Grand Canal Hotel Dublin Grand Canal, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Dublin, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 119 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Grand Canal Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

Room very clean with everything you need. Staff friendly and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2016

Great location, comfortable rooms, Bar food was fab, ample parking (E10 per night).

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2015

Lovely, clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Very good location central enough for city, 3 arena and Aviva wouldn't hesitate to stay again. However don't agree with car park fee I feel we paid enough to cover that cost.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Hotel location excellent for a visit to Bordo Gail. Staff in hotel reception were efficient but not very friendly or welcoming. Had booked executive room and was very disappointed with it. While the room was clean, it was very small. The bedding was very tired and actually was torn in one place. A stain on comforter, yuck. Food and staff in bar were good.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

I have stayed here on Business a couple of times. Every experience has been very good. It is a very modern, clean, comfortable hotel in a great location. Very nice breakfast also. Staff very pleasant at all times. Great rate on Roomex also! I will be back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

Very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

Hotel very comfortable, very good location, friendly staff & a great breakfast. What more could you want? Plus a great price from Roomex !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

I stay in the Grand Canal Hotel when I am on business in Dublin and find it excellent. Very friendly and helpful reception and bar staff. My room is always spotlessly clean and warm and I have never been disturbed by noise from outside. Free WiFi and free car parking are added extras so I cannot ask for more.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

We stayed for one night just before Christmas. We arrived in the morning and parked in the hotel car park. Receptionist really nice and helpful. Gave us very clear instructions about how to get into Grafton Street. Room was lovely. Modern decor. Very spacious. Quiet and comfy. Bathrobes were a lovely touch. Staff and food in bar great. Really friendly waitress and food delicious. Breakfast super. Loved the pancake maker! So easy to get to hotel and really convenient to city centre. Will definitely stay here again because it is also a great value for money hotel. Thanks to everyone in the Grand Canal Hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

My wife was accompanying me for one night. I asked for a good room and in fairness to person on desk, she was very good, moving things slightly around to meet my request. My wife loved the room - especially the reclining chair and foot support - and the mints on the pillow. She was impressed and really enjoyed it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Got room on 4th floor which is always good. Nice leather chair with footstool to relax and the mints on the pillow! Good, clean room. Only problem was with internet - worked early in evening and then wouldn't later - but that could happen anywhere.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Everything you would expect from a 4 star Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, the four nights I spent there seemed very short. The hotel staff is super friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and very neat. The only thing that was missing in the room,I think was a bar fridge but otherwise everything was up to standard. If I will come back to Dublin again, Grand Canal Hotel will be my first choice. Keep up the good work guys!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

The hotel was very good. Super time!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Friendly staff and lovely hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

Room was good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

Good value for the location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

Location of the hotel is very suitable for me for work reasons. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice, airy and clean room. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Can't fault the hotel at all - nice room, friendly staff, free parking, good location for Aviva, Dart etc.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, food was excellent & the DJ was brilliant loved his playlist. Would highly recommend this hotel & I will be back for sure.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

We were very pleased with the room. The room issue was that it was very expensive for two people for the one night i.e. €159

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Nice hotel centrally located.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

I stayed here for one night. The hotel was an ideal location and I had a quiet room with no disturbance which I had requested. Staff was helpful but not intrusive.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Very pleasant staff. The hotel rooms were standard but clear. The breakfast was good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

The hotel is well located to where I was doing business. Staff were firendly at all times. Hotels was clean. Checkin was straight forwad with no delays. I drove so complemenary safe parking was important to me. Food was good again service good. Have stayed before and will return again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Staff very polite and professional. Room spotless but sink in bathroom blocked. TV system very sophisticated and expensive but did not work. RTE and other irish digital channels not viewable/available at all. Not good. Such (expensive)investments/systems need to be maintained. Other than that a fine hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Very pleasant experience indeed. Lot of people checking in at same time but staff dealt with this efficiently. I had not booked a walk-in shower but when I explained that I needed something like this because of a recent operation, this was also dealt with extremely well. Rooms are excellent and comfortable with good quality sheets, towels and robes. Situation could not be better for theatre etc. Only small, very small, negative would be monochrome/dull colour scheme in foyer. Will certainly stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

