Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar Castlebar, Ireland

Also known as: Breaffy House
8/10.0 Based on 38 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar

Our Customer stayed here in August 2017

Room very basic.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2017

Staff at reception make all the difference here. Friendly and accommodating. It was a busy time loads of kids about and door banging. They should put restraints on the doors as they really would lift you out of it. Excellent gym but difficult to access should have access from hotel rather than lift?

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2015

Vey nice family hotel, large rooms, kids entertainment and excellent bar food. Service very slow for bar food in the evening as it was extremely busy but excellent when it arrived. Breakfast good. Overall enjoyable stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Excellent service friendly staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Ended up in hotel next door but it was nice too

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

we had a great time here room was lovely service and food excellent

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Rooms and facilities were great. Loved the food, the pool gym and service. Def no complaints here

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

On arrival we were checked in with speed and courtesy. we got a warm friendly welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was excellent, the dining room staff were very warm,friendly and efficient. The only drawback is that the rooms don't have broadband internet access. wireless broadband is only available in the reception area. However, this is not a big problem. Overall our stay was very pleasant and I would be happy to recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room I stayed in.The carpet had not been vacuumed before our stay and the bathroom bin had not been emptied.I thought this was very odd.I mentioned my observations to the reception staff on departure.They apologised for this inconvenience.I would doubts, however, about staying in this hotel again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

overall the room was good, staff friendly.The only fault I found is that it was very noisey right through the night

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Excellent hotel. Great food. Friendly staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Hotel needs a complete overhall. Bedroom bright and clean once you found it. Lift terrible. Stuck on the 3rd floor. Breakfast not good but had a nice meal in the bar the evening before. The hotels biggest asset is it`s staff. They are friendly, cheerful and very helpful.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Booked room for three and paid 150 euro for B/B which was enough in this recession. The room was spacious with double and two single beds(third bed just put into room)Unfortunately breakfast was a big disappointment and the young lad who served it up to us should have been given lesson on how to serve a fried breakfast. This a fab location for a wedding and we enjoyed this food and service.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Beautiful Hotel. The bedrooms and public areas were very relaxing and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, great location. Overall had a great time. Breakfast choice overall very good, although rashers were very fatty and sausages seemed undercooked one morning. Seemed a bit understaffed at peak times. Items liable to run out but staff were quick to replace them when approached. Eat in the bar a few times and food was nice. Again the staff were very friendly but seemed rushed off their feet at times which caused delays in getting food. Could do with updating their tv's from CRT's as many families like to bring media/dvd players with them to keep children occupied and you couldn't even connect them. Great facilities on site for keeping children occupied.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

We stayed one night as we were attending a wedding at Breaffy House Hotel. we checked in about half 3pm, it took us a few minutes to find our room as we got a little lost on the corridors, but was delighted to find the room really spacious, bright and airy. we only got to stay a short time in the room however as the wedding reception was too good to miss. reception and breakfast staff were real nice, we got to use the Pool etc the next morning. was a really lovely break away for us. thanks!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

I found the Breaffy House Hotel in Castlebar to be satisfactory. However, I found that the some of the corridors to have a damp smell and found the bar area to be dated.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

The hotel was very quiet as it was a Monday evening. The room was clean, the staff were friendly and best of all it was great value for money! I'd recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and the bedroom was spacious and clean.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

