Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa Rathmore Road, Kinsale, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 83 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa

Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Great hotel in wonderful location. Great facilities and nice helpful staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a family wedding. As we had our 2 kids with us we booked a family room. It was great to be able to go back to the room when the kids got tired. The room was really spacious and spotless. There were plenty of towels. The staff were super, really friendly and helpful. As for the wedding room, it was beautiful and the view made it perfect. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be returning!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

very nice rooms, but a bit on the small size. breakfast very tasty, but the buffet/cereals/selection of breads etc was cleared off too fast. I would recommend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

My husband and I had booked in initially for one night and because we enjoyed our stay in the Carlton Hotel so much, we checked in for a second night. Booking through Roomex was that little bit less expensive, but hotels available are of exceptional standards. Just one thing that would make a big difference to my husband, who is a wheelchair user, would be if the Carlton hotel would consider putting a button next to doors to enable them to open automatically. Other than this, the Carlton was superb for wheelchair users, thus making it a pleasurable stay for everyone. Thank you.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

We stayed for two nights in Carlton kinsale hotel and so enjoyed it. Staff helpful, room clean,food good and very relaxing place to chill out in. Leisure centre lovely and great having it as one of the days we there was lashing so great to have nice hotel/ leisure to brighten up our day.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel over the bank holiday weekend celebrating out twentieth wedding anniversary.. Staff were very courteous and friendly even when asked to solve a small issue which was very trivial. Evening dinner was quite enjoyable and breakfast was great looking out on the bay in glorious sunshine. The perfect setting in such beautiful weather.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

very friendly staff, lovely hotel, food was good. great having shuttle bus to kinsale.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

We attended a wedding on May 18th .It was a wonderful day .The room was very comfortable and very clean .The reception area was very spacious and all the staff were very efficient and friendly .The food was excellent and we would highly recommend this hotel

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Very nice hotel. Scenic views located outside of kinsale town

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay,hotel and staff were very exceilent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

overall a fantastic stay at this hotel. Everything from room to service to breakfast was superb

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Staff were extremely helpful. We arrived from the US at 10am and although check in wasn`t till 3pm they knew we had traveled a long way and got us an available room right away. The food was great and the view was spectacular. Rooms were big and very modern and the bathrooms were likewise.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

The room was nice and we got upgraded always a plus. The food was lovely. One or 2 things that put me off were No bathrobes in room for pool/spa, no shower gels or shampoo in showers areas in both men and womens changing rooms for a 4 star hotel i thought that would be a given. 1 towel for 2 people in the bathroom in the room. Called our room at 12:15 to say check out was at 12 we knew check out was 12 but they could of given till half 12 to ring. Not sure if we would stay again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

After reading reviews on trip advisor i was quite sceptical about the hotel. on arrival @ 3pm i was informed that our room would not be ready until at least 4pm. the girl took my number and said she would call me when a room was available. I thought this was the beginning of the downhill trip! we headed to the bar for a coffee and had only sat down when we were called to say a room was ready. room was nice, good size, great bathroom. breakfast was a real let down, very poor... tinned mandarin oranges! only toast or croissants... no brwon bread, scones, danish. the fry looked as if it was sitting in the cabinet since the day before...I was extremely disappointed. Having stayed in the hotel a few years ago the breakfast was of a much better standard with the selection that u expect from a 4 star hotel. upon returning to our room for night 2, housekeeping had not replenished the toilet roll nor the toiletries... We had to use tissues for toilet roll and the had to go rob some from the public toilet down stairs... overall the hotel has gone down hill and I will not be returning, very very disappointed with the breakfast! Plus i asked the bar man for a cosmopolation and he did not know how to make one!!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

We stayed in Carlton Hotel for our anniversary night away. The hotel itself was lovely and the setting lovely although it should be noted its not walking distance from town if that is what you wanted. There was a big wedding party on arrival and I worried that we would be awake half the night however whether it due to comfy beds or thick walls we didn't hear a thing!! The pool area was lovely. We also had a massage which was nice and comfortable although a little pricey. Reception girls were lovely and upgraded us to a sea view room for free which was great. Breakfast very disappointing - got no coffee and they had run out or mixed up our order (wrong cereal and juice). But it was good to get away and I would consider this hotel again. Kinsale however is a great town and will definately be going back.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

delighted with the stay got the exact same as any other person who spent 160 euros for their room. our room was on the ground floor and had no view but that did not bother me we were there for a wedding and dreaded the thought of having to drive home overall very good does what it says on the tin .............

