The Inn At Dromoland Hotel Clare Newmarket-on-fergus, Dromoland, Clare, Ireland

Also known as: Clare Inn Hotel
6/10.0 Based on 39 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Inn At Dromoland Hotel Clare

Our Customer stayed here in June 2018

Good hotel, close to Dromoland Castle. Very convenient for attending Dromoland for a wedding.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

We had a very pleasant stay the bed was very comfortable we attended a wedding the food was excellent. The breakfast was very good the only negative was the staff seemed to be lacking experience I had to ask for tea which we got then I had to ask for milk & toast & when I went to get some Brown bread I had to ask again the tray was empty & no side plates there didn't seem to be a Supervisor around I know it was a busy morning & it was not a big issue but there should be someone keeping an eye on these things we had nearly finished when we got the toast the Tea, milk & toast should have come altogether. Overall The Inn at Dromoland is a lovely Hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2017

I stayed one night in the hotel the night before participating in the Ring of Clare cycle. Check in was quick and painless and staff were welcoming and helpful. A wedding party arrived at more or less the same time as me but everything seemed to be well organised so it didn't cause any disruption. I asked if there was anywhere secure to leave my bike overnight and was told it could be locked in a storeroom, and although in the end I left the bike in my car overnight it was nice to know the option was there. The room was perfectly serviceable and functional although a little tired around the edges. I found the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was also fine although the water in the shower took so long to get hot I thought for a while there was no hot water. Pressure from the shower was excellent. As my room was right at the top of the stairs in was a little worried that there would be a lot of noise late at night from the wedding guests but I heard nothing. Breakfast was OK with a reasonable selection. A very minor criticism is that the tea could have been hotter. Service was prompt and again the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Overall things were as I expected them to be and I would stay here again for an overnight although I would not be prepared to pay more than I did (70 euro).

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2017

Nice hotel, great views, great for a golf weekend away even crazy golf for kids to enjoy really nice welcoming cozy bar with great views too. Food was good but not amazing and I found the breakfast cold but everything else was really enjoyable lovely clean comfy rooms. Would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

I stayed at the Inn at Dromoland as I was attending a wedding at Dromoland Castle. The rooms are fairly basic but adequate for the price and the bed was comfortable. The shower was in need of updating and no water was provided in the room but there was tea and coffee making facilities. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was very good. There was a mix up on our bill which we had prepaid and they had down as not having been paid when we were leaving but it was cleared up fairly quickly, although only after consulting a manager so maybe this was a system glitch. Anyway no harm done. There is a direct access road from the Inn to Dromoland Castle within the grounds which was very handy to drive to the wedding and a shuttle bus brought guests staying at the Inn back later on. Overall it was a good base but it funds would allow it I'd stretch for a night in Dromoland Castle instead as it is incredible!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

The hotel was beautiful, in a lovely setting, very clean, very impressed with ladies room just off reception, staff very friendly and helpful. Just a lovely time at this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

Nice hotel, very friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

Very clean rooms, good pool, good breakfast. We stayed there four years ago and although there wasn't a lot wrong with it then it has definately improved.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

We were at a wedding and stayed overnight, our room was in first class condition. The only problem we had was the room was too far from the wedding venue, and the reception desk. And as we are advanced in years we found it a bit of a problem going back and forth to it when a break was needed, from the noise. We would recommend that the Hotel take this into consideration, when booking in senior people. The staff were first class and could not do enough to in offering help. The food was first class at the wedding venue, and breakfast was also first class with plenty of choice, over all we would give the Hotel, and the staff top award, and would recommend it highly to all who are looking for a place to stay in the region of Dromoland, well done to all staff that made our stay a happy one to remember.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Dreadful. Rooms were dated. . . tv did not work, window would not close ,Bar staff were rude . . .food was just ok. It is such a pity as location is perfect . I can say I won't be going back.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Nice big room. Nice staff. very good food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

