The Spencer Hotel (Formerly Clarion Ifsc) Dublin Int'l Financial Services Centre, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Also known as: The Spencer, Clarion IFSC, Clarion Hotel Dublin International Financial Services Centre
8/10.0 Based on 50 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Spencer Hotel (Formerly Clarion Ifsc) Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in June 2018

Our stay was fine but standards have slipped at the hotel!! However, the staff were pleasant and helpful and food at the bar was delicious. The waiter serving us was very helpful, knowledgeable and courteous

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Very nice hotel with friendly efficient staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2015

The room was small for the price and location. When we got to the hotel, the car park was full and was informed to park in another hotel car park. I asked if this would be validated and told no we have to walk to the hotel with our bags during a storm. I also asked was breakfast included and also told no and that would additional charge for this. I don't think I'll be staying in the Spencer Hotel again anytime soon.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2015

Modern, clean and friendly hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2015

I can't write a review about our experience in the The Spencer Hotel as we were rebooked to their sister property The Morgan Hotel. We booked The Spencer Hotel because I took my daughter to her very first concert ever in the Three Arena and The Spencer is located very nearby. However the hotel was overbooked and we were booked out to their sister hotel The Morgan, a very trendy hotel in Tempe Bar. They really looked after us which made it an unforgettable trip for my daughter. 5-star service in a 4-star hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Spencer Hotel very much. The staff were friendly & helpful throughout all areas of the hotel. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and everything we needed was there for us. I stayed there with a 9yr old child who the staff gave great time to and the atmosphere in the hotel was lovely and gave us a secure and safe feeling. The location of the hotel was ideally situated for the 3arena which we attended on the night we stayed, the access to the Luas was ideal. Delighted we made the right choice of staying in the Spencer Hotel and will definitely stay again if we have a return visit to Dublin.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean, very friendly staff, no noise.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Fantastic hotel for the business traveller. The hotel staff are professional and courteous. The rooms have everything you expect and are very quiet! A must for a good night rest before business. I'll be using the Spencer in the near future again. A thoroughly satisfying experience.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Hotel is nice- not much changed from Clarion days. Room was quite smaller than previous stay & room was very cold when we arrived. Unfortunately could not fit us in for dinner in the restaurant as we hadn't booked. There were just 2 of us. We used a table in the lounge. Food was lovely but after they cleared the main course, we were forgotten about! After a while we asked for dessert menu ourselves- no offer: tea or coffee. 20 mins later still no sign if anyone returning to take our order. Ordered at the bar and another half hour still no dessert. We had to leave as we were under time constraint at this point so I went and asked for bill myself. Attempted to charge me for several items that we did not get- including an alcoholic drink which was €10! Service very poor & would not ask to stay here again. Breakfast was lovely though & staff that morning were very helpful. I was set to highlight my grievance upon check out however as I had paid in full in advance, I got a 'ok, thank you' and no mention of how my stay was. Overall totally unsatisfied with my stay.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Myself and my 10 year old daughter stayed here as we were attending a concert in the O2. Apart from the convenience of the Hotel being on the Luas Line, everything about our stay here was great. Check-in was very efficient and professional. Our room was a delight and the pillows are out of this world, there is no way you could have a bad nights sleep! The breakfast service and food is top class. I stay in Dublin on a regular basis and I have to say The Spencer has now gone to the top of my list for breakfast. Not only do they supply a variety of fresh fruit smoothies but they also have a pancake-maker. The bonus of a swimming pool and spa, along with a Thai Restaurant and a fine selection of eateries on the doorstep, mean I will be making repeat visits to The Spencer.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Staff very friendly especially front desk staff, room was clean and tidy couldn't ask for anymore.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Was given a room 113 which a room for disabled person which was fine ..but the shower room flooded and became dangerous we put towels down and went out for the evening. When we returned our keys would not work and we went to reception and were told there was a issue with the room and were moved to a lovely room on the 7th floor the staff that dealt with it was very professional and made it smooth. The next day we again used the health club which needs refreshing with tiles in steam room that needs replacing and ladies changing rooms also needing some work. In the sauna i tripped over a clear plastic bag that was stuck to the floor burning my hand ..I was dealt with by staff and the manager who offered me a friends and family rate to stay with them again. I left Dublin early as my hand was very painful having to pay extra to change my ticket. It was a nice hotel with good staff.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

I was staying there as attending course nearby. I was delighted with the room very clean and tidy with all the comforts. The staff were very friendly so a very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Room and bed very comfortable. Bathroom clean & met expectations, Very convenient location for BGE Theatre, Bar lacks atmosphere and is expensive

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Excellent location, added bonus of a secure underground car park, lovely room & delicious evening meal.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

Nice hotel. Illness prevented use of facilities.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect for us. We were going to a gig in the O2 so the location couldn't have been better. The hotel itself was magnificent. The rooms were finished to an impressive standard with Nespresso coffee machines, an iPod/iPhone dock and a proper hairdryer to mention but a few of the feautures. Staff were amazing and the rooms were very well soundproofed. You couldn't hear a thing. I will definitely be staying here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

