The Lansdowne Hotel Dublin 27/29 Pembroke Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland(republic Of), Dublin, Ireland (republic Of)

6/10.0 Based on 17 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for The Lansdowne Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Woken at 8.30 am with construction noise coming from right outside our window. The hotel didn't seem concerned when we mentioned it on our departure.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2017

Very central hotel, double room slightly small, shower excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2017

We were really pleased with our lovely room 31 which was recently refurbished. Everything about this boutique hotel was great. We ate in the Bar served by Brendan, an excellent Bar manager and the food was lovely.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2016

Generally I was pleased with the hotel but had a very unpleasant experience which I reported to the night staff and management. On Thurs. morning an attempt was made to open the door of my room and it did open. Thankfully I got it shut and locked promptly but the intruder continued to try to get in for another 5 minutes before moving away. The explanation I was given was that a drunk had locked himself out of his room and obviously didn't know where he was and thought my room was his. As you can imagine I got a terrible fright and became very nervous and didn't sleep well the following night as every tiny sound made me jump. The reason I chose that hotel was for its convenience to the RDS where I was working for 2 days at the Craft Fair. In fairness to the Hotel I was not charged for my 2 breakfasts.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

The Hotel is centrally located. The staff and facilities are very nice. I don't like complaining during my stay, so the fault was all mine. The TV needed to be re tuned so that the channels were available as it said in the Guest Information book. As I was watching TV from 6.00 p.m. to 1.00 am, it was frustrating trying to find the channels and some could not be found at all between going from 1 to 60. This is by no means just specific to this hotel, it applies to all hotels. I would suggest that the housekeepers should check the tuning routinely each day as part of their cleaning duties. They would become very familiar with the TVS and remotes in the rooms and could re tune it if it needed it while changing the bed linen etc. The other question I have is does anyone from the hotel staff ever lie down on the beds for a couple of minutes as if they were going to sleep there. Do they turn the mattresses regularly as you would do at home. In this hotel, I couldn't sleep without putting the pillow underneath by hips and bottom. It was too painful otherwise. I kept thinking that a spring was broken and sticking up. I checked the mattress the next morning and it appeared to be new, it was just the buttons on the mattress were big and hard, like a stone etc.If someone had laid on the bed they would have found it was uncomfortable and sore and could have solved the problem and just cut off the unneeded buttons. Would I stay here again. The answer is yes. Why? Because similar problems occur in most hotels at one time or another.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

Excellent location and the free parking is a big bonus. Great value for the money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

This hotel was ideally located and very comfortable, the staff pleasant and the rooms fine.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Given room 64 Could not sleep because of the noise of the generator/compressor was directly above the room. complained to hotel but was told hotel was full even though i saw only 4 other people in the bar from 10-30pm until midnight.At breakfast 9am only saw three other couples. I had a prepaid room so my complaint was pointless. I would not stay there again. It would be a nice gesture if I received a refund.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

great location, staff excellent

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at hotel, were there for International soccer game at aviva. The staff were friendly and helpfull. Overall a very satisfactory stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Beds were superb and very comfortable - shower was passable as shower door was not secure and water pooled on the bathroom floor. Stair bannister requires fixing on the second floor not securing with tape! Food was edible..... continental breakfast was ok.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Double room was very small but adequate. The next morning, we were disappointed that we were only offered an Irish Breakfast - i.e., sausage, bacon, egg, etc., as a hot choice - even B & B's offer scrambled egg or omelette, as an alternative - surely an hotel could offer the same??? Staff were friendly and courteous.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

I was in Dublin on business in January 2008 and had made an online boking for the Landsdowne Hotel. When I arrived I was given a tiny room (6 feet x 9 feet)in the basement of the hotel. The bed was the smallest single bed possible and had a terrible mattress with absolutely no support.There was one sheet covering the mattress and nothing between the duvet cover and me. There was an old 12" TV which did not work properly. The bathroom was tiny - no vanity to put a soap bag on....and the shower had lots of disgusting black mould around the tiles...an old bottle of liquid soap and grotty grey white towels which desperately needed replacing. I could clearly hear the occupant of the room upstairs using the bathroom in full detail - need I say more? It was a horrendous room. To the defence of the staff at the Landsdowne - when I complained the next day I was moved to a larger room which was only marginally better because it had a double bed - everything else was consistent with the first room plus the curtains were hanging off the rail in the new room. The price for the room was Euro $109 a night which I think is daylight robbery for that quality of room, especially as the lovely Bewleys Hotel down the road(where I have aready booked for my trip in January 2009)is the same price for that time of year. By the way I am Irish and know Dublin very well and I have stayed in these kinds of old hotels in Ireland before but this has been a new low. I dread to think what the average American or other non - Irish visitor would think of this place....just terible for tourism and only adds fuel to the image of Ireland as a very expensive place to visit...

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

The room was quite large, lovely high ceilings. A flat screen TV which looks good but only has the basic Irish channels and even those had a bad reception. The service in the bar at lunchtime was extremely poor a long wait for a drink and they could not provide all food that was clearly on their menu. Having said that, I have been to the hotel on numerous occasions and have never found the service at all bad, however, as this was part of a Christmas party it was a bad time for this kind of bad service. Good points are the location of the hotel and, as mentioned, I believe this was a once off bad experience (I hope anyway!)

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We were attending a christmas party on the green. so the location was ideal. I found the room to be extremely small. The paintwork in the room definitely needs redoing. However, the room and bedclothes were clean. I was very impressed with the choice for breakfast the next morning. Overall, a good experience - just get the painter & decorator out!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

having stayed in Lansdowne Hotel,it is a hotel living in the 20!s it could do with a good makeover.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Hotel was lovely & quaint. The rooms were very clean & modern. With a lovely plasma TV. Couldn't find a fault with the Hotel itself. The only downside was the service, upon check in, a member of staff thought breakfast wasn't included even after ckecking the computer serveral times. Until i reread our check in sheet, it was clearly marked. This also happened while we were eating breakfast, they had to double check it was included. Overall though, a great stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5