Shearwater Hotel & Spa Ballinasloe Marina Point, Ballinasloe

8/10.0 Based on 45 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Shearwater Hotel & Spa Ballinasloe

Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Bad service- lost my reservation. Kept me waiting and following morning was woke by a maid at 9.30 looking to clean room.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Jacuzzi bath didn't work. Room was quiet large but was in need of an upgrade.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Good, clean hotel easy to get to.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Lovely room.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Friendly staff, a clean and comfortable room and a fine breakfast. The only improvement would be a cheaper rate.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. Room was lovely with plenty of space. We were attending a wedding and the food was delicious also.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

The Carlton Shearwater Hotel & Spa, Ballinasloe is a little gem in Co. Galway. Check in was quick and the receptionist was pleasant. The lobby is very big, spacious, bright, modern & clean. The restaurant had an offer of a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine for two people for €50 which was great - only thing was that a lot of the menu items had supplements, but for a 10oz steak at an extra €5 it was well worth it. The spa staff are welcoming and make you feel very relaxed and at ease, thumbs up for the relaxation room with complimentary herbal teas & fruit. Breakfast was help yourself buffet style, good quality sausages & rashers which is sometimes not the case in hotels. The only thing is there wasn't any fresh fruit salad, only apricots, prunes & grapefruit. Music by Michael Regan in the bar on the night we were there which was very good. The room booked was a triple room, was hoping for 3 single beds, but got 1 double & 1 single, but the room was comfortable, warm & most importantly clean. Overall experience was very pleasant and would definitely stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Great weekend fab hotel. Attended a wedding rooms were lovely and great facilities.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Carlton Shearwater Hotel and Spa. The food was beautiful, the staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The facilities to include the Leisure Centre were lovely and we will definately go back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Room was comfortable but what really made the stay was the girl behind reception who went out of her way to be helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Nice hotel but unfirtunately the staff were not very friendly. Breakfast was served in what looked like a canteen - dreadful atmosphere!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The hotel room was lovely. The hotel decor was very modern and up to date which I liked. It was also very clean. The only bad point would be breakfast. I felt it was a bit disorganised and there could have been more options on the buffet, i.e. danish pastries. The waitress seating us was not that friendly either.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Staff were very friendly and accomodating on check in. Room was lovely. Service in bar was very slow and poor.Slow service at breakfast with no fruit salad, pastries, make your own toast etc. Have stayed at this hotel a number of times but there is obvious signs of cost cutting.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

I sent my parents here for a present. They could not get into their hotel room on arrival as there was a problem with the cards. After a member of staff rechecked and tried to reprogramme the door they had to go to the hassle of being rechecked into another room. The smoke alarm went off 3 times at 6 in the morning, upon check out the only thing they recieved as conpensation was a €30 vouvher off a spa treatment in the hotel and the treatment must be over 1 hour long (thus is dearer). Neither of them have ever had a spa in their life! ! This to me is not good enough, they were back home by 11am the following morning so the relaxing break i thought they would have was not to be. All that said they did say the hotel was lovely and the staff were nice.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Overall quite satisfied with the stay, which was for business reasons. I spend most of my working week travelling for business and as a consequence stay in a lot of hotels. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and I wasn't unduly delayed on check in or out. However some items I did notice about the room were the fact that a bulb was missing from a bedside light, the hot water took some minutes to come through (possibly because the room was at a far end of a corridor)and a window outside the room door to the outside was broken with the result that it was quite noisy at times. Breakfast was good. I have no problem staying again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Lovely stay room very clean and tidy. Great breakfast and great staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Very friendly staff at reception who attended to us immediately. Hotel lobby very spaceous and welcoming. We stayed in room 242. The room was very hot when we arrived. Unfortunately, the cool air from the air conditioner did not work. The TV powered on but we were unable to get a picture on any channel and the in room safe was locked in the open position. The bar downstairs was nice with friendly bar staff and nice food.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Really enjoyed stay at Shearwater Ballinasloe. Hotel spotless, room very comfortable, staff extremely corteous and helpful going beyond the call of duty to meet our needs. Really good value would recommend without hesitation.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Nice hotel, with friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We stayed overnight for a wedding. The wedding reception was fabulous: spacious function room, done up beautifully; lovely meal, excellent service; lots of space to sit and chat outside of the main function room. The hotel room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent on Sat morning and was served until 11.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Hotel was very good and the facilities are excellent. Room was bigger than I expected and the bed was very comfortable. Food was nice and the breakfast was a buffet style breakfast where you helped yourself. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back if we were in Ballinasloe again. Recommended.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We stayed previously in the Carlton in Galway city and we really loved the hotel, atmosphere and staff, so we decied we would try out the Carlton Shearwater! It was a rainy day when we arrived but the hotel was warm and inviting. The reception were really quick and helpful, the room was spacious and quiet, and more importantly, clean! We had Breakfast in Bed both mornings and everything was piping hot. The leisure facilities are excellent and there is times allocated to kid free swims which was very chilled. The food in the Canel Bar was really nice too and the staff were equally as attentive. We really enjoyed are stay and we will defintely be back! :)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