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

We arrived at hotel at 4.30pm, our room was not ready to be occupied. This was a huge inconvenience as we were attending aa wedding in the hotel that same day.It took almost an hour for staff to our room ready.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Had a lovely weekend in the Carlton at a family wedding. Staff friendly and lovely food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

I think this hotel is a bit overpriced to be honest. I've stayed here more than once and each time I come away with the same feeling. Staff are nice, room was clean but its too expensive for what it is and where it is and only for the fact that it was a wedding we were attending I would not have paid the money for the room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Tried to ring recption at 3.30 a.m but no one answered.It was noisey outside and we wanted crowd moved on. Thank god it was not an emergency. No one at Reception.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The hotel was great & we got it for a great price with Roomex.com. I have told all my friends to check out Roomex.com as you will find no better price.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a beautiful Summer's day for one night. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who dealt with our booking extremely quickly. Our room was on the ground floor, well away from the reception area so we knew there wouldn't be any major footfall noise when we were in our room. The room was very bright and modern. The bathroom was extremely clean and everything worked, including the sink plug! (One of my pet issues whenever I stay anywhere!) Breakfast was excellent. A decent choice of cereals, full Irish breakfast offerings and plenty of coffee. The staff around the breakfast area were very pleasant and quick to clean up any mess and also removed used plates. There was free internet access as a guest, using the BitBuzz system. My only complaint would be that I would have to re-enter my log in details quite frequently when browsing. A minor inconvenience. Checking out was also a pleasant experience, again the receptionist was fast and efficient and friendly. A truly relaxing hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Stayed in Cartlon Kinsale one night - fantastic location hotel is lovely rooms are big and bright - staff and food were excellent - would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Lovely room, beautiful views, staff were nice too. Only complaint is that the breakfast wasn't great... pretty greasy and basic.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The hotel was lovely. The setting was beautiful with a long wooded driveway and waterfalls outside the hotel. The reception was lovely with a lovely balcony overlooking the bay. Our room was spacious overlooking the sea. We ate in the restaurant. I have the steak which was delicious. We had a lovely time. The leisure centre was lovely. WE made great use of the gym and pool.KInsale was lovely for a stroll around. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Lovely hotel and staff . Room had a fab view of the water. food was delicious. Had a great stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Great hotel, great location, great people and great stout!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Overall we (my Husband & I ) enjoyed our stay at the Carlton. We were attending a wedding and the setup was very professional and efficent. Our room was in a great location just across the bridge from the bar, which was very handy.The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was huge. (big plus with me) The only issue that we experience was the gardener / maintanence crew outside our window at about 8.15am the next morning working with very loud mechanial tools.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

i have stayed here before,and i must say it only gets better each time, staff are very freindly and helpfull.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Would recommend this Hotel to friends and family, staff very friendly, look forward to a return trip !!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

We couldn't have picked a nicer hotel for our wedding day! The rooms, spa&pool, Food, staff, venue and excellent service were all top class! Thank you for looking after all my guests so well x

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

The hotel was lovely - so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were spacious and the staff were very attendful. Definitely worth going to for a weekend break

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Stayed here for a wedding. Beautiful setting, beautiful hotel. Great, friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the breakfast too.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

We booked into the Carlton kinsale and we were very disappointed with our whole experience and the price we paid too as we seen on trip adviser that some people got the same deal we got for €45 and we paid 73.60 and we had a group of 9!!!the whole dinner was like faulty towers nothing on the menu was served like it said no napkins no steak knifes wrong orders brought out no wine classes and then we weretd they gave us the wrong menu it was appalling and the money we paid for it it was extremely disappointing breakfast was also poor waiting for tea coffee toast we were nearly finished breakfast before it arrived and brown bread arrived frozen to the table........ No glasses for orange juice had to wait bout 10mim for them to bring out a few glasses!!also that night when we got back to our rooms porter came to tell us keep quiet we were chatting among ourselves not making noise which really pissed me off as the alarm and loud music continued through the night so it was hard for us to sleep even tho they came to our door saying we were making noise!! I would not go back to the Carlton again as for what we paid it was a rip off .........

