Clayton Hotel Cork City Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 38 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Clayton Hotel Cork City

Our Customer stayed here in July 2018

Was moved after 1 night to a room with a balcony which really was unexpected and made a huge impact on us. We really thought this hotel was excellent and are already planning our next visit.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2018

Stayed Friday of Bank Hol for Ed Sheeran. Hotel was very busy yet staff were very attentive. Hotel was immaculate. Outdoor BBQ was lovely. Would recommend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2018

Excellent Hotel. Super friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2017

• I had paid an extra €20 for a king size bed and was given a room with a queen size bed, all of 5ft wide. • I asked to be moved and was transferred to an apartment which was supposed to have a king size bed but again was a 5ft, the standard size of a king size bed is 76” x 80”. • The apartment was tired and in need of decoration but I did not want to ‘complain’ again. • There was a strong stench in the corridor leading to the apartment and when using the lift leading to the exit door at the side of the hotel, the smell resembled a heavy sewage type smell. • The cooker top in the apartment had not been cleaned and there was a layer of grease on same. • The shower did not work properly in that there was only a trickle of water from the shower head, and the water was cold. When you turned the tap to the ‘hot’ symbol, the water was mildly lukewarm, but not warm enough for s shower. • The towel rail in the bathroom had not been cleaned and there was a layer of dust on each rung at either side of the towel with soap scum stains on the sides.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2017

New management style appalling

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Very good rooms. Staff generally pleasant. Quality of Guinness and Murphys disgraceful. Room service breakfast served promptly but was cold. No milk or honey for porridge. Overall standard has slipped.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2016

Great hotel, fab location, Staff were lovely:)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2016

Good location (car park underneath the hotel was very handy also. Nothing flashy - but a good, modern, well-maintained and clean hotel with good facilities (and not a bad bar either). I would stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2016

We had a super stay, from check in to check out the staff could not do enough for us. Had a meal in Kudos which was second to none in all regards, service, value for money and the meal itself. The waitress even reserved us a table in the bar for the music which added to our experience. We met with people from Blarney who had not stayed there before and they too were impressed. Breakfast staff were also excellent, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We will be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

I stayed in the Clarion for a birthday weekend in Cork very nice staff, very helpful and hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in walking distance to the shops and nightlife. Breakfast was very nice the next day and overall a very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

I stayed for one night with my daughter recently and found the location of the hotel ideal for shopping and for strolling around the streets of Cork. The food in the hotel was lovely. We ate in Kudo's which was asian cuisine and it was very tasty indeed. The breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice. My only 'complaint' would be that the coffee was only warm and not hot. Otherwise, we enjoyed a very pleasant stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Overall great service provided

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Great room. Right where we needed to be. Very convenient for our stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Great location, clean,helpful front desk, very close to bus station, good bar. Would return without a doubt

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Lovely hotel in great location. Staff very friendly and helpful from reception to the restaurant.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

I booked the Clarion for an overnight special occasion with my wife as we wanted a city centre location. I phoned the hotel a week in advance and asked for an external room with a view of the river as I wanted to be able to open a window. Was told No problem by the nice lady who answered. When we booked in and found our room it was a pokey internal room overlooking the atrium. I rang reception and complained and was given an external room at the back of the hotel. No view and lots of street noise. It turned out that when I was handed the key to the new room the receptionist was able to tell me my room (with a view) had been given to someone else with the same name. Unfortunate but careless given they had my address so could have cross-checked. Was disappointed they made no offer to upgrade us or compensate in some way. Otherwise hotel was fine - hot breakfast selection was average but good selection of fresh fruit, cereals. Nice to get a bottle of water on check-out but why not have it in the room on check-in?

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights this week. We choose the Clarion because its website offered a dvd player on request and the highly recommended reviews on trip advisor. We booked via www.roomex.com as this is where we found the best bed and breakfast deals. We were not disappointed. The thing that really stood out about this hotel was the fantastic, super helpful and very friendly staff. Nothing was too big a problem. We arrived at 10am and expected to leave our bags but the receptionist went out of her way to check us into our room early which was very much appreciated after a long trip. We ordered room service both days for breakfast which was of a high standard and service was excellent. The croissants and pain au chocolates were amazing. My only criticism would be that the options for a cooked vegetarian breakfast were quite poor (eggs, mushroom and tomato). It would be nice if they could add more to this such as baked beans, hash browns, potato scones, veggie sausages ect. If you have your heart set on getting a cooked vegetarian breakfast I would maybe just book room only and go somewhere else for breakfast. Our bedroom was very spacious and spotlessly clean with really comfortable beds. It provided all necessary items (kettle, iron, hair dryer). The dvd player was set up in our bedroom as we requested. Bathroom was great and really big with lovely toiletries and plenty of towels. We requested a quiet room and we were placed on the 5th floor and it was definitively very quite. However, the windows looked over the seating area on the ground floor so it was not possible to open them. Therefore, the bedroom was very hot and stuffy and difficult to cool down even with the air-conditioning being on all night. This did make it difficult to sleep. We were given bottles of water on check out and the hotel did not charge us for the upgrade from b&b to room service breakfast. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning on my next trip to Cork.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Great hotel, location. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is lovely and good choice.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Centrally located in Cork City. Near Bus and Rail lines. Large clean and QUIET room. Spacious bar and lobby and a four star resturant. Excellent value for the money!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Nice hotel but a bit grubby. The chairs in the bedroom were stained and the floor in the bathroom was dirty and sticky. We moved to another room and the chairs were still stained but not too bad. The beds are really comfortable and massive. We got room service and it was excellent. The gym is very big and the machines are modern. The pool is a good too. All the staff were fantastic and very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a great choice and was top quality. We got a free bottle of water each on departure. However, 10euro for parking when you are a guest was a bit of a sting. I would stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Great

