Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford Bridge Street, Waterford, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 33 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Our Customer stayed here in July 2018

Good hotel, well located, nice room and helpful staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

Very good location, staff lovely and very helpful! only complaint would be that the room was a bit small not much space in it!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, pillow quality was poor. Nice bathrooms with good showers. Food quality was disappointing, the burger was good but the chips served were cold - this was addressed by staff, the cod served was not fresh, probably frozen - again this was addressed by staff who offered an alternative dish and did not charge for the fish dish served. Breakfast choices looked good but the scrambled egg was rubbery as if it had been cooked in a microwave, fruit on offered was mostly tinned and a fruit pot looked lovely but had a lot of dry muesli in the base so was not appetizing. Bacon in the hot plate was steamed and not crispy again the staff were very polite and addressed this. Coffee served in the bar was milk with very little coffee and the white wine sold by the glass was grim. Far from four star based on the overall quality of food and beverages on offer.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel and found the service, fixtures and the room to be satisfactory. The room was well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. Where I was slightly disappointed was in the cleanliness in the bar area where tables had not been cleaned. However, it was a busy evening so that could be forgiven.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2017

Great hotel and very friendly, helpful staff and super breakfast. Perfect spot to end the greenway cycle as you can cycle to the door without negotiating the city traffic. While the location of the hotel was great for the greenway, it was not a nice area. I would not feel safe walking around at night.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2016

Very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Insufficient car parking, had to street park away from the hotel, bathroom was a disgrace, the smallest sink we have ever seen in a bathroom. It was designed for wheelchair access along with the mirror overhead. Result you have to go on your knees or stoop very low to get at both. When mentioned to reception the response was a bit flippant and did not indicate any customer concern. Thank god it was only a one night stay.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2016

Very good hotel. Let us check in when we arrived. Super location and rooms nice and clean. Excellent breakfast as well. Only bad point is car parking is limited but can park safety across the road for 4euro a day.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

Hotel in a good location, staff friendly & helpful. We had some bar food which just did not live up to the description on the menu and the chips seemed as if they had been cooked a few times. The breakfast was great though plenty of choice and fresh. Also there should be some note to say that there is very limited car parking space onside, and where to park. Or if there is such a note have it where it can be easily seen, I had been pre-warned by someone who had stayed there before & I am familiar with the city so knew where to go (Note it is not that far from the hotel) but I imagine there are plenty of people who would not where to go. Saying this it would not put me off staying in the hotel again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

Nice hotel, good breakfast. Only problem was that the carpark was full when we arrived.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2016

Hotel was well located and maintained, although more a 3 star than 4 star. Breakfast area could have been tidier and tables cleaned quicker.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2016

This is a good hotel as a base for enjoying Waterford city. It is very good value; the beds are comfortable in medium sized rooms and the buffet breakfast is generous and served in a comfortable large dining room. The bar is modern, well-decorated and is popular, with a great atmosphere. Most importantly, the reception staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The only reservation I have is about the small car park- so get there early if you can! Overall, a good value centrally located hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

Initially we were given the wheelchair access room. Asked to change as they really need to do that room up it was a little grubby. We were given a much nicer room and the bed was very comfortable and room was spacious. The shower was good, breakfast was O.K but not amazing. The exterior of the hotel could do with a paint job. Overall it was OK but not sure if it deserves a 4 star rating.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

a bit noisey

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

I absolutely love this hotel.really nothing bad I could say, the staff were amazing so helpful, I have already planned a trip back here cant wait.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Hotel is in a great location. The food and drink was fine. The staff were very friendly. The room was nice and clean. However the car park spaces are at a premium. I dont know how many spaces are there but the staff appear to have as many spaces as the guests. This is only downside I have with the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

room very small for what i booked and tried to charge room services when was to be no charge.but the staff were lovely and bar food was very tastey

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Goid value. Great breakfast. Nice staff. However, room was over heated which made for bad night's sleep.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Went for a girls weekend away (well I suppose we now fall into the women rather than girls category!) and stayed at the Fitzwilton on Friday and Saturday night. Hotel was very centrally located, nice friendly reception and dining room staff, good sized bedrooms. Slept well with little background noise. Good selection of foods in a nice dining room for the Irish breakfast, self service so you can select what you want. Do try the native Waterford blaa which is on offer with the breakfast bread selections. Slice it in half first, put it in the toaster and have with their homemade orange and lime marmalade. Very tasty and surprisingly light! Only slight cons - one of our friends in another room found their room very hot, but then got the bright idea of actually getting up and turning down the room radiator! Cark park is a bit small, if the hotel is full or you arrive late at the weekend, you may be looking at parking in the side streets or car parks on the nearby quays.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