We stayed in the Shearwater as we were attending a wedding.The hotel receptionists were brilliant at checking in all guests quickly and professionally,very friendly and no long delays. The room was fabulous,our 6 year old daughter woke up the morning after the wedding and commented "this is the most comfortable bed that i have ever slept in". The leisure facilities were excellent. One of the best hotels we have staying in!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Very easy access to the hotel - nice setting beside the boats - rooms lovely and underground parking is great especially in the rain!!! Food was lovely except the breakfast was a bit disappointing for a 4 star hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

had a lovely time in the shearwater hotel .The food was great the service to and the staff were very helpfull.Only disapointment was the appearance of the unfinished surrounding of the Hotel itself.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Shearwater Plaza Hotel in Ballinasloe. Very friendly staff, Good food with a very resonably priced early bird. Lovely clean spacious bedroom/bathroom and the Spa was excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Yeah really enjoyed staying in the hotel , we were there as wedding guests , hotel was decorated lovely for the wedding , immaculate and staff very friendly and willing to help . meal was absolutely lovely especially the mashed potatoes so we were totally happy out with same. Rooms were spotless and very cosy so our stay was well worth the money

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

we attended a wedding, beautiful day, and what a venue to have your wedding. everything at hotel was A1...our room was beautiful and a plesure to stay...

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

A simply fabulous hotel...!! My sister and I had a very enjoyable night here in July, 2011. Staff were extremely helpful, the surroundings luxurious and, in general, the food was superb. I ordered chicken and I do like it quite well done, but - while it was most definitely cooked - it wasn't quite as well done as I would have liked. That aside, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Shearwater Plaza Hotel, Ballinasloe. I asked for a 'quiet room' and was not disappointed. I could not fault the room in any way. It was clean and tidy with the usual comforts. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay! As I have stayed there a number of times before, I knew what to expect and as usual the standard of everything, including breakfast was excellent.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Very comfortable and good friendly atmosphere from the staff in the hotel. Would recommend it to a friend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

I stayed at this hotel last Monday night we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for an awards night and I must say they were certainly well able to accommodate the massive crowd. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Our room was on the second floor it was very nice and spacious. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay we will definately be going back!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

exellent stay good food friendly staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

A fabulous stay in a fabulous hotel - I stayed for a family wedding where the food and service were outstanding. The rooms were spacious and well equiped with a good breakfast available. Would definitely recommend it!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Recently stayed at the Carlton Shearwater Hotel in Ballinasloe for a wedding. While the service and the meal at the wedding was excelent, service at the hotel in general is not very good. Arrived a 4.00pm and our room was not ready, when we got our room there were no towels, cigarette burn on the bed throw and the window was broken and would not close. There were other guests also who were still waiting on rooms after 7.00pm! Hotel offered to move us to another room but no other rooms were available. Service at breakfast in the morning was also very slow. Leasure centre was not was not what you would expect from 4star. Generally the hotel is understaffed and not up to 4 star.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Fine hotel,but staff training is needed.We stayed two nights,on the first morning our room was left with one dirty cup,dirty glass, and a dirty table.I asked the girl who was supposed to clean the room for replacements but am still waiting.Very disappointing for a four star.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

nice staff good clean room it says you can have the room until 12 noon but we were knocked at 10.00am to see if we were moving out then knocked again at 11.00 am told them i was waiting for my daughter to collect me and was told i could order a trolley for my bag to wait in reception told nicely but felt under pressure to move out pity as i was enjoying the peace of the room having had my sleep disturbed by a smoke alarm at 3.30 am. but saying that i will return as it was very cozy

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

everything was top class from hotel to staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

After receiving a very warm and friendly reception, we retired to our execetive suite where we were amazed with what greeted us. The room was magnificent, with a large, spacious lounge complete with a wonderful balcony. The bedroom was modern in decor with a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. The room was presented in an immaculate condition with every attention to detail giving. The bar and restauraunt were spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Overall, it has been one of the best hotelling experiences of our lives and we will certainly be returning for another visit.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

comfortable well equipped rooms.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

The Hotel was generally very nice. We were attending a wedding and checked in at around 3pm but our room was not ready, as was the case for a lot of our friends. The staff were friendly and apologetic about the situation and came to the bar to give me my key card. The room was quite a good size and comfortable. The lobby, bar and function room were all really nice. Food was one of the best wedding meals I've had.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

I stayed in the Shearwater for a wedding recently and paid just under a €110. I found the room well layed out and an excellent very elegant toilet. The room had all the mod cons and the bed was very comfortable. The wedding was brillant and the food at the wedding was top notch. The only issue I had was the breakfast which was terrible truly awful. Now I had the breakfast in my room which I always think takes away from the breakfast slightly but this was awful. Everything deep fat fried and cold. The shower head was loose but I fixed it. The carpark facilities are brillant more than enough space and no charge. So overall very good but take my advice go down for the breakfast.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Just got back from this hotel. The staff were very friendly. The room was a good size, clean but could have done with a better dusting. The shower had good pressure in it which is always a plus in Ireland.The leisure centre was very good. Seven of us had dinner and we were all very pleased with the food. There was supposed to be music in the Bar that night but they didn't show up. The breakfast was OK nothing special. The orange juice was dripping all over the floor and no one was in any hurry to clean it up. The price was reasonable. I would stay here again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Some of the restaurant staff were extremely rude at breakfast, this really turned me off this hotel. I wouldn't go back. Room as satisfactory.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5