Flannerys Hotel Galway Dublin Road, Galway City East,, Galway, Ireland

Also known as: Best Western Flannery's
8/10.0 Based on 55 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Flannerys Hotel Galway

Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

Very pleasant and conveniently located.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Friendly helpful staff, lovely room, will be back again!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2015

Excellent service at reception, the bar and the restaurant. Will be staying again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Pluses are: Flannery's offers budget accommodation at a reasonable price. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in Galway. The hotel rooms are basic but clean. The staff are nice and very friendly. Negatives: you maybe thrown into a 70's style non upgraded room which are really rather ugly so make sure to ask for an upgraded room. Don't eat here as I find it is completely over priced for what you get. The Carpets need cleaning throughout the hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

Asked for an upgraded room which I was provided. The décor in the updated rooms is also slightly dated but is clean and there is sufficient towels/toiletries etc. Very good Customer Service i.e. v friendly. The restaurant is over priced so maybe eat elsewhere. Overall it's a good budget hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Conveniently located - quiet - good public bus service to centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

everything basic enough but change the coffee sachets in room they are awful !!! a nice cup of coffee is very little to ask for

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

The Room was lovely and warm when we entered it at 11pm that nite. The only gripe i would have is that a handful of Tiles that have,nt been cleaned in the shower properly were a let down. Apart from that i would stay in this hotel again. Very Comfortable..

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Very Good hotel, very helpful in reception and very good breakfast in the morning. Great value for money as hotels in Galway can be quite expensive.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Flannerys hotel was lovely but the room was to small

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Breakfast was awful!!!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

The Hotel is located five minutes by car from the city centre or a nice walk taking up to 15 minutes. The hotel is really nice and has a great bar with great and tasty bar food. Staff are very friendly and i would highly recommendd the Hotel. I would definitely go back again for a stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

I really enjoyed the bar where the local men had the banter and promoted everything good about the Irish personality, which the tourists were eager to soak up. It would be handy if breakfast started a little earlier.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Had a really nice stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

First time I stayed in Flannerys and it was lovely. Large bedroom with a really comfortable bed and the usual tv and tea/coffee making facilities, very good sized wardrobe also. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, if a little compact, but had a hairdryer (which is always good I think). The breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and all staff, from check-in to check-out were really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice family kind of feel to it. I would stay here again if I was in the Galway area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Very reasonable rates offered on Roomex.com for this hotel, particularly as I booked at short notice and a lot of other Galway hotels were either very expensive or had no availability on the Saturday night of my stay. Loads of free car-parking and the staff were friendly and courteous. It is a little out of town but the rates are affordable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Good buzz around the hotel - even though it was busy the corridors were very quiet - had a very nice breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

very pleasant stay, staff very organised

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Every thing went very well. We got a hearthy welcome and felt relaxed for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was handsome and the staff were very helpfull. The room itself was saisfactory but the view out the window was desparate. Get rid of all the rubbish and clean up the yard! The picture on the bedroom wall is upsidedown! there is no extractor fan in the bathroom. Galway is great craic, and auntie Sheile is keeping well.Best regards room 233.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

We were delighted with our stay in Flannerys. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean. Not a sound did we hear. So so important, most hotels fall down on this. Parking. Easy access to Galway city.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Lovely place to stay. Staff and food lovely! Room very nice! Will be back again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We celebrated a family event last week and stayed at this hotel. After we checked out we got a phone call from the hotel advising that we had left bags in our room plus we owed them money for a restaurant bill. We had paid for our meals as we stayed. However it transpired, after three phonecalls, that the bill belonged to other customers. We had been travelling on our way home (3hr drive) when we got the phonecall. It was very upsetting to hear this news after our joyous occasion in Galway. We checked our luggage at a pull-in spot on the motorway and found that we had all our luggage. The hotel advised later that we had left 'empty' plastic bags in our room which they thought were luggage. We hadn't left anything in the room because we hadn't even gone shopping. It was all a big mix up, the receptionist just said sorry, and we were all in bad form after the phonecalls. It was our third time staying at this hotel and because of this experience I don't think we'll be going back again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Well located. Friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. Would definitely go back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Could not fault the hotel, staff very pleasent and rooms were of a much higher standard than expected for money paid.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

