Imperial Hotel Cork City South Mall, Cork, Co.cork Ireland(republic Of), Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 25 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Imperial Hotel Cork City

Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

We found the room a little small but spotlessly clean and we loved the OrlaKiely soap, shampoo and shower gel. The breakfast was perfect, the staff so helpful especially the duty manager and girls on reception. The shuttle bus to and from the Marquee made our stay as we were anxious about getting back to hotel after the Cliff Richard concert so all in all a great experience.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

Hotel is perfectly located for a city centre break. The staff were friendly and professional. The staff and facilities in the Spa area was great. Highly recommended.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Room not ready on arrival at 2pm. Was curtly told that check in wasn't until three (which i didn't know) but everyone around me checking in was allocated rooms. Had to change for work function in a colleague's room and leave bag on reception. Arrived back that night and had to check in then. Got to room to find it overlooking night club. Couldn't open window because of the nose and room was roasting. Rang Reception asking what time the club usually goes on for; was told another half an hour and got an apology for inconvenience. An hour later the music stopped and I got three hours' sleep before they started emptying glass bins. Didn't bother with breakfast as wanted to get most out of the bed! Was however lowed to leave bags while I went shopping and the concierge was such a lovely man. His name is Christy. He was a gentleman.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

I stayed at the Imperial recently on a business trip. The reception staff were extremely helpful and gave excellent advice on local restaurants etc. However, that is where the charm ends for me. Serious updates required to keep this hotel at 4 star standard. My room was on the 4th floor and the entire floor was sagging so the room sloped upwards from the door towards the window... very disconcerting... A full length mirror had been hung on the wall in my room that partially obscured the power socket so I couldn't plug in my laptop/phone charger etc... The bathroom was TINY! There were tiles crumbling off the wall in the shower..... The shower tray filled up to overflowing with water when you had a shower - possibly due to the slope in the level of the floor in the room. The noise from the street at night up to 3am was horrendous. The windows were the old non-insulated double glazed type - so you could hear everything - even four floors up! The service in the bar was appalling - there were 3 staff on and only about 20 customers in the bar and it took almost 15 minutes to get served a drink, and that was when we were the ONLY people standing at the bar!! Then the till wasn't working, then a simple request to add a drink to our tab caused complete confusion.... it was ridiculous! Paying over the odds (€19.50) for breakfast when you are paying €130 for the room is a joke! And no parking included either!?!? Will be staying elsewhere in future!!

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

I Stayed here for one night recently. The hotel is right in city centre so very convenient for restaurants, shopping etc, it is an old building with a nice comfortable feel about it but parts of it look like it had a recent renovation, some of the bedrooms are a little tired and some of them are very nice. As it is in the centre there was a little noise later on in the night but if you are sensitive about noise you could ask for quiet side of the building. Breakfast was good and varied and overall I enjoyed my stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful and I would stay again if I was in Cork.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Rooms were very nice and clean, but the heating was very high, and opening the window let in too much noise in the night. Having said that, the staff were very friendly and the hotel bar was one of the nicest I have used. Would definitely go back and stay again, as location wise I couldn't have asked for a better place to see Cork City.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

The hotel was very central, staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem. Car park while a short walk away from the hotel was very secure, which was very reassuring. Have no problem in recommending the bar food menu, good variety and good value.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over St.Patrick's weekend. Nice hotel in an excellent location (probably Cork's most central hotel) close to shops, bars, restaurants and bus station. Room was nice and clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant one night, which was very good. Overall, very good stay, for a fantastic rate I got with Roomex :)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Not sure if this is a 4 star but really felt it was a three star. One issue i did have is that the car park is not attached to the hotel and so if was a good 5 minute walk from the hotel. Dont mind walking but if the weather was bad and i had no brolly, i would be soaked getting to the hotel. Breakfast the next morning was grand, not the best but not the worst either.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Nice hotel, comfortable

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

the service and treatment we received at the weekend was second to none we could not ask for better service hotel was buzzing festival on street was fantastic room was spotless and room service was of very high standards 10/10 thanks to imperial we had a great weekend staff very friendly escape salon is of exceptional high standards we were treated like royalty again staff so friendly and helpful

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Excellent stay from start to finish. Welcomed warmly, room was of a very high standard. Very good atmosphere in souths bar. Food excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed stay and will definately return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

exellent staff. especially ruth the manager on duty saturday night.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

location great. room was nice however very small as i booked a single room. staff were lovely .Parking about a 8 min walk, valet parking would be a great addition especially if the weather was bad..

