate which is why the girl dealing with us did not have her mind on the job!! After that the stay was as expected, the rooms, bathroom were clean and the beds comfortable. I must say I experienced reception a few times after arrival and the the girls were more than helpful. I would stay there again, the location is excellent especially with the Luas line running outside which goes to the centre of the city and the O2

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Very convenient location, hotel staff very polite and helpful, v good breakfast, bar food very tasty, rooms spacious and very comfortable. I will happily return again!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Friendly staff, very clean rooms and food was lovely

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

The hotel was lovely, i was very impressed with the lobby area. It was very relaxing with all the sofa's. The room was good and clean. Breakfast was great. The location,excellant. Would have liked to stay extra night. Overall the Ashling is a great hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Very attractive decor, rooms very pleasant to be in and staff friendly and very helpfull.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Stayed at Ashling Hotel Sun 7th felt staff were not very welcoming, room was OK very basic even though on the website rooms look fabulous so upgraded for an extra €30 which included Breakfast and the room was fabulous don't see why they didn't give us that room first as not very busy

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

A little disappointed with this my second stay in the Ashling Hotel. Last time I was given a room at the front looking out onto the Liffey and the Guinnes brewery. Gorgeous newly renovated room with flat screeen TV etc. This time got a room at the back, orginal part of the hotel - very small and cold with a 12" portable TV! Dining room and bar area very nice though with nice cosy seating and fire in the bar area. Will go back but only if I can get a room at the front as the Ashling is so central and handy with the Luas passing the door.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Excellent room. very new and modern and excellent value

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

The room was clean comfortable and bioth it and the bathroom were well appointed. My only criticism was that there was no decent lighting to put make up on! It was all down lighters The stafff very kindly brought me a table lamp to help with the proces. Breakfast was grand and the adjacent Luas- a God send

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

My mother and I stayed at this hotel, we arrived at the hotel at 12 noon and the reception staff were extremely helpful and gave us a room straight away. The room was lovely and all the staff very helpful and considerate. The convenience to the Luas and Heuston Station makes it easily accessable. We had lunch on arrival and food in the bar in the evening. The breakfast was very good a choice of everything. We checked out of the hotel and were able to leave the car in the carpark while we went shopping. There was no charge for the car which is great in a city where a lot of hotels sell cheap room and then charge nearly as much for the car. The rate was €75.00 bed and breakfassstay there again. The marble foyer was very impressive.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Stayed in old part this time - new part rooms are tiny. Room was good and pleasant - bar VERY expensive - glass of Jameson and glass of house red wine was €15.80!! Breakfast was plastic - cheap sausages, fried eggs that had been cooked for some time, no choice of fish - a kipper or small piece of plaice would have been nice. Need to buck themselves up!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

I enjoyed my stay, even though it was only for one night. It was convenient for me, as I came on train for Cork. Also convenient to be in Dublin on the Sunday night as I had early meetings in Dublin on Monday morning. The room was nice, and it was great that there were tea and coffee making facilities there. Enjoyed good breakfast in the morning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2009

I stayed at the Aisling Hotel on Moday 14th September for the Coldplay concert in the Pheonix Park. Its location is excellent. We travelled by train. All we had to do was walk across the bridge to the front door of the hotel. And we walked to the concert also. It is a beautiful modern hotel. Beautiful foyer, restaurant, bar. Food was amazing. Loved the Caeser Salad. Staff were so nice and helpful. Couldn't do enough for us. Would recommend it to anybody and will stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2009

We had a lovely time in the Ashling Hotel. The bedroom, bar and breakfast were all 1st class. We had a great lie in the following morning, there wasn't any noise to be heard. I would recommend the Ashling Hotel to anyone who wants a perfect stay in Dublin

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Very satisfied with room. Tv and aertel worked this time.Staff friendly and efficient. Restaurant clean and food good . Wife loved it. Will stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Yes - very comfortable - have stayed here many times. Rooms always clean and sizable; breakfast (a good judge of a hotel) always well presented. Good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

We were impressed with everything - bar/snack area, bedroom and bath/shower. Particularly impressed with breakfast - so often hotels let themselves down in this area - our only complaint is the hill that has to be climbed to get to the temporary entrance whilst refurbishment is being carried out.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was in Dublin for a conference at the Law Society. The reception area was welcoming and the reception staff extremely friendly, polite and helpful. I had my evening meal and breakfast in the Bistro restaurant, the staff were exceptionally polite and service was excellent. The room was very clean with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very extremely friendly. I had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Should I need to stay in Dublin again I would definately stay here again. Thank you for making my stay so pleasant.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Room was big enough and clean. Food in the Guinness Lounge was fantastic (especially the Irish Stew and Chicken Curry). Breakfast was nothing special, but sufficient - if we hadn't have had it included, I don't think we would have paid 12.50 euros each for it. Location was very good. Hop on hop off Dublin City Tours great for getting around and seeing everything. Nancy Hands pub, up the road from the hotel, was great - live music on Friday and Saturday, staff lovely, superb food - whether bar meal or restaurant.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

the hotel is beginning to show its age, but the rooms were very clean. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We had a very good breakfast. The hotel is very convenient for a trip to Dublin for shopping, theatre etc. I would definately recommedn this hotel to a friend and i will definately stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at the Aisling Hotel in Dublin. Room was plenty big for three. Staff very pleasant. Dinner was very good also. Dining room very warm though- far too hot in the morning. So handy for the Luas- will definitely stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Excellent Hotel, lovely pleasent staff, great value for money and good location.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5