Harbour Hotel Galway Galway City New Dock Road, Galway City, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 58 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Harbour Hotel Galway Galway City

Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Beautiful stay, helpful staff, love the room. Only problem: need more direction to hotel car park.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

Lovely hotel and excellent value. Staff really welcoming especially Alan at reception.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

Lovely hotel, great staff, easy walk into town - taxi if high heels. Breakfast good, would definitely return.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Lovely lobby area. Trendy bar with some different beers. Very friendly and helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. However, room was too hot with no air conditioning or fan. Thick winter duvet on bed in mid summer. I couldn't wait to get out of the room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

I can't fault the Harbour hotel in any way. I've stayed many times and everything is always 100%. Patricia, on reception, checked me in and out. She asked if I got parking alright as there was an auction going on in the hotel. Everything was A1!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Staff very good nice hotel only problem noise from apartments behind hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

The initial contact at check-in put us off a bit. One woman was behind the reception desk, on the phone, with her head down. She didn't look up and acknowledge us for 10 minutes. It was very odd -- a nod or a "1-minute" gesture would have satisfied. However, then another employee showed up and took care of our check-in very efficiently. We thought our room was very nice and comfortable. It had the amenities one would expect from a good hotel. The bed was very comfortable, too. We very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast both days. The same fellow at reception was quite helpful in telling us how to do the shuttle to the Aran Islands ferry, too. It seems he works all the time! We would definitely stay here again. Good proximity to restaurants and shopping, too!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

This was my sister and I's sixth visit to the hotel and as always we found the room clean and the staff helpful. We had breakfast included and it has improved on every visit. It is buffet style, but if you prefer a poached egg and not the buffet scrambled eggs, the kitchen are happy to cater for your needs. The hotel is well located just a five minutes walk from the Eyre Square centre. Parking is great in a secure parking lot attached to the hotel and this was complimentary. Although room keys should be the only way to enter the bedroom area of the hotel, security did seem a little bit lax, we brought the matter up with the reception staff and they said they would look into it. Whether a couple, business or group party staying at the hotel, we would and have recommended it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in harbour hotel. Excellent location, we parked the car up for the whole time we were there. Short walk to the buzz of eyre square, and 10mins walk to salthill. Hotel is very nice, rooms clean, practical and beds very comfortable. There was a halloween disco on in hotel while we were there but didnt affect us in any way ie noise/disturbance. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice. We didnt eat in the hotel at night but it looked lovely. Overall a great hotel. Only downfall is we had to pay €5 per night parking which i thought was a bit steep as many hotels offer free parking x

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

I found my over-all experience of the stay at the Harbour View Hotel to be satisfactory. Positives: The staff were welcoming and courteous, the service was very good. I found the food to be very nice, and any requests were dealt with a standard above expectation. The room itself, was very comfortable and warm. However i did find the room too warm, and there was no adjustment of the temperature. The windows were did not provide must ventillation, with the room so warm, the windows needed to be left open. As i was facing the road, the niose from the bar downstairs could be heard,so i had to resprt to closing window and i was really warm then as a result. I also found the shower hard to follow, there was instructions, but i ttook me 15 minutes to work this out.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The hotel was in an excellent location near to eyre square. The staff were most helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Overall a great hotel and the friendly staff make it all the better .

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Good hotel, with friendly and efficient check in staff. Mainly self-service breakfast apart from tea & coffee but service here a little slow. Room quality clean and good temperature (unusually with windows that open!) although some of the bed linen looking a little worn. Overall a perfectly good experience and would recommend this as a basic level hotel, very convenient to city centre at 5 minutes walking distance.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Did the job for brief stopover. Some fittings showing a little wear and tear, but otherwise good with great service from friendly staff.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Hotel was very clean, room was very comfortable, and enjoyed breakfast. A very relaxing atmosphere and conveniently located. Staff very attentive

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Great location, great staff, great food. All in all, the best place to stay in Galway!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Excellent hotel, great location fab staff

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Harbour hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The room was really comfortable and the food was great.I would recomend this hotel and stay there again when i return to Galway.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Clean, tidy friendly and great breakfast

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Standard city-size room, but bed was short! Hotel facilities were good generally and we were impressed by breakfast the following morning.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Lovely room, great location, fantastic breakfast!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Had a great stay for 1 night only. Lovely room, easy access to the city. Cannot fault the food in any way.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Hotel and staff are fab. No complaints

