The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Leisure Resort Kenmare, Co Kerry, Ireland, Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 53 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Leisure Resort

Our Customer stayed here in October 2017

Full marks across the board. Very nice room - designated as ''Superior' - which is was. The breakfast offerings were very well prepared and presented with a very wide choice to suit all tastes. The staff were friendly and attentive but not intrusively so. The Bar was nicely set out and again provided excellent meals at reasonable prices. Parking space was plentiful and well away from the main road. The hotel also offered the use of a swimming pool and there was also some form of gym facilities. A nice touch within the hotel was a separate drying room for hikers. Another nice touch was the provision of a children's area in the dining room and also a play room elsewhere within the hotel. In short, a very pleasant experience which I would be happy to recommend to anyone of any age - all were well catered for.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

Our two night stay was for a birthday celebration and Friday night was our arrival night. This was our first time in the Kenmare Bay. Our arrival was very rushed and lacked the warmth I expected from the front desk, very transactional. This set the tone for our visit. We had dinner on the first night and the menu we got that night was very generic with no recognisable flow. It had the all day menu , 5-10 menu, room service, wine , dessert , fish, starters on one side and the kids menu on the back. It was confusing but you could order anything with exception of supplement on steak ( which didn't make sense as the fish dishes cost the same or more). The food was grand but the menu didn't feel very unique and special, it may not have been a fair reflection of the food on offer. A suggestion would be a simple evening menu with specials printed separately on a blank sheet of paper it would make the evening menu appear more unique. The hotel standard was fine but not worth the price we paid. The Saturday night had a wedding who took over the place and the priority of the hotel was supporting the wedding and little interest in other guests. Wedding guests raced each other in the corridors in the middle of the night. Another guest complained to them at 330 am and they simply laughed. The hotel should have had non wedding guests on another floor separate from the wedding. I tried in the bar to organise a surprise bottle of Prosecco for the room and the bar person advised me that this wouldn't be possible as they were understaffed. The mark up and margin hotels make on these special extras add to profit but also to customer experience. Very surprised it wasn't available. A family member had rang to pay for a bottle of Prosecco for us on our arrival and it sat in our room warm and in a buckle with no ice.A suggestion would have been to arrive to the room after our arrival with the Prosecco on ice. I know this all seems very small things but it is the mislay things that matter and make the difference between me feeling that the money we paid was worth it and if we would ever stay again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2016

Very comfortable hotel. Had dinner in bar on arrival & service was very slow, food lovely.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Fabulous hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a beautiful spacious room. The décor in the hotel is lovely. It's only about a 3 minute walk to the town centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Great service from staff. High quality rooms, clean, comfortable and great location for access to kenmare town.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

very friendly welcoming staff and just the perfect spot for a quick break away, well established hotel meant everything ran like clockwork

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Excellent hotel. very helpful staff overall a very happy experience

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights.Room very comfortable and good choices for breakfast.Staff friendly and helpful with local knowledge and advice re touring region.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

lovely hotel very big with additional holiday homes around. We did not have a chance to use the pool area. Breakfast was good. Rooms massive lovely cotton sheets very comfortable.Beautiful location but hard to find

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. The standard of food and service at this hotel was exceptional. The waiter at our table spilled a girls glass of champagne and immediately apologised to her and not only that but put a free bottle of champagne on the bar counter (as we were sitting near the bar)for the girl for the inconvenience he caused. How many hotels would do that for you? Our room was upstairs and very comfy. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody in the future. Excellent!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

stayed here for a wedding - the room was beautiful & food was lovely. Staff were very helpful & friendly. The room we were allocated first was in the older section of the hotel & very basic. I mentioned this to the receptionist & we were moved to the (much nicer) new part the next night. All done without any bother. look forward to returning for another visit at some stage

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

The Kenmare Bay is a good hotel; rooms are clean, staff are friendly, and rates are reasonable (especially if you book through Roomex!)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

We had a wonderful experience in the Kenmare Bay Hotel, We'll be back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

The Kenmare Bay Hotel is a short stroll from the town center, the rooms are clean and well-equipped and the staff friendly. Hotel stops serving food at 9pm and no room service so bear that in mind.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

We stayed at the hotel because we had a wedding there. I would first like to say how fabulous the meal, atmosphere and staff were at the reception. The best I have seen anywhere. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well presented however we did feel that when we got breakfast to the room the furniture was limited, only a small thing. Other than that it was excellent and for anyone getting married I would highly recommend the Kenmare Bay Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

cobwebs in the room stained bed clothes,for this standard of hotel very disappointed ???.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Kenmare Bay hotel,very relaxing,very clean,breakfast was really nice,all staff were very friendly and helpful,

