The Brehon Hotel Killarney Muckross Road, Killarney Republic Of Ireland, Kerry Ireland(republic Of), Killarney, Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 28 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Brehon Hotel Killarney

Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Amazing stay from start to finish. Staff were amazing from check in to restaurant to spa treatments. Lovely chocs on arrival too. Breakfast fantastic. Room spotless and spacious. Cant wait to return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

Very nice hotel and great location. Staff are wonderful and very helpful. Food is just excellent. You should try the burger! A short walk to the town centre. Brilliant!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Absolutely brilliant, From the moment we walked through the front door we were taken care off.. 5 star service throughout ..

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

The room was quiet and clean, corridors a little dark and the corridor furniture for a newish hotel was worn and dated. The staff were very friendly and attentitive. We were very disapponinted with the hotel restaurant definately not 4 star standard, the entrees were very good and presented perfectly, however the main courses were both tough and tasteless and the desert course of creme brulee was sent back to the kitchen refridgerator where it had been for the past few days.The menu had very little choice. The spa was very good and enjoyable. We would stay at the Brehon again but would not dine there.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

At a wedding in Brehon, food and staff were very good. I would recommend hotel as a whole, facilaities were also very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

fantastic hotel, stayed for 3 nights during my sisters wedding, could not fault the place.. staff amazing, food amazing, weekend was amazing.. thank you..

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and it never fails to impress. Staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The spa is particularly delightful and a worthwhile experience. Fabulous scenic view of the mountains from our bedroom. We wanted to stay a third night, but when we went to enquire they were booked up!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Standard hotel, more 3 star than 4. Basic bedrooms, only one robe was there although the room was booked for 3 (had to call for another). Very below par bar food, greasy and tasteless. The breakfast was passable, nothing special or flavoursome. The spa area was ok, the pool is too small to swim in, the steam room wasn't working. Overall a very underwhelming, over priced hotel that I will not return to.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Stayed at Brehon Hotel Killarney over the christmas break. Very warm welcome at check in. Very comfortable bedrooms. The bathrooms were large and well finished. There was a great choice on offer for breakfast, pancakes were delicious. Had an indian head massage and facial at the ansanga spa which was a wonderful experience. Would recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Easy to deal with and no problems

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

The hotel itself was gorgeous, the room was spacious and beautifully decorated. My issue is with the offer we got, it included an evening meal. when I looked up the website the food sounded amazing however the menu we received did not resemble in any form what I had seen. Nowhere did it say that this would be the case. When we enquired into the difference we were told that the deal we had could be used against the dinner menu in the restaurant giving us an allowance of $18 pp. This would barely buy a starter! Since it was a special occasion we decided to chose the started and main from the dinner menu. I then wanted to get value for my money so I chose a desert from the original 'deal' menu at this the server informed us that we were not allowed to swap between menus. This I find absurd as if the food is in the kitchen just give it to the customer who ask for it, however this I regretted as the desert we received wouldn't have been served in a cheap dingy coffee shop never mind a 'high class' (I use this term loosely) restaurant in a four star hotel. It was awful and in total the dinner cost an extra €90. On top of the €180 we paid already for the 1 night, breakfast and supposed evening meal. Also we had a glass of wine each and when we went to pay we were charged for the whole bottle, when this was disputed the servers got quite difficult to deal with. All in all I would rather eat in the local fish and chip shop than to be robbed here again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

An amazing stay, top quality hotel, service and food. Facilities were first class: big modern room, spa is to die for, great fun was had on pitch and putt course. Also food was very tasty for both breakfast and dinner, nothing was a problem. Will definitely return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a friend's daughter's wedding. The hotel is stunning in it's layout; big open spaces and fantastic decor. On checking in, we were told we had the use of the spa, the wedding meal was fantastic - top class food and service. Drinks at the bar were also reasonably priced for a hotel. The breakfast in the morning was self service and was just fantastic, you couldn't ask for better choice and quality. All guests were offered a Sunday night stay at a reduced price. I would definitely recommend this fantastic hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Lovely hotel very friendly staff. We were attending a show next door so it was very convienient to stroll accross. We had dinner in the dining room and it was delicious and the staff were lovely and very attentive. Our Room was lovely and very quiet and peaceful so we had a good night sleep. While our stay was short we would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Excellent stay no faults

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Beautiful hotel, the staff were excellent - nothing was a problem! Very comfortable stay and the food was delicious and very reasonable. I'd highly recommend the Brehon Hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

