Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport Dublin Airport, Old Airport Road, Co Dublin, Dublin, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 75 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Our Customer stayed here in November 2015

Very relaxing, very enjoyable, great attention to detail. Highly recommended. Very convenient for airport. The shuttlebus service is great, friendly and helpful driver.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2015

Service in restaurant very slow long wait each course, otherwise very pleasant.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Carlton Hotel. The staff were friendly and service very good. We ate in the dining room and food was great also. The rooms were spacious and well maintained.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

The Hotel was perfect. The curtsy bus driver was much less perfect, he arrived after only 15 minutes but sat in his bus texting on his phone for 20 or 25 minutes. As there was a sing on the bus door not to open people stood there in the cold.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

My first time here and was pleasantly surprised. The food and service in the bar was excellent. My only issue was the bed was a little odd. It had a wooden frame and it stuck out at a weird angle. It was something you'd associate with a caravan with a foldable head board piece. Would prefer an actual bedside locker rather than shelves you had to reach into. Apart from that I liked the hotel and would stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Good staff, Clean rooms, Poor menu

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Airport bus pickup was efficient and friendly as was the bus service to the airport in the morning. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Airport hotels are by definition business hotels. As a business guest, I did not enjoy a bar/restaurant filled will noisy children on my Sunday afternoon arrival. Nor did I enjoy having difficulty with the wi fi service - and no answer from Reception when I phoned, so I had to go down to Reception to get information I was not given on checking in. I did not enjoy the fact that my kettle did not function, and that my wash-hand basin did not empty when I used it. My first and last stay at a Carlton hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

The Carlton is a very nice hotel, however the service leaves a lot to be desired. The wait staff in the restaurant were the slowest I have ever seen in many years of travelling. It took about seven minutes for the bartender to make a Bloody Mary (and he had no Worcestershire sauce, can you imagine a hotel having no Worcestershire sauce in their bar or kitchen). It then took almost 20 minutes for him to make a Margerita. The waitress waiting on our table never smiled once and was most inattentive. We had to seek her out twice. We ordered a steak cooked medium and it came very well done. When we asked for another one we waited 20 minutes for it and everyone else at the table was completely finished their meal. I could go on and on. As I said it's a very nice hotel but your staff are ruining any good name you have.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

There were problems with the toilet and sink in the room. Although the staff was told about it early in the stay nothing was done to fix them. Customer service in other matters not great either. However, hotel is very nicely finished, rooms are clean and spacious and restaurant serves very good food.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

The staff were very professional and helpful. We arrived after 10pm and were still able to get a sandwich in the bar which had a little side salad and a load of tortilla chips. It was much appreciated. We left early the next morning on the airport shuttle provided by the hotel but we would definitely go there again and recommend it to others.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

We stayed at the Carlton as we were attending a function nearby. The rooms were clean and comfortable and fit for purpose but the furniture was a little worn and damaged which I didn't expect from the Carlton. We had dinner in the restaurant which was well presented, tasty and reasonably priced. One issue we had was that when we returned from our function at approx 2 am there didn't seem to be any night security and we just walked straight in and up to our room with no room key required. This left us feeling a bit unsafe. But overall a really nice stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

We stayed one night prior to flying out on holidays. Comfortable room and transfer to airport worked like clockwork even at 5.30a.m. Good value. Bar area has no atmosphere but we were happy to get a good nights sleep and werent tempted to sit there and have a drink. Took it up to room instead.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Room was large and clean. Hotel was convenient to the Airport. All round great value.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Very good sized rooms, comfy bed and pillows. Very restful sleep, as we had an early start next morning. Check in was easy and swift and staff were very pleasant. Also, very good value for money and in an excellent position for the airport. Be aware that the courtesy bus to the airport only runs every 30 minutes. Would definitely stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Very pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Got a great room rate, cheapest available was on roomex.com as usual. Was attending a wedding, staff where excellent, and hotel was very clean, fresh and lovely guest rooms. Also got free parking overnight which was great. Would use the hotel again for sure.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

I booked the carlton hotel by mistake and was very pleasantly surprised and sorry that i havnt been staying there everytime i go to dublin !!! will however be staying there in the furture lol

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

The room was nice and clean no complaints there but there was no tv working at all and we were on an early flight the next day so all we wanted was an early night with some Telly and it to be comfortable . Restaurant was quite expensive for what you got . Food was very average

