Metropole Hotel Cork Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland

Also known as: Gresham Metropole
8/10.0 Based on 35 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Metropole Hotel Cork

Our Customer stayed here in February 2018

Lovely, clean spacious room. Had a fabulous meal in the bar. Centrally situated. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

We really had a lovely break in the Metropole Hotel, Cork recently. The location is ideal and the leisure centre is lovely also. I would recommend this hotel for location, friendly staff and comfort.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2016

A classy hotel with real character. This hotel is a landmark within Cork City. Fantastic location, delicious food, beautiful dining experience and the staff are second to none. Will most definitely be back. Well done and keep up the good work all at the Metropole.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Clean hotel. I should have booked a twin room I will know the next time.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Very good hotel, room was lovely, clean and very spacious. Breakfast next morning was gorgeous.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Had a great stay here, room was very clean and comfortable. TV in room was old fashioned and needs upgraded to flat-screen as there was a buzzing sound on all channels bar two but it did not deter from my enjoyment too much, great breakfast, nice choices available and the location was key, within walking distance to the places I wanted to see so saved on taxi-fares!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

I booked two rooms with Roomex in the Metropole for 16 June . Rooms very extremely small ,poorly ventilated

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Exceptionally good value , had the grandeur of an old hotel , good location , food was nice, room was a bit on the small side

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

The room was clean, and ok size. It is basic but the price is low so can't expect more than that. Hot water, warm room and the staff were helpful. The only downside was the very off putting smell in the room. I've no idea what it was of...more than likely only that room, or only at the time I visited though. It wasn't anywhere else in the hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Unfortunately I was gieven a room that was well below standard. There was nowhere to put my clothes so they remained in the suitcase on the floor. The bathroom door would not open without extreme force. The bathroom had no heat at all despite an outside temperature close to zero. The cheap towel rail was broken. The bedspread was stained. I complained after the first night but I was not given proper accommodation until the third (final) night. The cleaning lady attempted to gain access to my room early (8.30) in the morning. I was not given a refund for the two nights spent in substandard accommodation. I was attending an intensive course at the hotel and I had hoped to be enjoying my few hours of free time relaxing in the hotel and enjoying pleasant facilities. Unfortunately my difficulties with accommodation etc made things more, not less, stressful.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Enjoyable stay. Room quite big and very clean. Lighting in bathroom for shaving etc poor. Water for bath tepid.Staff very friendly. We would recommend the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

The room I was allocated was very small. There were pipes outside the window which I guess carried the heating system throughout the hotel and these were making a lot of noise which kept me awake all night. There was a lot of noise also from people going back to their rooms. This was not a weekend, this was on a weekday when I had to get up for 5am the next morning. I did not get any sleep that night I stayed in the Gresham. Also was quite pricy for the standard of room I got with no breakfast !!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

This hotel is very central. Staff are very accommodating. I enjoyed my stay and would return again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

car parking facilites for customers needs more attention, people confused about it

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

We arrived early (1:30) and our room want ready. That's fair enough. I had to go to reception at 3:15 to see if it was ready. And sure enough it was. Glad I asked. friends who arrived after us were given their room an hour earlier. We had to sit in reception after a 5 hour car journey with a coughing 4 month old. No offer of even a cup of tea during the wait. And when room was ready, we were then given registration form. Could this not be done during the 1:45 minute stay? Did the not have our details from our online booking? Reception took our bags but never took them to out room. My husband had to go back down with a ticket to get them. We were already weighed down with the baby, pram, changing bag etc Then we were hit up for parking. I'd really like to know about these add ons at time of booking. the staff were nice just no thinking ahead or attention to detail. Breakfast was great. And the place was really clean. And comfortable.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Really enjoyed stay, convenient to city centre

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Reception Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were allowed book in early to our room and the car park is very close and convenient, pedestrian exit from carpark is only a few steps from Main Hotel Entrance. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. An ice bucket and champagne glasses were delivered to one of our rooms (we supplied the champagne) as a surprise for our Friend who was celebrating a significent birthday!!!! Breakfast was really good with a great variety of foods available. Dining staff were also gave a very good service despite being busy. A great time was had by all in the group and we will return again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay. Thought it was excellent that breakfast was served until 12pm. Both the staff and the hotel were great.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in July 2012. Location is great -approx 10mins walk to train station & approx 15mins walk to Cork shopping areas. Room was nice with shower/bath and tv stations were tuned in. I only saw one lift which was small esp for people with luggage. Breakfast was the only meal I had in the hotel. Here I thought the set up and the staff were disorganised. First morning I went to a table & sat down as there seem to be no one directing guests or taking room nos. No one questioned me at all. As a result I had to find someone in order to get tea/coffee & toast.This seem to be the case for some of the guests who entered the room. Also juice and cereal are on a table outside the dining room which added to the confusion. There is a bar with an all day menu and a dining room for evening meals. Currently there is a timetable of excerise classes on their website for their leisure centre. I went to a pilates classe which was €2 for hotel guests/€5 for walk-ins. I really enjoyed that. There is a gym & pool.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Gresham Metropole in Cork was spotless and well maintained. The Staff were courteous and well trained. This hotel gave value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

