Britannia Hotel Birmingham New Street Station Birmingham New Street, Birmingham B2 4rx, West Midlands United Kingdom, Birmingham, United Kingdom

6/10.0 Based on 11 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Britannia Hotel Birmingham New Street Station Birmingham

Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Very good hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Excellent location but street was quite noisy. One minute walk from New Street station. Good breakfast. Corridors / Room in need of modernisation / repair.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Hotel is very dated and could badly do with a face lift. The single room was a smoking room which was not requested. The room was cold and the heater did not work. The remote for the tv was broken. The breakfast was plentlyfull but lacked in quality. Finally someone had been sick in the corridor on my floor and this was not cleaned up till after 10 and then the cleaning up was very poor. Overall a cheap hotel but certainly not cheerfull.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Breakfast - very good Bar - Good value to 7 p.m. with happy hour - 5 bottles of bud for 8.75; barman friendly but little english; ran out of san miguel draught, bottles of bud and bottles of corona first night; re-stocked on the Saturday night Very convenient location Bedrooms o.k.; Good value, stayed also last year and will probably stay next time.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

I found the Britannia adequate but it felt old and grubby. It's clean, the shower is really good, the beds are comfortable but the rooms are quite small and cramped and the breakfast is awful. It's a buffet style but there's very little fresh food, virtually everything is from a tin, including the mushrooms and the fruit. I'd go so far as to say that's it probably one of the worst breakfasts I've had in any hotel. The hotel has 2 lifts, one was out of order and the other one was sooooooooooooo slow, I actually stood for close on 10 minutes on the ground floor waiting for it to arrive. Luckily we were staying on the 4th floor so we could walk the stairs but some of the group were on the 8th floor so had to rely on the lift. The location though is excellent, right in the centre, a 2 min walk from the New St train station. Overall I wouldn't stay here again, I'd rather pay a little bit more for a better hotel

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

This hotel represent good value for what you get. The rooms are clean, with good linen and the shower and bath provide consistently hot water. The rooms are secure and while the decoration is a little old and old fashioned they are comfortable and provide for a good night's sleep. The buffet breakfast was well cooked, substantial and the staff were attentive and polite. Check in and check out was quick, efficient and courteous and the staff were helpful throughout the stay. The only criticism I had was a small one; the lift was slow. This is a small point. If I was staying in Birmingham I would visit The Britannia again for the above reasons, and also because it is cheap and very central.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

A tired and very dated accommodation, in great need of a revamp and complete overhaul. The rooms were drafty, cold and noisy. Food was below standard, mass produced with no real taste. The location is excellent as the hotel is based in the centre of the shopping district of Birmingham. We found the staff were very helful and friendly.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Stayed in the BRITANNIA while on a weekend visit to Birmingham and have to say once you are prepared to accept its downfalls it has many positive points also. the big plus its location, great for shopping and new st station, right next door to primark. On the negative side there are many,breakfast is average,the lifts are slow and unreliabe,staff need some training in people skills,the hotel has not been updated in decades.But if you want a cheap central birmingham hotel this ticks those boxes. I knew what to expect before i arrived i had read reviews that i found helpful.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

cheap and cheerful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

The room was below standard even for the price. I had to ask for a television to be brought to the room. The window wouldn't close resulting in my requesting a change of room which they didn't facilitate until the second night when I returned from my conference and to move all my own luggage from one room to the next which turned out to be very noisey. The hotel was well located but badly in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was ok and the staff varied in respect of being helpful.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

I chose to stay at the Britannia, Birmingham because of its proximity to New Street Train station. My room did not have natural light at any time. The room itself appeared to be reasonably clean, but the carpet smelt of urine. Although guests were strongly advised to use the safety deposit facilities available I was unable to avail of this as it was full to capacity. The reception area is very small and could have done with a tidy up. I would never go back to this hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5