Sheldon Park Hotel & Leisure Club Dublin Kylemore Road, Dublin, D12 V0y2, Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 61 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Sheldon Park Hotel & Leisure Club Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in November 2015

On the 1st occasion I stayed here on 15th Nov 2015, I was given the box room with a single bed only in the room. On the 2nd occasion I stayed here on the 22nd Nov 2015, the room was adequate, but there were 5 air conditioning units directly outside this room, which gave rise to a constant noise.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2015

I had asked for an upgrade the room was very small and warm, I did not like the food and when I was leaving the receptionist had embrassed me by trying to take double from my card after it had been paid for this was done in front of friends and family.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

The staff were just great, friendly and couldn't do more. The dinner in the pub was only divine, couldn't fault it, lovely presentation but the taste was very full and just delicious. The room was ideal, comfortable and clean.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel numerous amount of times and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice few days away. The rates are seriously cheap for what the Sheldon has to offer.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Reception staff were very nice as were the staff for breakfast. Staff in the bar were rude and forgot to order a childs meal after making a big issue that only children can order of the childrens menu. Hotel itself nice, clean and warm

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Hotel well located on in West Dublin. On site free parking an asset.Hotel well appointed.Rooms comfortable. Staff friendly, helpful and professional.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Power failure while I was there, while i can understand this was not the hotels fault,lightening from generator very poor, could not get a drink - a bottle, can for over three hours,only good thing was staff were great, felt I should have got some reduction in price as I have stayed in this hotel many times before.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

breakfast was very hurried!and we went down early to enjoy it .

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

THE HOTEL IS FINE. I HAVE STAYED HERE BEFORE AND HAVEN'T HAD ANY PROBLEMS. THE LEISURE FACILITIES ARE AN ADDED BONUS-AS WELL AS BEING ABLE TO USE THE GYM & POOL, GUESTS CAN ALSO JOIN IN ANY CLASSES (SPINNING, TONING ETC) FREE OF CHARGE. HOWEVER, THIS TIME I WAS ALLOCATED ROOM 135 WHICH I DISCOVERED IS DIRECTLY OVER THE KITCHEN AREA AND LATE IN THE EVENING/VERY EARLY IN THE MORNING IT WAS LIKE BEING INSIDE AN EXTRACTOR FAN! THE FANS WERE SWITCHED OFF SOMETIME AFTER MIDNIGHT AND SWITCHED BACK ON AGAIN AROUND 6AM, WHEN THEY WERE COOKING THE BREAKFASTS. AVOID THIS ROOM!! (AND POSSIBLY THE ADJACENT ONES)

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Great staff on reception and in bar, room comfortable. Great value hotel for location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Big improvement in this hotel especially in the restaurant. The main courses are great value and very high quality. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Would recommend for short stay on business trips.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and really like it there

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Lovely stay, very accommodating staff. I booked the room for my parents for their anniversary and asked could the staff put a note in their room for me, they were more than happy to help. My parents loved their stay, especially the pool and breakfast, very close to Luas into city center too.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The one fault i would have is that the leisure centre was closed at 5.30 pm { Sunday] I was really looking forward to a swim after a long journey. Otherwise it was very conveniently located. We left our car at the hotel and took the Luas into the city centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Sheldon Park staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is five minutes walk from the nearest Luas stop which takes you directly into the city centre. The rooms are spacious and climate controlled. Best of all is the breakast which is freshly cooked to order and delicious, not the usual buffet that one expects in most hotels today.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Really nice hotel but major lack of customer service. Have stayed here many times before with no bother - good food, good location to access the Luas red line to get to city centre and reasonably priced for what you get but had a lot of hassle at check in - so did other people- I booked a twin room and the receptionist went as far as saying that it was a double not a twin that was booked and that they didn't even have twin rooms - all lies - even the sheet of paper they give you with keycard said twin room typed by themselves and she still continued to lie to get her way out of the situation. I stood my ground and eventually got a twin room but felt treated very badly

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

everything was satisfactory except we weren't given an option of smoking or non smoking room. check in seemed to be a bit rushed.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

hotel & staff are brilliant will stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Hotel was idealy located,Staff were very friendly, food was excellent and hotel was very and great value for money

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

We had a great time! The room was great & staff were help full! My boys loved it to, because of the pool! 2nd time stayed there & would go back again!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Good location beside the Luas. Free parking and leisure centre. A very good hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room warm with all basic requirements.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

This was our second time staying at this hotel. We were very happy with it, 3mins walk from the kylemore Luas stop, just up the road from MacDonalds and other large stores such as Bargaintown etc.... There is a large bar and restaurant in the hotel, it also has a large leisure club if you have the time or inclination! The hotel and its room was very clean, comfortable and the staff were very competent, professional and pleasant. We required a cot for our baby and again the cot they gave us was immaculately clean. Breakfast was very good and all in all we could highly recommend this hotel it suited our needs perfectly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Room small but comfortable for price. Very noisy though, as the room must be over an extractor fan which was on until approx 11pm and restarted at 6am. Extra blanket in room was useful, as it was a particularly cold night, and eventhought the radiator was very hot when on - the extra blanket was required during the night. Reception and bar staff very friendly - bar food usually good.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

