Hotel Meyrick Galway Eyre Square, Eire, Galway, Irish Republic, Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 60 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Hotel Meyrick Galway

Our Customer stayed here in August 2017

Excellent location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Beautiful hotel and great location. Bedrooms a tad old fashioned and not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Hotel was beautiful , staff were very pleasent and friendly, our room was clean and tidy comfy bed, pillows were a little flat and hard, we had the noise of an extraction unit which did disturb us quite a bit. Ate in both bars, food was very good thoroughly enjoyed it. Would stay again but would request a park view room next time.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

My Husband and I are frequent visitors to the Meyrick Hotel. Unfortunately this time we were very let down. We had not planned to eat in the hotel as we were only staying one night, however when I checked the dining room out at 9.15pm, it was closed to guests. The 2 areas that were refurbished, the dining room and the bar area were very disappointing. The décor in the dining room was, in our opinion, similar to that seen in a 'cafe' and bore no resemblance to 'fine dining'. The bar area was similar to a fancy pool side bar with its high gloss tiles and marble bar. We did speak to the duty manager, a very nice man, but as stated to him,we will not be back. It was stated that the general manager, Mr Rooney, would be in contact. To date this has not happened.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

I have to say that from the minute my wife and I arrived at the hotel, the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Rooms were very cosy and bed was extremely comfortable. My highlight was relaxing in the hot tub overlooking Galway bay/city. Very relaxing stay. Hope to return soon. Thank you to all the staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

I couldn't find fault with the hotel. Staff, room and breakfast were fantastic. Will definitely be staying here on my return visits to Galway.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff and the location was great . The room was quite large and the bed was very comfortable indeed. The only fault I could find was the lack of bottled water in the room. Over all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

This is an old hotel and as such certain things are quite dated looking. However the staff in the hotel were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The location is also superb and the breakfast was great. When visiting Galway this is my preferred hotel in terms of location, friendliness and value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Meyrick Hotel. My room was at the back of the hotel service entrance and very noisy but the hotel itself was nice.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Hotel and staff were amazing! Brilliant location. Will be back

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

We attended a wedding at the hotel and it was superb - excellent service and highly efficient staff, overnight stay and breakfast really good - only one complaint the cold water tap gave warm water during the night time! The valet car parking for €5 per night is really convenient. Overall, excellent experience and we'll be back!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

If I were travelling to Galway again, I would be tempted to consider this hotel only and nothing else. Everything about it was right. Central location, helpful staff, excellent food, comfortable room and beauty/ fitness facilities made it such an effortless stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Check in very smooth, room was comfortable with a fantastic shower. TV didnt work a maintenance technician arrived promptly to replace it with a s econd tV. Breakfast was ok if not inspiring, the room itself was quite dark and could do with a brightening up. My cutlery appeared to be in a poor state Obviously in a great location, but then so is the Radisson

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Unfortunatly when we got our room it was disapointing to say the least but when we asked to be moved we where given a room to veiw and it was perfect. Our first room was very small and to be honest seemed to be the room that the design team forgot. To be honest the staff where great and we would definitly recomend it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Nice hotel, nice staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

I stayed here the night before St. Partricks Day and I cannot recommend it highly enough. This is my third time staying in the hotel. The staff were brilliant and could not do enough. We also got upgraded to a suite. The room was amazing, very spacious and wonderfully decorated. Will certainly be back and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in Galway city centre.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Had a very enjoyable and pleasant stay in the Meyrick - our car was parked by valet and our bags taken to the room. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range fruits and cereals on offer.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Food was ok, staff ok nothing amazing but do for the night might say again unsure

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Very comfortable stay in hotel meyrick Galway. Staff were very helpfull and cortious. Breakfast was lovely and plentifull. Couldnt have asked to stay in a nicer hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Stayed at the Meyrick for one night on the 2/12/11 for our annual shopping trip it was just perfect and so central, best part for us was there was a Christmas Market just outside the door on Eyre Square which immediately put us in the Christmas spirit. When we arrived our car was parked for us which was only 5 euro for our stay, we had lunch in the bar which was amazing, staff were so friendly & helpful. Our room was on third floor, quite spacious with lovely high ceilings and had everything we needed although we did not spend much time in it. Breakfast the following morning was delicious fresh and a great start to our busy day. Would definitely stay in Meyrick and will be using Roomex in the future they were more than helpful with our booking! Carol

