Hodson Bay Hotel Athlone Athlone, N37 Xr 82, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 31 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Hodson Bay Hotel Athlone

Our Customer stayed here in December 2016

Lovely hotel, great facilities and excellent breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Recently attended a family wedding at the Hudson bay hotel and I have to say it was brilliant. The wedding was a large one but the staff were superb from the bar to the catering staff, well able to deal with large crowds . The hotel is very spacious and with a great restaurant and a well laid out and modern leisure centre with the added bonus of having a water park out front which I didn't sample ( a bad hangover ) but looks very good. Stayed in the new section of the hotel which has air conditioning in the rooms and are very comfortable, Looking forward to taking the kids next time for a long weekend. Highly recommended.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

The room was comfortable and well decorated however I was given an adjoining room to another group and the noise could be heard more due to this. I ordered room service which was delivered by a very unpolite young man. In any hotel I have stayed in, I have paid the bill upon check out but this hotel didn't accept that. I explained to the man I had no cash and would contact reception. He left, only to return 5 minutes later again looking for money. I again stated I would contact reception after my meal. Another 5 minutes later, I was again interrupted by reception phoning me wanting payment for the meal over the phone using my card details. I stated I would go down after my meal. These incessant interruptions were infuriating and something I have never come across in all my travels in this country and abroad. Will not be staying here again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2016

All you would expect from a good hotel. Friendly staff, nice rooms good facilities and a great breakfast.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Limited and expensive menu in restaurant. Food was a little disappointing

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Cooked breakfasts were hot, fresh and tasty with plenty to choose from. We'd a surprisingly large room with a big bed and floor-to-ceiling window. Room was clean and bathroom also spotless. I also used the in-house hairdresser, which was very handy, and she did a great job.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

I found that the hotel staff were not as friendly when i said that I booked through Roomex and not directly with them. Room was also quite small

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at d Hudson Bay hotel , My room was beautiful with a lovely view of d gardens. The food was fabulous and d staff were very helpfulness very friendly, I will most definitely stay here again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

As the room wasnt ready at 12.30 the receptionist took my number and rang me shortly later when it as ready. The staff answered my queries straight away as they knew where everything was going on - e.g. meals, talks for groups etc.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hodson Bay. We had a lovely room which was so warm and cosy which was very much welcomed as it was freezing outside. The staff as always were so friendly and helpful. I always look forward to returning to Hodson Bay as the food is always very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

Excellent

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

had a great time hotel fabulous and food great really enjoyed it

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Lovely hotel but the room was in the older part of the hotel and the bathroom needed a facelift.I thought that the day of having to use a shower curtain was gone. Again as I started the hotel itself was great and the food so good.Staff were very friendly.The leisure center was very enjoyable and spotless.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Rooms are nice and food lovely but our room was at back of hotel and the view was of the hotel ventilation system which was very disappointing.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

delighted with the hotel. no hasstle booking in and just handed in the card key as we were leaving. no queuing good room. the hotel has excellent facilities. we will definitly be back with the kids next time.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

This was my second stay in the Hodson Bay and once again I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay. Great food, great breakfast. The bar is nice and the leisure facilities and grounds are top notch. I found the staff extremely helpful too, although I did get a pain in my ass from having to traipse downstairs several times a day to get my room key reissued - the magnetic strip kept fading and my key never seemed to open my door more than once! My room as spotless but a little small, the TV was pretty poor but that is just about the only thing in my whole stay that was substandard. Its a great hotel, go for it!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

I was at a wedding in Hudson bay it was a fabulous day the reception was top class the staff couldn't do enough for everyone .the bridal suite was out of this world

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Hodson Bay Hotel. The service was very good and staff were attentive in every way. The room was very comfortable and very clean. We would definitely recommend the hotel for an enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. We were attending a wedding. The food was great and the staff were extremely helpful. I would stay there again. The rooms were of perfect size and there are loads of activities to keep you busy.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

It was our second time to stay in the Hodson Bay Hotel and once again we could not fault this hotel. Our room was clean, tidy and cosy. Staff were more than helpful and could not do enough for us. I would have no problem in recommending this hotel. Thanks again for an very enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

I arived on Thursday evening for meetings on Friday. REception was excellent even though I did not have my actual Roomex reservation papers with me. They were efficient and thorough. I asked to use the leisure facilities and this was excellent also. Towels provided. They place was neat, clean and well managed. After 9:20pm I looked for food and even though the Bar food area was closed - I was brought around into the area and allowed choose some food. This was great and it meant that I could work later. From about 10:30pm until 3am I worked on a presentation I was giving the following Saturday - the wired access point worked first time and was an excellent service - well done. I did not leave until 11:20 the following morning and this was no problem - even when I returned a few moments later because I had left my mobile in the room. Staff were courteous and efficient. Excellent service and stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Hotel very comfortable and setting and view breathtaking. Staff friendly and helpful. Food very tasty, especially vegetarian. I was attending a wedding there and it was the first time ever at a wedding that I was offered a separate vegetarian menu for the wedding meal, very impressive. I hope to return again for a longer stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We stayed for one night in your hotel, the reception room was fantastic and spacious when we arrived at the hotel and we were very well looked after. Breakfast was very good too and a big lot of people to be catered for. The bedrooms were fine but really in need of updating to bring them to the standard of the rest of the hotel, they were spotlessly clean but a little outdated.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Very clean, the bed was amazing, staff were very friendly!gorgeous views!only small complaint i'd have was there was only one receptionist on the counter about half one and the place was very busy but other than that i was happy with my stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

The hotel is a little dated but very clean. The breakfast was good and a nice carvery lunch in the bar. Spectacular views, would recommend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Had a really lovely stay here on a Friday night in July. The location is idyllic and the good weather added to it. The hotel was lovely, staff were extremely pleasant and courteous, the room was basic but had everything we needed. The only thing we noticed was that the cover over the toilet cistern was coming away from the wall but apart from that we were quite happy with everything. The display of fruit in the centre of the restaurant at breakfast was amazing! Would stay here again definitely.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

An excellent hotel with fantastic staff. Food and seaview excellent. The scenery out of this world. I would recommend it to anyone

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Ireland - a very clean and attractive hotel. Friendly and helpful staff; lovely rooms; beautiful setting; good food; very good amenities. The price also was very reasonable for a hotel of this type. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Lovely room in a fab hotel - Very happy place was clean warm and friendly

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

hi.was it a wedding there and love it. rooom was very clean,food was baeuitful,staff great,and the grounds around the hotel where out of this world.had a ball.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Room was in the older part of the hotel and was clean but quite basic. Windows could do with a good cleaning on the outside unfortunately! Breakfast was very good however, and location is lovely.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5