Aspect Hotel Kilkenny Ring Road, Smithsland South, Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland

Also known as: Renamed to The Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, Formerly Days Hotel Kilkenny
8/10.0 Based on 24 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Our Customer stayed here in August 2015

Large pleasant room. Quite small bathroom. Service friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

This hotel was good value. Rooms were generous in size, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good, and the staff polite, professional and very helpful. There was a problem with out booking but the hotel staff provided apologies and compensation which were very satisfactory - well done! A mile or so from the town centre however we walked it easily in about 20 mins. If you are not very mobile you will need a taxi - 8 Euros. I would happily stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Clean with good friendly service.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Enjoyed my night in Kilkenny. Room was lovely and clean and grand for the use my husband required. Breakfast nxt morning was lovely but i found they were slow on refilling items for breakfast. I also had meal night before the soup had little taste, while the main course was not presented very well. When we checked out we were never asked if we enjoyed are stay. On the plus side we got late check out at no extra cost.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Nice Hotel beside a retail about 25 mins walk into town.Rooms good size, clean,bright but bed slightly hard. Breakfast was generally good, great coffee, good selection cereals and fruit but disgusting looking bacon both days, almost white in colour . See this is a lot of hotels tbh, I (like most people I know) like bacon to be well cooked/crispy. Maybe it was deep fried rather than grilled/hot plate. Small bar area in reception. Would stay again. Ideal hotel for visiting KK where you will be out and about rather than hanging around Hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

Booking in was quick and easy and my room was very nice and comfortable .The Breakfast was good plenty of everything and the waitress on duty ,helpful pleasant and unflustered by the very large crowd all at once .The value was excellent and i would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

I arrived at the hotel at about 5.30p.m. I was made very welcome by the gentleman on reception and offered the help of a porter to bring my luggage to my room. The room itself was clean, bright and very fresh. Breakfast the following morning was self-service and there was plenty of everything guests might require on the buffet. The hotel is well located on the ring road. The rooms are excellent value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Very good value for the standard of the hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

Everything was good about the hotel but particularily the staff who were most helpful. We stayed for two nights and we will be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Was here for a one night stay on the 2nd of Feb. Hotel is basic enough, no frills. Room was very nice and spotlessly clean. The bar and restaurant are really badly located, literally in the reception area! Food was fine though. Be aware that there is no residents bar if you fancy a late drink. Staff could have been friendlier.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Room is basic but clean - has tea making facilities and the curtains are very heavy and excellent at blocking out the light. Breakfast was satisfactory. Overall the hotel offers good value for money.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

I had booked just one night in Kilkenny and chose Aspect Hotel because of the price, essentially. I was more than pleasantly surprised with what I would consider a 'little gem' of a hotel. On check in the staff were pleasant, friendly, helpful. He took my request not to be on the ground floor and gave me a lovely room on the first floor. The room was good sized, very clean, fully equipped, nice sized towels, lovely television, good sized bathroom. I had a meal in the bar/lounge area. The waitress - I wished I got her name - was superb. She even suggested that I should get my order in before the large group that had arrived - which advice I followed. The food was very good. As I was eating, however, I was surrounded by what appeared to be another coach tour of Italians and they literally sat and stood around, above, behind and talked across, over and in front of me. It was very uncomfortable. However, this waitress, noticed, suggested that I might like to move, assisted me with same and ensured that I had been offered another drink, etc. She is a huge asset to the hotel, because I was becoming annoyed. Breakfast was excellent, full range of everything one could wish, hot and tasty. Newspapers available at reception. I checked out about 11:30, but nobody rushed me. I would certainly stay again and recommend anybody to do so. If I were to find a negative, it would be that its location is quite a ways from the centre of Kilkenny, a little isolated from any other restaurants, bars etc, and took a little navigation to find. However, nothing that the hotel didn't meet with courtesy and friendliness.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Great value for money. Huge big bedroom. Small bathroom but was perfect. Very clean. Friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in the Days hotel Kilkenny. The room was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly and even the Taxi company they recommended were very nice. We stayed for one night and had our breakfast the next day for a very reasonable €32 after booking thorugh Roomex. We would definitely use Roomex again and we would also stay in the Days hotel in Kilkenny again. If I had to give one criticism about the hotel it would be that the rooms get very hot. Even when we opened the window it was still very hot.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

I could not fault this hotel whatsoever, I have stayed here numerous times and there will be more visits from me for sure! Their hospitality is outstanding, staff excellent and courteous and the service 100% with no waiting around. The rooms were clean and airy but most of all the beds are so comfy I could sleep better in them than my own. Thanks for making me feel so welcome and ensuring my stay would tempt me back, because you will be seeing me again for sure.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

We had a lovely stay at this modern facility. The staff friendly . They gave us the names of good places to eat. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. The rooms were very nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable. We would definitely return again if we were staying in the area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

arrived on sunday for an overnight in kilkenny.greeted warmly on arrival,room not ready as we arrived before check in time.walked in to the city, worked up an appetite for afternoon tea .walked back out to hotel and checked in.bed very comfortable,breakfast excellent next morning.would recommend it to anyone.clean comfortable and great value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. Good location and the staff were very helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Nice hotel, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

The hotel is spotless, staff firendly, beds comfortable, rooms are v nice

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

As a large goup we really enjoyed our stay at Days hotel Kilkenny. As a big group it was great value for the weekend and we were all together. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also had a lovely meal in the resturant. The rooms were lovely and clean. I would reccomend it again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Rooms are not huge. We had a wedding in Kilkenny and The Days is only 5 mins drive down the road and was less than half the price and just as good. Rooms are spotless. Walls are paper thin though. You could here everything going on in the halls and the TV in the next room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

The hotel is located on the clonmel/waterford road . It was a little bit hard to find but we got there in the end. Room was lovely. Twin beds were not locked together , so there was a massive space between bed. Only a problem because we had our baby with us!!! Wide choice for breakfast.:)

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

We only stayed here for one night in a room with disabled access. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the room comfortable however nothing in it worked. There was a card for customers to complete to inform the management of any maintenance problems and we ran out of space. We gave the manager (who was very understanding to be fair, and was new to the job) a list of 13 problems ranging from no plug in the wash basin, which didn't really matter as it was blocked anyway, to a broken curtain rail for the shower which came off the wall when you tried to adjust it and was impossible to direct at the seat provided. The disabled emergency pull-cord had been removed and to top it all, the ironing board was bent and the steam iron leaked half a litre of water over the clothes we wanted to iron to wear the following morning. In the dining room we had to wait ages to be served and we thought we were charged far too much for what amounted to fish and chips with a small portion of fish and salad (to be honest, under the circumstances the cost of this was waived by the manager which was kind of him) The manager said the timing of our complaint was perfect as he was in the middle of a meeting to discuss capital expenditure when the reception called him out to speak to us. I hope he doesn't use up his budget on our room alone.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5