Friendly and prompt service. Well appointed bedroom

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

Definitely not a 4 star hotel as advertised. Room was a bit worn - holes in the duvet cover, towels a bit shabby, tv remote control didn't work, window latch broken. We arrived about 10pm & the room was freezing cos the window had been left open & the radiator off - it was -2degress outside so the room was cold all night. Breakfast was ok - most of the food was gone by the time they had a table free for us. Also parking is very restricted, which is not clear on the website - free parking was one of the major reasons we chose this hotel. We had to park on the street overnight & feed the meter with coins, then move the car early next morning. Staff were very friendly & helpful though!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Good value for money, really helpful receptionist- all in all enjoy our stay there.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

The room was fine, and breakfast was lovely. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Had a very enjoyable stay in the Fitzwilton Hotel at the weekend. The only fault I could find was that there were no shower caps supplied.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

good size room, good location,nice staff, but no refrigerator in the room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Nice place, stayed here once before about 3 years ago and its still pretty nice. rooms are roomy, car parking still a bit of a nightmare. Breakfast is fine, nothing out of the ordinary but tasty and plentiful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

Fantastic hotel. Exellent breakfast. Very disappointed that there was no available parking at the hotel. Had to park at the Quay's.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Rooms were excellent very clean plenty of towels in the bathroom etc. We were on the fourth floor no problem with lifts. Staff very friendly on reception and also in Dining Room. Food was excellent we had our evening meal there which was very reasonably price. Breakfast next morning was also very good. I forgotten to mention there were 3 of us in the same room, my sister and our friend even though we had 3 staying in the room we had loads of space as the room was a very generous size. Would recommend this hotel to our friends...which I already did.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Nice Hotel and good value for money

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

The hotel was fine from my perspective. It is advertised as a 4 star hotel but it feels more like a 3 star hotel. The car park is very tight and luckily I found a spot which fitted my car (an estate) I stayed there on a Monday night and the restaurant was closed. The bar was very quiet. The room was fine and had everything you would expect however the advertised free wi-fi was unusable as the signal was so weak. At €55 for the room (B&B) I cannot complain too much and consider it good value. I would stay there again when on business in Waterford.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2008

This hotel is very comfortable, clean, and the staff are efficient and friendly. Rooms are well appointed and beds very comfortable. The quality of the food was excellent. If the following incident had not arisen I would have rated it very good. There is a major problem with the plumbing in the hotel. We had no water in our room from around 2am Sunday morning until checkout time. This was a problem all over the hotel except in the kitchen areas. It was bad that we had to inform reception, they did not inform us. They offered a bottle of water to clean our teeth. When checking out there was still no water so we all had to leave unwashed. Very unsatisfactory especially as one guest mentioned it had happened another time over the same weekend too. We were due no compensation as we had paid in full upfront. What was most annoying was the fact that when we checked out the receptionist just said thats fine bill is okay. No apology that we were without water all night and morning until we mentioned that a gesture of good will should be forthcoming from the hotel. She said she did not realise the water was gone all night,as she had just come on duty. She could do nothing but promised a senior manager (name given to us) would contact my husband's mobile number. The duty manager confirmed this would happen on Tuesday. We are still waiting....... It was also noticable that at breakfast the first morning the service was superb, everything was first class. The second morning was a different story. Tables were uncleared for guests arriving for breakfast, eggs and bacon containers were left empty for some time and one had to look for tea and coffee. Staff present did their best, but they were very thin on the ground. The rating I am awarding this hotel must be below average. Water is a basic commodity and for a newly refubished hotel instances of long duration without water is highly problematic and requires urgent attention. I thank you for your excellent service and very good rates for our stay. I will certainly consider booking through your agency in future and will recommend your site to others.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

very centrally located. bedroom lovely. quiet, no noise at night. full breakfast was great!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The hotel is attractively furnished in a modern style. The room we stayed in was really nice, again furbished in a modern style; it was confortable and so were the beds, we liked the flat screen TV on the wall. We had room service and the food was good, however we felt the charge of €5 per person was ridiculous, we don't mind paying a charge for the food to be delivered but we do not agree with charging per person - we stay in 5* hotels a lot and we never had that before. The breakfast on offer was very good however we had a very bad experience on the day we stayed that kind of tainted out opinion of this hotel. We came down 15 minutes before the 10.30 breakfast end time and none of the empty tables had been cleared, we even had to ask the waiters twice for one to be cleared for us. Then once 10.30 struck the staff pulled a big metal shutter in front of the counter where the buffet was located so we could not get anything else, not even a glass of juice. We thought it was eccessively zealous of them, we didn't expect food to be replenished but like any other 5* hotel we expected to be given time to help ourselves and finish up, after all there were plenty of tables left to be cleared that they could have busied themselves with first! We went to reception to ask for the manager, to complain, and we were told that he was not around and that other people had already complained! Apart from that, which can be easily fixed, had there been a manager on the floor that day, we liked the hotel and would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5