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

Very well run hotel with helpful staff. The food in both the bar and restaurant was excellent. Well maintained facilities and comfortable rooms.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

the bad: Breakfast was awful. Eggs over easy, like really wobbly. Black pudding of poor quality. I do not recommend doing the breakfast option. Go somewhere else up the town. Room was OK. easiest way to acces was to come out the front door of the lobby and go across the carpark to another entrance. Ventilation system in the bath was not good. On having a shower, mirrors were foggy for a long time after. My sister saw mold behind the bathroom door. The good: Good location. Walking distance to all the pubs.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Great staff very friendly. Room was o.k. a bit small but fine for just a night. Bathroom was a little dated. The food in the restaurant was lovely very well presented and reasonable. Overall quite good.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Kind staff, nice breakfast, rooms were ok, unfortunately no minibar :( the "health center" was ok, but only open 8 am - 8 pm (when you travel like we did it´s useless; for an all day hotel stay it´s good). sauna was only a part of the swimming pool hall, no relaxation room. but steam room and normal sauna. overall not bad but we expected a bit more.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

we had a great weekend. beautiful hotel. met at door by manager. great food and lovely comfortable room.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

I was very happy with my stay in the Kenmare Bay Hotel,the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was amazing and the location beautifull. I cannot wait to stay in the hotel again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Room very basic lovely breakfast nice location

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

we stayed as a big wedding group in july. my room was a bit outdated looking, 4 of us had roooms 634.635 etc. these rooms were very old fashioned, my friends were in rooms 123,124 etc, which were beautiful with fabulous bathrooms. i was also inside 3 of the houses, they look fantastic. we had bar food in the bar the following day, it was really nice. i also used the leisure centre and the sauna and streamroom were great. i would go top this hotel again but would only if i were to stay in room 123/124.......not the 600 rooms. the staff are all lovely.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Check in, Very efficient. Got a surprise that our room, while technically in the Hotel, was in fact located across the carpark. Bar, Much too small and difficult/slow to get food Breakfast, On first morning the hot buffett was cold and overall quite poor On the second morning it was dramatically much better Bedroom, There was a single as well as a double bed which resulted in the bedroom being very cluttered. The shower splashed out onto floor despite curtain in place with the result that the floor covering was lifting and water logged. Obviously this problem exists for quite some time The wedding reception meal was very good and service was excellent. Bar service was also good, Overall a pleasant 2 day break and very acceptable for 3 star

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Attended a wedding reception in this hotel on Friday 13th & everything went swimmimgly well. The day was warm & sunny after a downpour the previous day. The most impressionable aspect of the hotel was the quality of the food - afternoon tea for 2 on the bar menu (€15) was excellent - earlybird in the restaurant (€20) great value - the wedding menu with steak main course was top class. Breakfast was well above average. The bedroom was very clean & comfortable. The town can be reached on foot in about 5 or 6 mins via a shortcut - not through the main road - ask at reception. Staff at the hotel were very helpful & friendly. Gave an overall rating of very good as opposed to superb as the quality of the Guinness at the wedding reception bar was not up to the excellent standard of the Lobby bar. The reception room was really excellent otherwise.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

very pleasant stay,staff lovely.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Great deal, Great atmosphere, health club and super staff. This was one of the easiest and most enjoyable stays! I will return to this hotel in the near future! Thanks Roomex

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

This is a great hotel, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I attended a wedding during my stay and we got exceptional value on our room rate. Would stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location with a great leisure centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

apart from the awfull coffee in the bar, the whole experience was very good, staff helpful and friendly, and rooms and services were excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay, we were there for a wedding the location was fabulous. The food was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comforable :-). Will definately be staying here again in the near future!!!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Really super hotel, helpful and friendly staff and our group really enjoyed our stay for recent wedding.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

The room was lovely, clean comfortable bed with a lovely view. We enjoyed the pool and leisure facilities and had a fab breakfast. Overall it was a really enjoyable stay with lovely staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Had a lovely time at the Kenmare Bay Hotel, the room and bathroom were spacious and finished to a very high standard. I was very impressed with the bathroom which had a large bath and a separate corner shower which was quite big. Plenty of handwash / moisturiser / shampoo and body wash was provided in large dispensers next to the sink and in the shower. I would only mark the hotel down for the fact that they had no soda water for two days running. Overall a very relaxing and top class weekend. We were attending a wedding and I couldn't find fault with either the Hotel or the staff for the wonderful reception they put on.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Really enjoyed this hotel, standard very good and hotel itself is spotless, staff are so friendly and helpful,would rate it higher than 3 star, glad to see it was busy it deserves to be. Leisure centre lovely and location is brilliant so close to Kenmare and on the Ring of Kerry too. Would recommend this hotel as a brilliant hotel for tourists.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Stayed in Kenmare Bay recently to attend a wedding. From start to finish, the experience was wonderful. On arrival the manager greeted us at the entrance with a golf umbrella to sheild us from the downpour. All the staff we met were very pleasant and helpful. The room was lovely. The wedding meal was lovely and the atmosphere in the hotel was great. They have a lovely leisure centre and the hotel is very child friendly. They even have a kids corner where the drinks reception / breakfast is.....plently of toys for kids of all ages to enjoy....very thoughtful. THere is a pathway from the hotel leading directly into the town centre, which is very nice for a stroll after a big meal. Overall, the stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Wonderful staff, great food, lovely location. I would definately recommend the Kenmare Bay as a Wedding Venue and I will definately be back to stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