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Perfectly located

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

hotel stay was excellent. very helpful staff.lovely quaint room and breakfast was very enjoyable plus hotel near all shops etc.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Stayed at the Meyrick for family wedding. Everything was perfect, lovely atmosphere and well done to lovely piano player in lobby. Meal at wedding was delicious with most accommodating staff. Also enjoyed the reception for new president Michael D.Higgins on following day and top marks to the hotel for such a welcome reception where all were welcome to excellent concert by Sharon Shannon, Dolores Keane, Frankie Gavin etc and complimentary finger food. Great hotel, venue and rooms were comfy!!!! Down stairs barfood not good. Soup cold and female staff member was very rude when we complained. Soup still cold when we got new supplies!!!! didn't leave her a tip!!!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

met by friendly and helpfull staff, room well furnished and v.clean, spa excellent, only problem was the jacoussi was not working on the 28th

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Hotel was very conveniently located beside station and in the centre of Galway city, however we were disappointed at the small size of the twin room and felt it would be more suitable as a single room only. Breakfast was very good and staff were friendly which made up for our disappointment with our allocated room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

We found the Hotel to be very nice. Staff was very helpful and always attentive, the rooms were well kept and beds very comfortable. You cannot beat the location for walking around Galway. The little front bar was very comfortable and the wait staff/bartenders were very cordial and they poured a fine pint of guinness !! The restaurant served a great breakfast, we did not eat any other meal at the hotel. Downstairs in the Hotel is another bar, believe its called Fagan's, and its good craic but not sure its even affiliated with the Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Overall, our stay at the hotel was pleasant. There was an issue with the shower but once it was brought to the attention of hotel management, they were more than accomodating and moved us to another room, as well as offering us a night of free parking and indeed, a voucher for another nights stay. The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable. Both the hotel bars had a great atmosphere and the location is simply superb. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to someone looking for a good hotel in the heart of Galway.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

I found everything superb. I would totally recomend this hotel. location very good and staff excellent. Dining excellent.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic - in the heart of Eyre Square. My husband and I had a wedding there. The wedding was great - lovely food and great bar service. Despite the hotel getting the table plan mixed up and us sitting at a table with strangers it was lovely. The room was a disappointment though. Very small and poky. overlooking a dirty roof. Bathroom quite small too. Very bad value for money!! Breakfast had a choice of everything.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Contemporary classic hotel right on Eyre Square. Fantastic room with views over square. Elegant furnishings with modern twist. Beautiful marble bathroom and very comfortable large bed. Friendly and efficient staff and great bar/restaurant. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would fully recommend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We had an excellent stay at the hotel recently. Everything was perfect, even managed to get the last parking spot! Room was lovely, buffet breakfast was hot with good coffee, excellent chowder in the pub and pleasant staff! Will definitely return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

WE FOUND THE MEYRICK HOTEL MET OUR NEEDS TO OUR SATISFACTION. WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH FOOD,ACCOMMODATION &VERY HELPFUL STAFF. WE HAD A VERY PLEASANT STAY & THAT IS WHY WE ARE RETURNING FOR EASTER. THE MEYRICK IS PERFECTLY SITUATED FOR SHOPPING OR MEETING FRIENDS ETC.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Ideal location in city centre, bedroom was nice, bathroom very small, our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the back area of a late bar, this was very noisy on both nights, with both loud music and people outside, closing the windows made no real difference. Room was very warm with no heating on. On the saturday morning a refrigeration truck parked outside with it's engine running, for at least an hour, leaving at 9.30. Windows had no black out curtain or blind and was very bright in the morning. Staff were very friendly, breakfast and lunch food was very good, did not dine in hotel in the evening. There was no safe in the room. Overall very nice but did not get a good night's sleep on either night we stayed.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Stayed here on March 5th for one night with friends. Great hotel in such a central location. Every staff member we met was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. The outdoor hot tub overlooking Galway Bay was an added bonus as was the valet parking. Lovely atmosphere there in the middle of the afternoon with several people enjoying afternoon tea with a guy playing the piano in the background. Couldn't fault this hotel and will gladly stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Fabulous olde world atmosphere, sparkling clean. Warm and welcoming reception area. Outstanding staff, at reception and the waiting staff. Professional yet personal service. Loved it and cant wait to go back. Bedrooms small but comfortable. Super leisurely breakfast and caters for all tastes.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