I stayed at Flannery's for a weekend in September and I have to say I was delighted with this hotel. For value for money this place won't be beaten. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone for a stay in Galway.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

the room was clean but a little basic the staff were helpfull and friendly and the food was lovely,the only downside was we didnt get much sleep there was constant banging noise from the corridore doors

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

This was my first visit to Flannery's and I must say it was a very pleasant experience. I found the hotel very clean, my room was perfect, with one comment only, could the hotel please look into using two shower curtains in the bathroom as only having one it tends to stick to you while washing which is not a nice feeling. The breafast was everything one would need, very good choices in cereal, fresh fruit salad and a lovely natural yogurt, very hot tea and brown bread/toast. I found the staff very polite and frendly and I would not hesitate to recommend Flannery's to anyone.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Good value 3 star hotel. Short walk into Galway city or 2 minutes in a taxi. Room was fine, small but functional, staff were great especially those on reception.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Hotel and Staff very nice. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent. First time on 4th floor and you could hear every movement. Maybe that was due to a guests coming back from a party. Made lots of noice in hallway and very loud all night. I Didn't get much sleep. A bit disappointed from that point of view.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Stayed here before on a numbber of occasions. Staff always helpful and even allowed us to park our motorcycles in a secure area at the back of the hotel last weekend. Food is always top notch and reasonable. Rooms were clean and well managed. We will be back again to stay in Flannerys during the summer and look forward to it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

As always we enjoyed ourselves in Flannery's Best Western Hotel. The beds must be the most comfortable in Ireland. Breakfast was tasty. We have never had a problem in the hotel and it offers good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Friendly, helpful staff. Great value-good quality room & facilites

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

We realy enjoyed our weekend. Hotel is kept very well , friendly staff ,good food,enternment on Sat night excellent ,We hope to be back shortly

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

We stayed on the bottom floor and it was not what we expected, the hotel was obviously been renovated at the time but they could have covered up the pipes in the ceiling in the halls. The bedroom was too hot at night time which made it very hard to sleep.All the staff were very friendly and helpful.The food was excellent.As this was our second time staying in this hotel i would return again but would like to see the renovations completed next time.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Room great. good location. Very good value for money

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Enjoyed my stay here, stayed in room 201, twin room, paid for but missed breakfast, from what I saw it was standard Buffet. Hotel staff all very nice, professional and accommodating. Room very modern with clean bathroom. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the centre , 30mins or 8 euro in a taxi... Still great hotel and location, value for money all round.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Keeping in mind it's a 3 star hotel, I would say it was still below satisfactory. I was staying in one of the non renovated rooms, which really could have done with a sprucing up. The bathroom is from the 80's or 70's. The bed was comfortable, but the linen looks like it was past it's best, in a hotel linen that has piling on it should be thrown out. Interestingly enough these guys give you a RTÉ Guide for your incredibly small TV. One positive is that there is free WiFi everywhere, not just in the lobby as advertised. Breakfast is less than average. The buffet style is not really a buffet style, as someone puts together your Irish breakfast for you. I'm guessing this is a cost saving idea (rather than a safey issue). The fruit salad was no great shakes either, as it was mostly apple chopped up, no bananas, berries or anything else. Don't attempt to drink the coffee, as it tasted either like it was instant coffee, or it had been standing in a metal pot for a 1/2 hour. A Nespresso machine, that costs about €0.30 per cup would go a LONG way. Thankfully on my 2nd morning I wasn't even offered coffee, but sadly I missed out on the toast too. The selection of juices was nice (apple, orange, cranberry and pineapple), but they failed to offer water as a drink. The breads and few pastries weren't tested. Food at the restaurant wasn't anything spectacular to report, and the attitude of one barman would lead you to think that you were putting him out when ordering drinks or meals. Prices for food were around the €12-€18 range, and simply not worth it for the level of service offered. I offered to pay my bill when ordering at the bar, but instead, I get interrupted while eating, and a bill is put on the table instead. I'm guessing the bar staff could do with a bit of re-training. Would I go back ? No, probably not. The price to service is certainly not something I was entirely happy with.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Pretty tired hotel. Our room smelled of damp and must. Smokey smell in the corridors. We changed rooms when we complained to a much nicer one. Staff were nice. Breakfast wasn't nice. Wouldn't recommend the hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