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

gorgeous hotel, rooms were perfect and staff were very friendly

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Nice hotel and very nice staff. Ehjoyed our short stay in the hotel. Hope to return again for a longer stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay the recption was well designed and set beautifully our room was 3 mins away the room was perfect there was courtesy bus to bring to Kinsale

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Very comfortable hotel, in quiet, picturesque rural location near Kinsale. Room was very comfortable with adjustable heating. Reception area was also very good - large couches and comfortable seating in a spacious atrium, and it was warm. Breakfast very good. the only downside was the bar, which was a bit dark, and not teribly welcoming. It would really benefit from an open fire. Televison reception in all Kinsale hotels is poor. This could surely be improved. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel, especialy at the price we got it through Roomex.com.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Lovely hotel and reception staff very good but no one seating guests at breakfast and counter was dirty and left waiting ten minutes for coffee.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Gorgeous Hotel, fabulous settings Staff very accomodating. food beautiful Was attending a wedding & the service was amazing. The Shuttle bus was great to kinsale, driver very friendly

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

A beautiful hotel located in a very scenic spot. Staff extremely friendly and helpfull, check in / out smooth and easy. Room was great, lovely to have a seperate shower to the bath. Booked in as was attending a wedding reception in the hotel, and the hotel definitely did not let the Bride and Groom down, everything ran like clockwork, the food was delicious and plenty of it. I would highly recommend this hotel. The only thing is due to location of hotel, mobile phone coverage is extremely bad, but thats not a complaint just a bit of information.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Our room was about 3 minutes away, making it ideal to go back to for a bit of peace. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay !

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Very enjoyable and would hope to return to kinsale in the future, the rooms was perfect & staff very helpful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

staff very friendley. hotel spotless. spectacular views.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Just back from a 1 night stay in the Carlton, Kinsale. We were attending a wedding. Hotel was lovely - great setting overlooking the water. Lovely outside seating area. Wedding meal was lovely and breakfast the following morning was fine - nothing spectacular. Self service buffet. Bedroom was nice with tea/coffee, toiletries etc. Not that you want to watch tv but big old fashionied set. Location is outside Kinsale so if you want to be in the centre of things I would suggest staying in one of the hotels in town. Just a small thing - we asked could we order a newapaper for Sunday (we would pay for it) - were told papers not delivered on Sunday which we though a bit odd - they are the small things that make a difference.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

The hotel was very pleasant clean and tidy, the views were spectacular, the breakfasts were good. Attended a wedding during my stay and that was very good, the waiting staff were great especially Joy. The staff on the whole were very pleasant with the exception of the reception staff they were very cold towards visitors - no happy Irish warm welcome which was experienced in every other establishment I visited.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Very satisfied with this hotel - Lovely surroundings, staff excellent, food superb, rooms lovely. Check out 11am and if you leave after this they state they will charge you $30 - really made us jump out of bed! Recommend a bedroom with sea views - the view was excellent

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Had wonderful stay we were there for a wedding and the hotel is absolutely beautiful the views are something else. I will definitely be heading back some time soon. staff were friendly and helpful and hotel was very clean.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Beautiful hotel set in amazing surroundings. Rooms were spotlessy clean, tastefully decorated, well equipped and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and food was excellent. Have no problem recommending to hotel

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

I found the hotel very pleasant and clean. The staff were very helpful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

The hotel location was only 5 mins drive from the beautiful Kinsale fishing village. The hotel and rooms were clean and bright. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room at the back had a view of the sea and hay fields. Truly fantastic sight. There is a waterfall feature in the front of the hotel, very soothing and peaceful. Breakfast in the hotel was out of this world, best hotel breakfast by far we've tasted do far. On final note for three euro per person the hotel has shuttle bus from the hotel to kinsale and back every half hour, which is a good service to have on offer.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Great modern hotel with fantastic views and good staff.Only downfall was I booked double bed and recieved two singles pushed together.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Delicious breakfast!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Hotel was superb. However the overall experience was greatly reduced by the less than satisfactiry breakfast which did not mirror the hotel's four star rating.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

