Montrose Hotel Dublin Stillorgan Road, Donnybrook, Dublin 4, Ireland, Dublin, Ireland (republic Of)

6/10.0 Based on 40 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Montrose Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Excellent staff in a warm comfortable surroundings. Staff could not be nicer and more accommodating. Comfy rooms etc

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Very nice hotel at a great price. Resaurant "early bird" special was also very good with great service. It's a perfect place to stay if visiting UCD (right across the street).

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

This is our third time to stay at this particular hotel so we must be satisfied. The staff are the major asset, they are courtious, friendly and always willing to help. The quality of the food excellent and varied and we thoroughly enjoy the fare provided. The only quibble that we had was the bathroom, some of the grouting and the painting needs to be touched up. These are the only minor problems and we will be back as the hotel offers very competively priced services well done to all.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2008

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were large and clean. Had a quick meal at the bar, ordered vegetarian stir fry - got it with chicken, but that's just a small thing.The breakfast in the morning was well organised with a lot of choice. The staff (mostly polish) were friendly and professional. I can say I enjoyed it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

A very clean hotel with a very convenient location for all dealings with UCD. Room rates are very good for such a location, especially if booked with Roomex on line, which includes breakfast, full Irish as well! I always stay in the Montrose when visiting UCD for the location and ample parking.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Breakfast was particularly good, staff very friendly and accommodating. What left me feeling a bit dissappointed about our stay was that we were put into a very small room, with a tiny bathroom, not what we saw on the website at all.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

We were delighted with the Montrose and I will continue to return there when I need to go to Dublin. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are comfortable,clean and pleasant, the food is excellent, and transport into the city or to local beauty-spots like Dalkey is not a problem. And the Montrose has a wonderful knack of generating an old-fashioned relaxed atmosphere while providing everything the modern traveller needs.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

On this occasion, I stayed in room 212. It was a lovely room - very comfortable and clean. The carpet is frayed at the entrance to the ensuite though and should be replaced as it makes what is otherwise a comfortable room look shabby. I ate in the bar the evening I arrived and the food was delicious and the staff pleasant and helpful, as always. I had breakfast at 7 the following morning and, while the dining room was very busy with large groups, the service was efficient with no delays. I had a bowl of the delicious porridge I always look forward to when I stay at the Montrose. Once again, a very pleasant stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Nice hotel, friendly, helpful staff suited our needs well

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

We stayed Bed & Breakfast and found the hotel good value for money, with just a few improvements it could be a really good hotel. We had a double room which was cosy but bathroom was very cramped and the bedroom and bathroom could have done with a good lick of paint and freshening up. It was also extremely hot overnight, even though the window was open (a tilting window), so air conditioning might be something to consider in future. I think the hotel is very convenient and the staff were nice and helpful and would stay there again no problem - a bit of modernisation would make it a great hotel. Breakfast was good - nice choice and as much as you wanted, and the bacon and sausages were very tasty. They make a good strong cup of coffee and tea.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Very comfortable stay. Quiet hotel ideal for chill out while staying in Dublin. Exceptionally friendly staff. I have stayed here on quite a few occasions and intend doing so again. Lovely old world charm.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

we enjoyed our stay at montrose in dublin.hotel very clean.lovely staff and food.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

the hotel was very clean and warm. staff were very friendly and helpful. i would def use the hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

We have often stayed at the Montose and this time we found very good indeed. The staff are extremly helpful and friendly . The food was very good. Room was quiet and even though in need of modernising was satisfactory. The first time time we stayed was in 1971 and to my best memory the decor is still the same. Howveer compared with other hotels it was roomy and everything worked . Perhaps a room with a fridge would have helped

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Overall enjoyed our experience at the Montrose. Bar staff friendly and courteous. Very good breakfast and again very pleasant staff. To be honest the room was clean and fresh, with tea and coffee making facilities and mineral water. Our only complaint was the bedroom carpet, which was stained in places and the bathroom, although clean, would need upgrading. However, I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

The stay in this hotel was not worth the 54 Euros I paid per person per night. We arrived very late in the night and we were given a smoking room without asking for one. When we went back to reception we were told there wasn't any non smoking rooms and after we insisted they gave us one. The next day the water was cold and we were told the boiler had a problem the night before. Went down for breakfast at 10( it is until 10.30 am) and there was nothing left compared to the next day. There was no fruit at all, bread was scarce, and the breakfast looked as if it was in the containers for hours. Some rashers looked brown.... The next day we made the breakfast at 9 and was better. The service from the personel was okay but I will not go back there again....

