Great Southern Killarney (Formerly The Malton Hotel) Town Centre, Killarney, Co Kerry, Irish Republic, Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 52 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Great Southern Killarney (Formerly The Malton Hotel)

Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

We had a fantastic stay at the Malton. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely, beds were comfortable. The only downside was breakfast was a buffet on the weekend morning. The hotel was far too busy for this and the placing of the buffet was too awkward for people to get around. There were too many people in a small confined space. You also have to make your own toast and only two toasters. This was a downside for our stay. On Monday we had a menu for breakfast and it was much more enjoyable. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was delightful and I would go back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2016

The room although nice was a small room by comparison to other stays.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2015

Helpful staff and lovely food.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Excellent hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Spent one night in this hotel on a quick trip to Killarney. This is an excellent 4* hotel beautifully maintained throughout . If you like an old style classy hotel then this is for you. Bedroom was spotless and very comfortable. Lovely dining room with excellent food. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to stay longer next time.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Great location, great staff - could not be friendlier. "Modernised" check-in desk spoils the overall air of grandeur in the hotel. Will definitely stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Grand hotel ,gentle reminders of days gone by with high ornate ceilings and large comfortable lounges ,missing from modern glass palaces.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

beautiful hotel, food was fantastic, staff extremely helpful and friendly

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Malton lovely staff very nice , rooms run down

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

The hotel was extremely comfortable and homely. Concierge welcomed us upon our arrival. The setting is beautiful and location is ideal for any visitor to the town. we would definitely stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Driving in we liked what we saw. It's an olde world feeling with a contemporary feel inside. We received a very pleasant smile from the lady on reception. Our room with a view was ready at 1.20pm and we had not requested an early check in. The room was spacious, a bit dated but perfect. The food was exceptional, fresh, cooked to perfection and served professionally. All the workers were going around with smiles. That's anice thing to see. We'll be heading back definitely and with the kids this time.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

Our stay was very enjoyable. The hotel and it's surroundings are superb, the staff are very friendly and the food was great.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Very enjoyable stay--a home from home. lovely bedrooms ----fires lighting in lobby and bar which was most welcoming during a cold spell. Staff are top class and if you have time try the hot stone massage with Roxanne.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Wonderful hotel located in centre of Killarney, close to everything the town has to offer. Doormen, porters, maids etc. - all the old world charm yet executed with a modern flair. Great facilities within hotel, even had storeage for my bike. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast (Poached eggs Malton style are excellent). Only negative, beverage prices at bar are excessive, especially wine by the glass, we only had the one!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We had a short mid week break and found this beautiful hotel to not only meet our expectations but to exceed them. The staff were polite, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and everything we could want had already been thought of. The food is yummy. Breakfast was probably the best we have ever had. Would definitely recommend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Great Hotel . Lovely room, great facilities,friendly helpful staff. Stayed for a wedding and had a thoroughly excellent experience.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay in the Malton hotel. We were very impressed and will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Killarney. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location is two minute walk from the town center and a stones trow from the train and bus station. Loads to do in killarney and good food. Prices for eating out have come down in Ireland this last few years but alas the same can't be said for the price of drink. A car is a must if you want to explore kerry. All in all a very enjoyable break.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. The staff were friendly and the rooms were beautiful it was hard to believe that it was in the centre of Killarney it was so tranquil.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Lovely hotel, perfect location. Breakfast very good

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Upon walking into the Malton, a very lavish and well kept hotel I was expecting something great for the room we booked. Reception was fab, staff were very helpful but the room we were given was only satisfactory. Paying €150 for one night, the room was clean but as basic as they got with a small cobmi tv, old non-sound proof windows and very basic 'argos' style furniture. I was disappointd with the over all look of the room as I was expecting s lot more from the Malton hotel bedrooms. Power washing outside the window at 8am did not contribute a positive feature for us to visit again

