Europa Hotel Belfast Great Victoria Street, Belfast, Bt2 7ap, United Kingdom

8/10.0 Based on 37 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Europa Hotel Belfast

Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

No issues whatsoever. Great hotel in a central location, room was spotless. Hotel was very busy but check in/out procedures were very efficient. Will definitely stay again!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2016

Stayed here for an xmas weekend away with my wife and 6 months old son. We notified the hotel that we needed a cot etc for 6 month old son, but they seemed to give us a noisy room where we could here music from one of the many xmas parties in the hotel. The room was very clean and cosy, but maybe a little cramped with the cot. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and nearly all of the staff we dealt with were so helpful, polite and professional. There was a fire alarm in the middle of the night on Friday night and we found it difficult to ring down to reception to see if we needed to evacuate the building and no announcement was made to the hotel to confirm that there was no emergency. Also, we found that the lifts were constantly occupied and you could end up waiting 10-15 mins for a lift. Overall this is a really good hotel, but maybe a little crazy a xmas time...

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2016

100 % from start to finish.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

We found this hotel to be very well located, spacious room and one of the MOST comfortable beds I have slept in for a very long time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very happy with hotel overall and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Always a very reliable top quality hotel. Best location in the city, and very high quality rooms.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

The hotel was very good and comfortable, its was central to the city and a walk away from the main shopping and social areas. However on our arrival they had no record or booking for our stay and we had to wait about an hour for them to confirm they had a room for us apart from this the stay was pleasant.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Lovely hotel, very central and nice staff. marvellous breakfast really lovely and great quality and selection. No RTE on the TV station UK channels only which I would have liked. Very helpfull staff as well.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

The Europa as a hotel is in a great location ,99% of staff were lovely But one major fault of the hotel,On arrival you are informed that you must pay £16.00 per day parking ,I am told its on the Hotel website but as I booked it through Roomex I was definately not aware of this,To add insult to injury one of the condcierge's treated both my wife and I with uthmost disrespect,Firstly as I spoke with his colleague about the relevant options there were if I didnt wish to use the hotel service,This guy kept interupting,Then we left the car in the setdown area as we brought our bags to the room , On our way back down ,I had the misfortune of meeting the same guy ,Whom from one end of the corridor decided to shout at me in a rude manner to move my car,He then continued to barage me with his comments about where both my wife and I should go,,,,to a Dublin was suggested(Im not from Dublin but am from the south) To remain calm I decided to just walk away from the siuation ,But as my wife approached his desk to re visit our options she clearly overheard him talk about us in a most uncomplimentary manner,She did not recieve an apology I have been visiting belfast regularly since the early 1990's I love it as a city and its people are fantastic,To be fair the Room the food and the hotel in general was faultless except our experience with this rude little man. I will not return to the Europa becase of him ,I would advise anyone Check out the Radisson or Hilton instead

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Lovely hotel to stay in,very central,staff friendly and efficient.2nd floor bar very relaxing. Only down side breakfast 2nd morning (full irish)probably cooked and held in units too long before serving.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

The room was very good and maintained to a high standard. This is a legendary hotel and it lives up to its first class reputation. Situated in the heart of the city. All bars and clubs in waliking distance.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

I watched a fascinating TV docu about The Europa Hotel's 40th anniversary. Tho I am originally from N Ireland, I had never been in this hotel, so decided to give it a go. The only good thing is the name, its infamous history and maybe the location. Had a standard room. Very small. Not space to have open suitcase except on bed. Plastic backed mattress protector - revolting to sleep on. Too much furniture. Poor lighting. Dowdy and drab decor. Small shower room was updated. Workmanship very shoddy. Public areas also shabby and dull. Restaurant not open - we were informed it is mainly used as function room. Breakfast service and food like 3rd rate canteen. Generally grubby and badly maintained. Nothing looked really clean in the whole hotel. Biggest let down was the staff. Just disinterested. Not once did anyone offer any service or interest in if we enjoyed our stay. The staff and food experience has applied equally to the other Hastings Hotels I have stayed in in Northern Ireland - Culloden, Stormont, Slieve Donard. Something is really missing here. Next time I am in Belfast I will go back to the Fitzwilliam.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Europa last weekend. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The main areas of the hotel were really nice, spacious and well maintained. I do however have 2 criticisms: my sister had organised for a bottle of wine to be left in our room for when we arrived, the wine was there, chilled as ordered however there were no glasses provided which I would have thought would be a basic requirement! Secondly, the lights are turned off on the corridors to the bedrooms at night except for some dim floor lighting. This means that one cannot see the room numbers on the doors. This resulted in people trying to open our door on a few occasions over the 2 nights as the numbers were not visible.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Room was nice, but a little small. Food was very nice. Service at restaurant at dinner not great.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

beautiful accomadation,and great location

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

We found our stay in Europa a very disappointing one.Our bedroom was exceptionally small and even though it was a non smoking room,there was a distinct smell of smoke on entering it. the shower tray in the en suite was blocked and almost over flowed immediately. The fire alarm was activated on 5 or 6 occasions during the night,causing a totally sleepless night. And there was no apologies or offer of explaination the following day. Breakfast was of a poor standard,not fresh and served in the bar. We most definitely will not be returning to this hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

The hotel was stylish and comfortable, the breakfast was very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Exellent Hotel very friendly staff the one problem is Car Parking one has several choices near by and I have suggested to the management that they would indicate the car parks on their web site and the route to same as the one way system can be confusing for first time visitors this apart great location and reasonable for such high quality