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Great experience. Friendly staff who were always prepared to answer questions. Very nice room with everything I needed. Staff at breakfast were kind and helpful. Thank you very much.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Stayed in Carlton dublin airport for one night. We were given a ground floor room and found it a bit dark and dreary. The wardrobes surrounding the bed were a bit claustrophobic. Apart from the room we found the service to be quite good. I will request a mid floor room if we stay here again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Good hotel. Excellent customer service. Arrived looking for dinner at 21:50 and was accommodated charmingly. Airport parking rates very reasonable. Would recommend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Excellent Hotel - fantastic rooms, gorgeous food and friendly staff - does not feel like an airport hotel even though you are right beside the airport. Will be back!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Lovely hotel rooms are very big and spacious and it is great value for money. We had dinner in Kittyhaws restaurant and this was also very good value and the food was also very good. We would have no problem staying here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

We really enjoyed our overnight stay at the Carlton Dublin. The Curtoisy bus and driver were excellent to and from the Airport. The hotel room was clean and comfortable will be going back again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

lovely hotel, very modern. staff very professional and pleasant, food in restaurant good. triple room excellent value. added bonus of parking @ €6/day and courtesy shuttle to airport

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Good location for business/near the city and the airport. Ample parking and good facilities. Good comfort. Good Standard of room. Room service food not brilliant for the price.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

I have stayed at this hotel before and found the room clean and comfortable and the staff friendly The Airport pick up is a plus. Breakfast was good with a decent pot of tea, which i miss when abroad. Evening meal was fine though i think a table cloth adds that extra . bare tables and sauce bottles no.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

I really enjoyed my stay. Was there for a wedding and was very impressed with every aspect of my stay!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Perfect, nice food in the resturant.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

My stay at the Carlton was very relaxing, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms quiet. Check in and out times were fast. Restaurant was overpriced for what it was.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Suberb as always!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

The Carlton is now my Dublin airport hotel of choice. The easygoing nature of the hotel staff meant that nothing was a fuss. My room was a good size, complete with an ample supply of towels and toiletries. I took the shuttle to the airport at 5.30am so I can't comment on breakfast, but I really can't fault the place.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel Dublin airport as we had an early flight next morning. The shuttle bus transfer was excellent in both directions. Very punctual and efficient. The hotel is a perfect stop over for Dublin airport, check in staff, bus drivers were all very friendly. The hotel was very comfortable, clean, and mineral water and tea and coffee were also provided. I would highly recommend this hotel for its convenience and level of comfort.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Clean, spacious rooms with great facilities. Definitely recommend staying here

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

A nice and clean hotel. The check-in staff very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. Will use this hotel the next time I fly through Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

We had a lovely all be it brief stay at the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the shuttle bus both ways was brilliant and I parked my car at the Carlton for 3 extra nights and it was so reasonable, will definitely be going back, it is absolutely ideal for anyone travelling through the airport!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

great hotel, very comfortable, pleasant stadd, would be delighted to stay here again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

The room i was given was very noisy due to the fact of extraction fans running all night

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

On arrival at the hotel i was met by very efficient friendly staff and check in was very quick. The room however was a bit shabby and dated, walls could have done with a lick of paint but the room was clean. Breakfast next morning was very nice and again the staff were very friendly. The only request i would have had was to have a snack of any sort avaliable when i had arrived late on the night of check in but room service had finished. I would have thought that being an airport hotel they would have catered for tired weary late hungry travellers, i will be more wise next time.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

i knew from the moment i entered the hotel that i had made the right choice. The staff were very helpful, receptionist was very efficient and pleasant. We had a lovely meal it was done to perfection ,exactly as we had ordered. Room was very clean service was second to none wake up call 4.15 breadfast served at 4.30. We had no worries about ordering a taxi, as a courtesy shuttle bus is available every 30 minutes to take you to & from the Airport I will be recommending this Hotel to others. We will defiantly be back again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Having stayed at other hotels in Dublin airport i have to say my visit to the Carlton was by far my best choice to date. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were pristine and the inclusion of breakfast in the overall price was a very welcome bonus as many of the other hotels charge you separately for same. I'll be booking in again before my next flight out of Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

very good, staff pleasant and collection from airport very prompt room clean service excellent and can find no fault would reccomend it to anyone and hope to stay there again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

This hotel was such good value. It is spotlessly clean and very modern, loads of comfy couches in the foyer. The room was lovely, breakfast was great - an excellent choice of fresh fruit and the smoothies were freshly made. The staff were so friendly and helpful, I will definitely stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

this hotel was fabulous... amazing room - great room service. fabulous selection for breakfast served the next morning - well worth staying here and I will return. staff very friendly and helpful at reception and also in restaurant. So well done to the Carlton - I'm very very impressed! Shirley

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Stayed again at Carlton prior to flying out in early morning. Room and food up to standard - staff helpfull - on site car parking a good bonus whwn flying out for a number of days.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Although a short stay the hotel was superb and staff most courteous and helpful.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Fabulous Hotel, great parking, speedy check-in, really nice efficient and friendly staff, Rooms spacious, (pillows fab!), power shower, sealed windows and therefore no airport noise, comfortable temp in room, great buzz in bar, probably the best Airport hotel that I've ever stayed in,P.S Thanks Roomex for the great rate !!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Close to the Airport with a good shuttle service.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

stayed there 2 catch an early morning flight rooms were great staff were friendly. the free shuttle 2 the airport was great would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

We all really enjoyed our short stay at the Carlton Hotel in Dublin it was very convenient for the airport and the car hire. We used bus into Dublin city which was also quite handy although one night it was raining and no buses arrived so we took a taxi. The hotel is lovely and has everything we needed. The staff are very pleasant and friendly. The only thing that they did not fix was our lamp in bedroom 122 but perhaps this was not possible. We had enough other lighting so was not a major problem. We will definately be staying again if we visist Dublin Thanking you for your help.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Wasn’t happy at all with this hotel , very loud at night time , they were late serving breakfast , I missed the shuttle bus to the airport because of this , it was with a big hassle that they got me another one , will never go back to this hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Carlton, twice last year and twice this year.Last year we went to Wexford and this year to Galway and stayed each side of the holiday. Its a great place to stay being so close to the airport and also close to Dublin itself,the rooms are spacious,very clean and the food in the Kittywake bar good.The shuttle service to the airport which runs every 30 mins 24 hrs a day give you great peace of mind getting to and from the hotel.I could go on but the best compliment is we will go back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Excellent location, timely shuttle service. Nicely decorated with comfortable beds and good linens. Shower curtain was too short so bathroom flooded, which leaked out door onto room carpet which was deteriorating from being constantly soaked. An easy problem to fix. Food was adequate.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

The staff was very helpful, but the beds were some of the most uncomfortable ones I had ever slept on. Also, one had to pay to use the computer to print boarding passes. Being a hotel so close to the airport, this should be a complimentary service. The shuttle to and from the airport was very helpful.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

we were at wedding held at the hotel and you did them proud' our room was very good , clean every thing you could want staff very very helpfull would stay at the hotel again on the plan home we sat next to a man how had stay at your hotel at same time as us and he praised you many thanks

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Very pleasant hotel & very convenient for the airport. Breakfast good also.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

I have stayed in this hotel before and while the hotel itself if superb their rooms are freezing cold even though the room temperature gauge is adjusted upwards! I had forgotten this and now that it's happened again I won't be staying there anymore unless it's the last hotel in Dublin in which I can get a room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We founfd the hotel excellent.We were in Dublin to attend a retirement function.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The bedrooms were very comfortable. The breakfast service is the best I have seen for some time, the lady chef that was serving was friendly and gave each person plenty of time to make their choices for the full Irish,she even gave the choice of freshly made brown or white toast,excellent service and well done to that lady, she does the Carlton hotel proud.We would definately be staying here again. It was a pleasant experience to stay at this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

We only stayed one night with you this time , and even though we got locked out of our room your staff were excellant trying to sort out the lock. The courtesy bus waited while staff re-programmed the door.Breakfast was excellant - room also - and I left my mobile phone behind. Staff retrieved it and I was able to collect. Altogether a very good experience - I will cetainly stay with you again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

stayed one night - arrived late and left following morning after breakfast. room was gloomy and dull, lacked any atmosphere. no bath in the four star hotel but just as well as hairs found on the bathroom floor and in shower tray. at breakfast the following morning i met no dining room staff and so didnt get a hot beverage prior to leaving. finally i had arranged to leave my car for a further 2 nights in the hotel car park at the usual rate and when i returned to pay for the 2 nights the receptionist said he couldnt find my name on the system from 3 nights previous and so wished to charge me for the three nights. after explaining repeatedly and spelling my name he said he couldnt find the name and charged me correctly for 2 days parking. he appeared however not to have believed that i had infact stayed in the hotel and consequently i felt embarrased and left!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

A very pleasant stay. Close to the airport when leaving early in the morning. Bus stop just beside the hotel to downtown Dublin. Nice breakfast, bar and the restaurant on the top of the hotel with very good food and with the view to the airport and Dublin. Good service and friendly atmosphere.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. Room service was great-didnt realise u had to use television to get menu. Would be helpful if this was written in the room book. Had evening meal which was delicious, breakfast which had a great variety & lunch which was wonderful. Room was freezing but very helpful Irish girl sorted that out for me. All staff were extremely polite, friendly & helpful. Courtesy bus is great also. Will definitely stay again through work & also for a romantic break for two! Room & bathroom were very clean & had nice touches.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

I enjoyed my stay very much I thought the staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was very spacious and I thought the added touch of the Bath Robes was very nice staying for the full weekend. I only ate breakfast and thought the choice for room service was very good. Any room service requests were received very promptly. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

From arrival to departure the staff were excellent. It was a very comfortable bed. The contents of the room left nothing to be desired(even bathrobes). I will make this hotel my first choice when going through the airport, or indeed when staying in north Dublin. The price is very reasonable and the free shuttle service to and from the airport is first class.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

I was very pleased with my stay at the Carlton. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. My dinner was excellent, well priced, and service was quite good. Breakfast was also very good. I was happy to have internet as well. It would have made the superb rating if I had been asked before putting me in a disabled room that had no tub and an awkward shower - but it is worth every penny of the price.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Excellent hotel. We stayed there on our way back from our holidays in the Canaries which was also our wedding anniversary! Staff was very friendly and helpful. We got room service for breakfast which was an extra 10euro but well worth it. The room was fantastic - spacious, modern, clean with a wonderful bathroom.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Excellent hotel. We stayed there on our way back from our holidays in the Canaries which was also our wedding anniversary! Staff was very friendly and helpful. We got room service for breakfast which was an extra 10euro but well worth it. The room was fantastic - spacious, modern, clean with a wonderful bathroom.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Hotel is quite functional, no frills including trouser press or bottle of mineral water in room, room to start with is cold and unless you know how to work air conditioning will stay that way.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We were joining some family for a birthday celebration in the clouds restaurant. The ambience was peaceful and bar staff friendly. The room was very good, clean and to a high standard. We particularly loved the big comfortable bed. Any suggestions, yes some biscuits with the tea and coffee. Breakfast was great, food freshly cooked. We enjoyed the view of the runway and we would certainly come back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

This is a very well run hotel. The service was good. The room was very well equipped and tastefully furnished. We had our dinner in the Kitty Hawks Bar and Restaurant at the hotel and the food was of a very high standard. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend others to do so.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I am gluten intolerent and I had lunch there two days as iwas attending a conference in the hotel.The first day I inquired about lunch and was told is saw not suitable for my condition,i informed the dining room manager that i would eat any plain food as long as it did not contain gluten.I was presented with fried chicken potatoes veg.The chicken was fowl by nature and fowl in taste,it was left on the plate. The second day i ordered lunch shortly after breakfast and informed them of the disappointing lunch i had the previous day.It was a fish pie without any fish almost such a let down.I hope that i wont have to attend any more conferences in that hotel. Thanking you John D....

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

This was the second stay at the Carlton Airport Hotel in Dublin for my sister and I. We find the location very convenient, as we travel into the city after a stay in Co. Kildare with family for a day or two of visiting Dublin before our return trip back home to the states. The free shuttle service to the airport is a definite plus. The rooms are very comfortable, nicely decorated and have all the amenities. We have eaten dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and been completely satisfied with both. Staff have been very pleasant and nice to deal with. I will definitely stay at the Carlton Airport again, and have already recommended it to family and friends in Ireland and the US.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Lovely Hotel. Fantastic Room. Helpful friendly staff. Superb food. Complimentary coach to airport. Reasonable carpark rates while away. Would definitely stay there again when travelling through Dublin Airport.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

lovely hotel. nice rooms and great views of the runway. Nice restaurant too

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Our room was about 3 minutes away, making it ideal to go back to for a bit of peace. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5