Our booking was for Breaffy House Hotel where we were attending a friends wedding. Arrived and were told I had made the booking for Woods hotel part of the same resort. I pointed out that I hadn't and that all my documents were for the House and was then informed that actually the hotel had made a mistake (I booked in July for December 30th) and booked me into wrong hotel. Had no choice but to stay in the Woods first night as Breaffy House was full and we were given option of moving to the main hotel Breaffy House on the 2nd night which we took up - of course since we had already paid for 2 nights there and not in the Woods, being told they were very close and part of the same resort was not point, the point was we had booked where the wedding was on and all the money had already been taken off my credit card. Meal at the function was lovely and the decor etc in function room was great and so festive. Service was perhaps a bit too efficient as some courses were whipped away even if some food were left. We were at a table at the back of the function room and a door open behind us so it was quite cold. When meal finished a friend asked could the door be closed or air con turned off and was told to move tables if it was cold. The private function I was attending in the bar of the Woods hotel the next night ended up having to be shared with a party of people who had been attending a kiddies party downstairs and arrived upstairs with children and buggies. In fairness to the other group it was not their fault that there was a private function on in the only bar in the hotel and they had also been told there was entertainment on there. However neither was it the problem of those attending the private party, some of the 2nd group were very rude to the couple who had organised the party and who were paying for the room and food. I think the hotel organised this really badly and needlessy upset people many of whom were guests in the hotel for 2 nights. Could they not have been moved to the Residents bar in the Breaffy House (as easily as we were all told to move to the Woods hotel for accommodation)? Other friends had booked into the House hotel and were moved to the Woods due to overbooking. We were very disappointed in all this hassle as we were attending a friends wedding and staying 2 nights and it was very frustrating to have to try to sort all this out during the function. Also until it was pointed out that the Woods had a cheaper room rate this rate was not offered to guests who were moved to the other hotel on the day. Another friend had just arrived from long distance flight and had to change before meal, only when she was in the shower did she find out there were issues with no water. this could have been communicated on check in instead her finding out too late and missing the meal, although the hotel did kindly bring up her main course once water was restored. Overall while I thoroughly enjoyed the function and we ate in the restaraunt in Breaffy House the night of New Years Eve where the food and service was excellent, I was disappointed in the customer service and experience of the hotels. I have worked in the hotel industry myself and have not experienced such poor organisation. A number of the staff were quite rude which was unfortunate as the rest were an absolute pleasure to deal with. I understand that hotels may overbook to a certain extent and this makes sense as there may be some cancellations on the day, however to overbook to such an extent was terrible, and for us to see a tour group arriving that evening for the House hotel while we were being told to go to the Woods was something else. I wasn't offered a discount or a voucher for dinner or anything to make up for the poor experience which I thought was bad form.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

The room was fine apart from an awfull foul smell in the ensuite of room no 210. I would imagine its got to do something with the lack of ventilation in ensuite. The ensuite was clean but the foul smell from the waste pipework in ensuite. The breakfast was fine. The hotel has a voucher scheme for your evening meal which had to be prebooked in advance. I paid for two voucher for dinner and the hotel tried to charge for them on my departure. I had booked my 40th birthday at this hotel for 2 nights in a superior room in january and I will have to cancel. The staff are very friendly

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

I stayed for a wedding and it was lovely. Room was lovely. Have no complaints at all. Breakfast was untill 11am and after going to bed late after the wedding it was lovely to be able to sleep on in the morning. Also the breakfast was lovely even when we did arrive for last orders as they say. Plenty of everything. Will be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Excellent hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Very nice staff and a nice cosy residents bar. Not a great room with decor etc although it was quite large. Non sound proofed rooms - very bad nights sleep between people banging doors, people playing in the play area outside our room at 4am in the morning, and an emergency exit alarms going off in the middle of the night. The beds were quite uncomfortable also. Wouldn't stay here again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

We would book again on Roomex, good decoration in the bedrooms and excellent leasure centre. Very friendly staff, food very good and on Roomex priced reasonably. Overall Very Good, we liked the experienced

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Great value in wonderful surroundings!!! Would highly recommend

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Our room was just off the reception, making it ideal to go back to for a bit of peace. Breakfast was a bit all over the place with no waitress to take charge of ensuring we had tea or coffee until after we had eaten our breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Beautiful hotel and surroundings. It was so relaxing to be greeted by friendly staff after the long evening drive to the hotel. The rooms were above expectations, well spaced out, good facitilies in the room, the bathroom was like it was never used, well done to the staff. The only down side was, we got stuck in the lift, we got a great laugh out of this, so all was not lost. But fair play to the receptionist and maintenance people, this was delt with straight away once reported. All in all, a great relaxing weekend, will be back to the Breaffy House Hotel for sure.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2009

i attended a wedding at the Breaffy House Hotel and was very happy with my stay there. excellent service and friendly staff made all the difference!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

