Hotel Kilkenny College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland

Also known as: The Hotel Kilkenny
8/10.0 Based on 39 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Hotel Kilkenny

Our Customer stayed here in June 2016

Gorgeous hotel, very friendly staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Stayed last Friday night. Room and bathroom absolutely fine. Ate in Bar and that was also ok apart from the lack of non-instant decaffeinated coffee. Overall, the hotel was good value, clean, comfortable and had friendly, helpful staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

I had booked a twin room but was given a double room, which wasn't a big issue but not what I had booked. The room was quite basic in decoration. It was on the 1st floor (like a basement level) and looked out onto the back of the leisure centre. There was a terrible smell of sewerage as we exited the lift onto the corridor which we thought was coming from the leisure centre. Also, as we were checking out, we saw rooms on the same corridor which had obviously been redecorated and were much nicer. We couldn't complain about anything else as check in, the staff and the breakfast were very much up to standard. It was just a pity about the room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

We stay in the hotel for a short overnight stay, from the moment we checked in everything was perfect and staff were friendly. Breakfast was fab as was the residents bar!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Hotel was absolutely gorgeous.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Lovely Hotel, very modern, 10 min walk from city center. All staff very friendly & accommodating would definitely make a return trip!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

The food in hotel was lovely and they catered to coeliacs, however the noise level at night time was ridiculous. There was a wedding in the hotel and the rooms are not soundproof. Peoeple messing knocking on all doors after 3/4am in morning.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Kilkenny. The hotel is beautiful- finished off to the highest standards. The bedroom and en-suite were spotless, the bedroom was decorated lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a three course dinner in the hotel, each course was faultless with a great selection to suit all appetites. The swimming pool and leisure facilities were perfect with extremely friendly staff. All in all an extremely plesant place to stay! We would highly recommend it to everyone and it is safe to say we will be returning to the Hotel Kilkenny soon!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

A fantastic hotel, Great staff great modern design & fantastic rooms. Would highly recommend to friends and family. Only a short walk to center of town but not far enough to deter anyone from staying. only 6 euro in taxi also.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Hands down the best hotel that I've ever stayed in. A thoroughly enjoyable !

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

The food in the bar was lovely the breakfast was lovely, the room was extremely hot and stuffy, it was a boiling day outside, could do with air con in bed rooms. impossible to sleep. the windows only open a small amount.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

I love this hotel! This was my third time here and I will be back! It's a little out of the town a tenner taxi heading out but well worth it! The staff could not be more helpful, even serving us breakfast half an hour late! I.d recommend pure bar for dinner or room service, extra tasty! Stay here if you go to Kilkenny and tale your swim stuff

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Stayed in the wheelchair accessible room in Hotel Kilkenny for 3 nights B&B. The hotel is in a good location, 10 minutes walk to the city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is made to order; food and service in both bar and restaurant was very good. As the disabled room is a ground floor room just off reception, it was noisy late at night with people passing by. I made some suggestions for improving the accessible room to the manager which he took note of and agreed with.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

When we arrived we were kept waiting for an hour until our room was ready (well they had actually forgotten about us so we had to remind them). The room wasn't clean particularly the bathroom. When we went for breakfast we sat there for 45 minutes after we ordered and had to remind the staff that we hadn't been served and were brought out two breakfasts that had just sat in the oven as the plate was untouchable and the food was very dry. The staff were not friendly and i would not stay in this hotel again.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Nice hotel. Nice facilities. Nice staff. Nice location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

We had a great stay at Hotel Kilkenny,clean, friendly, lovely staff,helpful, well run and organized Thanks a million

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Hotel very good breakfast very bad

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Stayed here last Saturday night. There was a wedding on in the hotel that day so I would say I got the last free car parking space, but once I reached the reception desk, I was checked in and in my room very fast. Even later that night, when I returned again, you would not even know there was a wedding going on as everything was nice and quite. My room was spotless clean, modern, with a lovely clean and comfy bed. Very well presented, as was all the hotel. Access to the rooms is through secure doors that only work for guests which is very safe. Food in the bar was very nice and the service along with all staff were very helpful and friendly. I can also recommend the breakfast too! Excellent hotel and I would definately return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Brilliant staff and very nice and clean hotel. Only gripe was that the food was not great only average