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

The Malton is a big busy Victorian hotel, you are reminded of a grand past with myriads of staff, tennis and playgrounds in the extensive gardens, and relaxing, spacious public rooms. The room that we had was a double in the older part of the hotel and it was a generous size, very much like a suite, however the decor was a bit tired. Breakfasts were an entertaining affair with plenty of choice and we had a lovely vista over the gardens. We ate in the restaurant one evening and although the service was somewhat truculent (we arrived just before the kitchens closed), the food was good and there were some nice extra touches, we were given an 'amuse bouche' after we ordered and a refreshing sorbet. On a more negative note, our daughters had a difficulty with their door opening system and felt that the receptionist was very unhelpful. I would recommend the Malton and would stay here again, as it is right in the middle of Killarney and has a unique, characterful, atmosphere and unlike many more modern hotels I felt that you could use the public spaces as your own, and sit down with a book or a newspaper without feeling uncomfortable or compelled to buy anything.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Lovely hotel, great location, great price. No problems at all.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Really enjoyed my stay there and would definately return again. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Beautiful hotel with fabulous gardens. Service was very good. My only complaint was that it was very busy but that's expected with a great hotel!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff, over all very relaxed atmosphere and would definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

We go to the Malton every year normally for 3 nights and really enjoy our time here. The hotel as a whole is fantastic and offers very good services. Its location across form the outlet centre/train station is ideal and only 2 mins walk to the city centre. Very good services including free wifi and leisure centre. We brought our 19month old son and it is both ideal for a family stay or couples. Breakfast was included in our rates and we found the standard excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here! One thing I would say is that we have been going here as far back as it was part of the Great Southen Range and have never been offered a loyalty scheme. Perhaps this could be mentioned!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Superb hotel. Staff fabolous. Excellent weekend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Very enjoyable stay - the hotel is really nice, the room was lovely and the staff were excellent. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

We attended the hotel for a wedding and really enjoyed our stay. the rooms were lovely and warm and clean and the staff were very friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Had a fantastic stay at the Malton . Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely and very comfortable . Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. I could not fault this hotel in any way and would highly reccomend it .

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

This is a wonderful hotel!! It is ideally located approx five minute walk from Killarney's High st. The decor and ambience within the lobby and bar is beautiful. Staff presented as friendly and helpful. Best of all were the comfortable beds and bedding and a very relaxing shower.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

The staff at this hotel were extremely pleasant and couldnt have been nicer. The rooms were gorgeous with a queensize bed and very spacious. There was a great selection for breakfast with a choice of either the continental breakfast or ordering pancakes, waffles etc from a set menu provided. It is set at a great location next to the Outlet Centre and a two minute walk from the centre. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

The most common complaint from other reviewers seems to be the 'dated furniture' in the rooms and that the hotel interior does not match the expectations gleaned from first impressions of the hotel entrance and reception area. I personally thought the 'dated furniture' in the rooms is a nice contrast from the bog standard 4 star hotel in Ireland today. The only aspect I would find fault with is that I thought some of the paintwork along the corridors and doorways was sloppy. Breakfast was of good standard and there is excellent access to the leisure facilities in the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

We were at a friend's wedding some years ago and eventually got back for a break. Although only there for one night, we are already planning our next visit. The hotel is so tastefully decorated and the staff so welcoming and helpful. Lunch in the lobby was very relaxing and dinner that evening was delicious. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the grounds. A stroll here on the morning of our deperture confirmed our resolution to return for a weekend soon.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Really enjoyed our stay in the Malton Hotel which is just a short stroll from the centre of Killareny Town. Lovely and quiet room, very friendly staff, good breakfast in the mornings until 11 at the weekends with well priced and delicious food in the very relaxing hotel bar. The Hotel was extremely busy when we stayed there with two weddings on and the hotel was fully booked out but there was no compromise on the service we received. I will definately return to the Malton!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