A very pleasant stay,room lovely and clean,breakfast very good, staff very obliging.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Cozy room with all you need for a one night stay. Will be back for sure

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

It did the job as simply a work overnight stay, staff were nice and the gym was nice. It was very good value.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Nice, clean room, however it was, to my surprise, a smoking room, and since I hadn't requested a smoking room, the smell was unpleasant. The late night band downstairs was a noisy surprise too, since I had said at check-in that I would like a room with a table, as I needed to work. Breakfast was good, and the staff very helpful and nice. I used the pool - again it was nice, however it would be an easy adjustment to make to have hooks for towels by the showers and to allow guests to return towels in the leisure centre itself rather than bring them back to the room. It's the second time I've stayed there and I'd certainly stay again, as, on balance, it was well worth it.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

I am very impressed with the Best Western Sheldon Park Hotel. I have stayed here before.I had a lovely stay for 3 nights,everything is supplied in the room,television,iron,hairdyer&toileteries. The room was spotless and cleaned everyday. I had breakfast on one morning and it was very nice. I would have liked more of a variety of fruit bowl,but a good variety of everything else and was well supervised. I had a meal in the bar/restaurant and it was ordered and served promptly by a very friendly helpful and efficient waitress. There was internet access in the Hotel reception area.The reception staff were always helpful even when i needed travel directions. Ample parking places.Close to the Luas to City centre and Tallaght were I had appointments.I have recommended this Hotel to my friends.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Very friendly - pleasant - great food

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

We enjoyed our stay here at the BW Sheldon Park. It was a little out of the city so maybe not ideal for tourists but it was perfect for hopping the Luas into the city and the free carpark was what made it really attractive. The staff were lovely, the rooms were clean, the food was great (breakfast in particular) though the water pressure wasn't great and showering took quite a while! For the price ir's great value and I'd definitely stay again if I was in the area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Small,but clean+basic bedrooms.Staff helpful,when approached.Very convenient for Luas especially if visitng a patient in ST.James's hospital.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Considering how cheap the room was I was fully expecting to encounter something unsatisfactory - but I didn't! The staff were polite & helpful, the hotel itself was very nice & the room was perfectly clean. Plenty of hot water for a nice bath & the shower was good too. Sheets & towels were nice & soft. On the whole, a very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Clean room, friendly staff, nice hotel and a great band the night i visited... Bar closed very early was the only downside... would definitely go again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

I stay here every time I visit Dublin. The location is great, just a short drive to the City or alteratively the Luas station is nearby. The Bar/Lounge food is excellant. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Free wi-fi in bedrooms is an advantage. I have always found that Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Had a very pleasant stay at the Best Western Sheldon Park Hotel on Saturday Night. Staff very pleasant and helpful. I certainly will return for another stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

WE WERE A FAMILY OF 4 CHECK IN WAS VERY QUICK AND STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY. SWIMMING POOL WAS NICE AND VERY CLEAN. BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT AND VERY EFFICIENT. STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY. fOUND THE BAR FOOD WAS A BIT SLOW. CHILDRENS MENU WAS DISAPPOINTING AT 8.95 FOR 3 CHICKEN GOUGONS AND CHIPS. GREAT VARIETY FOR AULDTS AND KEENLY PRICED FOR THE SPECIALS. ROOM WAS SPOTLESS AND VERY SPACIOUS FOR A FAMILY ROOM. ROOM SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT AND VERY QUICK.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

We booked into this hotel for an overnight following the recent Take That concert. arriving early we didn't expect to check in but the room was ready for us on arrival. the room was very nice bed comfortable, modernly decroared, can't complain about it, everything was in working order. the staff were very friendly especially the girl in reception she was there on the sunday when we checked in and again on check-out, a very pleasent friendly girl. overall a vary nice hotel and extremely convenient to get from it to the city - only a 5 min walk to the luas :-)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

My experence was very good for the most part. I enjoyed the health club. It did seem to be let run down a bit. The spa was closed (gone) so i was told. The hotel staff were very perfessional, I had a problem in the room with a light and the porter was very help full took it away and was back in 10 min problem solved. Again like the health club seems that things have been let slide, in my room there was work needed in the bathroom around the bath tub. I have no fault with the food top class lots of choice in the lunch carvery, the food was hot had lunch there the 3 days and i had some thing different and it was great. did feel that the dinner price was high but good food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was lovely.rooms were clean and spacious. All areas spotless clean. My only complaint was I had a room with a skylight and had no blind so was difficult to sleep with the light.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Had a function in town and stayed here as it is so close to the Luas. Lovely bright room, spotless and couldn't fault it at all. Staff lovely, helpful & polite. We didnt eat at hotel so cant review the restaurant. Lovely hotel with pool. Would stay here again :-)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