I would highly recommend the clarion hotel, the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The location of hotel was fantastic, ideal for whatever you wished to do in Dublin.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Everything is excellent about this hotel, especially the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they are very friendly and obliging. Great location and lovely rooms.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Positive notes - nice hotel , good breakfast, clean room. Negative points - They left one towel for two people in the room, parking is limited and expensive at 15 euro overnight with no guest rate, also hard to find car park if you are unfamiliar with the area

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Clarion IFSC in Dublin.. :) Its in a great location and everything you need is near (Chemist) The facilities were better than any hotel ive previously stayed in. There was bottled water in our room and Ipod speakers the beds were really comfy and the hotel was really quiet at night time.. The staff in reception and resturant were so friendly and helpful making our stay comfortable and enjoyable

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Nice hotel but not if you enjoy a drink after dinner! We had a lovely time in the bar on Friday night,good atmosphere friendly and attentive staff but when we arrived on Saturday night the bar was closed for a private function. When we asked about this we were informed that the bar is often shut. Reminds me of "The pub with no beer."!Hope to go to Dublin soon again but will investigate bar facilities first! Ps. breakfast was very good especially as it was served up to 11.30am.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

This is our second time staying at The Clarion Isfc for the Taste of Christmas Event in the Convention Centre. Perfect location - 2 minutes from Luas Stop & 5 minute walk to Convention Centre. As expected at a 10.30am arrival our room was not ready but bags were promptly taken for storage. 2 gentlemen in lobby area asked us our weekend plans & offered us complimentary Tickets for the event. Which is rare that customers would be offered. On return bags were in room, room was spotless even under the toilet seat which a lot of staff forget to clean. No dust, very little clutter, all facilities available. We ate in the bar that night, from waitstaff to barmen to breakfast staff- excellent, professional & friendly staff. It was a pleasure to deal with young (possibly college students) who actually understood the meaning of Good Customer Service. I'm sorry we didn't eat in Kudos restaurant as a Manager of a 5* hotel in the Midwest told me it was excellent- definitely next time Great location, friendly staff, yummy food - see you soon

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Very comfortable hotel, the staff were very friendly, would stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Beautiful hotel, very modern and clean. family room was a nice size. Ideal for a trip to dublin as were going to an event in the Conference centre which is right next to it. Only ten min walk to O'Connell street. Food was lovely and staff very accomodating - especially the manager in the restaurant. My only negative would be that the car park is not beside or under the hotel - when we came up the lift i presumed it was into the hotel but we came onto a side street and were unsure where the hotel was - so with luggage and baby it was a bit awkward and we were lucky to get the last space - it was also hard to locate the car park. but all in all a great hotel and i would definitely recommend

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Hotel was located on the quays in Dublin very handy & near to city centre, we could see the spire from our hotel window. Car parking was €14 per night a bit costly I thought but it's expected in Dublin city when you're so close to everything. The room was small but very peaceful at night.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and it is very convenient to the Grand Canal Theatre. However we were very disappointed with our room. It was small and extremely cramped! I had stayed at the hotel previously and had a beautiful room hence my huge disappointment. On the other hand however the staff were incredibly friendly and the breakfast was fabulous!!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Clean, spacious room. Nice coffee maker.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Ver good hotel - well located

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Room clean and comfortable. Appreciated the complementary bottle of water. Staff were excellent. Will be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Clarion Hotel (IFSC). On arrival, we were upgraded to a suite which was excellent with plenty of tea, coffee and water available. The breakfast was fantastic too with a huge variety of food available, including muffins! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel! :)

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Great rooms and great service at a great price. Would definitely stay there again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Truly an amazing experience....I was at the Bryan Adams concert in the O2 and decided to stay the night. Parked at the Luas park and ride at the Red Cow, got the Luas into the city centre, which left us with a 2 minute walk to the hotel (Good Times)....Had a bite to eat, a few drinks and a quick stroll down to the O2, couldn't have been handier :-)Oh yeah, the staff were fantastic and the hotel room was modern, very clean and great value!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Staff very friendly and the food was excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

I was attending a conference at the Dublin Convention Centre (DCC)so the location was ideal, being less than 5 minutes walk from the venue. The room was spacious with a full king sized bed, wi-fi and wired internet access, a "Nespresso" coffee machine and sparkling water available for use. I didn't use the spa, but appreciated the robe and slippers also provided in the room. I had breakfast in my room for a modest €5 service charge - on each day it arrived hot, on time and with the low fat milk I requested. Although centrally located with plenty of bars and modestly-priced restaurants nearby, the hotel room was very quiet with none of the usual traffic noise you would usually expect. The hotel gym was well equipped and all facilities were comfortable, spotlessly clean and up to 4-star standard. Parking isn't guaranteed, but there seemed to be adequate spaces in the underground car park located 2 mins walk from the hotel. There was also a plentiful supply of taxis outside the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting or working in the area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a concert in the O2. The hotel is within walking distance of Connolly Station, O'Connell Street and the O2. It is a beautiful hotel and very friendly staff. Rooms were spotless and our room even had complimentary slippers and dressing gown which I thought was a nice touch. The bed was definitely the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in and the bed linen was so fresh and clean. Breakfast was great and offers a brilliant selection of continental or cooked breakfast (or both if you really want). The area around the hotel has a few bars and some lovely restaurants. Ths is the 2nd time we have stayed here for a concert at the O2 and I would highly recommend it and will definitely return again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Stayed overnight in the Clarion after attending a show in the 02. Great location - 15 min stroll to the 02 or a hop on the Luas. Very comfortable room. Couldn't fault it. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

