Grand Hotel Dublin Coast Road, Malahide, Co. Dublin., Dublin, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 18 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Grand Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in August 2015

I stayed in the Grand Hotel Malahide on Sunday, 2nd August (I don't know why the template for this review states '15th. August). I usually stay up the road in the Portmarnock Golf Links Hotel, but they had no appropriate rooms available when I tried to book. As far as the Grand is concerned, I was quite glad to test it out. I'd popped in for coffee and sandwiches in the past, but never stayed there. On the whole, the experience was a good one. I only have a couple issues to report, but they are responsible for downgrading my overall experience rating. First, the bathroom: around the bath taps, some sealant must have been applied in the past, and it looked very grey and dirty. It probably wasn't ACTUALLY dirty, but the look was enough to disappoint me hugely. I don't think it's too much to expect bathrooms to look gleaming in this day and age. The toilet flush seemed a bit dodgy too. After it had been flushed, water kept on flowing to the extent that I thought there could have been a flood if it had gone on long enough. It eventually stopped (probably about half an hour after each flush). If I'd been staying longer, I would have reported it. Second, my room was almost just above the main entrance and it got pretty noisy what with people congregating there in the evening/ late in the night for chats and cigarette breaks. Again, one night was bearable but any more than that would be difficult to put up with. One final thing does the hotel management know that some people do actually sleep in camper vans in the hotel car park? There were two parked up early on the Monday morning, and I saw the curtains being pulled as the occupants work up to begin their day!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

We found the hotel both staff and facilities first class. We will definitely be revisiting in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

The bad: the rooms are dated and furnished with an old TV. The receptionists are unwelcoming and lack a smile or friendly demeanor. The night staff are the exception. The bar menu lacks real healthy options. The good: Leisure suite and staff; the breakfast (although some of the staff are only interested in your room number, and not a greeting).

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

We had a great time at this hotel the staff very friendly food fantastic and the use off the leisure centure we will make a return trip to this hotel in the future

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

Lovely hotel and got this at a great price for Paddy's night through Roomex - much cheaper than the hotel's own website - just happened to check them out by chance as have used Roomex before but not for local hotel bookings... Saved about €50 on the stay for one night with B&B using Roomex.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Friendly helpful staff at front desk, lovely food in the 'Coast' restaurant, nice decor. Would definitely go back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

We arrived late at night and our room was a smoking room but luckily there was one non smoking one left which the man on reception was happy to give us. The fan in the bathroom stayed on for over 5 mins at a time which was annoying. Our neighbour who we could hear clearly got up at 5am and showered and made a fair bit of noise . Breakfast was very good in the lovely bright dining room overlooking the estuary.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Room was very basic. We had a window... pity our view was of a brick wall, VERY disappointed with that. The only good thing is I didnt book directly from their own website and booked through roomex!!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Booked hotel through roomex ,much cheaper than going directly through the hotel themselves. Thanks had a lovely time

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

The shower was over the bath and as my room mate was semi disabled I requested a change to disabled facilities. I was given another room with the shower still over the bath. The only change was 2 handrails on the wall. It certainly was not disabled friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Beautiful hotel in lovely location. Really enjoyed the stay and was sorry it was only 1 night!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

had a lovely time in the Grand in Malahide. The girl at reception was so nice and gave us a lovely room with a lovely view of the beach. She was also very helpfull beforehand in emails. Would recommend

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We were in Malahide on business and stayed for one night in the Grand. A good comfortable hotel with helpful, pleasant staff. We would certainly stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We were booked into the old part of the hotel, I asked to have a room in the new part of the hotel and the recptionist moved us to the new part without any problem. Breakfast was very good also. Overall very enjoyable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

a really great hotel, we were staying over for a wedding and could not fault the hotel in any way. the meal we had was top class and even offered seconds!the staff were very friendly and efficent all had a smile.the room was spacious and very comfortable. we have stayed in dozens of hotels but how we missed this gem is beyond us,100% sure that we will be back.ten out of ten across the board. well done.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel Malahide on several occasions and I can honestly say that the room we were allocated this time has been the best so far. It was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the view excellent. Staff as always were polite and helpful, the hotel was very clean and tidy and the food and service first rate. Well done Roomex excellent value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Hotel dated,rooms small and pokey almost claustophobic !

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We were told we had a lovely room (which was not ready till after 3.30 pm). The room did have a nice view of the sea/beach but the room was smaller than expected, basic double bed. Not what I would expect from Grade A hotel. Also the white duvet cover had a dried in blood stain underneath. I was going to go downstairs to complain but we were in a hurry to meet friends in Malahide and I did not have the time to start moving rooms, as it was only for one night. I would have made a complaint had we been staying for 2 nights, but we basically just used the room to sleep. Bathroom was clean, and the rest of the room was ok. Breakfast was also very good. Also only a 3 mnute walk into Malahide village.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5