The stay was very satisfactory. Spotless room, courteous staff and excellent breakfast. Full marks!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

Room was a bit small but the staff were excellent as was the food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

Pleasant staff, comfortable, quiet, warm room; satisfactory range for breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

hotel central clean rooms and beds comfortable breakfast excellent staff all friendly

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

We stayed one night in Flannery's hotel - we found it to be clean and basic. The heating wasn't working in our room but an electric heater was installed which meant the room was warm. Good value for the price we paid.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Bedroom was large and comfortable. Staff efficient,helpful, and friendly. Bar snack satisfactory and breakfast very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

I was very pleased with my stay here. I was in Galway for lectures and afterwards all I wanted was to go back and relax in my room. The staff were exceptional, very welcoming and always happy to deal with any queries. The room was comfortable and clean, the restaurant was lovely and room service was delivered very quickly and still hot. I will be staying here again!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

My wife and I have just spent three nights in Flannerys hotel, it was absolutely perfect. When we arrived we were checked in quickly and efficiently by a young lady who made us feel genuinely welcome.Our room was bright well laid out and clean with a nice luxurious feel to it. I must mention the bed itself which was comfortable and large enough for my six foot three inch frame to fit in (without feet hanging over the end as in most hotels).The breakfast was lovely with a nice range of food served quitely and efficiently. The staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly and really made an effort.Indeed when we went to our room first we noticed the TV was not working very well, we mentioned this at reception on our way to dinner and on our return it had been replaced, very good service after seven in the evening on a bank holiday monday. For the three nights of our stay we had food in the bar for our evening meal, which was delicious and reasonably priced. Our meal was served by a young lady called Louise who was quite simply superb. We had a great stay in a fabulous hotel well done Flannerys

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Evening meal served in Bar was delicious. This is the first time I was allocated a room on the ground floor, seemingly this floor has been renovated and rooms were to a very high standard. Based on my last visit to the Hotel, I would stay in Flannery's again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

brilliant hotel room was gorgeous staff very nice and helpful food was lovely definitely would stay here again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Clean hotel, with comfortable bed. Rather dated decor and clientele, no leisure centre and limited facilities. Probably would'nt stay there again as better hotels available locally at comparable price.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Upon arrival our room was absolutely freezing no heat on. A porter came up to room and got one radiator working. We sat in the public area for two hours to let room heat up and after that time it was still vey cold. We requested a heater which we did get after 3 hours. The bathroom was totally freezing next morning and overall this was not a good stay for us. It is the first time we were not happy with a room from roomx.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

overall i had a very enjoyable stay. It was great value. The staff were friendly and there was a good standard of hygiene. it is ideally located and i would definitely stay here again

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Hotel was very dated in its decore and could have been cleaner. bar and restaurant were good but food overall was plain.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

it was ok

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Nice hotel but fire alarm going off at 10 the next morning was a bit annoying

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We had a great time. The hotel was excellent value for money, the food really good with a great choice, and the room had everything we needed.A very relaxing and peacful time was had by all. The new furnishings and decoration in the bar have made a significant difference to the atmosphere- very upmarket.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5