The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments Killarney Muckross Road, Killarney, Co.kerry Ireland(republic Of), Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 42 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments Killarney

Our Customer stayed here in May 2018

Nice hotel and rooms but we had to wait over an hour for our room to be ready despite booking it 2 weeks ahead and arriving at the check-in time instructed on the reservation. Breakfast logistics to work on as the queue to enter the breakfast room collides with the queue for cooked breakfast which causes chaos. Receptionists John and Edyta very helpful.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

Hotel very nice. We had a wedding nearby so location perfect. Reception staff very friendly. Room lovely and clean. Breakfast was divine, great choice of foods. Would highly recommend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2017

Family of 5 staying for a mid week break. Lots of activities for the children kids club and evening entertainment. Breakfast is very busy and you may be required to wait for a table.Rooms were comfortable and clean and travel cots are available.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Easy and straightforward check-in. OD's Restaurant great staff, lovely food, big servings. Room was clean and spacious. Would recommend especially if attending a show in the INEC.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

A great hotel to stay in. Plenty of entertainment for all ages in this hotel. Breakfast served until 11am.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

I stayed in the Gleneagle hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is fabulous and the food is superb. The rooms are lovely and clean its well worth paying an extra 10 euro a night for a room with a balcony. The only thing I could comment on would be the cleaners are very noisey in the morning. The food in the Flesk restaurant is lovely and very resonable. Also as a resident in the hotel you can use the pool which was a bonus. Just remember if you are looking to have food in the bar they stop serving at 5pm. Its a perfect hotel and I look forward to staying again soon :)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

As always, loved our stay at the gleneagle. So much to do even if you never left the hotel. Will definitely be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

room clean,shower head could be changed.was very rusty/dirty looking..lovely breakfast though.was there for a wedding and that was great!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Gave a present of a 1 night break in the Gleagle, Killarney to my brother and law and his wife. They said that they really enjoyed their stay. They were delighted with all the hotel facilities and particularly enjoyed the in-house entertainment on the Sunday night. They said that the staff were very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Having heard the Gleneagle hotel, Killarney advertised so often in the media, we were sadly disappointed by it! The hotel entrance and reception area was spacious and friendly and our room was quite easily located on the forth floor. We were shocked to find that the bed spread was so old, worn and washed out there actually was holes in it! Even the blanked looked more like Camel hair! The room itself did not have a mini bar and the bathroom was of very basic sufficiency, with a curtain on the shower that let all the water out onto the floor. At breakfast, the choice was mediocre. No black or white pudding, squishy fruit from cans and staff that clearly did not want to be there as they preferred not to be asked for a pot of tea etc. The clientel were all, with the exception of ourselves elderly and families with children, but predominantly elderly. The entertainment at night was also for a very old generation and not even middle of the road music! On the plus side, the hotel was easy to find and in a good location, being only 10 minutes walk from the town of Killarney and Muckross house and gardens.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Enjoyed our stay the place was buzzing!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Room was spacious, clean and well equipt but could do with updating (i.e. change from old style TV to flat screen and tiling in bathroom dated). Hotel undergoing renovations and therefore carpet in the hallway was being ripped out on the 4th floor however this didnt affect customers as works were ongoing from 10am to 4pm. The breakfast room was large catering for large groups however the breakfast was dissapointing. Coffee and toast was cold, scrambled eggs were swimming in cream and cereal choice was not great. The leisure centre with a 25m pool, sauna and steam room was a nice way to relax in the evening but again required much renovation. Service was also good. I got a good deal for this hotel on Roomex and I would stay here again if the price was right, otherwise I would be thinking twice about staying again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

By booking through Roomex we saved money, however the room was situated at the back of the hotel overlooking the carpark. Apart from that the room was very clean and plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Enjoyable stay thank you

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

I was very happy with the room and the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

There for the country music event. the event,the room,the food,service,everything was superb