As per previous stays, comfy rooms, good nights sleep and friendly staff. Only downside was that shower didn't work, but was quickly attended to by reception.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on a couple of occasions and the rooms are very good. Catherine the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We decided to have dinner in the hotel 'the gasworks' again very friendly staff but the quality of the food was very poor and the restaurant was extremely noisy. I would stay at this hotel again but I would not dine there.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Great hotel, ideal location for Aviva, O2, Grand Canal Theater. Lovely carvery lunches and nice dinner menu which are both reasonably priced.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Bar and dining area very suitable for pre or post theatre drinking/dining

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Great location, facilities, staff; at a favourable price.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful with anything that i asked , the food was lovely reasonbly priced. i would reconmend this hotel to anyone.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

We stayed here because of the location to the O2. We were going to the Micheal Buble concert. Staff very friendly and plesant. Room was spotless. Bus was available to book to travel to and from the O2 at a very reasonable price. very good service.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

clean, good parking, friendly staff overall a great place to stay

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

One of our rooms was not ready when we arrived. We were told it would take 20 minutes and over an hour later we were still waiting for the key cards. We were only in Dublin for two days so by being delayed it meant we had to rush our first day and didn't really get to enjoy the city. Reception didn't answer their phone either. We overheard another customer say they had got their key card and gone to their room and it was not cleaned. Wouldn't stay here again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. the room was very comfortable and clean the food was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. we will return to this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Had very pleasant stay. Room Rate was great value. Bar food was expensive. Would certainly stay in Hotel in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

very comfortable rooms, breakfast was only ok

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Excellent location to both O2 and city center. All withing walking distance (not in heels :-) )

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

I enjoyed my stay at The Grand Canal Hotel in Dublin. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and warm and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The shuttle bus which the hotel provided for just 7 euros to take us to and from the wonderful concert which was held in the O2 Concert Hall was an added bonus.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

I was extremely happy with this hotel. The staff were very friendly, rooms were lovely and very modern and the breakfast was one of the best I have had in probably any hotel. It was a perfect location for the Aviva and I would most definately stay in the hotel again. Great value for money!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Clean, walking distance to aviva stadium, did the job for the night of concert. Short distance from train stations.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Lovely room - good size with king and single bed. Front of hotel but noisy with bar and street noise but double windows blocked it. Breakfast wasn't included in our price but v reasonable at 9.95 and delicious. Very handy to Aviva stadium. Highly reccommend

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

We stayted at the Grand Canal Hotel to attend a concert nearby. First impressions were that the bar and ground floor area needed serious upgrading and/or cleaning. The bedroom was fine. The menu offered in the restaurant for the early bird meal was awful and we left and had our meal from the bar menu instead. Staff were o.k. Breakfast was fair but no glasses available for juices or no plates for the hot food. Needed to ask for both. When the waitress brought my tea to the table she reached across me with the teapot and spilled the boiling tea over my arm. Ouch! A touch of Fawlty Towers I am afraid.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Fast friendly check in. No fuss.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

ENJOYED STAY - ALL AMENETIES AVAILABLE - PARKING INCLUDED A WELCOME BONUS.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Stayed one night in room 311. fine hotel, no complaints. Room smart and fresh, fixtures and fittings clean and not worn. Comfortable bed, no street noise and I was at the front of the hotel, flat screen tv, bathrobes, tea and coffee. Everything very clean. Bathroom had a good shower, no bath but this was not a issue. Had a burger in the restaurant which was nice. It is pub grub, not fine dining. Free underground parking. Would definitely stay again if the location suited.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Had a brilliant stay. Room was perfect, staff were friendly, location is excellent and the food at breakfast was delicious! Considering the hotel was packed with rugby fans the staff were attentive and friendly. Will be staying again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

We were celebrating a 60th birthday for my husband. On the first evening we had very good value with pre-theatre dinner in the hotel followed by a trip to the Grand Canal(Bord Gáis)Theatre. The surprise on day 2 was my son flying in from Australia for his Dad's birthday. The bar staff were in on the surprise and couldn't have been more helpful. We had two rooms booked and both were lovely. Breakfast was great and dinner was excellent with good quality food served in the bar by friendly, efficient staff. All in all they were a superb two days thanks to a most positive experience at the Grand Canal Hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