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Hotel lovely but a bit too far out from the town. 1.)The covers on the duvets are awful, they are not buttoned or zipped up and only have a velcro pad which do not work therefore your feet are tangled up in the covers all night, I did not sleep because of this. This was on most beds as there was 22 of us staying there. 2.)Most of the food was good except for the fish menu, these were sent back by some and twice by some of the guests so even 2nd time around it was still not satisfactory. Staff very nice and complaints handled well.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

only stayed the one night in kilkenny, but the value was unbelivable 82euro for b&b and evening meal..the food was amazing, but the staff were the best i have seen in a long time, nothing was too much,i wasnt well during the night and the night porter could not have being more helpful.they also gave us a bottle of wine foc....had a ball will definately be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Just back from a 2 night stay at the trendy Hotel Kilkenny. We were a group of 5 in two good sized, clean rooms. Hotel was very busy given the time of year but that added to the sence of being on a break. The hotel is modern, clean with a nice bar and the breakfast was lovely. Its slightly out of town, circa a 10-15 minute walk, which suited us perfectly. Only critisism was the lack of air con in the room ! even with the window wide open it was very warn in the room. Would definately stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

We were given a pretty poor room despite booking in February for a stay in July. There was a wedding each night in the hotel & I know from my own experience of going to weddings that the majority of people don't book till they get an invite 6-8 weeks in advance. So it seems the wedding guests were given better rooms then us despite booking long after us. Sometimes a special offer deal isn't as special as it seems. The room we had was right under the Ladies toilets for the bar so the constant noise of heels on tiles and a hot air drier was a little annoying. Breakfast was poor for a four star hotel, so much so we didn't bother going down on the second morning and instead bought breakfast in the town.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Hotel was fine, nothing special about the room but the breakfast was lovely.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Very dissapointed!!!! 4 star Hotel and I felt like in 2 :-( Room bit smelly, food served cold and you have to wait ages. I expected much more from that kind of hotel!!!!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

We stayed in Hotel Kilkenny for my brothers wedding on Saturday 18th June. We were checked in by an extremely nice lady on the front desk, our room was ok nothing special, but most importantly the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and even nicer as it was table service. Michael the duty manager was extremely efficient and looked after us very well on the day and the following morning for breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

A great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The gym facilities (pool, sauna, stem room) were great. We stayed over for a wedding and the only thing I wasn't too happy about was the residents bar closing at 3:30 am. But then again the following day I was quite happy they stopped serving so "early".

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

I have stead in Hotel Kilkenny twice and I really enjoyed it, I would definetly stay there again, I really enjoyed the atmoshere, the staff, the room, the restaurant, etc. The hotel was beaming full of people with the Cats Laugh Festival on and I will be going back again the same time next year, just before my wedding.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

I had a wonderful experience at Hotel Kilkenny last week-end. The food was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. I will go back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Room was very dated, would have prefered a nicer and bigger room. Staff where very friendly

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

We throughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at the Kilkenny hotel. The staff were professional and friendly, the rooms were very comfortable and the food was of an excellent standard. We can not wait to return to Ireand, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

We were under the impression that check in was between 12 & 1 so we took an early train down. They couldnt give us a room until 4 so we had to get changed in the changing room near the pool. We requested 1 smoking and 1 non smoking room and for both rooms to be beside each other and this wasnt the case. We had to speak to a manager who eventually gave us ou request. Finally the security at the hotel is a disgrace. Someone tried to brake into my friends room (310) while I was still out. Security tried to say that we were just imagining things. Another friend of mine, who is from Kilkenny, managed to walk into the hotel and up to our rooms while we were getting ready adn nobody stopped him once. On the plus side the hotel is fabulous. Really nice and not too far from the center. I think it took us about 10mins to walk there.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Hi all, thanks for the fabulous stay at the Hotel. Although we were 2 hours early for the check in they arranged for us a check in an hour earlier. In the meantime we could enjoy the fabulous pool area. We only stayed for one night but if I go back to Kilkenny I will stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding in Kilkenny in another Hotel. The room was clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay! Leisure Centre was excellent also. I have one comment to make and that is the duration for the breakfast time is too short from 0700hrs to 1000hrs on Sunday morning, but other than that, I would have no problem recommending the Hotel Kilkenny!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Stayed in hotel at wedding. Hotel well kept. Clean & tidy rooms and very comfortable. Enjoyed the stay definitely recommended.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Very enjoyable. Lovely hotel and very friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights for my sister's wedding.Room was clean, a little on the small size and a little dark for my liking.The service was slow and we were unable to ckeck in at 1400 as there was no room available till 1500.The wedding reception room'The Orchard' was well decorated and a nice size for the wedding, the courtyard was lovely was the initial drinks reception although the weather turned to rain so we had to go indoors.I would recommend this Hotel, its probably only a 3 and a half star in my view.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Kilkenny. We were attending a wedding, the meal was beautiful and service excellent. Room was very nice, very comfortable and breakfast was delivered at time we ordered it for and was piping hot (very unusual for breakfast in bed). Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value for money. Well done Hotel Kilkenny.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Nice hotel, very modern overall, nice atmosphere, excellent food. However, the room left somewhat to be desired. We seemed to be placed in the old part of the hotel, or what felt like 'the cheap rooms'.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5