The positives, the staff were very friendly and the price was reasonable. After that I am sorry to say being a Clare person that the hotel needs some improvements done to get back up to the old standard it once had about six or seven years ago. The lift needs to be replaced. The room needs to be modernised. The restaurant food needs to up its quality. The loud noises on a Sunday in the restaurant of cleaning trolleys or something above would leave you with headache. To repeat the positives the staff are very friendly and helpful!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Room satisfactory. Food very average. My four children had steaks and they were very bad. Problems with food bill that had to be sorted the next morning. Awake all night with tv blasting in the next room until 7.30 a.m. Check out at 11.00 or a charge of 30 euro extra per hour if late. Would not be rushing back.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

The Clare Inn is located exceptionally well..just off the motorway from limerick. It is basic but the price reflects that. The hotel could do with some updating as it looks lost in the 70's. The room was a good size but no lighting in the main area, nor any full length mirrors. Also cracked tiles in the bathroom and stained quilts. The breakfast was good. Full range for all types. The staff were cordial in the reception area but very helpful in the restaurant. The lift is located at the far end of the hotel with is incredibly inconvenient. It is a handy venue if attending a wedding at dromoland but no more.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Room was very clean, as was the hotel in general, especially the leisure centre area; overall customer service from hotel staff was first class, flawless especially the reception staff; food was nice and competitively priced in my opinion; I would however say that the outside of the building and landscaping can be deceiving, its gives the appearance of a very old hotel, whereas inside it feels a lot younger; The architectural layout of the building can leave you with long walk to your room, so not suited to elderly people, the elevator felt like it could do with a service. An American wouldn't be happy with the small size of the television in the room, but for me, it didn't make that much of a difference as I never watched it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

The hotel is tired, shabby and dated. THere was paint peeling from window sills and some windows near the pool area needed to be cleaned. We had booked two rooms. One room had been a smoking room. The inside door handle fell off on the first night but couldn't be replaced until morning, which meant we couldn't lock the room. The bath didn't drain after using the shower. The 2nd room had a looose window frame. The view was of discarded underwear on the roof of the structure below (seriously!) Only one room was made serviced.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Would Stay with this hotel again as it was so easy to access from the motorway.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

THE ROOM WAS CLEAN.THE LINEN WAS CLEAN AND THE BED WAS GREAT.THE BREAKFAST WAS THE WORST EVER.UGH! LOOKED TRRRIBLE,COLD,NO SPOONS NO KNIFES,NO FORKS.TRY TO GET A POT OF TEA,FORGET IT!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

It would have been a superb stay apart from when we went for breakfast the guy said we were booked as "room only" and would have to pay another €20! I insisted that I had paid for breakfast already but he argued back and sent me to reception. The girl there insisted that I had only paid for "room only" at €63. I replied that I had actually paid £68.40 GBP and that it definately included breakfast. She checked something in a back office and finally came out and said it was ok. OK ??? An apology would have been better ....... The guy in the restaurant apologised for the mix-up but to be honest it wasnt his fault, he was just going by the list. And Ive had better breakfasts too , served by more polite staff. I would return if Im back in Ennis, but I will be printing an extra copy of my booking! ( They kept my copy at check-in ). Another small annoyance was the fact that we had to walk to the far end of the hotel for the lift up to the 2nd floor to our room.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Staff were friendly room very clean and tidy. Very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Hotel very nice and clean staff very helpfull and food was superb

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Everything was perfect except for the bathroom, mainly the bath, the tap dripped throughout the night and the bath was so old and dirty it was brown in some parts, disgusting to be honest. The entire bathroom needs to be redone.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

The hotel is a little bit dated but the rooms themselves were quite nice on the third floor. I had heard the rooms on the ground floor werent that nice. I had asked for a double room and got a room with a double bed and three singles! Rooms were clean.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Hotel is fine. Food is mediocre. In the hotel room we had no tv remote, the rail on the wardrobe was unstable to say the least, the shower had feeble water pressure and varied in temperature greatly with the tiniest touch of the dial. We were attending a wedding in the hotel, so only stayed for one night. For that purpose it was fine, but I would not recommend anyone to stay there for holiday purposes.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Somewhat disappointing. Firstly they told me that they had booked me into another hotel despite half of my seven strong group already having been checked in. When they finally allocated us our rooms the shower heads were blocked in both rooms that my immediate family occupied with only a sprinkle of water coming through the shower heads. My guests with me experienced the same with the shower curtain filthy along the bottom, the bath with a fine film of dirt from previous user and they couuld not lock their bedroom window . There was alot of confusion with customers as to who was to stay in what room. Prices of soft drinks and alcoholic drinks wre extorsonate. Overall very disappointimg in terms of standards. I had to ask for the ladies toilets to be attended to as they had no toilet paper and were also not well kept. Breakfast was not too bad so that was the highlight.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

