The George Limerick Hotel Oconnell Street, Limerick, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 59 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The George Limerick Hotel

Our Customer stayed here in January 2017

Central location, good, clean hotel and good value.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2015

Efficient service. Very good. Excellent entertainment.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2015

Lovely boutique hotel, great location, would def stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2015

Second time staying at this hotel. As previously not disappointed, hotel ticks all the superb boxes. We will definitely be back again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Great place to stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Very nice, clean hotel with friendly staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful room

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

we stayed here for one night, our room was a little bit small, but was clean and very well decorated. My only complaint really was that our room was over the bar and the music was very loud and kept us awake until after one.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

We stayed for one night whilst attending "Bruce Springsteen" What a concert!!!The George is a really lovely hotel, very clean.Staff really nice. The room was so hot & couldn't leave window open because of street noise. The breakfast was delicious but nothing was replaced after it was gone it was gone- I think it was because they were short staffed. But I would stay here again, it's so convenient

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Nice comfortable rooms, good shower. had a decent reasonably priced dinner in the Restaurant. great City Center location, only down side street noise.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Very nice clean hotel staff really nice there.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Stylish hotel, centrally located, excellent value for money. Friendly helpful welcoming staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

AS usaul excellent hotel, small rooms but exceptional clean and comfortable. Have stayed here a number of times and will do so again. Best hotel in limerick.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and efficient. Room very clean. Went to bar for quick sandwich at about 6pm but music was very loud, was hard to have conversation. Great location in Limerick city, within walking distance to all city sites. Breakfast very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

The George Hotel is very centrally located in Limerick City, ideal for shopping or touring around the city. Parking is a 2 minute walk to the hotel, as it is not part of the hotel, however, the hotel will cover the cost of your parking. Important to remember if one has lots of bags. Overall, a very nice and clean hotel, staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Overall an execellent stay - nice staff and good food Only quibble is that Shower curtain was dirty

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Excellent value right in the middle of Limerick (although they're well able to charge at the bar!!).

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

This hotel is excellent value for money, clean, modern and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was good. It's situated right in the middle of Limerick. We had girls night away, restaurants are close just around the corner and bars, also the bar in hotel was a late night bar with good music. Its not the spot for a romantic/spa weekend.Ideal for stags/hens/shopping etc.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Have stayed through yourselves twice before. but was most disappointed with the size of the bed. I am 6'4" and the bed was much less! Also the width was only just enough. What a shame to spoil a lovely hotel and staff by ignoring such basic requirements.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

The location of the Hotel was great, staff were welcoming and the room and other facilities were excellent. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were way above average. The only drawback was that the music in the hotel bar continued until 1am on the Friday night that I stayed. Breakfast was good. Overall I would recommend the hotel as the price was very reasonable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Rooms were very clean, bathrooms big. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very centrally located in Limerick City. Just please sort out the plumbing - noise is really annoying.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Always pleasant, great staff, food ok.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Staff were very friendly, room was quite nice, if a little smaller than expected. Dinner was fabulous, and very reasonable. However, as with most hotels I've stayed with breakfast was a but of a disappointment. But bar that, it was quite a satisfactory stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Incredible staff, ideal location, free parking overnight and in the heart of the city. Highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Clean room, single bed very narrow, but comfortable. Friend upgraded her single room to a double upon arrival for Eu10. Shower good. Lobby very noisy. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location - lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Lovely hotel, well situated with very pleasant staff. Room was perfect. Only one problem, which one seems to find in 90% of Irish hotels - the breakfast was AWFUL! Almost raw rashers, egg yolks hard as nails and grease all over the plate. Why can these places do so well with dinners and are so bad the next morning?!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Great hotel for the price. Comp parking in nearby car park, central location. Rooms were bright & clean with tea/coffee facilities. No complaints at all

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Great location, nice big triple room but the shower was clearly broken and just ignored which was disappointing!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

This is a very nice hotel, very good location. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Staff very very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Great hotel in a great location. Staff are friendly. Room was lovely but was woken up in the middle of the night by street noise which isn't really the hotels problem.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

very convenient city centre Hotel,ideal for shopping break.Close to everything. Spotlessly clean,friendly,helpful staff. Cosy bar and restaraunt serving delicious food from sandwiches to 3 course meals. Overall a very good choice.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Great spot - have stayed there before and will again. Staff are excellent all around, from reception to bar & waiter service. Rooms vary in size but are well kept. Location is very central for both socializing and shopping.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Nice hotel in a very central location. Would recommend & would stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

fantastic staff, very clean and great for shops and bars.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Very helpful on arrival, room ready, friendly staff. Room spotless and had everything I required. Breakfast O.K. not very hot and not a great variety basic.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Rooms were nice, however there was a flaw with the flow of the water from the tap. The breakfast in the morning was only ok, nothing spectular.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