The location of the Malton is excellent - being so centrally located. They have the added bonus of having lovely private gardens at the rear of the hotel. The dining room looks onto the gardens so there is a really tranquil atmosphere. My room was lovely - very comfortable and quiet. Downstairs there is ample room to sit and read or have a chat with other guests. All of the staff were most welcoming and helpful. I did think the price of the food was expensive so I only had breakfast in the hotel. I will stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

excellent

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

The Malton Killarney is a little touch of luxury all made affordable by Roomex. It really was a treat staying here with location so central and next door to the train / bus station. The staff were excellent and nothing proved to be a bother to them. Pool is lovely if a little tired but again could not complain. Breakfast in the mornings consists of one of the finest Buffets i have ever seen, and is served in the Garden Room, which in itself is an absolutely magnificent peice of architecture. Once again roomex delivered as they always do. Stay here you will love it.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Had a restful evening at the Malton. Found the reception staff exceptionally friendly and responsive to my needs. Ate in the bar and found the menu wide and reasonable.Breakfast was good too. Would recommend the Malton!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Very nice hotel to stay in will stay there again when in Killarney.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL AND STAFF. JUST ONE COMPLAINT ASKED FOR SPECIAL RATE TO STAY EXTR\ DAY BUT WAS QUPTED FULL PRICE FOR MONDAY NIGHT SO DIDNT TAKE. WE WEE V. DISAPPOINTED AS HOTEL WAS V. QUIET AND WE WERE IN SITU AND WOULD HAVE HAD ALL MEALS AND DRINKS THERE.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

The hotel looked lovely, the interior was stunnning and the rooms were decorated well. The staff were anything but friendly, the heating came on at the wrong times, during the day and at 11 o clock in the morning when we were heading out,The food in the pepper restaurant was only ok, steak was tough, but the service was excellent. The pool area was freezing.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Thank you so much. the staff were brilliant and really helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and we got a fantastic rate for it. Well done !

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Staff extremely friendly. The furniture in the bedrooms could do with being updated.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

The hotels location is very central and is accross from the train station. The hotel is lovely and the breakfast in the morning was plentiful except a bit limited if vegetarian. The bedroom was nicely presented and has lovely views of the gardens. The bar food was a bit pricey for sandwiches but has a relaxing atmosphere.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

The stay although a short one was very enjoyable. The close proximity to the railway station and the town made it very accessible and convenient. It can be said that the hotel is a very fine hotel with all the comforts one would expect from such a hotel. The breakfast was fit for a king and the room was just perfect. Overall a good experience and we would stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

I stayed in The Malton last saturday night. The hotel is centrally located. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms spacious and clean. The open fires in the rooms just off the main foyer created a feeling of home away from room! The breakfast was very tasty, there was a great selection in a buffet style, the availablility of the sunday morning newspapers was a nice touch. My favourite part though was sipping wine on saturday night whilst a young local man played the piano and sung.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

We stayed at the Malton's Hotel in Killarney for one night. It was fantastic - the rooms were lovely, nice & heated on that cold night.We had a meal in Peppers Restaurant - it was top class. Their leisure centre is top class. I must say our stay at the Maltons was great if only we could have stayed even another night.Well done.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Arrived to a superb reception area, top marks for the barfood,service and lounge area. Bedroom was a bit old fashioned but clean.Function room and it`s surrounding area was very impressive.Again the service and food here were excellent. Breakfast was busy, had to queue, food buffet was not complete and the tea/toast service was slow(however it was very busy that morning). I would reccomend this hotel to friends, but I would also reccomend to Hotel Management to heed my few tips and they would have an excellent hotel in a prime location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I was staying at the hotel as i was at a wedding reception. The hem of my dress came down and the staff provided me with thread etc. the breakfast the next morning was superb and there was no rush in the morning to leave the room. The only negative thing i can say is that there was a smell of cigarettes in our room. Neither i or my partner smoke so this was of an inconvience to us.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

My son and I came down to see the Rally and we found you're hotel very accomadating in so far as we had easy access to Killarney itself, we were able to avail of the hotel carparking which certainly helped that weekend and also the cost was reasonable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5