I stayed one night recently at the Clarion IFSC Dublin which was a very pleasant stay. On arrival at 8.30pm, my impression was that the reception and lobby appeared quite lacking in character but I was more than happy with my room - the bed was extremely comfortable. The leisure centre was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was very good and I was assured that next time I stayed I should call in advance to notify them of my wheat intolerance diet and my needs would be catered for. I will be staying here again in the very near future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

The hotel was quiet central as the Lusa Line behind the hotel runs behind. Car parking available at extra charge of €14, car park not owned by hotel so its a couple of minutes to the hotel lobby but nice cafes bars etc on the way. check in very fast, staff pleasant and helpful. Room quiet small but sufficient for two people and spotless clean, it was on the first floor however and there were interviews and training going on so was little noisy when we checked in to the room. The view from our room was of the opposit builing wall We were there for a concert so hotel was walking distance to the O2. Didnt get a great nights sleep however due to noise from people at the Octoberfest at the docklands, when that eventually quietened down noise from a delivery truck (beer kegs) woke us. We ordered breakfast to our room, standard but arrived exactly on time. On checkout we asked if our car could be left in the car park for an hour or so which wasnt a problem.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Great location, especially for those going to the O2 for a concert. A little disappointed with the room though. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly from its previous use. Staff are helpful.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 1 saturday night for the Michael Bublé concert. Arrived just after two in the afternoon and was checked in immediately. Very friendly staff at check in and offered us wake up call, newspaper etc for the following morning if we so wished. The room itself was in immaculate condition and with one added bonus of actual power shower which can be hit and miss in some hotels. Breakfast the following morning was the usual fare hot and cold choices. Again staff very friendly. Very quick check out as all had been pre paid. Very enjoyable experience and will definately give Clarion Hotels my first preference.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Great location for Grand Theatre and O2. Fabulous room great spa and gym. Excellent breakfast. Will be back soon.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

A fantastic hotel in a fantastic location. Even got a free upgrade to an apartment! Lovely breakfast had also!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

Myself and a friend recently stayed at the clarion as we were attending a concert in the o2. It is the perfect location for any concert as it is a short 10 minute walk. The luas also runs just behind the hotel which will bring you straight into the heart of dublin city, ready for a hard days shopping. The hotel staff are very friendly and could not have done more for us. Our room was spacious and i could not fault it in any way. The breakfast the next day i also could not fault, it was a buffet style and the hot food was constantly being topped up by freshy prepared food. The staff were on hand if we required anything else. Overall, we had a enjoyable stay and i would highly reccommend this hotel to anybody looking for a hotel which offers both an affordable rate with excellent quality.I will definitly be back in the near future.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

The hotel was fine - a standard issue Clarion. The only down side was breakfast when I got toast with blue mould on it.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

on arrival i found that the hotel staff were more concerned in answearing the phone than checking us in..possibly they were busy so i did not pass much remarks..the rooms were beautiful and had everyting we could ask for.the staff in the thia resteraunt( a guy with curly hair) were very helpful and friendly.the staff in the front resteraunt beside check in desk were completly rude and hostile.i am a woman with a child and had no man with me thats possibly why i was treated so dismissavily. i walked in to restraunt at roughly 3.00 after arriving in hotel and asked waiter could we order food as we were going to o2 gig later that nite.he turned to me and said i can not help can you see we r busy.fair enough they were but there was no need to be rude. i asked a lovely guy in the tia resturant and he was so so helpful and explained that we could order from room.we went to room and came down stairs about an hour later and because it was quiet i said id order food but once again the rude guy took my order and made me feel like it was a chore to take my order.next morning breakfast was beautiful and the lady at desk and bag man were so lovely and helpful.would def go back but would never order food off guy in resturant.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

We were attending a musical in the o2 and returned to the clarion ifsc for bed and breakfast. the room was clean and comfortable, staff were very friendly and efficient and there was a wide choice of parking facilities. breakfast was the best we have ever received at a hotel. Would defifitely recommend it!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

We stayed at the Clarion because of the locality. Was not so sure if it was going to meet our expectations because it was so reasonably priced. In this case price was certainly no indication of a lesser service. We found the hotel excellent value for money, clean, efficient and very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend and will use the hotel again with no hesitation.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Beautiful hotel. All staff very friendly and helpful. Barfood & breakfast excellent. Will definitely stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5