The best price I found for a night in The Meyrick was on the Roomex website. The hotel is very central,overlooking Eyre Square & walking distance of most things.The bus station is beside it very handy for anyone travelling by bus.Unfortunately there is only a small set down area in front of the hotel,which means if it is full,you have to park your car a distance from the hotel just to check in etc.There is no on site carpark-the hotel uses one nearby at a discounted rate of 7 euro a night,but this still means a walk with bags etc. The room we got was sufficient but very small & not what I expected of a 4 star hotel.2 single beds which I haven't seen in a hotel in years-I was expecting 2 double beds when I booked a twin room,as happens in 99% of the hotels Ive stayed in.The bathroom was only small.On the upside the corridor was quiet & we got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was self service buffet.More than satisfactory.It is seved unitl 10.30am which allowed us a lie in. The bar is comfortable & modern.The carpets on some of the landings & stairs need updating,especially for a 4 star hotel. Overall the hotels location stands to it.The staff were nice & helpful.I didn't use the spa facilities so can't comment on them.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Hotel was very clean and crisp and the reception staff were very friendly and efficient and we were checked in and out in no time. Some of out party did not leave their rooms until about half 12 (check out is 12) but there was no pressure put on them to leave and that extra bit of leeway was much appreciated. The only complaint I had was the parking - we rang ahead and were told there was a few spaces but it was case of first come, first served so we had to rush in then to get a space. We then had to park on side of street, partially in the way of traffic and unload our bags as fast as we could - only to then find out they had a valet parking service and took our car in the end. So I just think the hotel should provide more information in advance of what their parking facilities are or what alternative parking is available nearby.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Things started off badly here,the room was very shabby with large stains on the carpet and a very old and worn bathroom,We asked to be moved but only one other room was available and this was worse.We arrived for check in at 3.20 but were told it would be another half hour..so they took our bags and clothes to be delivered to the room while we got a coffee.It was much later that I realised my jacket was missing.I went down to reception and there it was thrown on a chair.The plastic dry cleaning cover had been removed.On the plus side the location was excellent.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2011

Not impressed with our valentine weekend!!! Spa closed 2hrs before it should have. The receptionist very rude on arrival and thought it was funny that we had a question about the parking. Guest parking was not free we had to pay, the car park was in the city centre car park not even owned by the hotel. The room was very basic nothing special. Never going there again and would never recomend!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Hotel staff most helpful and polite. Service first class in every way. Location for shopping and entertainment in Galway superb. Had a most enjoyable stay. Old style classic hotel and kept up to date excellent in all respects.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Our room was located at back of the hotel where a nearby disco could be heard very clearly. To add to this the next morning we were woken by construction work being carried out in the bus station carpark - which was the view from our room. The room was very small and the bathroom space was very cramped. The tiles in the bathroom were far from clean - the limescale etc was clearly visable. Parts of the hotel were very dated and in much need of restoration. Overall the hotel is over priced for the quality it offers.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and had everything you need. The staff were really friendly and helpful. will definitely be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

It was obvious we got the 'cheaper budget room'. Having stayed at this hotel before I expected a much nicer room. Instead it was small, basic and shabby. There was no hot water for a shower that night, tiles were broken in the bathroom and the sink plug did not work. The room was also noisy and we could hear the next room in the bathroom. If I had to pay full price for this hotel I would have been making an official complaint on checkout. However, we still payed a substantial amount for a basic 3star room. Disappointing stay.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Rooms seemed a bit dated but comfortable. Bathroom had a malfunctioning toilet - old shower Location and exterior are the advantages of this hotel

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

Room was cold when we arrived. Location was very central. Our stay was satisfactory