I was very impressed with the grand canal hotel. we stayed here for a match at the aviva and it was 5 minutes away...the atmosphere in the bar before and after the match was great, so its a really good place to stay if going to the aviva! the room was lovely, clean, well equipped with anything we would need (toiletries, iron, ironing board etc) and bigger than i expected! staff were also very accomodating. the only glitch in an otherwise perfect stay was the restaurant. there was very little choice on the menu and what was on it was more like a bar menu...if the hotel could improve this it would be 100%!! will definitley be staying here again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

I was very happy with the room and the restaurant and bar were very good and reasonably priced,i would definitly stay at the grand canal again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

No running water when we got up the next morning and nothing really said about it. Staff were really friendly thou.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here as we were in Dublin for the Dirty Dancing show in Grand Canal Theatre. Hotel was very nice and room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. All in all a lovely stay. Very simple request would be to have face-cloths available in the bathroom, but not a reason not to return.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Hotel was lovely, in a lovely area, near the theatre. The aviva etc. Staff were very helpful and nice. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Nice clean room, helpful and friendly staff, and a great location. Some noise from the bar until 1.30am, but that didn't bother us as we were on a night out anyway. But once the bar closed the room was very quiet. Lovely breakfast the next morning. And free overnight parking, so it's perfect for a one night getaway to the city.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Myself and my friend stayed here as we were attending the show Dirty Dancing at the Grand Canal Theatre. The hotel puts on a return shuttle for €4 per person. We ate in the bar "The Gasworks" and it was enjoyable. After the show we returned to "The Gasworks" bar which was very lively and enjoyable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

I was unhappy with the hotel for the following reason. I booked a single room, and I got a twin room, when I discovered this I rang reception to ask them to switch my room for a one with a double bed (I was staying for two nights and mentioned that I was in Dublin again for two nights the following week and was considering staying with them again) and they told me it was not possible to move me to a room with a double bed. I find this hard to believe. Also the shower was in the room was not working properly - when lifting the lever the change the water from bath to shower - the water remained "pumping" out of the bath tap as well, which compromised the power in the shower. The company I work for have a training centre very close to this hotel which is why we use it, I am returning to Dublin this week for the remainder of my course and will not be using this hotel. I will also not be recommending that any of my colleagues use this hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

The Grand Canal Hotel was beautiful, the room was very clean and comfortable, the only complaint I would have was that is was very hot and we could regulate the temperature in the room, However, the breakfast the following morning was gorgeous, we had plenty to choose from and the service was excellent. Will definately stay there again. It is ideally located if going to events in Grand Canal Theatre or the O2.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great location, very well recommended by Roomex staff. We got an excellent price through Roomex, check-in was seamless. Room was clean and well up to standard, will be staying here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Breakfast was sub standard. Hot breakfast should be hot and well cooked. Other elements were not great either. Reception staff very friendly. Bedroom very nice. This hotel needs to get both parts of the B & B right. In our opinion, they are only half way there.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

The hotel is ideally placed with nearby transport links to the city centre by bus or rail. Complimentary car parking is a bonus. Staff were cheerful and always very helpful. Rooms were clean, comfortable and adequately equipped. Maintenance as to a high standard. The breakfast I had was superb, with a wide range of food choices, continental or full irish (or both), and as much as I could eat. A great start to a busy day sightseeing. The Aviva Stadium and the Grand Canal Theatre are both within walking distance, though the hotel will, if desired, arrange transport between the hotel and theatre,and the Aviva Stadium is one stop on the Dart suburban rail network. I will certainly consider the Grand Canal Hotel for my next trip to Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

had to leave the hotel after midnight after our room had been given away and there was no parking for car . in fairness manager was brilliant in offering better room however when there was no parking and we had our xmas shopping in car we had to leave hotel

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Room was just perfect, slept soundly and had a lovely view of Aviva Stadium. However I would suggest that they invest in proper toasters as the three small domestic ones were very very slow resulting in a long queue at breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Hotel was very pleasant and centrally located for easy access to the city centre. the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

While the hotel room itself was clean, functional and what you would expect for the price the noise levels led this to be a terrible eperience. Our room was situated at the front of the hotel so we had the sounds from the nightclub wafting up. Added to this was various noisy guests on our floor and a random telephone call to the room at 3am meant little sleep was had. If you want to get a good nights sleep I do not recommend this hotel!