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Stayed in the Gleneagle Hotel for 1 night as I was attending the Jedward concert in the INEC with my daughter. The INEC is situated within the Gleneagle hotel which is fantastic because you don't have to worry about transport after the concert, you can either use the facilities of the hotel or else just go straight up to bed. We took the train down from Dublin and arrived at Killarney train station where the Gleneagle hotel have a shuttle bus waiting to transfer you to there hotel very convenient and at only €2 a head very good value. Then we checked in received a very nice double room with a wonderful scenic view I might add. Then we used the gym which didn't have anybody there to tell you how to use the equipment so that was a bit of a let down but all children over the age of 16 are allowed use this facility and if you have a used a gym before your away in a hack. We then attended the swimming pool very nice indeed, with a lifeguard watching over all the time so this certainly was an added bonus there is no extra charge for these facilities if you are a guest of the hotel and you may use the towels from your room which will be changed when your cleaner comes to the room the next morning & you must wear a swimming hat which may be purchased from the leisure centre reception if you've forgotten to take one with you. We then decided we had worked up an apetite so decided to have a nice three course meal in the Flesk restaurant which could be paid in advance at a reduced cost but when we asked at reception to do this the restaurant had been booked up by a company so we weren't allowed use same much to our horror but they said we could use the other restaurant but for us was a no go restaurant as it was not upto the same class as the Flesk so we went for a walk and found a chinese restaurant a few doors down than done the trick. We then attended the concert in the INEC beautiful venue with great views of the stage. Next morning we had a buffet breakfast no complaints there and took the shuttle bus back to the station.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Gorgeous hotel, entertainment all weekend, wouldn't have to leave hotel if u didn't want to, shop inside hotel selling minerals, papers etc and gifts. Very friendly staff, couldn't be more helpful. Rooms could do with updating but very clean. Very pleasant and enjoyable stay, will definitely return to the gleneagle.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a show at the INEC. The reception hall was lovely and welcoming, everything finished off to the high Standered. Our room was very near everything. You couldn't fault the room, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff were very friendly and made our stay, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable. I have already rebooked the apartments are also beautiful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Ideal for events in the INEC. A bit old fashioned, but clean and comfy. have everything you need. Price very reasonable. Breakfast lovely. Had a great weekend there.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

The Gleneagle Hotel is spotless, comfortable and a friendly place to have a break. It is also well located. There is very good value for money dining in the bar.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

the hotel was nothing like i was expecting the tiles on bathroom ceiling were rotten an falling down the shower had a mind of its own and quite how this hotel has 4stars is beyond me it needs a severe overhaul ,other than the above the staff were very nice and breakfast was quite nice residence bar was top notch

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

breakfast not till 8am is very late

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

I recently spent 2 nights in gleneagle,we were very disappointed with our room very old an run down and a very strong musty smell an room was quiet dusty,we had our baby with us an baby facilities were disgraceful very unhappy with our stay food was not up to scratch,not one good thing to say

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. The hotel was super, staff lovely and the breakfast very good. I'd recommend booking a wedding at the Gleneagle. Flawless!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

We are just back from a 3 night family stay. On arrival i was taken back by the big bright open entrance hall and there we were greeted by the most friendly and efficient staff nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were immaculately clean maybe a bit dated but the bed was very comfortable. The lift was brand new and lovely new carpet throughout the hotel. The hotels restaurants and green room bar serve food all day long and i have to commend the chef(s)from the full breakfast menu to dinner in the evenings just superb food and varity to choose from well done to all in the kitchen also the staff have to be commended also going out of their way to help get us seated together. Entertainment at night was complimentary to all guests and there was something for everyone. The leisure centre and pool also proved popular with our party. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Keep up the good work Gleneagles you all played a part in making our holiday an enjoyable one.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

very basic breakfast poor

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the GLeneagle Hotel our room was as it should be nice and comfortable bed room etc nice and clean, staff very friendly and helpfull we had a great 2 nights dancing , the food was good, we will be back there again soon. We have recomended it to our friends.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Th Gleneagle Hotel has always been one of Killarneys more famous hotels. Years ago, it was THE hotel to stay in on a visit to Killarney. From what i had heard recently, standards had slipped a bit and apparently, it had gotten a bit 'shabby' looking. I had never stayed at the hotel, but had been told that was still a very, very busy spot. I was honestly surprised that it was such good value to stay for two nights. But, in the back of my mind was the question: why was it such good value?? I shouldnt have bothered worrying though. The Gleneagle hotel is still a busy, bustling hotel. The entrance area and lobby are extremely well kept and very modern. The restuarant was spotless and we found that the restuarant staff were very efficient and very friendly! Prices in the restuarant were also very customer friendly, and whereas the food was not exactly Mitchelin starred, it was really nice! The INEC is part of the Gleneagle complex, theres always a music gig or an event of some sort on so there was always a buzz around the place and we found there was a good atmosphere around the place all weekend. And the Back Stage Bar was a lively spot for a few drinks and a steak dinner. There seemed to be always something happening, whether it was coach tours arriving/departing or people just strolling around relaxing and enjoying the spectacular views from the surrounding McGillycuddy Reeks mountain range! The Gleneagle has a busy leisure complex too with a big indoor pool, squash courts and fitness suite. Theres plenty to keep any kids occupied. Bad points: Not many really, granted the rooms are basic enough and the decor around the rooms area of the hotel is probably a bit dated compared to some of the more recent additions to Killarneys hotels portfolio (the Gleneagles sister hotel The Brehon is located right next door), but if its 4 and 5 star luxury that you're looking for, then dont stay here. But if its a hotel thats good value for money with extremely friendly staff and a nice atmosphere around the place that floats your boat, its certainly thumbs up here. Oh, and ask for a room with a view of the Reeks, even if the hotel was a galvanised tin-can shed, the view of the mountains is worth the money alone.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