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

I brought my U.S friend with me to the Clarion Hotel in Cork. She thought it was very efficiently run and we had a good time there. She loved the breakfast(including delicious brown bread!) and thought the staff were very helpful. Its in a marvellous location as its within walking distance of the city centre(including The English Market)!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Clean & tidy. Helpful staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Absolutely fantastic hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly. Having the car park directly under the hotel was a big plus as you didn't have to worry about carrying bags too far.Room was lovely and we weren't expecting the little extras such as the robes, chocolates and the little balcony overlooking the river. Breakfast was superb.Will definitely stay again hopefully in summer.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

The Clarion Hotel was great and very friendly the only thing I would like to see changed is the television in the rooms they are old and reception was not great otherwise great stay and would go back again, very handy to the bus station and town.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

The hotel is stunning staff very good,the only thing that lets the hotel down is the breakfast chef.The first morning the white pudding was totaly raw not even heated.The second day the scrambled eggs were burned just shocking lets the hotels down no effort put into cooking it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Very happy with this hotel, staff in reception were very helpful and allowed us to check in immediately which I always consider an extra point scorer, especially when you are trying to make most of your time in a city so we were very impressed by that. Our room was lovely and very clean. The only negative is we decided to order breakfast to the room for a treat but were disappointed with it. To be honest, I'm easy going when it comes to room service but the toast was freezing (should have been wraped in a towel, where it was just on the tray) and the breakfast itself wasn't too warm either so compared to other hotels, it was definetely not on par and some improvements need to made there. I would like to stay there again but won't be requesting breakfast to the room, just incase!! When leaving, one girl told us we could stay in the car park until 1pm and then just pay for additional time. We came back at 3pm and the other receptionist told us we had to pay for 3 hours, no big deal but consistancy goes along way when it comes to front of house. All in all, a well room hotel and really nice bar also for a drink before hitting the town!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Pretty straightforward - the Clarion is the business hotel of choice in Cork. Central, well designed and good staff. Tip - avoid the rooms looking out into the atrium if you can - their windows don't open so they can get very stuffy. Also (FWIW) I am consistently disappointed by breakfast. I am vegan it must be said - however the choice lacks imagination and the espresso comes from an auto-espresso maker which produces consistently lousy coffees. I still go back though and just consider breakfast a minor glitch!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

It was our first time to stay at the Clarion, Cork and we had a very enjoyable stay. The friendliness of the staff on our arrival was apparent and continued during our stay. The room was spacious, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was very good with a good variety on offer. The hotel is well located with shopping and nitelife only a few minutes walking distance away. Without doubt we will be booking the Clarion Hotel for our next visit to Cork City.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Excellent hotel, professional staff, clean, beautifully appointed.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

The fact that parking was extra to the bill left a bad impression on the stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Lovely hotel & room. Fantastic location & reasonably priced car park. Stayed 2 nights over a weekend with friends. Great choice at breakfast & the staff were very friendly & helpful, accomodating our requests regarding rooms. The only downside was the early morning wake-up call on both mornings from housekeeping. Don't forget your "do not disturb" sign unless you want to be called at the crack of dawn! Despite this however I would consider staying here again on my next visit to Cork. The positives far outweigh the negative.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

The Clarion Hotel Cork as very handily situated on Lapps quay just a short stroll from the station and within easy walking distance of the city centre proper. Check-in was painless and all the front desk staff were welcoming and capable. Staying on the 2nd floor on the Clontarf St. side of the hotel I found the room to be quite poorly insulated from the traffic noise emanating from below. Additionally sound travelled only too well between the rooms so much so that a telephone call could be clearly heard next door. Noise from the hall also permeated the room, not surprising as there was a clear gap between rooms main door and floor, light from the hall area was readily visible seeping under it. All in all despite the room being of a good size and the beds nice and comfy I was pretty disappointed at the poor soundproofing in a modern supposedly 4 star hotel. Breakfast was a buffet affair with a good selection of cereal, pastry, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast items as well as cold meats and cheeses. Something for every fan of a good meal to kick-off the day. The Irish breakfast was very average, somewhat anaemic sausages, bland black pud and middling rashers. However the croissants were excellent, best I've had in a hotel for a long while. For all it's positives, and there are many, I don't think I'd stay in the Clarion Cork again as the noisy room just let everything down too much.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Excellent hotel and well located in city centre. Friendly staff and good choice of eating options in hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Overall the hotel was OK. Our room and beds were very small but clean. My biggest complaint was the breakfast, we had to wait approx. 5 minutes for sausages and eggs to be cooked as there was none left, and there were no mushrooms or hash browns as you would find in a four star hotel. There was a queue to make toast and we had to cut our own brown bread which was very un-hygenic for a four star hotel this should not be the case.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

The staff were very helpful and location perfect.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

A well located hotel with in easy reach to the airport by local bus, and a very short walk from the bus station Hotel is well presented and food and service is good. Just what you need when on business

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

All you need in a Town Centre Hotel, polite staff, undergroung car park, close to bus station and airport.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5