As soon as I walked into this boutique style hotel I was delighted that I had selected it. The welcome at reception was personable and pleasant. My room was exactly as described and met my expectations. I was only staying overnight(b&b) but would have been pleased to stay for a longer period. A number of local colleagues told me that I had chosen well.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Just back from a very enjoyable night in this hotel. It's location is fantastic-very central, perfect for day time exploring.....and night time exploring. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in (just before 3 o'clock) but we were told to take a seat and they would let us know when it was ready. The receptionist also offered to take our bags and bring them to the room when ready if we wanted to go out. We sat and had a drink and before two mouthfuls were gone our room was ready. After dropping our bags to our beautiful room (with wonderful views of the city) we headed out. About an hour and a half later I realised I had lost my phone. When we rang it the receptionist answered!!! Thank god, whoever had cleared our table had found my phone (and room key) on the table. I should have known the brilliant staff would take care of it! Breakfast the next morning was one of the best breakfasts Ive had in a hotel. The waiter took our order and brought it to our table for us. We had a hot cooked breakfast but there was fruit and cereals out which we could have had either. Check out was quick and painless. Brilliant hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Everything was great- thanks so much!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Just back from a short stay in this hotel,and we were very happy with our stay.checkin was easy,rooms ample size and clean.the breakfast is a feast all you could eat. so would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Had a really lovely stay. The room was lovely, even had real coffee and coffee brewer inthe room!) 10 out of 10.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Stayed for one night for a night out on the town...lovely hotel really clean nd comfortable from the moment we stepped into the bedroom..really comfy bed too..shower was really powerful....

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Great location, nice hotel. Ideal for hen/stag nights. Good entertainment in the bar both nights we stayed. Rooms were roomy & clean. Only negative is alot of noise from the street late in the night especially on the Saturday night so we didn't get a very good nights sleep.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We enjoyed our stay...room lovely, staff very nice and breakfast really tasty!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Excellent location, on the cities main street. Unusual feature with the reception on the first floor level but this wasn'nt an inconvenience. The reception area is exactly how you would imagine a boutique hotel to be with funky decor and tasteful sporting pictures. Thoroughly enjoyed the brief stay and the €2 pints of stout for Arthurs day also went down a treat.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Great hotel. Centrally located and very friendly staff

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Hotel was in great location, right in the centre of the city. Room was of a high standard and very comfortable. Great value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had dinner in the bar and the food was lovely. The only thing that will put me off booking this hotel again is that check out time is 11am.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

I love the George. I always have since the day it first opened I only travel 20 miles to stay there usually for social events with friends. Things have change there though. The people at the front desk are always really nice. On our most recent stay though, my wife found little specks on the bed sheets which we put down to stains which the laundry couldn't get out but when she found a hair also, it led us to believe that the sheets had not been changed before our arrival. When I stay in a hotel for a few days, it doesn't bother me at all if my sheets aren't changed at all during my stay but they have to be fresh on arrival. It was the early hours of the morning when we got back to our room and it was too late then to be making a fuss. The breakfast was very nice. A few changes there too I noticed but the toaster is still way too slow. I love the George but I would hate to see standards slipping.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

The staff were very friendly and nice. The breakfast was very good and the rooms were nice also. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Hotel very central, price for room very competitive, room clean, breakfast very nice

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Very central, nice rooms, lovely friendly staff. Buffet didn't look fresh and wasn't varied at all. Nice, busy bar with music at weekends. Rooms onto the street are airy and generously sized, have lovely big windows, but unfortunately lots of drama & noise on the street impacts in these rooms. Inside rooms have no view but may be quieter. Generally I would go back to this hotel & request higher room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Comfortable room, great location, nice wallpaper

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

The Hotel is exceptionally good value over all. It is located in the very centre of Limerick on O'Connel St. The staff are very friendly and helpful. All roomes are air conditioned. Breakfast was also very good. The only negative really was that the carpets were stained and the tiles in the bathroom were too clean.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

Room was clean and shower very good, only downside was the noise from the outside beer garden and bar. Unseasonally good weather and the usual "smirting" meant a lot of outdoor socialisers that kept the noise level a bit too high.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

My Wife and I stayed at The George Hotel on the 4/6/10 as we were attending the Ireland v Barbarians match. We were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel, which is well located was comfortable and clean. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely recomend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

Centrally located with excellent service and facilities.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Can be a bit of noise due to location. Bar, Restaurant, Breakfast area very good. Staff satisfactory. For modern rooms they have received a bit of wear and tear.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Stayed here for one night in October. The hotel was absolutely lovely, the room was spacious, lovely decorated and very clean. The staff were very friendly, the bar was very relaxing and was a good atmosphere in it. It is right in the middle of the city making it a great location. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice of food. We were able to enjoy a late check out for 20euro extra which i thought was reasonable. i have been recommending this hotel to everyone and i personally will be back there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

The hotel is well furnished & rooms are of a high standard. The "free parking" is a bit misleading as you have free parking in a nearby car park from 6.30 p.m. to 8 a.m. If it is raining you are going to get wet. Staff were distant put polite. Buffet breakfast was only adequate.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5