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Our 3-night stay in the comfortable, convenient and convivial Harbour Hotel was made perfect by the friendly, helpful staff, the warm, quiet and inviting atmosphere and the perfectly cooked eggs every morning! As soon as we checked in we remembered why we keep coming back to the same place, and we were so pleasantly surprised to find that our repeat custom was rewarded with a beautiful complementary fruit basket and cookies! We will continue to come back, as we can't think of a better place to stay in Galway. We love that the Harbour Hotel is within walking distance of the shops, restaurants and pubs in town and yet just a couple of minutes drive to the cinema, larger shopping centres and the main routes out of Galway, with convenient and wallet-friendly parking! We love the breakfast and the newly renovated bar is stylish and comfortable. Thanks for making our stay everything we hoped it would be!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Room was nice.Breakfast tables left quite awhile before being cleared. Staff friendly. Very convenient to be able to leave car in carpark for couple hours while we shopped.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Nice stay in the Harbour Hotel lovely meal and breakfast, a little wait for getting seated for breakfast due to crowd. Staff very friendly and room clean.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Nice hotel in a great location. Breakfast was lovely but the cooked food wasn't very hot. Car park is very tight plus you have to pay for parking but that seems to be the norm with most city centre hotels in Galway. Have stayed there twice before and would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Very friendly staff and a lovely breakfast to salsa music on a Sunday morning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Me and 5 of my girlfriends stayed here for a weekend! We couldn't believe how nice the staff were! Quite possibly the most efficient and friendly people we have ever encountered on a stay in a hotel in Ireland (and between us all we've stayed in a lot of hotels!!!) Location is great (if you're in Galway for the pubs, grub and a bit of fresh air in Salthill - it's only 5-10 mins away in the car!) Food was lovely and beds extremely comfortable. The only downfall was having to pay for parking and the showers seriously lack power. On the whole though a very enjoyable stay and the staff are EXCELLENT!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Room was lovely and very clean. Straff very friendly. Great location just a short walk to Galway center.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

I was overall very satisfied staying for 2 nights in the harbour hotel. very warm and welcoming check in. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only bad thing I can say about the hotel is there's no air condition system, not that I know of anyways. The room would get very stuffy at night. The hotel should provide a simple plug in AC unit.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

The room was clean but at 7.30 in Morning an alarm went off & continued intermitenly until we left the room at 12. No apology provided & we were not even asked if we had a good stay or if there were any issues at check out.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

We stayed for 1 night for a break away. The hotel was very clean, breakfast was lovely and plenty of variety. Very close to bars, restaurants, shops etc. Reception staff very friendly. Only pity is that you have to pay for car parking but it is a reduced rate of €5 and you can leave the car there the following day if you want to go shopping.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

The hotel was fine - if you are looking for a place to lay your head for the night that is clean and basic then this is your hotel. Its in a great location close to town and had everything we were looking for. However we did find the rooms quite cold (as the heating is on a timer which shuts off from 10pm to 7am) but were swiftly given a portable heater when requested. Also you should be aware that the parking is an extra cost at €8 per night. The hotel car park is always very full so you are better off just parking in the next door carpark which is not operated by the hotel but charges the same rate.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Nice hotel in a central location in Galway city.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

My Husband and I stayed in the Harbour Hotel Galway on the 18th December as we were going out in Galway for my Sisters Birthday. Everything went lovely the Hotel was fab, the Breakfast was delicious and the staff were kind and helpful. The Hotel was so convenient from town and will definitely be staying there again and will be recommending it to family and friends. Thank you.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Once again an excellent experience. Hotel is very central with good parking facilities. The staff were courteous and friendly and the food was very good. I would strongly recommend this hotel as probably the best place to stay in Galway.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Staff very friendly and accomodating. Room clean and comfortable. I would definitely use this hotel again. Thank you Roomex.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

This hotel is very central so no need for taxis to get around the city. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a very enjoyable stay. The only minor complaint was that we had to wait several minutes for the breakfast buffet trays to be replenished. Overall a very good experience and very good value for money. We will return there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

smooth check in and check out,a good spacious room,complimentary newspapers. breakfast was the only let down.food was cold,table settings incomplete,i had my food almost eaten by the time i got my coffee,i requested a refill which never arrived. i would blame it on a shortage of staff rather than the poor girls that were trying to cope with most of the guests arriving for breakfast at the same time. i would recommend the hotel,on a room only basis,have yor breakfast in one of the many restaraunts/cafes around the town.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Lovely hotel, very friendly & helpful staff. Great location for Galway city centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Friendly staff help recommend and book local restuarant, Carpark full I had to pay for multistorey rates outside. Room Basic enough and pleasant. Breakfast was a nightmare, First morning I attend breakfast half of the food was already gone by 8.45, my wife got cold breakfast when she and her friends came down. Second morning i got the cold breakfast and left it while my wife queued outside and eventually got breakfast but got tea poured into her coffee when asking for a top up. The bar is a nice relaxing spot but not with a stag and golf group pushing in on you or feeling your wifes hair as she sits having a drink. Awoken from sleep by screaming adults running up and down corridor at about 3 or 4 am. As iwas working that weekend and staying in your hotel I did not appriaciate that, also very funny for wife to be woken by staff to attend room only to find the cards had been changed and turned on handles of doors. I am sorry for complaining but this was a weekend away for 2 couples for a badly needed rest and relax while I had the opportunity to work in your local area, it cost alot of money and to be in galway and your hotel and felt we could have got the standard we experienced in your hotel alot cheaper in a hotel were you would expect it.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Good location - close to everything, but far enough away from the noise, Breakfast was good too.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

It was our first time to galway city and staying at the harbour hotel was the icing on the cake. I and my wife will be back. thank you all at the habour.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Hotel was great, clean rooms, helpful staff, great value rates for a hotel during the arts festival. Parking dicount great bonus and lovely breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

left a jacket in the wardrobe on phoning the day after departure it could not be located .