fanastic hotel, massive rooms, lovely pool, friendly staff, great food. would definately stay here again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Good hotel. Friendly staff and central location. Absolutely value for money and will stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Everything was as expected. The room was clean and quiet. The staff were professional. The room was small and was fine for just one person but would be a squeese for two. Pool is lovely and quiet also. Great location for shopping or theatre weekend.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

stayed here several times, staff very helpful when i asked for an early breakfast, rooms clean, overall very good, will be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Stayed in a single room for one night, got a rash above the hairline the next day!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

This was my third stay in the Metropol and the last time I promised myself I will never do it again but the rate through Roomex was so good I said I will give it a chance. I got a single occupancy room, which was bit better than the last room I got which was very grotty. It was clean and that's about it. The TV had no aerial cable (I asked for it 4 times and gave up eventually after being told by a really nice I must say man that he had no chance to get away from the desk to go looking for one). The view out of the room was awful onto galvanised metal roof, it was very loud and the room stank of cigarettes even though it was non smoking room. The second night an alarm went off near by and was going off all night, I got no sleep at all. The staff were nice but not extremely helpful. Had a drink with a friend in the bar and we could not hear our own conversation as the other side of the bar was so loud so we went somewhere else after that. I did not use the leisure centre which is nice I heard but I will not be giving the Metropol another chance I'm afraid. Just as well I got good rate through Roomex , there was few people staying that paid huge money for staying there and were not happy.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

The Metropole was a very enjoyable stay with it's efficency and cleanliness second to none. An early morning swim in the pool was followed by a sumptous breakfast. The staff were courteous and always had a smile on their faces. I'd definitely stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Stayed with 2 friends for a night out in Cork, great location, hotel staff friendly. Room clean and big. Only fault was the shower, was lukewarm and had no power. Other than that was a great stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Booked two rooms for my boyfriend and I and my brother and his girlfriend for a family gathering. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who got us settled very quickly and easily. We were given two lovely Lee view rooms on the top floor. The rooms are standard hotel rooms, quite small but with everything you need. The parking is 7.50 for 24hours which is not excessive and the car park is right beside the hotel. We arrived back from our celebration and had a couple of drinks in the residents bar which got was lively once the nightclubs finished up in town. Our breakfast next morning was fine, not top class, but the surroundings are nice in the sunshine overlooking the river. Overall, the Metropole is a grand dame of Cork, a bit shabby around the edges, but the charm of the staff win you over.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Metropole. The staff were exceptionally nice and very helpful. The hotel is in a great location, so central. I would really recommend the hotel for a city break in Cork.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Central location. Spotlessly clean rooms. Staff extremely helpful. Would recommend Isaacs restaurant and Boqueria Tapas bar next to the hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

A nice hotel excellently situated in the heart of Cork City...in the midst of a wide range of bars and restaurants. The staff were friendly and efficiant and the breakfast was really good too. Excellent value - wouldn't hesitate to recommend it !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the staff were very friendly..very impressed with the room, double aspect over the city. Will definitely return again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions - the main enticing reasons being the free covered car parking (with security) and also the prime location in Cork city. A 2minute stroll brings you onto Patrick Street and into the heart of the city, a perfect base for your shopping and pub needs! The hotel is bright and reception spacious. I have always been met with courteous and friendly staff at check-in, even when they have been under pressure. The main bar can be narrow in parts, but again has a light and spacious feel to it - service is friendly and efficient, and most obliging after hours with the residents bar while being respectful of sleeping guests. The rooms, while impeccably clean, do vary considerably in size. I have stayed in excellent large rooms on the 4th floor with views of the River Lee and into the city, but on my most recent visits have had an extremely small double room, window facing a wall. I requested a larger room during my visit in Decmber 07 and was appointed a medium sized double. Again, perfectly funtional, clean and comfortable but not as desireable as rooms facing the river on the higher floors. The breakfast is excellent at hotel. The room is very light, with glass views enabling you to take in the hustle and bustle of the city. Its is self service (bar the tea / coffee and toast that are bought to your table). Fresh fruits, juices and cereals and a full hot buffet to choose from (and visit as you please!) I will be staying at this hotel again in the future and would recommend it to visitors to Cork. It provides a great base from which to explore the vibrancy and variations of Cork city and the Gresham Metropole offers a warm welcome.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

For a three star rating this hotel has most of the advantages of a four. The hotel was very clean and well appointed with a courteous staff. It is located within easy walking distance of train and bus stations as well as Cork downtown.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5