We enjoy staying at this hotel. Everything went very well except that the mattress is in very poor condition and there was no one available to perform a massage.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

On business in Ballyfermot area and this hotel is ideally located. Staff helpful & professional. Accommodation of a very high standard. Free car parking on site a definite bonus.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

For the price we paid the Best Western sheldon park was brilliant, breakfast was included in the price,the breakfast was very nice with a lot of various things to choose from, the luas was only a 2 minute walk away, the rooms were clean, the pool was very nice and the receptionist in the leisure area was very nice and accomodating. The only thing that was a bit off putting was all the patterned wall paper and patterned carpet in the hall area, but apart from this it was brilliant value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

The room was neat and spacious. All the appliances were in working order. Personnel at the reception and delivering breakfast to the room was efficient and polite. This should be normal in a hotel, but by my experience this is not the case. Two negative points: the noise in our room from the disco on Saturday and Sunday night was quite loud; there was some mould in between the tiles in the shower.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

The hotel was lovely, the room was spacious and the staff were great. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely go back and stay there again. It is very close to Crumlin Childrens Hospital which is why we stayed there and we will be back in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

In Dublin on business. Location of hotel excellent for me. Staff professional, helpful and friendly. Room and all facilities to a very high standard. Free on site parking a real bonus in Dublin

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, and staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Staff where polite and professional,the hotel itself is quiet dated a bit tired looking i was expecting our room to be the same but the room we stayed in was lovely and fresh i would of classed our room as a four star. The price of the hotel was brillant value we paid 86euro room only for two nights and it was worth every cent of it. My only complaint is that there is no residence bar available, we booked in with a group so we would of liked a night cap before bed to catch up but that was declined by the bar staff, so that was very disappointing really. But overall the experience was very good for the price we paid, ideal if your shopping or going to a match in the city as the luas and bus runs right outside the street!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Our room was about 3 minutes away, making it ideal to go back to for a bit of peace. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Very nice hotel,rooms are lovely and spacious with loads of heating and planty hot water.The bar is a bit old school and a bit chilly, but could not complain about the food..although a bit pricey for the bar menu it was very tasty.I have stayed in the Sheldon before and used the gym and leisure facilites which are second to none,could not fault them.Reception when checking in were very polite and courteus,but on check out there was no "i hope you enjoyed your stay" etc I even had to ask for the €100 deposit back and the receptionist barely spoke two words throughout the whole transaction!But overall could not fault the hotel or facilites,great value for money!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

lovely hotel but ! LEISURE CENTRE CLOSED AT FIVE THIRTY SATURDAY AND SUNDAYS.AND THE ROOM WAS VERY COLD-NO RAD ON AT ALL SUNDAY MORNING.BREKFAST WAS FAB.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Room was nice and clean but a bit small. The only downfall was its location it is about 15min drive outside the city and if there is bad traffic make that 30-35min. The luas is 1min walk from the hotel and will bring you straight to the city centre in 10min which is really handy. Staff were nice and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

the hotel was clean and comfortable with great facilities. we booked for a weekend stay in room 225 with full irish breakfast which was hot and delcious. i would reccomend and would stay again. the only complaint i had was the water wasnt very hot in shower but apart from that was a pleasnt stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Although I arrived close to midnight, reception was very quick and helpful. Magnetic strip door key would not work, reception supplied a second which did not work either ! Receptionist came with me on third try and it worked, although still a bit temperamental. Room was large and comfortable and clean. A visit to the bar for a nightcap was spoiled by a barman more interested in getting ready for home than giving any cheerful vibes to his customers (polar opposite to receptionist). Breakfast, an extra, was good and staff quick and cheerful. I did not have time to experience the leisure centre

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Excellent Location for Ballyfermot/Dubliin West area. Hotel comfortabe and competitively priced. Ample free car parking a bonus. Staff very helpful and professional.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

My room was beautiful and quiet at night. The staff couln't have been more helpful and welcoming. Food was excellent. I was very pleased and would use Sheldon Park again. With special offers, the price was right. I loved it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Nice hotel, nice leisure centre and right on the luas.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Had to complain several times aboul things and nothing was satisfactorily resolved. Complained that hotel was cold, particularly my room but would not put haeting on. Hope I never have the misfortune to have to stay at this hotel ever again

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

My stay in the best western Sheldon park hotel was a satisfactory stay regarding the amenities and the room. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly. Apart from some noisy guests a few doors away who decided to make loud phonecalls in the corridor the stay was a satisfactory.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

The room was situated on the upper floor which to all appearances was directly beneath the roof. The room had a recessed dormer type window and sharply angled ceiling, making it impossible to stand upright on one side of the bed. There was also noticable water damage from a roof leak which had not been repainted. The room was very small, so the height restrictions where even more pronounced. On both nights stay I was distrubed from 8pm to 2am approximately by the sound of washing machines at various stages of cycle spin.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5