I recently spent 2nights in the gleneagle a fri and saturday night on arrival the hotel looked beautiful reception halls all looked lovely. Check in was quick and easy. I was not impressed with my room it was old and very basic(no safe etc)the kettle was filthy so didnt make tea. There was also no air conditioning and the heating was on full blast during the night so had to sleep with the window open which resulted in me getting swollen glands. The brekfast was lovely and there was a good variety of choice unlike the bar menu which was very basic (burger and chips,vegetarian lasagne soup etc) I went to the swimming pool which looked beautiful from the outside but unfortunately the womens dressing rooms were filthy there was hair all over the floor and the floor was drowned (i know its a swimming pool but its was very slippy-dangerous) the toilet in the dressing room was disgraceful there was flies flying around the sanitary box. it states in the brouchure and online the pool is heated,it definately wasnt when i went. i was also very dissopinted with the steam room as it was tiny and u had to sit on plastic chairs this is not my idea of a luxury hotel. The entertainment was great ryan sheridan and the tenors and another act were playing so good variety of choice for evening entertainment. the location of the hotel is fantastic its a 5-10min drive to the town shopping,bars clubs etc.Also a centre to hire bikes and go cycling in the beautiful killarney national park with an ancient abbey and lake which was stunning. Overall i would not be recommending this hotel and was fairly disappointed with my stay.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

In its current condition we don't think we would ever stay there again. The hotel is badly in need of refurbishment. In terms of facilities the hotel has everything but it is run down. The showerhead in the room broke off, the door handles were also loose and on verge of falling off. the pool was dirty with grit or grout from the tiles coming away. Breakfast was also below average.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Had a great stay at this hotel, the staff were very helpful and the craic was excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Great hotel, friendly staff, amazing atmosphere and fantastic food. I will be most definetly be staying in tis hotel again. 110% 4 service, reception, dining, cleanliness....superb over night stay, next time will be a longer stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Great Hotel, fab rooms, ideal location close to all ameties..Will be returning soon.. Went to a show while there very Enjoyable. Enjoyed a lovely meal in the bar. Could not fault anything...Great staff....

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding on New Year's eve. There's no way the hotel should have 4 stars. It's very run down. The staff hovered over us during the meal and grabbed cutlery and plates from the table asap once we put them down. Very unprofessional. It looks like a place that was decent about 10 years ago but not a penny has been spent to maintain it ever since. Wouldn't recommend it at all.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

rooms could do with refurbishment as they are somewhat dated and shabby, however service and facilities in the hotel at large were very good

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

We had an amazing time in the Glen Eagle. Rooms were fab, great entertainment, food was lovely and the staff were great. Would def recommend a stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

We had a fantastic stay, even if it was only for one night!! We were there to see Billy Connolly in the INEC!!! We didn't even need to leave the hotel!! It had a great restaurant, great bars, great rooms and great room service! It comes very highly recommended from us! Well done!! Thank You!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We stayed at the Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney on Friday 28th March for our 28th Wedding Anniversary. The Room was clean and warm but the bathroom was another matter. The shower did not work and had a greem coating on the shower head. We had to make do with the bath which took an age to fill, but had plenty of hot water. The toilet was rocking and did not seem to be secure on the floor. We did not call Maintenance as we did not want the hassle. I would not hurry back there and I would recommend it to anyone. I will write to them in my own time. But they need to take the rooms in hand and do a revamp if they wish to keep the business.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

We had a really enjoyable stay. We were there for a social. The food was top class, the room was very clean & the balcony was lovely. We had a very nice breakfast the following morning. Overall we had a wonderfull stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at the Glen Eagle Hotel. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The food and entertainment were excellent. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was in walking distance to town. We would definitely come back again, and recommend it to our friends.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Simply FANTASTIC. The Hotel staff and facilities were all absolutely Superb, Would definatly go back

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

This Hotel is ok. It has become a little too impersonal for my liking. Would not be rushing back if i was heading to Killarney

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5