Academy Plaza Hotel Dublin Findlater Place, Off Upper O'connell Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Also known as: Best Western Academy Plaza
8/10.0 Based on 22 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Academy Plaza Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

First impressions on arrival was beautiful clean and welcoming hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was so comfortable and warm and most importantly clean. Location was ideal for city centre close to Henry Street and Connolly Station. I would definitely go back again. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2017

Service throughout our stay was very good, all the staff we met were very helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

Our room was big, the beds were large and super comfy and the breakfast was fab.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

Great central location - ideal for shopping and sightseeing! Staff very friendly and very professional. Room very clean and comfortable. Nice quiet hotel, have stayed a few times now and would return again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

From the time we opened the door to the front lobby till the time we left we were treated with warmth. Superb service and fantastic food. All our whims and wishes were looked after.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Very centrally situated. Rooms were spotless, especially the bathroom. Really enjoyed our stay there.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Good location, friendly helpful staff. Rooms vary in size, comfortable and clean.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Good location,nice atmosphere,friendly staff. Have stayed at this hotel many times. This time room was very small, requested change but other room not available. Will return to this hotel but in future will pre book a more comfortable room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

A very basic hotel; small rooms, small bathroom, thin towels, very little in the way of a luxury experience. We had booked a double room and ended up in a twin. Unfortunately due to time constraints we were unable to ask for a change. Twin beds are extremely narrow, roughly the same width as a hospital trolley. Duvets are similar, just the width of the bed with the excess of the cover hanging over, allowing for the appearance of luxury. Just as well the beds were comfy and the night warm!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Great place to stay! very central

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly but the room was tiny

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Nice and very clean but very small room, to the backside. Noise from the kitchen aircondition outside from 6.30 am till 10pm. Best is the central location. 30 sec. to O'Connel Street. Friendly Service. High parking rate for a day.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Lovely hotel. Staff great. But room we got is not acceptable for two people:tiny. To get out of the bed have to hop(if able) out the end of the bed or across the person sleeping beside you! The plus side was the air con was very good. Lucky we were only staying 1 night otherwise we would certainly have asked for a change.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

very good place to stay

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Faboulous stay. Excellent staff, appreciated the early check in. Very convenient location. Food and facilities all top class.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

We had a lovely stay in the Hotel its so Central very clean and the room and beds was so comfortable and breakfast was delicious

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

The location of the hotel was brillant and very handy to access the city. Very disappointed with the room its self. The room number was 210 the room was tiny, you could hardly walk around the bed it was so small. I was glad we were only staying there for one night and we werent in it long because we were attending the Westlife Concert. If we were suppossed to be staying for two nights i would have been very annoyed. I asked the girl when we were checking out was it a single room that we got and she told me that it was a standard double room we were staying in. It would turn me off booking it again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

fine clean nice breaky didnt eat meal ate in town

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

On arrival at the hotel, I was greeted by friendly and chatty staff, who inquired about my trip. Our room on the 7th floor, although small, was spotlessly clean and quiet and suited our needs. The breakfast was superb and set us up well for our day of shopping. As for the hotel's location (just off O'Connell St), you couldn't ask for better. As we were on a shopping trip, we were delighted to be so close to Henry Street and Grafton Street. I definitely would recommend this hotel to friends as its location would suit both tourists and shoppers alike.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Lovely hotel, staff friendly & helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

I stayed here on a Monday night so the hotel was reasonably quiet. Check-in went smoothly but upon arrival at my room the door wouldn't open for me despite the key-card working. Luckily there was a hotel employee walking past who managed to open the door for me. The bedroom was very small inside with the bed taking up most of the room so I was glad I was the sole occupant for the night. The bedding seemed rather old and not crisp like most standard hotels.........there also appeared to be crumbs on the bed so I'm assuming there was an employee eating inside there prior to my arrival. I went out for dinner that evening and upon my return I could not get into my room once again-I had to go down to reception to ask for assistance this time. When I did eventually get into my room I was afraid to leave it again that night in case there were further difficulties with the key-card so I stayed put for the night. Check-out was fairly fast and straight-forward the next morning. The hotel is nothing to write home about but it is very reasonably priced and centrally located so I probably would stay there again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

WHEN MY WIFE TOLD ME THAT WE WERE STAYING IN A BEST WESTERN, I HAD RESERVATIONS. I WAS THINKING LOW BUDGET HOTEL, POOR, SERVICE, UN-TIDY, STAFF WITH BLANK PERSONALITIES. HOWEVER, TO MY DELIGHT, WE WERE EXTREMELY IMPRESSED WITH YOUR HOTEL. THE HOTEL HAD AN EXCELLANT STANDARD OF CLEANLINESS, WAS WELL LAID OUT, THE DECOR WAS REALLY CURRENT AND WELL PRESENTED. THE FRONT DESK STAFF(AS-WELL AS THE CLEANING/BEDROOM STAFF) WERE EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL, WELL TURNED OUT, FRIENDLY(VERY IMPORTANT) AND HELPFUL. THE ROOM'S WERE LOVELY AND SPOTLESS. ALL OF THE FACILITIES THAT YOU LOOK FOR IN A HOTEL BEDROOM WERE ALL THERE, AND IT MADE FOR A VERY COMFORTABLE STAY. TO BE HONEST, I WOULD FIND IT HARD TO FAULT ANY PART OF THE STAY......I REALISE THAT I WAS ONLY SPENDING ONE NIGHT THERE, BUT I WOULD HAVE NO HESITATION IN SPENDING MORE THAN ONE NIGHT, IF EVER THE SITUATION PRESENTED IT-SELF. IN CLOSING, IT WAS THE BEST MONEY FOR A HOTEL THAT I HAVE EVER SPENT....I MEAN € 101.50 FOR 2 ADULTS, DOUBLE ROOM WITH A FABULOUS BUFFET BREAKFAST, HOW COULD YOU GO WRONG? I WOULD HAVE NO RESERVATION IN RECCOMENDING THIS HOTEL TO ANY ONE THAT I KNOW, THAT SHOULD NEED OVER-NIGHT ACCOMODATION IN DUBLIN.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5