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

The hotel was fabulous and very central. I have just two negatives: The standard double rooms are a tiny bit on the small size and the lighting in the bathroom is awful for the ladies to put on their make-up!!!! Otherwise, no problems and I will be back (with a smaller case!!)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Difficult to get across traffic but once there a lovely hotel to stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

We unfortunately only syayed one night in the Europa, room was fab really comfortable, bar lovely, breakfast super. Staff so friendly and helpful. If I get chance to go to Belfast again I will definitely stay there.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

We stayed at the Europa for 3 nights and overall it was very pleasant. There were a couple of things which I think should be noted in order to keep up the standard for which you are noted. 1) Toiletries were not adequate for two persons. 2) Although not one of the first to go down to breakfast, I did note that there was often a shortage of items such as the fruit,ham and cheeses. However the staff were most courteous at all times and our room was comfortable.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

A fine lobby, rooms are clean, breakfast is good. Lots of coach tours passing through the hotel and the service reflects this, as staff seem to want you in and out the door as quickly as possible and are not very friendly. I had dinner in the bar one evening and the burger was very disappointing. I would not take an evening meal in the Europa again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

The hotel was fine. Room was to the front so it was very noisy. staff friendly. Was surprised at having to pay parking charges!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

Room 602 , very small, dark , shower door didnt seal water, floor all wet each time you shower, not enough towels provided, ironing board conventional type and no space in the room to erect it. The quilt cover did smell . Breakfast nice but could be warmer. At 120 euro per night plus 17 euro for a car park at the back of the hotel Im not sure if I will be picking this one next time. The staff were very nice and helpful. A pity as we were really looking forward to the stay.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

I was very disappointed that there was no luggage room to hold our bags. As we arrived at 11 o clock and could not check in until 3. They were just left in the hotel lobby along with everyone elses. The breakfast was terrible, we could not eat it. We were told to go to the piano bar, as the main restaurant was full. The food looked all right, but when we sat down to eat it, it was terrible. The toaster was a joke the slice of bread was put through 3 times and it still was not toasted. Also the staff was very slow at bringing arount tea and coffee; Also we had to wait for milk to be brought out for our cereal. It was a joke, they could not cope with the crowd for breakfast, The is a four star hotel they should have been well able and used to crowds'

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Have stayed at this hotel many times. There is always a great buzz about the place, very comfortable rooms, food is restaurant is of a good standard and staff are very friendly. ask for a room at the front of hotel for great views.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

First class experience in a first class hotel. very central, Crown bar across the road a must see. Reception staff and Dining room staff excellent. Very good value meals.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Superb hotel in excellent locations. Efficient and firendly service. Rooms spacious clean and well laid out. Food very good.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

I stay regularly at the Europa and, as usual, I had a very enjoyable stay in the hotel. On arriving I was greeted by the polite, friendly and efficient staff at reception . Located a five-minute walk from the centre of the city and close to all the local amenities, the hotel remains a Belfast landmark. In addition to an impressive view over the city, the large room was very clean, modern and comfortable and had a very good en suite bathroom. The buffet breakfast service the next morning was well run with a good range of items. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend the Europa Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

We really did enjoy our stay in the Eurpa. On arrival,the check in experience was very good.Reception staff very friendly and helpful. The Restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the decor was very nice.The Food and service was excellent and very reasonable priced. Breakfast in the morning wasnt great. Only certain foods available and the food that was available wasnt plentiful. We would stay in this hotel again as the overall experience was very good and there was little or no street noise in the bedroom. The same cannot be said about other hotels around this area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

my wife and i spent one night there and while i say satisfactory it is a beautiful hotel with very efficient, pleasant, professional staff. the breakfast was second to none, absolutely superb. the room was well finished, clean and warm as was the en suite with a wonderful shower. a large flat screen tv with lots of channels in bedroom. the night staff were really helpful and pleasant even getting my wife a glass of iced water at 5am. so what could be wrong you ask? unfortunately our room was on the third floor very close to some noisy fans or boilers outside that ran continuously keeping me awake. also the room was beside the lift which meant extra noise during the night. so while everything was fabulous what i really wanted was a nights sleep and if i got that the rating i would give would be superb. the reception staff and duty manager were very considerate and apologetic that i hadnt slept when i explained what happened and took full details the following morning. all in all the review should be superb but for the sleep and if i had been in a different room without the outside noise it would get top marks in all categories.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Great location for all amenities. The Hotel staff were very helpful and overall our stay was top class. We will definitely return to the Europa but with more spending money next time!!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Stayed for a one night trip, hotel and facilites are of a high standard. Had dinner and breakfast in restaurant, good quality food. Great athmosphere in the bars of this hotel. Only down side was how small the room was. Would have bothered us if we had been there for a longer stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Ideally situated for shopping and restaurants. Car parking close to the hotel but at an extra cost. Room clean and comfortable but a bit small. Excellent breakfast and The Causerie served up a very nice and reasonably priced evening meal. Would use again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

We had booked two triple rooms which were fine. We found the staff very friendly and helpful especially the night porters. They could not do enough for us. My only complaint is car parking was extra which we did not know beforehand.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Staff were friendly and helpful. Location excellent, walked from train station, taxi rank outside hotel, great pubs, a nightclub and restaurant right across the road. Rooms lovely and they told us that they'd given us an upgrade which was great. Breakfast very tasty. Would defo stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

We have visited this hotel many times. It is in a great location and has always had excellent customer service. However, on this occasion, the service in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast were well short of what a hotel restaurant of this standard should be. Three incorrect dinner orders - however, the staff were very nice. At breakfast, there was a real shortage of staff and I assume that was the reason the manager was so surly. It is unacceptable to snap at customers which he did to us and others in the restaurant. This hotel needs to get its act together. Overall, these experiences took from the overall experience.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5