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

The hotel is far more than a 3 minute walk to the city centre. The cushions in the room I was in Room 121 stink. The room is just very basic & the shower overflowed all over the bathroom floor. I was not impressed at all with my stay in this hotel. It was very disappointing, not to mention an extra charge on top of what the room already cost to use the car park, very strange for any hotel to have extra charges for a car park when you are a resident in the hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Myself and my husband spent five great days in June in this lovely modern hotel in Galway. The hotel is situated in the dock area about 3 minutes from Eyre Square. This hotel is a real treasure - spotlessy clean, great food and friendly staff. Would definetly stay here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

nice clean hotel,pleasant staff, good location

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room, although a little on the small side and with a view of the Car park only, was very nice and clean. The late bar had some good value drinks promotions and was pleasant for a quiet night cap. There was plenty to choose for breakfast and all was very tasty. The one downside is the lack of a swimming pool but all in all this is a great place to stay and I will definitely be returning assuming I can get another good deal from Roomex.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

very happy with my stay at the harbour hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. Will return.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Really enjoyed our stay, brilliant location. staff very friendly and helpful. had our dinner at the resturant very nice and reasonable. would highly recommend the harbour hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Great location and price very reasonable however, the hotel was extremely noisy until 5.30am

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Excellent value for money, nice clean hotel and good location. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in any hotel even at much higher prices.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Harbour Hotel is a great Hotel, we have stayed there on numerious occasions. It is in a great location in Galway City, near shops, pubs and restaurants. Food, ambiance, staff were all second to none. The gym is small but adequate with a spacious steam room and jacuzi. We had a pleasant short (too short)stay at this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. it is idealy situated in galway city, just a short walk to ere square. the hotel itself is very cosy. the staff were very helpfull and friendly. i will definitly return to this hotel, and would recommend it to anyone who is going to stay in galway

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

I am such a fan of this hotel - a gang of my college friends and I go to Galway for a weekend every year and we have always stayed in the Harbour. This was our 4th time staying there.. Upon arrival the check in is swift and problem free. Since our previous stay the rooms have been redecorated and are nicer than ever. Our bedroom this time even had a 2 seater couch for us to enjoy (even more reason to get breakfast delivered to the room!!) The bar food is served till 10pm and I can highly reccomend their sausages and mash and carmelised onion gravy.. Delicious and very reasonable for €11 (I think!)... With it being a weekend the hotel was quite busy with hens and stags so the hotel bar was busy enough, good for the creation of a bit of atmosphere... Location is excellent... Walking distance from town... We stayed 2 nights and I have to admit that I am already thinking about when our next trip to Galway will be... The only negative that I can come up with about this hotel was that the cooked breakfast could have been a little warmer (but the roomservice breakfast was perfect.. moral of the story... get them to deliver breakfast the next time and it'll be warmer!! ) and that we had to pay for the carpark this time... The cost of €8 per night is steep enough seeing as you have already spent the whole weekend in their hotel... surely it should be at least half price or even better free for their guests!! Overall though I just really like this hotel, the staff are very friendly and they cater for your every need... I'll definitely stay there again...

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

We traveled to Galway for a family occasion with our two week old baby. the hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. the hotel itself is lovely with a beautiful lobby with open fireplaces - perfect when you have young children and want to relax yourself. My brother and his wife and two kids also stayed in the hotel. They had some noisey neighbours at 3am but the hotel staff were fantastic and sorted the problem very quickly. The only bad thing is that the room are very small we just about managed with a cot and pram in the room,however my brother struggled for space to put a blow up mattress for a 3 year old. other than that is was a lovely stay and I would go back again. :)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

I thought this was going to be hotel that would be a bit special. But alas i got it wrong booked a triple room as we were in town for a hen night. There was three beds in the room as you would hope but my god you could bearly stand any side of the bed and there was no way two normal people could pass each other anyplace in the room. Then there was the noise, i dotn know what kind of windows they have but you could hear every word that was said outside on the street below, its not that the pwople outside had raised voices or anything but still you could hear them. The best thing about this hotel was definately the breakfast it was savage. They need to do something about the size of the triple rooms or else not offer them, and definately do something to the windows.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5