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Stayed in The Imperial on the 18th October 2008 with 8 friends. We really enjoyed our stay here. Brilliant location, fabulous new spa and the staff were lovely. The rooms are a little dated but clean and comfy. Bar food lovely. I would certainly recommend this hotel to a friend

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

The hotel check in staff were great & we were all quickly checked into our 4 rooms with no hassle, we found the reception staff to be very helpful with our many queries & requests to book taxis for us. It’s an old style hotel with a lovely reception area - we had 4 rooms booked & all of them were very different shapes & sizes but all had the same facilities. The view from most of the rooms wasn’t great when I complained I was told that as the hotel is in such a good location it has been extended over the years hence the lack of a view but the rooms are still nice & comfortable. The hotel is in a great location no need for taxis after a night out, only 5 minutes walk from the Bus station & 15 from the train station. Breakfast was lovely & it was an added bonus to have this included in the already great price! I would recommend this hotel to others.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

I had booked 2 twin rooms, for four girls for weekend. Choice of venue was my responsibility hence I wanted everything right.My friend had to request a move immediately upon arrival as strong smell of smoke in her room, I had specifically asked for non smoking. Accommodation adequate.. wardrobe door hanging off in our bedroom, it should have beenn spotted by person doing the room as it was v obvious. Only 1 bed was dressed, I admit we were in the bedroom at the time but we were not asked if we wished to have both beds done. Re staff.. very friendly except for one incident... we had drinks in residents bar on friday night - all ok. On sat night, we returned for similar drinks. Ordered for 2 of us while my friend went to bathroom. When she returned, barman said bar was closing for 10 mins & that she would have to wait. I explained we all together and that she had just been to the bathroom.. No, she still would have to wait. We waited 25 mins and got no drink, went to bed very disappointed in the bar service to residents who were paying well for the privilege. On a happier note, Escape spa & its staff is wonderful in every way...

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Stayed here last weekend with my wife. The double room was very large and the breakfast was excellent. Great location in the city,close to loads of pubs & restaurants. Parking is a 5 min walk away but that wasn't a problem for us. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would definately stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Our stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork was most delightful. The hotel is old and all the wonderful character and charm has been kept without sacrficing comfort, cleanliness, and modern amenities. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot and strong with lovely soap provided, and most amazing of all, the breakfast staff not only got our orders right, but the eggs arrived perfectly done, the bacon wasn't leathery, the coffee was kept flowing, and everything was actually hot!! The only thing missing was a swimming pool but a sacrifice easily made for all the things that were so very good. So far, this is the best hotel we have found in Cork.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

We had a double room for one night. The hotel was very nice, the staff were friendly enough and the room was clean and spacious. The bed was quite small and therefore not as comfortable as we would have liked. The hotel is very central and it was only a couple of minutes walk to the shopping areas. It was a Saturday night and there was a wedding reception being held in the hotel that day. We found the noise extremely bad and we could nearly feel it reverberating around the room. It continued until nearly 3am and we were very happy to finally be able to go asleep. Don't get me wrong, I do realize that if you go to a city centre hotel there is going to be a lot of noise from outside(which there was) but unfortunately we had not counted on the unbelievable thumping sound. I do not want to put anybody off this hotel as it is a lovely hotel and as I said earlier the staff were very good, the food at breakfast was very nice and it was lovely to relax in the comfortable couches in the bar in the early evening and have a pre-dinner drink. But I would say that if you are going to Cork with the intention of a good nights' sleep, Do Not Go to this hotel. Otherwise, it was a very pleasant experience and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cork.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

very nice hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Overall my stay in The Imperial was a pleasant one. However, there are a few points to be noted. View from room was dreadful. Room 242 refers. There seemed to be a mini roof in the middle of it and it was badly in need of paint. Reception staff are only friendly when you are actually at the desk. One girl (trainee) couldn't handle our check in as my voucher said 2 nights yet they had only one on file so she called in 'the big guns' - her phrase. Not very professional. Also, any time you walked by reception my friend and I would make a point of saying hello. Sadly, your reception/concierge seem to lack basic common courtesy and fail to understand that it costs nothing to acknowledge a person. The attitude of your Duty Managers leaves a lot to be desired. I am referring to the Male D.M. who was on duty on Sunday night. The way he spoke to staff was dreadful and he actually treated customers in the same manner. He walked around with such an arrogant attitude and instead of greeting guests, snarled and basically gave the impression we shouldn't be there. I have to single out 2 members of staff. Kasia in the restaurant. She was just so friendly and polite without being intrusive and was a pleasure to deal with. I would also mention Bianca in the bar, who was friendly, pleasant, courteous and although busy, had time to make people feel welcome. I couldn't fault the cleanliness and the food was lovely. Overal a very enjoyable stay and I will be back but a few lessons on common courtesy to some of the staff wouldn't go amiss.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

We enjoyed our stay at The Imperial in Cork,Ireland. Nice comfortable room ,friendly staff and breakfast was very enjoyable. The hotel is very central for shopping and nightlife, it's own bar is very popular and worth a visit as is the restaurant! All in all a very enjoyable experience enhanced by the excellent rate and service offered by Roomex. We would definitely use this hotel again and would book with Roomex.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

The Imperial lives up to its mantle of the best hotel in Cork City Centre, the Staff, the Ambiance and the food are superb.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Just back from our stay in the Imperial Hotel in Cork City, it was wonderful. Great ambience from the minute you walk in the front door, staff on reception are always very friendly, decor looks stylish throughout. We booked into the spa it was really worthwile,I would recommend it to anyone a real treat. The breakfast was included a really good spread, full irish or continental. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great central location in cork city witha great atmosphere.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5