Maldron Hotel Portlaoise Togher Roundabout, Abbeyleix Road, Portlaoise

8/10.0 Based on 13 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Our Customer stayed here in March 2017

Definitely won't be back.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2017

Rooms were nice & clean. Receptionist & cleaning staff were very friendly & welcoming, however the restaurant & bar staff (2x in particular older staff), were a disgrace. The bar lady just looked miserable & never once cracked a smile. Bordered on rude at breakfast time & the restaurant manager (I assume he was) was beyond rude to three of us. We had a group of ten & we had planned to eat in the restaurant however he was that rude we left & went elsewhere. I would never stay here again. Those two staff spoiled the whole trip for all ten of us.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

We arrived very late (after mid-night) but we had no problem checking. Staff very helpful & friendly. Would stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Very friendly staff. Very central hotel. Really enjoyed our short stay and would stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Great place to stay during the Ploughing Championship 2013. Was up every morning at 6 am breakfast was ready and was out of the Hotel 6.20 am.Back in the evening for the the Ploughing Special Dinner at 8:30pm. Up to the room for a lovely hot bath and back to the bar to be entertained by a lovely folk Band. I'm looking forward to booking this hotel in 2014. Very good Hotel and nice Staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Very convenient just off the M7 motorway. Lovely lady on reception. Room was spacious, modern and clean. Breakfast was very good with everything you require only complaint would be that staff at breakfast weren't overly friendly - maybe they were under pressure or understaffed?

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

The check in was very disorganised. Rooms were not ready at midday and I asked for the room numbers as we would not be returning to hotel until midnight. I got two numbers. Our friends who were staying in hotel arrived half an hour later, room was ready but they got a totally different number. When we met up with them I gave them their room number. They range the hotel to tell them about different number and also so that they could release the room. When we returned to hotel at midnight we had to queue and were given a totally different room to what we had been given earlier. Honestly they just seemed to be totally disorganised with rooms not allocated at all. Standard of accommodation and breakfast were fine.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Nice hotel friendly staff huge rooms the only thing when asking for a glass of water at night i was told the water from my tap is ok to drink it was white but apart from that it was good

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

great hotel. very comfortable and clean. highly recommended

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We stayed at the Maldron while meeting friends in Portlaoise, we just wanted a handy hotel to put our heads down as we were eating in town. When we arrived there was no one at reception and failing to get a response from phoning the hotel we had to go looking for someone to check us in. The girl that arrived was very apologetic and helpful. Our room was clean and large, there was a basic double bed and it looked like there recently had been a single bed removed from the room. If you tried to make a cup of tea the sockets tripped. We ventured to the bar pre heading to town and again the staff were very thin on the ground. We had to wait for someone to come to the bar to serve us, we only stayed for one drink. Breakfast was really good, lots of choice all piping hot and plenty of it, this again was let down by the wait to be served. This could be a brilliant hotel if it was staffed to occupancy.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We stayed there via a last minute booking as a stopover on a long drive back to Dublin in dreadful weather. It was ideal for that purpose. Easy to find, good parking facilities, clean, well equipped rooms and a breakfast buffet with plenty of options. The staff were friendly and efficient too. Probably not the sort of place to choose if you're planning to spend much time in the hotel as it not the most scenic of locations. It's situated next to a large foodcourt in the middle of a car park by the motorway. But if you're looking for a good value, good quality, base for a short stopover or a longer break which means most of your activities will be offsite then it's ideal.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Very good .

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Stayed in the Maldron Portlaoise for the Leinster Fleadh. We had a large room which was perfect for our stay. We ate in the Stir Restaurant and the food was fantastic there. The only downside for us was the lack of comfortable seating in the bar. However the hotel was ideal with very friendly efficient staff. Would stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5