The hotel and surroundings were stunning, the staff were amazing, nothing was too much bother for them. The food in the hotel was first class, nicest monkfish I have ever eaten. Thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my stay, I will be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

The room was nice but the walls are too thin and there was no fridge in the room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

The room was below standard in my opinion and was not clean. I would not be staying there again

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

We got a good price and got a standard room in the older part of the hotel, there were nicer rooms in the hotel but I got the impression these were for guests that had booked directly. We were told the other rooms were deluxe and we got a standard room which is normally what is used for this type of booking. Would we go back?, possibly but would need to understand which part of the hotel we would be staying in and assess if the price difference would be worth it. Room service for breakfast was an additional €12 and the breakfast itself was only OK. We did not have dinner there. Overall it was basic but then again cheap.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Overall the stay was satisfactory. The rooms are a little tired and could do with re decoration,however they were clean. The staff awere very courteous and friendly and the location very central to town. Breakfast was more than enough to eat and the leisure centre clean and modern. We had food in the bar on one night and i found that even though the fish was advertised as fresh ,it was processed. This is only minor fault i could comment on. Overall yes i would return to this hotel

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

two night stay there for a wedding. the barmen were very friendly and chatty and the lovely coal fire was very inviting. Check-in was quick food was excellent and room was neat and clean and all hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The leisure centre was spotless and opening hours excellent. A one.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Staff very helpful and friendly. Pool clean and hot stone massage was amazing !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

The room smelled of must and damp, we just got the feeling that it wasn't clean. The bathroom smelled a bit too, like the floor hadn't been washed in a while. Way too expensive for what we got, it was 160euro for one night!! Rip-off in the current economic climate. I woulnd't recommend it.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

We stayed at the hotel during the Fleadh. All services were excellent. Room was very clean. Food excellent. Staff very helpful and obliging. We enjoyed the swimming pool and other facilities. We had a short stay but wished it was longer. If we were going back to Kenmare I would make sure to book again at the Kenmare Bay Hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

It has a good location close to town. Lovey scienic views of the mountains. The staff was friendly. The hotel room was spacious, new and very clean. Breakfast was very good. Unfortunately we never got to use the leisure facilities. We would stay at the kenmare bay hotel any time again, if we'd get B&B for a good price again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Very much injoyed our stay in kenmare bay hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

My son and I booked 2 rooms ,for 3 nights b and b in Kenmare Bay Hotel, Kenmare, Co. Kerry. I must admit it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. We got a very welcome reception, a lovely staff in diningroom, room service,bar, and through out the hotel. The bedrooms were just beautiful, with every facility, tea, coffee, an ironing board etc, hair dryer,a bathroom, which released heat from under the floor. What more can I say, it was just great. We'll be back and thanks to roomex it was surprisingly reasonable in price. Gura míle maith agaibh.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

very nice hotel, lovely rooms, quiet and close enough to Kenmare to walk in for a night out. Only negatives were parking near the door is very scarce and leisure centre closed at 7pm when we arrived so no swim that evening. Otherwise, very good overall!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

A very nice hotel stay in a standard room with no frills. The only let down was the food on the night, which was part of a Christmas Party Night Menu. It was below par, but the facilities and the service was very good. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and the locale to other people, though I would stress that the hotel is a 3 star standard.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

I was really looking forward to a revisit to the Kenmare Bay Hotel. It had been almost seven years since our last visit which was exceptional. We(four of us, two couples) received a very friendly greeting on arrival and the reception area was bright and open. Our room was comfortable with coffee making facilities and a large tv, but the bathroom was cold. We dined in the hotel on the first night and two of the four meals were terrible - I had a seafood pancake that was burned, dry and, sizewise, was fit for a seven year old. We ate out on the second night in a superb local restaurant "The Horseshoe" which turned out to be cheaper than the hotel dinner. On the Sunday morning a member of the hotel staff let a door slam in the face of the two ladies in our party. He looked back and just continued onwards. There was no apology. He appeared to be some kind of manager who was lumbered with delivering room service and did not appear to be happy about it. We paid for his mood. We did not visit the Leisure Centre which looked impressive. The bar was disappointing in size and comfort and did not appear to have changed from my previous visit. Whilst many of the staff were exceptional the dinner and the slamming of the door will ensure we do not revisit in the future.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5