Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre Ennis Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland(republic Of), Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 33 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre Ennis

Our Customer stayed here in February 2016

Hotel staff were absolutely lively and very friendly. The room was dated but very clean. Lunch menu needs to be revamped, a carvery menu does not suit everyone. When asked to make a wrap and a sad we did receive both but they were very poor quality..9.50 for a cold meat salad where more than half the plate was lettuce.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

Well looked after.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

We hada room in the old part of the hotel. The window wouln't stay open and the painted was pealing off of the wall. Bathroom was very old and worn looking. It wasn't expensive so I guess what you pay for.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Decent stay but ruined by rude receptionist called Nuala who we had to argue with in order to get a meal to the value of €40 taken off our bill which someone had incorrectly signed to our room. The most annoying thing was that the signature on the receipt did not match our names so the hotel should never have allowed this to happen. They should have realised their mistake straight away and apologised. Instead there was no apology and we were met with a very abrasive and distrusting receptionist called Nuala who in the end, after a long debate, very reluctantly removed this charge from our bill. It really was customer service at its extreme worst.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

A really excellent hotel. Food was superb and the staff were really friendly and very helpfull nothing was to much trouble for them. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again through Roomex.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

very good service food excellent,rooms could do with an upgrade,

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Excellent value for bed and breakfast and the leisure centre and swimming pool was a great bonus. Very friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

The room was above standard for an hotel of this age. Service fine and staff competent and friendly. Would stay again. A traditional Irish breakfast is not for everyone - so could improve variety of food options.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Stayed in the wheelchair accessible room for 1 nights B&B. Room was nice, good size bathroom with wheel-in shower. Disabled room located beside leisure centre which is at the end of a very long corridor with many heavy doors to go through and a steep ramp. Assistance definitely needed to get from reception area to room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

We stayed in the Auburn lodge on a cold, wet weekend in February. We were greeted with a warm friendly welcome and our room was ready even though we were there early. The central heating was working efficiently and the fire near reception added to the cheery atmosphere. Our room was clean with a comfortable bed, tv and complimentary tea/coffee. The swimming pool was an added bonus. Our included breakfast was fine with sufficient choice. We also bought dinner (roast lamb) in the bar which again was fine for the price. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay here, with dinner, bed and breakfast costing less than €80 for the two of us. Ideal for people on a budget during a recession! JT

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

I dont know what has happened to this lodge/hotel. We stayed here a couple of years ago and found it to be good and clean. This stay however was marked by damp/musty smelling rooms. Worse than that, we got the feeling that the rooms were not being cleaned correctly. When we arrived we were given a room that was totally unacceptable so we complained and to the hotels defence they moved us in a reasonable timeframe. We were upgraded to a "delux" which as far as I could tell was somewhat a par with the "standard" standard of other hotels. To our dismay this room also smelled a little musty and unclean but in this case not enough so to just pack up and leave. To be quite honnest, I wish I had and will if something like this ever happens again in future. If a hotel cannoy afford to clean their rooms correctly or keep enough heat on to stop dampness then they may as well shut up. To the hotels defence, most of the staff had a nice way about them.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Thank goodness I only booked for one night. The staff are the worst I have ever come across in terms of lack of engagement, let alone friendliness. On checking in, I handed over my voucher,which was duly processed and then I was thrust a paper to sign. That was it! No directions to the room, which was very awkward to get to, through a labyrinth and up stairs, through doors etc and no offer of help. I was not given info about breakfast times or even where it was. I went for the bar food - absolutely dreadful and way over-priced - €10.95 for 'Bangers and Mash' which was horrible. I put the sign for requesting breakfast in my room on the door handle as duly instructed. When it did not arrive at the time I had requested, I had a look and the sign was still there! It had not been collected - this meant I was running late and I dashed down to get the breakfast - which was mediocre - greasy, poor quality food. On checking out,it was as if I was invisible - I handed over the room key card to a girl who was chatting to her colleague - with her large handbag on the counter - and she took it and turned away again. Not one word of 'thanks' or 'did you enjoy your stay?' etc. I travel all over the country and I am in hotels regularly and this has been the worst. The room itself was just about ok.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Helpful staff. Quick service. Good breakfast. Spacious clean room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