We were attending a wedding near by and stayed in the Clare Inn. The staff were exceptionally accomodating and helpful - definitely over and beyond what you generally come to expect from large hotels. The rooms were fine except maybe a little difficult to find. There was over 200 childern staying in the hotel of every age charging about the corridors/lobby etc etc. Thankfully the childern were in bed when we were going to bed (a.m. post wedding reception) and the childern were absent by the time we got up on Sunday morning .. either all out at activities or checked out. We deliberately missed breakfast!!!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

A few years ago we had stayed at the Clare Inn with our 3 children, we walked in to reception, it just didn't feel right, and worse was to come when we got to the room, as a rule we always stayed at The West County Hotel. I was dissapointed when we heard that the wedding we were attending was at the Clare Inn, my how it has changed, we received a friendly welcome at reception, our room was bright clean and airy with tea and coffee making facilities on hand - this was not avaliable when we came here orginaly. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, here I had to say I did make a slight pig of myself, when the food is handed to you and no dishes after it tastes even better. As for the food and service they provided at the wedding I couldn't fault it, I would now recomend The Clare Inn to everyone, it was a wonderful break.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Nice clean hotel, stayed for a wedding,found the food superb and plenty of second helpings, staff very nice. On the down side a lot of walking was needed to get to our room on the third floor but other than that it was excellent, would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

more than adequate

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Rooms were spotless. Service was brilliant could not fault the Clare Inn in any way

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

I enjoyed my stay at the Clare Inn. Our room was very good and the staff and service was also very good. I felt very welcomed and relaxed in the Clare Inn. I thought the hotel catered well for familes and it was lovely to see families there all enjoying the good weather and facilities. If I go to County Clare again I would certainly consider staying at the Clare Inn again. Staff very positive and friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

This was a very nice family orientated hotel, with excellent facilities for adults and children. The room was spacious and well furnished. The food was excellent aand the grounds are lovely

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Our stay in the Clare Inn was really enjoyable. Were there for a wedding. Setting in foyer on arrival was fabulous with chocolate fountain. Staff lovely. Food was excellent. Double room was a fine size, very clean. Would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Clare Inn: Would have been OK as a 3 star hotel, room was comfortable and clean but tired and showing it's age. Staff were pleasant, bar food was not available after 9.40PM. Breakfast though was excellent. All in all "satisfactory".

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

stayed at clare inn hotel for one night we found everything was to our satisfaction staff were friendly room was good we would stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

This hotel is very average, and the reception, bar and lounge are all quite dated, as well as many of the rooms. Although many rooms have been updated. It serves a funcion as a reasonable room accomodation for someone attending a wedding at the nearby Dromoland.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

1. On check-in the hotel had no record of my booking; fortunately I had the print out with confirmation and they were not full. 2. In spite of placing my breakfast menu card on the door - and phoning reception to confirm it would be collected - it was still hanging there the next day - so no breakfast 3. On check-out I was told I would be given a reduced rate as my breakfast had not arrived. However I had already paid for the room in full online when I booked. I was told this was not the case and I was required to pay on check-out. I was assured that I would not be double charged. Whilst they processed my credit card I realised that the original print out said 'paid in full' so then I needed to get a refund on my card.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

i taught the hotel was lovely and comfortable,as for taking children it is heaven. i have a 4 year old boy and he didnt want to leave the hotel there was so much for him to do, he still talks about the hotel asking can we go back there. i recently asked him will we go to the playground and he wanted to go to the one in the hotel this is 2 months later he still remembers it . will difenately go back for him and also for the comfort for myself

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Stayed also at the Clare inn which was grand. Breaskfast not great and very overpriced for room service,,,Would not rush back

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5