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

I was very excited at the idea of staying in such a famous as well as centrally located hotel in the heart of Galway City, however was dissappointed on a couple of levels, these were the fact that the Hotel Car park was full on arrival and we were directed to a nearby multi story carpark. The hotel room ( a twin room) was very clean but was extremely claustrophoebic. The heating was on all night and the windows only opened about 2 inches outwards. This said the staff were friendly and breakfast was excellent. Finally the Gents toilets near reception had only got toilet paper in one of the four cubicles from saturday at 7 p.m. to sunday when we left at noon.(Despite the cleaning roster being updated regularly). In conclusion I would probably go back to the Meryck but would select a different type room with windows that open and adjustible heating.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

Stayed for one night. Hotel is in great location. The room was quiet and very clean, lacked natural light though. The corridors and stairways were a tiny bit shabby and required some re-decoration. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good choice was offered for breakfast. Parking is nearby and the hotel has arranged a discount with the company that runs the operation. Would stay there again without any hesitation

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

We stayed at the Merick Hotel in Galway city for a girls weekend,(40th Birthday) there was eleven of us in total. The hotel was very central been situated right on Eyre Sq we had easy access to all the shops and night life. The staff were pleasant and helpful the hotel has an old charm but the rooms were clean and well presented but having booked through Roomex.com i seemed to have a newer room than my friends who booked direct with the hotel. The breakfast is self service and very good. The Spa experience is not the best i have seen but over all a very enjoyable weekend

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

Really enjoyed my stay at the Meyrick. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Bar was a bit pricey but at least the hotel was nice and central so easy access to restaurants and bars. Breakfast was lovely and fresh & room where breakfast was set up was very impressive, staff were very welcoming and attentive. Shower in the room wasn't great but otherwise room was very comfortable. Will definitely look to stay again next time I am in Galway.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel,room was clean and spacious, bathroom was well stocked, clean and plenty of towels.Great selection of foods for breakfast and nice and fresh. I have no complaints, its lovely to see staff so well trained and pleasent. We would have loved to stay an extra night.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

I have stayed in the Meyrick before but rather that opening door to my bedroom and saying "what a lovely room" I commented "oh what a small room" and you could hear the people above walking over and back across their floor. I did mention this to reception also but the hotel was fully booked and the people above were staying with a tour group so would probably be in bed early! so I said if the walking about became a nuisance I'd be back again. I couldn't fault the hotel no other way except for the size of the room it felt like a small studio - cramped!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

Had a very enjoyable stay. Excellent location, used the hot tub and sauna, very relaxing. Ate in the restaurant, good food, excellent service, very reasonably priced. The room was of ample size, very comfortable, and the breakfast was substantial and tasty. Very happy overall. A little room for improvement in minor areas, but excellent value overall.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Beautiful Hotel, excellent stay, best location in the City!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Lovely hotel right in the centre of Galway (Eyre Square), nice rooms with modern bathroom & very comfortable beds. Small gym on the 5th (top) floor, with steam room, jacuzzi and lovely outdoor Canadian hot tub! Nice buffet breakfast included.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Hotel is in superb location with very good facilities. At Roomex prices it represented unbeatable value in great hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Hotel was really good. Room was lovely with great views over eyre square. Staff particularly at reception were extremely helpful. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Loved the outdoor hot tub. Only small downside was that the changing rooms in the Spa were very cold.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Meyrick, we were there for a relaxing weekend. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and could find no fault. we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Meyrick. To be honest i couldn't complain about one thing, staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. Our room was lovely, no complaints. Hotel Meyrick is in a superb location, i will definitely be staying in the Meyrick again, and i will be recommending it to my friends and family.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Poor service at reception. No smile, no hello, very impersonal. Told me there was no valet parking left and then gave a valet parking ticket to the lady in the queue behind me!! When we were checking out didn't ask if we enjoyed the stay, no goodbye or any other personal interaction. Just very functional, perfunctory process of checking us out. The housekeeping, bar staff and staff at breakfast were all excellent. Very pleasant and friendly, every request dealt with efficiently and with no fuss. Shame the people who trained them didn't focus on the staff giving a first and last impression! There are better hotels in a similar location for the same money.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Location Location Location. Meyrick Hotel Galway is located in the heart of Galway city on Eyre Square, next to the central park, shops, pubs, and train station. The hotel has leisure facilites that include a jacuzzi that overlooks galway city. Great Hotel, Great location.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5