This is a magnificent hotel - spacious, graceful rooms, friendly, courteous staff, delicious food, great spa...... by far the best hotel I've stayed in in a long time. It far outstrips its 4 stars - but by having 4 stars it makes it reasonably affordable. Thank you Brehon for a wonderful long weekend away!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Overall the Brehon is a lovely hotel but had a few issues at checkout. Firstly, they were charging me for the room. ( I had already paid Roomex ). I was also charged for 2 drinks from the bar even though I had paid cash at the time ( Luckily I had my receipt ) To add insult to injury I was also charged for drinks bought by the room next door!!!! Spoke to manager and all was resolved. He wasn't overly apologetic and said " they were only human". One or two mistakes maybe but three!!!!! No harm to advise your customers to present room voucher and keep all receipts to be safe.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Fantastic Hotel couldnt do enough for me and my girlfriend. Room was spacious and well presented. Can only speak positively about my stay here. Highly Recommended

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Can't fault anything about this quality hotel. My wife and I were there for an anniversary break. After a very pleasant greeting at reception we were treated to a complimentary room upgrade. The room we received offered sumptious king size bed, spotless bathroom and glorius views of the Kerry mountains, the perfect diversion for a relaxing weekend away. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. The waiting staff were very knowledgeable on the fare offered and we had a pleasant (and informative!) chat with the wine waiter. All in all, the way a 4 star hotel should be!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

This hotel was excellent value through roomex.com. It is a 4 star hotel, with what I would consider 5 star treatment. My stay was for 3 nights and a wedding. Every morning the rooms were attended too and also in the evening your room was also reviewed, with curtains closed, a sweet and a scroll left on your turned down covers on the bed. The spa area looked devine even though I didn't get the opportunity to attend. Staff on reception were extremely accomodating and friendly and no request was too much for them. The food at the wedding was excellent and the bar food menu was also very apptizing for snacks or lunch/dinner. My only problem occured with my keycard, where on a few occasions I had to return to reception as it was not working. I was told that if you have it near a mobile phone then it might affect it and disable to scanning of it in the keyholder. So I will take some responsibility for this. I would certainly return to this hotel. The hotel can be quite expensive to book directly, but through roomex at the right time you can get a great deal.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Extremely nice 4 star hotel. Very impressive foyer. Rooms very comfortable and contemporary in style. Staff friendly and very accommodating. I look forward to staying here again soon.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

we really enjoyed our stay at the brehon,from our arrival to departure the rooms were beautiful very spacious, staff were very helpful, only thing off was the distance from the town centre. highly recommended and will return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

I stayed in the Beautiful Brehon Hotel, overlooking the lakes of Killarney. It was majical there. I have stayed in this hotel in the Summer time also, having booked with Roomex agian, but this Winter Wonderland was a very unexpected surprise. The Lobby of the hotel was decorated beautifully with an enormous Christmas Tree, and a 7' tall Santa, and fabulous open fires everywhere. It really brought out the little girl in me, and I feel I have had an early Christmas Present. Thank you Roomex for offering me the opportunity to have such a lovely experience. Merry Christmas to you all. Mary O'Brien

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The best hotel i have stayed the staff were tops the spa and food were superb will be going there again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

DECOR WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, SERVICES WERE GREAT AND FOOD WAS SUBERB. A MUST TO TREAT URSELF ONCE IN A WHILE

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights in the Brehon Hotel in October. I have to say we were very disappointed with a few aspects of our stay. For a 4 star hotel , I couldnt believe that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - very annoyed! Also the iron wasnt working. Check out was quick and efficient however I discoverd a few days later that my credit card had been charged with Eur 232.00 that was nothing to do with our stay. We had prepaid our booking through roomex. Someone had incorrectly applied another room charge onto my credit card. When I called up about this, while the girl on reception apologized and promised to pass on my concern to the appropriate person in charge the next day , this wasnt done. I had to call again the following afternoon as I had heard nothing back and repeat what had happened all over again as no message was relayed. I was reimbursed but with very little apology or explanation as to how this happened and I was offered no extra compensation. Overall, we wouldnt go back . Having visited the muckross park Hotel during our stay , I would defineteley stay there the next time in Killarney, it was way ahead of the Brehon in every way.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The swimming pool / spa was gorgeous, but make sure to ring down from your room before you go, as we had to deal with a very rude Spa Assistant who told us that only ten people were allowed in the pool at any one time. Food is great. Again, make sure to make a reservation in the hotel bar, as the queue builds up from 6.00 once there's a show on in the Gleneagle nextdoor. We were waiting nearly 2 hours to get a table in at the bar. Bedroom was great, huge, and bathroom was perfect. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5