Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway Sandy Road, Headford Road, Galway, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 25 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Our Customer stayed here in October 2017

The hotel was just a short walk into the city itself which was great. Rooms were a nice size and clean, basic but it does what it says on the tin. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Over all decent hotel. No complaints.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Pillo Hotel. Staff extremely friendly & helpful.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Very tasty food. Bed had a few springs broken though.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Really nice hotel. Bar food good, staff and reception friendly. Decent location. Taxi's always available outside. Would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

great location, rooms and value. There was a little bit of a noise problem one of the nights we stayed, but other than that, excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Everything was good, the hotel is well located, easy access from the bypass and a short walk to the city centre. The staff were very polite and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. The bedroom was very spacious and had a hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Breakfast was very good with a good choice. Hotel was only a 15 min walk from Eyre Square.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Staff excellent,room great, location great, breakfast just ok.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Decent hotel with free parking. Check-in was quick and without fuss. The rooms were clean and overall I found it good value for money. Would stay here again if I was in Galway.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

You have an excellent staff at Pillo who take time to solve any problems that arise. My room was very clean and was supplied with everything one needs. However, the lighting was too dim for reading or checking dials and the number of switches confusing. The one big problem you have with your hotel is the entrance to the car park. I forgot that I had been warned not to stay with you because of it - I scraped the car.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

The Pilo is a nice cosy modern hotel. It is a very good location with secure underground parking. The rooms are large and clean. THe breakfast is beffet style but they were happy to accomodate people with more specific requirements. Nice staff and certainly a place i would go again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

This hotel is quite centrally located. The hotel was modern, clean, had friendly staff and valued their guests. The provision of car parking was also welcome. We arrived and had dinner in the hotel - the selection on the menu was good but the quality of food not so good. The starters were lovely however the main course was overcooked and lacked taste. We were given complimentary desserts and these were delicious. The restaurant was quiet but the bar/lounge filled up nicely and had a busy atmosphere. The staff were attentive at all times and very friendly. However on the Saturday night it was the opposite. We went to the bar/lounge at approx 11pm but had the place to ourselves. There was no atmosphere so we left. The spa was well used over the weekend by us and we found it to be brilliant. The staff again very professional and friendly. A mix up on our booking had our group split between 2 floors but the receptionist sorted this out at check in and we were given rooms on the same floor. However my room was located over a very busy Service Station and we were woken several times by road noise. The air conditioning unit was not working in our room but an electric fan had been supplied for use. I enjoyed my stay but it is a pity such a good hotel is not being used to its full protential. Prehaps music in the bar/lounge would encourage guests to stay or return from the city earlier and therefore create an atmosphere.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Very good business hotel. Staff helpful, large room, powerful shower and good workspace

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

We stayed at the Pillo as we were attending the Galway Races and we wanted to be close to Ballybrit. The location turned out to be excellent, we drove to the race course in under 10 minutes and we were in walking distance of the city centre too. The hotel was perfect for location and for a place to sleep. I wouldn't stay in the Pillo if I was intending on staying in the hotel all day.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Room lovely, breakfast very good. Would recommend to a friend and would go back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

superb hotel only fault little or no thought to smoking area. would recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Lovely clean spacious rooms. Spa was excellent

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

stayed here for one nite only wishing it was for longer :( we checked in and was given a room on the first floor i tink.. but it stank of smoke with no hesitation from the staff downstairs we were moved room and floor. room was spotless and was great to have the extra perks which you would normally pay for in a suite like double bed that aren't two singles joined together my biggest pet hat a fridge and also air con which was a god send when the vino was leaving the system at 6am :) we had dinner in the restaurant and it was faboo the staff in the restaurant had excellent service skills and friendly. we also were going to have drinks in the bar after which was nice till a dj was booked and there was no available seats in the bar for other residents like ourselves and others who vacated to the lounge because of reserved seating .. breakfast was top notch plenty of fruit and as much bread and juice and variety of breakfast cereals for a buffet was brill also had the usual fry idems missing beans and mushrooms all in all i would defo go bk..

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

we stayed at the pillo hotel for one night as we were going out in Galway city that night. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly. The only problem was that our bedroom door must not have closed properly- although it felt like it had, and we had an intruder in our room. thankfully it appeared to be an honest mistake - they were staying in the room next door and got mixed up. It was unpleasent at the time as we were both in bed asleep when this happened. Staff came to us immediately when we rang for assistance.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

My husband and I were a bit disappointed about the location of this hotel, on a roundabout with a garage and a furniture shop on the side. It is within walking distance of Eyre Square though. The dinner that was part of the deal was also disappointing, Other tables were given bread baskets but not us, even though we spent quite a bit on a bottle of wine. The breakfast is self service even down to making your our toast.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Pillo Hotel, The hotel was modern and up to date with very friendly staff.The car parking was free which was great,The Hotel is a ten minute walk from city centre which we didnt mind but if you dont like walking this would add to expence of your stay having to get taxis,The full Irish breakfast was a disappointment due to no fried eggs, beans or mushrooms but the continental breakfast looked good with plenty of choice.Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would visit again :-)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Nice hotel, enjoyed our 2-night stay. Didn't get to sample the leisure suite. Bar food was good and breakfast was fine also. In general the level of staffing seemed inadequate e.g. one nice chap had to cover everyone on a busy Friday night (incl. bar food). Breakfast staff could be a bit more attentive and motivated. A little more effort and this hotel would be super! P.S. pity about the petrol station almost underneath, not the most clever arrangement!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay we were in Galway for first comunnion and hotel was very convenient. The room was delightful very comfortable large bed. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with good choice of food. Definately stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Excellent hotel, well located, good carparking,courteous service, good resteraunt, lovely room etc. We would go back there.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Nice new modern hotel, with lovely big beds and room service. Perfect for business travel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5