We had booked online to stay in the Breaffy House Hotel (romantic, cosy, period hotel, beautiful mature grounds, open fire) yet when we arrived, after a 4 hour trip and because a wedding was taking place we were put in the very unromantic and unprofessionally run Sports Hotel at the back of the Breaffy House Hotel (which they own). My boyfriend and I had just been shopping for an engagement ring and were really looking forward to our night away in such a stunning building & setting and were so disappointed to be relocated to an impersonal building. Other problems we encountered were 1. No hairdryer in the room. I telephoned reception twice over a 20minute period requesting one, told it was on the way and it never arrived. 2. The restaurant was a cross between self-service bar food and table service restaurant(with very little choice on a very unadventurous carvery menu). We received no menu but had to step outside again to see what was written on the door in order to decide what we were having. Our soup and main course arrived together. I have never experienced this poor service in a restaurant before. 3. The door of the ensuite (Room 2018) was broken and could not be locked. If locked it took several minutes, with a person on either end of the door to unlock it. 4. Of the 6 sachets of milk in the fridge in the room, 4 were gone off. 5. The fan did not work in the ensuite. 6. The entire layout, lighting, storage etc of the hotel room, we stayed in, seemed impractical. 7. As I stated in the introduction, the greatest disappointment of all was being moved from a hotel, which I had booked, to another which I most definitely had not booked. When booking, I had the choice of both and have the confirmation to prove which one I chose. I felt my custom was brushed aside in favour of a wedding party. I did not complain to the hotel staff present (it would be unfair to hold them personally accountable for all the above), choosing instead to put it in writing. Thank you Roomex for giving me the opportunity to do so.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

I stayed at breaffy house in august midweek for a two night break with my parents. The setting is lovely staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The only thing i felt could be improved was the bedrooms as our room could have done with some fresh paint to brighten it up. Overall really enjoyed my stay and would call again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

We just spend one night in Breaffy as we were attending a wedding, everything was first class,our room was in the new wing of hotel. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast usual buffet style but absolutley no complaints at all. I booked through roomex due to the excellent rate and will continue to avail of the excellent rates this site offers

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

We arreived on a Sunday evening very tired after a long journey. The check in was slow with people already checked in coming back to reception with compaints about their rooms not being ready or proplery cleaned.When we were eventually got our key and went to our rooom we were delighted with it. It was roomy bright and spotless. The food was very good the only disappointment being the menu didn`t vary from evening to evening. Breakfast was very good but queuing was normal. There were plenty of tables but a shortage of staff to keep them cleared .The leisure centre and spa were excellant.At night time it was almost impossible to get a seat in the bar or lobby area and again a few more staff were needed. Tables were seldom cleared and never wiped down. The staff were working as hard as they could, there just wasn`t enought of them. The bar area was too small.Air conditioning would have been very welcome.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a relaxing break. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool, sauna and steam room are very clean and we were even able to avail of treatments in the Life Spa, (at and extra cost, but well worth it). Would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Very enjoyable

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Had a lovely stay in the Hotel, room was very spacious and the food was superb. We had an enjoyable break.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We were staying in this hotel for a wedding, the room was clean, nice and tidy couldnt fault it at all. I would have two bad remarks to make and they are honest and would improve the hotel- The toilets downstairs off the function room were a disgrace when we went into the function room to sit for our meal, there was toilet roll all over the place and there was a toilet leaking and no notice up, also there was not enough bar staff working on the day in question. Again the hotel was nice, staff were friendly but the toilet issue would need to be addressed.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Gallery

  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar
  • Breaffy House Hotel Castlebar