We had a lovely night in Kinsale. The hotel was great very clean and a really comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly. There was a wedding on the night we were there and apart from hearing the wedding car arrive we were not disturbed once by them. The shuttle bus runs into Kinsale town from 5.30pm to about 12pm every half hour. We were charged €3 each per trip. Its handy but if you prefer to be able to walk back to your hotel after a night out this hotel would not suit. I would recommend this hotel to people with kids or a someone looking for a quiet night away (the hotel bar is very quite).

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Good hotel in great location for an impressive price

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Myself and my husband John stayed in this lovely hotel and overall, we enjoyed the experience. Wonderful views from a glass surround foyer, spacious grounds, the tinkling sound of a waterfall outside our ground floor room and delicious food, served with a smile, made for a really special few days. We found the staff helpful, cleanliness prevailed at a high level but above all, there was consideration from other guests and that most beautiful sound of all, silence, fell like a wonderful, relaxing shield, when the time for sleeping came, eventhough on the first evening, a wedding reception was being held in the hotel. Well done Carlton Hotel, Kinsale, best,

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

This was our third time staying in the Carlton in Kinsale. My only fault with the hotel was the the bar was very dreary and dark and was lacking atmosphere. However the bar is now renovated and is bright and inviting. We really enjoyed our stay. My only bad comment was that he outside of the hotel was after getting very shabby especially the decking areas

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We stayed in the Charlton for a wedding. The reception area was busy with wedding guests at the time of booking in but the receptionists were extremely organised and friendly and within minutes the queue for booking in had diminished. The wedding hall looked fabulous and the wedding meal was amazing. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable and breakfast the following morning was lovely. My only complaint is that my stay was too short.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Overall the hotel was good but the beds are very small.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

HAD A REALLY ENJOYABLE STAY AT THE CARLTON FRIENDLY STAFF FROM RECEPTION TO DINING ROOM STAFF.THE VIEWS WERE FANTASTIC THE ONLY THING I FOUND THAT GOING DOWN STEPS AT BACK THERE WERE A LOT OF LOOSE STEPS,OTHERWISE VERY GOOD HOTEL

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Food very good. Staff pleasant and helpful. Roooms clean and comfortable. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

We had a great stay. People were very friendly and nice. Hotel was clean and had a great view from the room. Highly recommend here. There was a regular bus into town also from here.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Superb!! We arrived early Saturday morning (well before check in time). Our room would not be ready for a number of hours. They upgraded us to a 3 bedroom apartment free of charge which we were able to use immedietly :)

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

booked this hotel for a relaxing weekend break with my husband. hotel and accomodation is beuatiful and it is very relaxing.I had one complaint and that was that on the friday night we decided to have bar food in the hotel. i found the pricing on the bar food expensive but i ordered Steak with chips and salad, however they served me the steak that was on the a la carte menu in the restaurant. While this really should not have been a problem for me i had not been told this when i ordered of the bar food menu recieved no apology for same. This steak came with potatoes and veg and i do not like either. How ever for my husband he prefered this so it was just a little complaint

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

The Carlton Hotel in Kinsale made my weekend in Kinsale even better. The hotel had great views and clean rooms which made for a relaxing stay. The hotel staff were kind and accommodating. The hotel provided a shuttle which made going out into town in the evening easy.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

We were there for a wedding. Had a most enjoyable experience. Will definitely be going back there in the future. Fantastic overall.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

hi there was there for my brothers wedding,superb scenery friendly staff,food was beautiful at the dinner.residents bar a good laugh,wasnt up to late,had a lovely breakfast with a beautiful view,rooms bright and spacious with all the mod cons,will be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

we had a great time at this hotel we were attending a wedding everything was fabulous we will return to this hotel for a longer stay next time

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

The hotel was excellent but what made our stay was the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to accomodate any of our requests. on arrival we asked for a see view we at that point didn't have one the receptist checked and told us that one would be available in an hour. We retired to the bed ,when I asked for a specific drink I was told it wasn't there but again it could be got. The following morning for breakfast when I asked for an outside seat again the response was one wasn't available but they would put one outside for us. All in all excellent service and a lovely stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

