Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City John Redmond Street, Cork, Ireland

Also known as: Quality Hotel Cork
8/10.0 Based on 31 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City

Our Customer stayed here in February 2018

A really good hotel in the old Shandon area of Cork, within a couple of minutes walk of the city centre. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It was a pity the restaurant did not open in the evenings. However, the restaurant menu was available in the bar and the food was very good. Overall, a lovely place to stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2018

Excellent hotel, lovely staff particularly the restaurant staff, great location.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2017

My long over due brake was made more enjoyable by the warm welcome from all the staff in the hotel. The food was wonderful, breakfast was self service with a lovely variety of foods to choose from and the evening meals were just as good. I love to swim and enjoyed a morning dip, the pool and leisure area was clean and the staff there very helpful also. I loved the idea of where the hotel is situated - 10/ 15 min walk and you are in Patrick, if you are tired / lazy there is a very good bus service that stops right outside the hotel. (Perfect). Looking forward to my next trip to Cork and the Maldron Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

Good hotel, excellent staff, very good bar food and breakfast, central location 5 mins walk to City Centre, some rooms are inward facing so if possible ask for a room on 4th or 5th floor.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

This was an enjoyable visit. The hotel has very good facilities, including restaurant, bar, etc. It is ideally located, less than 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Only quibble is the limited parking available on site. I will definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Our stay at Maldron went extremely well and was great value for money. Wouldn't hesitate to return there.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Great location, clean rooms, friendly & helpful staff. Highly recommended!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful and modern rooms. Delicious buffet breakfast. I cant fault my stay at The Maldron in Cork.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

Staff were nice but Hotel badly needs a complete overhaul.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely atmosphere and would recommend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Good clean warm hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Pros: Friendly staff, Car parking, Value was OK for the time of year, Cons: Car park was too cramped and not fit for purpose, Very noisy at night in the hallway. Don't stay here if you plan on getting a nights sleep. En-suite smelt of cigarette smoke.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

I arrived at approximately 1pm for a nice break as I thought. Near town and park up the car. To be told no parking available, and would have to use street Parking. Then a tiny tiny double room, don't know where you could put two bags, luckily we had just one, awful smell of smoke in our room, to the extent we had to Leave windows open while shopping. There was a bath towel a hand towel and a floor towel in the bathroom, for two people. When I asked about it I was told that there was two more in the bottom of the wardrobe, corner of them all torn and frayed, and hard as a rock. Ehy hide them in the bottom of the wardrobe? i feel I would not put up wit it at home do why would I pay money to put up wit it. The bathroom was clean as was the room in fairness. However the toilet was not flushing properly, tv old for this day and age. I thought soar view would get rid of the big old telly. All I say is thank god it was a shoppin trip, as we spent minimal time in room, and not a romantic weekend. Breakfast nice but to be told you have to wait 20 mins for a fried egg, like that was a message from the waitress to f.off, what hotel doesnt provide fried egg for breakfast. Otherwise breakfast nice. However I would not stay in the maldron again or recommend to my friends, colleagues or family.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Nothing can be faulted - basic hotel room with lovely helpful staff-- perfect for a city stay. I would stay again for definite

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

staff very friendly especially catriona on reception,very helpfull and polite the overall conditions in hotel were poor not very clean rooms,restaurant etc but in fairness great location for access to city center.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

The Maldron is very central, only minutes away from city centre. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, food was good, rooms were clean and adequate, but the car parking is appauling for a family-orientated hotel!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Good location near the centre of town. I booked late so it was quite expensive. Hotel itself is clean and functional although some of the public areas are in need of a good spring clean and the hotel could do with a bit of freshening up. Breakfast was ok. This certainly wouldn't be my first choice of hotel but, it's fine for one night.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Great Location, fab rooms , top quality service...Made our stay in Cork superb....Will be returning again and will also be booking through Roomex who have the best offers and superb service ...Overall fantasic experience from booking to stay and return !!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

The hotel served its purpose as a base. It was a little difficult to find! Staff were helpful and general areas were spotless. However, lighting in the roms was bad and decor aged ! Perfect as a base !

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Loved the room & food, excellent location will be telling family and friends to stay and to book through roomex.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

lovely friendly hotel very near town shops etc

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

over all stay was satisfactory

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Stayed here a few times so I am aware of the parking problem, so that has no bearing on the rating. The difference between the breakfast experience on day 1 and 2 was such that one would think you were in different hotels. No problem with the food as such just the supply, I made a few trips to almost complete my plate, I'm still waiting for a glass for my juice. On day 2 I really discovered what food was missing from day 1.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

Disappointed with breakfast

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff and the facilities were exceptionally good considering the total cost of the stay. The only negative comment about the hotel was that the hotel bar was similar to a creche facility at midnight. in our opinion small children should not be allowed to go in to the bar this late and at no point in time did any of the staff or management try to stop much of the running and foolishness that was going on. The entrance to the bar was through two swinging doors which we were sitting next to and up until well past midnight we had to watch a group or approximately 10-12 children horseing in and out....most of which were under 10 years of age and as young as 3-4years. It became most annoying after our third hour in the bar, otherwise the music in the bar was very good but for us it was somewhat ruined by the children and irresponsible parents.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

The location was excellent - I would highly recommend it as a bed for the night and the breakfast was fab, it was even topped up 30 mins before the end of service.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

Great location for shopping and going out - so central!! Didn't go to bar but there seemed to be a buzz around the place and the breakfast was lovely. Rooms nice - nothing spectacular but clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Bedrooms and service excellent. Breakfast not so good-small very fatty bacon, unedible prunes (very very hard)my wife likes prunes and I hate them. Only other choice was grapefruit and muesli. The breakfast was much better last time we were there.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

We had a wonderful time staying in this hotel. The staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us. The room was a fine size and not too far away from the lift. The food absolutely fab well priced. We will definately be staying here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Myself and my partner stayed at the Quality Hotel in Cork (15 - 19/02/08)and found that despite the slogan of "little things matter" they were the bits that didn't appear to matter. We arrived early and didn't expect to have our room which was fine, however on our return when the room was due to be ready the girl at reception asked the for our names, I said Ward & Aitken to which she responded "two single rooms then", a rather presumptious statement. On advising otherwise we were given the key to our double room on the 1st floor. The ashtray had cigarette ends in it, the bin had the same plus a couple of used tea bags and the bed looked liked someone had been lying on it! The view from the room was a flat roof across 10 feet or so to a rough cast wall all this through a window that did not close!! I went back to the receptionist and after some waiting was allocated another room, on teh third floor, vast improvement, a view, a window that closed. Latterly we had cause to use the glasses in the room, they were all dirty one of them actually had lip stick marks on it. I didn't call reception as I just wanted to get on with having a good break in Cork. The next day we went to the leisure pool/ sauna etc. The pool was unusable as there was a childrens swimming class in progress, the sauna was greta, the spa pool left both of us with sand in our swimming gear.... that one baffles me!! The breakfast was 1st class and absolutely no complaints, likewise the dinner in the bar the night before. Out fro the day in Cork and a trip to Cobh, returned to the hotel later on day 2 to shower and have a drink prior to going out for dinner somewhere, the glasses were still dirty, two phone calss to reception later and some 20 minutes passed before clean drinking glasses were obtained. Even the one with lipstick still had it on it!!! All of these issues and heating that only came on when you were either in bed or going out for the evening, the room was pretty cold most of the time and although the bed was good one single pillow each is not quite hitting the "little things matter! moto. Overall, Cork is a great place and would return in a minute, we would not however be rushing to book the "Quality?" hotel again!!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5