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

On check in at around 4:30pm on Saturday 29th October 2011 the receptionist was not at all pleasant to both ourselves and other guests and throughout our stay unlike other staff in particular our house maid who was extremely pleasant and helpful. There was also a problem with our booking and this particular receptionist just walked off without saying anything. Our checkin was then handled by the manager/supervisor on duty who gave us a twin room instead of a double, however this error was sorted out quickly. The location was good for town but the initial receptionist whom we met needs to realise that she is the first impression to customers at Grand Canal Hotel which I unfortunately would only recommend as a last resort for the cost.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Great hotel, rooms were spotless with plenty of room. Beds very comfortable. Great shuttle service available to the grand canal theatre to events. Breakfast had a great selection, was very hot and fresh. Will stay here again. Great value for money.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Great location, could walk into city centre. Lovely room, clean & comfortable. Friendly & welcoming staff. would recommend to a friend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Service and location was very good and centrally placed to restaurants and places of interest. Room service was expensive for tea and sandwiches but quality and service top class

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Hotel location was perfect. Just over the road from the train station and only 15 mins walk to Grafton Street. Very close to the Aviva Stadium as well. Rooms were a good size and beds very comfortable. The dressing robes were a nice touch too. Would definatley stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Nice hotel, great location esp when attending rugby matches. Rooms clean and staff friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Clean comfortable hotel. Friendly staff. Great value.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Grand Canal Hotel , it was so central and provided car parking ; rooms were comfortable and clean ans staff at reception were pleasant and effecient. We would return ,

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

I googled the address and one of the roads near the hotel was a no right turn so I ended up in rush hour driving for ages and got lost, in the end I phoned the hotel and the receptionist was very friendly and v helpful with the directions. On checking in with a different girl that took my call, we were greeted very well, and she also was v helpful when we asked her for transport info into the city, she was also v informative about the hotel mealtimes etc. The room was spotless. Our only BIG complaint would be that we were rudely awoken at before 7am with people on the corridor talking v loudly and BANGING their doors this continued right through to 11am, at around 9am a woman screamed out cursing at someone who had BANGED their door. For that reason alone, I would have say I would not stay there again in a hurry

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

we were very happy with our stay at the Grand Canal Hotel. Our room was just what we wanted, spacious, airy, bright and clean. It was a family room and we were not on top of each other. Breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly. It was just 10 mins walk from the RDS, which is why we were in dublin. The car park was free. We had an evening meal and the food was good. they had a special offer on for the dublin horse show. we would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Fantastic room, with extremley comfortable beds.Room & bathroom brilliantly clean...with bath robes!!!the bar do excellent specials, main course and galss of wine for approx €13. Great atmosphere in the gasworks bar. Would definitley recommend and stay again!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Very good service, very clean and tidy. Only draw back was with the breakfast, needs to be improved as the eggs where very dried up and the coffee tasted burnt. The toaster also took very long.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

The hotel was very central, very easy to find. Had dinner in the bar which was very busy, but the food and service was excellent. Coluldn't ask for any better. Room was clean, comfortable and warm. Will definitely be back. Wasn't very impressed with the waiter who greeted us when we arrived in the breakfast room. He looked like it was an effort to bring us to our table. I felt sorry for the mamager he had to clear tables as the waiter just moved dirty dishes around the table. Otherwise loved the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

The hotel was very close to the concert we were attending so the location was brilliant. The room was very clean and had everything we needed!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

WE WENT TO A CONCERT IN THE RDS SO THIS HOTEL WAS GREAT FOR THAT IT WAS CLEAN THE BREAKFAST WAS LOVELY OVERALL VERY GOOD

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

The Grand Canal Hotel is a favourite of ours. We find the staff so friendly & they are all Irish, which is great if your staying in Ireland

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

great hotel in a great location plus free onsite parking

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

This was a present for my parents, they were very happy with the hotel and remarked on cleanliness, food and friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

4th stay here in last two years and they have always been very accomodating. Gave me a room at 9am once due to early flight in. Staff polite and efficient. Rooms and more importantly corridors kept clean and free from room rubbish. Nice area and short walk from centre, stadium and theatre. An all round 8 out of 10.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

excellent value for money, very helpful staff. Food was lovely, would definately stay again if I was going to the Grand Canal theatre again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Enjoyed my stay. The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful! Would definitely recommend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

I used this hotel to stay in for going to the Europa League final in the Aviva stadium. It is conveniently located near the stadium and DART station. Upon check in I was given a disgusting smoking room - yes they still exist in this day in age! - however the staff were very helpful in moving me to a non-smoking room. The next door bar is a good place for a pint and some craic...food ok too. Overall very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

FRIENDLY STAFF AT RECEPTION. COMFORTABLE BEDROOMS. CLEAN. WOULD STAY AGAIN

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We arrived quite late approx. 11.30pm and found the receptionist very pleasant and helpfull. Our room was clean and spacious with all the usual mod. cons. We particularly liked the secure car parking. Next morning we had a lovely breakfast in the dining room which was served with a smile. The hotel's location is fabulous, so we would definately recommend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Very good, A bus was provided to bring us to the O2 and collect us after the event

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Staff were extemely helpful and courteous. A group of 10 of us stayed at the hotel and we could not find better value for money. Rooms were spotless, breakfast superb, location was excellent. We all found the staff very pleasant which really added to our stay. We would definitely stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Good location, limited parking spaces

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

hotel easy to find. rooms clean, staff friendly, great easy parking. very near city centre and very very near stadium. staff very helpful with directions and help. had room service and food was very good. will return and have no problem reccommending it to friends. did not have time in the morning for breakfast as we were leaving real early.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

Very nice hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed there for a musicial in the theatre which was only a 5 minute walk away. Wasn't too impressed by the pre-show food in the restuarant it was cheap but very poor. The breakfast was very good and we liked that the lift wouldn't work unless you had a room key

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

I stayed at the Grand Canal Hotel this last weekend with my wife for two nights and found it to be a great hotel. The bedroom was a comfortable sized room. The bar was lively with sports available on several plasma tvs. The food in the bar was excellent. A good barometer of a hotel bar and its food is whether locals use it and there was a steady flow of locals over the weekend using the bar and eating from the bar food menu. Breakfast was also very good in a lovely clean and modern restaurant. Finally, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a hassle-free stay at a lovely hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Highly recommend!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was nice but I had a few pints in the bar the night before and didn't really want too much to eat. I returned to the bar for the carvery at lunchtime and this was very good. The free underground car park was very convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

really enjoyed my stay

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

A nice hotel, the room was clean and tidy, well appointed bathroom. The hotel has free parking for residents and breakfast the next morning had a good selection of food. Ideal hotel for a Dublin overnight.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

The hotel was easy to find and the car parking arrangements are both secure and convenient. The reception staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient. The room was of a good size, was well equiped and clean - the beds were very comfortable. We visited the bar, which was good and, being a Friday night, had live music - albeit they were too loud for comfort. We only used the dining room for breakfast but it was clean, comfortable and the buffet breakfast was excellent. This is a well equipped hotel with friendly staff and service throughout. It served the purpose of our short visit very well indeed.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

rooms were basic but comfortable, staff were polite and helpful. would stay again if in the area

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

I stay at the Grand Canal several times a year, always on business. I find the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are very good for a three star hotel. The breakfast is varied and enjoyable. The car park and central location (close to the DART)are an added bonus. I will continue to us this hotel for my trips to Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

We had a fantastic 3 day break in the Grand Canal Hotel.We had a front room view as requested,which was immaculate, peaceful with all facilities properly in place. The staff were very effecient and friendly. The food both in dining room and bar food was excelent and good variety.It was a relaxing and enjoyable break and i always look forward in staying in the Grand Canal Hotel. Hotel effeciently run,everything spotless and a good atmosphere, some hotels should take a leaf out of their book.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