Hotel was lovely, but they had a real shortage of towels, ending up sharing one towel for a whole day. Other than that it was very nice hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

The hotel is situated in a very scenic area. From the minute you turn the gate the journey begins with the wooded area and tress. It gives a very warm feeling. Once you reach the hotel the journey is only beginning, the views from the function hall and from the rooms are exquisite. Our room was situated in the front of the hotel which overlooked the waterfall which I found particularly relaxing. We attended a wedding and the function room is very cosy and the lighting created a fantastic romantic atmosphere for the bride and groom as they along with their guests danced the night away. The meal was delectable and very relaxed; spacing between the courses was perfect. We also enjoyed the leisure facilities although the Jacuzzi was out of order,which was very disappointing to me and my friends. We arrived at the pool at 2.00 pm on Saturday afternoon and we were informed it was out of order due to cleaning! However the overall stay was extremely relaxing and special. I have no doubt in my mind we will return to the Carlton in Kinsale for a break away in the near future.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

excellent hotel...

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We had a lovely time in the hotel. It really was a little bit of luxury tucked away outside Kinsale.. We were there for a wedding and it had a few lovely little rooms you could have a quiet drink in while waiting to be called for dinner. My only issue was with the lighting in the bathroom of our room, very dull and difficult to see in the mirror, however it probably wouldn't stop me going back to this lovely hotel in a fabulous setting!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Very nice hotel, well kept and service excelent. Very nice location and ideal for weddings. Would book this hotel again through roomex, rates were excellent!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Hello, My wife and I relly enjoyed ourselves at the Carlton Hotel in Kinsale, Co. Cork. We were attending a wedding and we stayed two nights. Roomex prices could not be beaten by anybody. I told a few people the great deal we got and I furnished them with your web address. Thanks again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

When we booked with Roomex we expected to get s double room in the hotel. We arrived at the hotel after 3pm, which is the recommended check in time for the hotel. Our room was not ready. We were then informed that we had been upgraded, however the upgrade was an appartment 3mins walk from the hotel with 3 bedrooms. We arrived back to the hotel at 6pm and our appartment was ready. It was only later that night when we came in from town that we noted the room downstairs was damp and mouldy. There had been a leak from the upstairs shower and the carpet was also wet. Having said all that the appartment was nice, breakfast was lovely, and the hotel itself was in a lovely location. Roomex was also an excellent price. :0)

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Fab hotel. Great rooms. Lovely views and friendly staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Really enjoyed our stay! service a bit slow but overall it was lovely

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Excellent staff, excellent room & food is superb - what more can I say??

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

We have stayed at the Carlton before and always found it to be first rate. On arrival the girl at the check-in desk recognised us and gave us a complimentary upgrade. Similarly, the dining room and bar staff could not be friendlier. The Carlton is a very comfortable and beautifully maintained hotel, but the staff elevate it above any 4 star in the area. We very much look forward to staying there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

I have stayed at the Carlton before and really enjoyed it, this time we encountered a few problems, but it still wouldn't put me off staying again. We stayed for 2 nights and in that time, we had to move twice. The first time was because as my husband was just about to take a bath, he noticed a dark rim of dirt around the bath. The second time we were in our room and noticed a foul smell coming from the bathroom - it was so bad that we couldn't go into our room at all, so we were moved again (something to do with the drains apparently). The staff were nice about it, but it does spoil things a bit! However, these things happen. The location is lovely and breakfast is good, with a nice variety of food etc. and the staff are very helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The Carlton is a very nice hotel - it's a little bit far out of the town, definitely not walking distance. The reception area and the restaurant are lovely with spectacular views, however the bar is a big let down. It's very closed in with tiny windows that you cannot see out of and totally lacks atmosphere. It's such a pity as the hotel itself is in such a pretty area and they could have done so much more with the bar. We got upgraded to a suite and it was like an apartment - pure luxury! Overall it's a nice hotel and I would definitely go back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5

Gallery

  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
  • Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa