My Place Hostel Dublin 89-90 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland, Dublin, Ireland (republic Of)

Also known as: formerly – Browns Hotel Dublin
6/10.0 Based on 15 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for My Place Hostel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Service was excellent. All the staff who we talked too were very helpful and willing to help. Would go back to this hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Although the rooms are pretty basic, but cost considered you get what you pay for. The front desk staff were incredibly friendly. Hotel is bang in the middle of town, easy access to everything. Would without a doubt stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Nice staff, Nice room, Nice location, Nice price. Can't complain!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

It was the worst hotel room that we have ever had the misfortune to stay in. It was room 104 in the basement. The smell of dampness was obvious before we even went down the stairs. In the room the paint was flaking off the wall. The ceiling in the en-suite was covered in a black growth. The cold water tap did not work. The hotel were unable to provide us with another room. We slept badly and did not even have a shower in the morning. How could such a room pass a health inspection?

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

All I was looking for was a bed and a roof and I got what I wanted the staff were very nice and helpful they let me keep my bags in the storage room gave directions and were always friendly. The room itself was right at the top of a huge set of stairs which tired us out after a long day. The room was very basic but everything was clean so I don't have any complaints. I would stay again if I needed a cheap night place to stay in Dublin.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

We stayed here before going to a rock concert in Croke Park. The hotel is very old and in bad need of refurbishment. In our friends room the Windows was broken and had packaging from a universal adapter taped over the hole, which did give us a laugh. When you walked around the room the wardrobe shook a little. There was a musty smell in the room and the window wouldn't stay open unless you wedged something underneath, which probably explains the musty smell. The bed wasn't great in the comfort stakes, my wife reckoned she could feel every spring. I didn't find it that bad though. Otherwise I have to say that though the rooom and everything in it looked run down, the bed and towels supplied were clean which for a one night stay is the most important thing especially when you wont be hanging out there. Otherwise the hotel is part of a Hostel and the reception and other areas fit more into that category. Staff were polite and friendly, and I thought very brave to ask if everything was ok at check out. I wasn't fussy considering we paid €50 for a double room in the middle of Dublin, but for anyone who may have paid around €100 or more, I think they may have had a few things to say. Overall, its grand for around €50, but charging any more is a bit cheeky.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

We had a lovely clean room,amazing price and right in the center of everything,I definitely recommend their double bedroom.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

This was easily the worst experience I have ever had, especially given that I spent over €63 on the experience! First of all upon arrival I was informed that I was being allocated the "last room in the hotel." Not sure why this should be relevant as surely all rooms should be of a similar or at least a minimum standard? I then got suspiscious when I was directed to a room in the basement! This room was in a corridor just off what was described as a 'common room' in the basement. The TV in the room did not work. I asked at reception if someone could have a look but was simply given another remote to see if that would help - but it did not. Being in the basement - it appeared that the entire water system for the hotel was trunked overhead in my room as it seemed that every time a toilet was flushed somewhere, a tap was run or shower taken that I was hearing it through the pipeworks! The flooring was lino. There was no wall-hangings. Otherwise the furniture was very basic and sparse. I assumed it was compulsory for hotels to at least display min and max rates of accommodation and standards that they had achieved in their rooms? And to display an escape plan in the event of a fire? If so - this was not the case in my room. When I say theer was no wall hangings - I mean there was nothing on the walls. There was no mirror in the room - not even in the bathroom, so I found it extremely difficult to shave. I could not wait to get away next morning - I checked out at 7.00am

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Did not get to stay at the Hotel. When we arrived to check in we were told that they were over booked. We we put up in a B&B guest house 3 doors down. After reading previous reviews, I am not suprised.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Extremely overpriced, very small old dirty room, one small old pillow each, shower door wouldn't close no lock on bathroom door. Had to carry our cases up loads of flights of narrow uneven stairs, very thin walls, would not recommend.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Hotel room was very basic but very clean also. The window facing out to the street was broken , been held together by tape and a sheet of plastic. This resulted in the room been very cold.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

This hotel was just about adequate. The picture shown bared very little resemblance to the actual. It resembled a hostel more than a hotel. Having said that, it was clean and the beds were compfy but there was no remote control for the tv. When I enquired about this they said there was nothing they could do about it until the morning - I didn't need it then!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Very basic but you get what you pay for, we only wanted somewhere to lay our head for the night and it was ideal for that, and the night porter who checked us in and out was very helpful and friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

We stayed here on a Sunday night. The room was spotless and price very reasonable.We were on 3rd floor so we didn't hear busy morning traffic below. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was ideal central location and I would definitely go back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Reception and restaurant area were fine. Good breakfasts. Very friendly staff. Bedroom was fine. What was offputting was the stairways which were scruffy and there was a damaged wall panel just outside the bedroom

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5