The Auburn Lodge is on the Galway Road outside of Ennis so you would probably need a car. Very large car park. Walked into reception and lobby and was very impressed. Our room was down near the leisure centre and was a long trek from reception. Corridors are quite old fashioned and a bit battered. Reception and lobby have been re-modeled where it doesn't seem that the corridors have been. The smoking rooms were along the corridors just outside reception and the smell of smoke was disgusting as you walked down. Rooms are basic. Toilet seat broken and siliconed on the actual seat itself. No shampoo, just handwash in bathrooms. Rooms very clean so was perfect for the night just for someone to rest their head. Pool & gym facilities. Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about but was edible. Staff were very friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Reception lost my reservation, dissappointed to find hand soap in the dispenser where one would normally find shampoo, shower gel... Otherwise ok, breakfast was nice.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

rooms very comfortable and spacious. Food was lovely. Staff very friendly. Good location for shopping in Ennis. Would def stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

We arrived at the Auburn Lodge Hotel for a three night stay. First impressions were of a very welcoming reception area, with most helpful staff. However on reaching our room, quite the opposite, beds not made up, empty drink cans and bottles on the floor, food deposits on the dressing table and bathroom not cleaned either. I contacted reception who immediately sent up the duty manager. He took one look at the room and was as disgusted as we were, he said you are not staying in here I will move you to another room. In fact he moved us to a gorgeous suite which was extremely impressive. Needless to say we were delighted. It appeared to us that nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they did everything to ensure we were happy during our stay. A big thank you to the staff at the Auburn Lodge and an even bigger thank you to Roomex for finding us the Hotel. Thanks Again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

very friendly staff. good pool. excellent price. was staying in the new part of the hotel rooms good standard

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Could not have been better, we secured a very good rate with Roomex and the hotel was excellent. The reception staff we very helpful on arrival and room was perfect. Bar food and drinks were of a high standard and very good value, and staff friendly. On leaving we were offered hot water at the recption to clear a heavy frost off our car. Overall, although it was a short stay I would fully recommend this hotel, I am a return customer.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

all went well beautiful staff meal and drink was nice rooms were good and shoower was nice

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

staff very friendly, hotel very nice, def go back again for another stay in the near future

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

My friend and I wanted an inexpensive hotel to stay in for a relaxing weekend in Ennis. The Auburn was exactly what we wanted. The price through Roomex was very reasonable. The room was clean and spacious enough for two single people sharing. GREAT water pressure in the shower! Breakfast was satisfactory, if somewhat boring, and the food in the bar Friday night was tasty. Also enjoyed being served complimentary mulled wine in the bar. Thanks!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.As always the room was very comfortable,the food was excellent staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.We use this hotel quite a lot as it is very central for touring etc.Looking forward to our next w/e.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

We had a great stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly especially the lady on reception who checked us into the hotel. The rooms were lovely, very clean and not over warm as some hotel rooms are. I was amazed to find a DVD & CD player in the rooms, I haven't seen that before in any hotel I've stayed in. Could do with a trousers press in the room. The bar menu had a really nice selection of food on offer and at good prices too, service was prompt and friendly and the food was of excellent quality. Over all we had a great stay, with good staff, comfy & clean rooms, tasty food and excellent value.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Nice hotel 1km outside of Ennis town. The rooms were very warm but apart from that no complaints. value for money

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Although the staff was friendly, the woman working the front desk was unable to tell us where the rooms were located. The rooms were not well kept -- curtains not hung properly; worn, dirty chair; and worn rugs. The breakfast was fine, and the location was great for the airport.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

We came back to the Auburn Lodge because we enjoyed our first stay very well. The staff on both occasions were friendly and our stay on both occasions were very pleasant for a very reasonable rate. We would recommend the hotel and hope to return again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Hotel was very good. Enjoyed our stay. Had a lovely breakfast there. Room was spacoius, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

I booked 8 rooms for the night of the 18th April through Roomex and we were all very pleased with the facilities within this Hotel. Staff were very pleasant, the food was excellent and it is a Hotel that we would all visit again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel and the room staff / bar staff etc were excellent. The meal we had though, was just average and the restaurant was empty and the staff made it obvious (actually told us) that they wanted to go home and that we were keeping them, though it was only 8.30pm. They actually switched off the music so we ended up eating in silence and only took about 40 minutes for our entire meal. The rooms were basic but clean and the bar was above average in terms of athmosphere for a hotel bar. It was a pleasant stay overall and excellent value for money plus there was a very nice pool & beauty treatment area. There was also free wireless internet access though nobody in the Hotel seemed to know this and I feel it should be advertised on their promotional material / website as it would enhance its profile.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Enjoyed our stay very much,staff were very nice and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Good quality hotel centrally located at fantastic price. The only problem was that fan in bathroom upstairs was left on all night but i cant blame you guys for that. Will definately check back for next break Thanks

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Check in was perfect and lady very nice however had a bit of an incident in the bar. But that was one mans fault. The lady in reception and also lady in the bar didn't want to let a 2 year old go hungry. so very thanks to them. Rooms clean even though a bit dated

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5