We stayed four nights at the Grand Canal Hotel in Dublin from 15 June 2008. Our first impression of our queen room was good, until we realised how loud the traffic noise was, even with the window closed. We asked if we could be moved to a quieter room and the reception staff obliged and offered another room at the rear of the hotel. We only spent a couple of minutes in this room, as the vent in the bathroom was emitting a very loud noise. We were a little apprehensive about requesting another room, but decided it was in our best interest to do so. The reception staff did offer another room, reminding us that this was the last one they had to offer us. Thank goodness, third time lucky, we found a quiet queen room at the rear of the hotel. Overall, the hotel was a good 3 star hotel. The staff did not appear to be able to cope with the amount of guests at breakfast time. We would recommend going elsewhere for breakfast, as the food was not satisfactory.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We arrived to be informed that we were getting a free upgrade on the room. I was on a business trip nearby and this hotel was ideally located. Got my morning call and enjoyed a lovely breakfast. I would recommend booking this hotel with ROOMEX for excellent value. In fact I have already recommended the site to 4 of my colleagues. I will be back!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Stayed at the Grand Canal for two nights -as a family we had three rooms. Welcoming staff, helpful and professional. Rooms were clean and good standard. The adjacent Gasworks was excellent, great food and hospitality.Beds were comfortable. Slightly out from the town centre but walkable and accessible. Breakfast was excellent, staff were attentive and helpful, the breakfast buffet was always topped up. Reception was very good, ordered taxis for us and catered for our requests. Overall we had a very good stay - we have recommended it to friends on our return and would use the hotel again on our next visit to Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Overall satisfactory. Good points are convenience, car parking, helpful staff, overall pricing. Needing attention are the quality of the food in the restaurant and the room decor.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Very nice stay. Excellent food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

I was id Dublin on business and found the hotel to be centrally located and easily accessed. The free parking was a bonus. The food in the bar was efficiently served and was good. The room was pleasent and clean. All in all it was a good place to stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

The room was clean and well equipped. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Good central location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

I live in West Cork , I travel to Dublin an average of twice a month due to my business . This is my eleventh year staying in the Rathmines / Grand Canal area , as our offiecs are in Kimmage . Only recently i found out about The Grand Canal Hotel and I have stayed there since . Favourite room 433 . J . D .

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

dining room closed ie for a private party poor selection of food on bar menu

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We spent a night in hotel recently found the staff to be friendly and the hotel room clean. However a few touches like the ceiling in the bathroom needed to be painted and there is no hair conditioner and when requested there was none provided by the hotel. It was late when we got there and we did not have time to go out and buy some. We had an enjoyable stay and the breakfast was lovely. Really liked the yogurt and fruit but if you wanted to order breakfast in your room you could not get a full irish which was a bit disapointing.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The Grand Hotel was absolutely georgous. We were all so pleased with it. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very central. The rooms were spotless, and very spacious. It had everything that you could possibly need, hair dryer, plenty towels, shampoo, conditioner, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits, and an iron and ironing board. I have stayed in a few five star hotels that would not match up to the standards of this hotel. The adjoining restaurant was excellent as well. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends going to Dublin and would certainly not hesitate in staying there myself again. Thanks. Regards, T Hayes

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

LOVELY PLACE TO STAY & WOULD GO BACK AGAIN.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We recommend this hotel it had a very good comfortable bed,very quite,wonderful helpful staff at all times, good facilities and the breakfast was good as well.Had a nice bar where you could get light meals.Was also easy to get to the airport from their. It was walking distance to the city, but you could catch the hop on hop off bus near by. No complaints at all we will definitely stay there again. Top Staff. Regards Mrs E. Rouse N.Z.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I've stayed on business twice. It's a good, handy, clean hotel. Breakfast good. For dinner, I always have to eat elsewhere though, as the bar area is freezing, dark, unwelcoming and plays music loudly. This is a bit of a nuisance as I'm a lone female & have to go round the corner to the Schoolhouse Hotel to get heat plus 'peace& quiet' for meals.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We recently stayed in the Grand Canel Hotel while going to a concert in the RDS. The hotel was within walking distance and the reception staff were very helpful in showing us the most direct route to the concert. Before heading to the RDS we have a gorgeous meal in the bar and again the staff were very efficient at a time that the bar was full. The hotel was clean, fresh and airy. There is also underground parking at the hotel which is an added bonus in a Dublin hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5