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We arrived very late for our night in this Hotel. We stayed in room 228 there was a big stain on the carpet, and there were tiles missing around the bath. There were 2 hockey teams and 2 rugby teams staying in the Hotel as well and when we got to our floor there were young boys and girls sitting on the floor in the hallway. How exciting. Not great

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We stayed in the Montrose Hotel on Saturday the 29th March 2008, the staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a smoking room, even though we has specified a non smoking room,this was sorted immediately and the receptionist arrranged that we stay in a non smoking executive room. The room was very nice and overall the stay was enjoyable. The breadfast the next morning was a buffet,it was standard fare, and again the staff were very helpful. The only complaint about the hotel was that housekeeping started at 9 o clock on Sunday morning, no chance of a sleep in!. We selected this hotel for its proxmity to University College Dublin. I would stay at this hotel again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

I had my wife and child with me and I was not impressed that a bowl of plain pasta (no sauce) cost €8 and they also charged a service charge. Room was fine

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

staff very nice , rooms small and smelly

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

The restaurant and reception staff were friendly, the food was average, it was the bedroom that really left this down, there was a very foul smell in the room somewhat like bad dampness smell.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

The Hotel downstairs was lovely but the rooms were horrible. one of them smelt very damp and in the second room the shower head fell down on on of the guests during the shower. a three star hotel should have room service. we went further afield the next night to a 4 star hotel and i could not compare them and only one star in the difference...

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

very pleasant indeed lovely dinner

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

A very shabby hotel. Staff were nice but the hotel was very worn by time. Mildew around windowns, dust/cobwebs above TV in bedroom. Bedroom was a good size.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

The Montrose in Dublin is a good place to stay. Location is just outside of Dublin city but only a 15minute taxi journey in. The staff were always helpful, friendly and put them selfs out at all times of the day and night!! Rooms were of a nice size, always very clean, well set up and comfortable. The hotel it's self remains clean and tidy with plenty of staff working to satisfy the customer. The food was well cooked and presented well, a range of dishes on the evening menu and fairly evenly priced to. The breakfast was well prepared, always hot and a range to choose from. Over my 5 nights I had there I have no points to bring up or any negative comments. Well done to the staff at teh Montrose!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

This time I stayed in room 223. A nice quiet room, well kept, though the carpet had some stains from spillages. I found it difficult to sleep at night as the room was very warm, even with the heating turned off. I will stay in the hotel again as the staff are very pleasant and nice to deal with and it is very convenient for me when attending UCD.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

HEATING WAS NOT WORKING, MY COLLEAGUE FOUND HAIR IN HIS BED AND THE BAR STAFF WERE UNFRIENDLY.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Excellent value for money . Stayed at Montrose Hotel for 1 night bed and breakfast rate,lovely hotel close to city centre and for 74 euro for 2 people how could you go wrong.Well done Roomex.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Room very good size. Clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

I was well received and accomodated

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the hoetl. The staff were friendly at all times. We were very happy with the price that we paid to Roomex for the stay in the Montrose. I would not have been happy to have paid anymore, because on the downside the room was jaded and in need of repair for example. The window onto the street four floors below was broken and permanently open it would not close. The bathroom needs upgrading. We reported these problems to the hotel and they performed a temporary repair of the window. The bar and dining room were excellent and we would return to the hotel in the future.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Basic enough hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable but not much in the way of facilities and Wi-Fi was patchy. Friendly staff but the food is expensive and not that great.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

accom was fine .

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The hotel was fine except that I was told there was internet access in the room but there was not. I had to go to the foyer to check my email which was a pain.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The room which I was allocated was basic enough but the most important thing was that it was clean. I thought that the breakfast was good. I also had a couple of drinks at the bar and a meal and found both to be of a high standard. The bar staff were friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Generally our stay was quite enjoyable. We had booked a non-smoking room but were given a smoking room, however on returning to reception they were apologetic and provided us with an upgraded nonsmoking room which was very pleasant. Breakfast was quite enjoyable, however, I would not recommend dinner in the restaurant. The food is very pricey for what is on offer and a gratuite of 15% is included in the bill whether or not the service was acceptable (which in this case was rather indifferent). I would stay here again as long as the price remains competitive.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I've stayed in the hotel four times over the last two weeks. The quality of the rooms depended on the part of the hotel you stayed in. On three occasions it was good and the other below average as the shower had no hot water. Overall a typically average/satisfactory 3*** hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

1 x overnight stay 18.11.07. Double room non smoking requested. It appears that I may have been given a smokers room in error (ashtray in the room). Room was very very cold, so cold that I had to sleep in a track suit! Radiator was not working. I checked in late (11pm )and I didnt call staff to check heat as it was so late. When checking out I told receptionist how cold it had been and the reply was that the heating wasnt working, that 2 plumbers had looked at it and they werent sure when it would be fixed! Also in the room I found popsocks belonging to the last guest(?)... not very pleseant to find someone elses socks! Overall a disappointing experience.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The staff in the Montrose hotel are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are always clean but some are getting a bit shabby and could do with a make-over though I think they are probably working on that gradually. Last time I stayed there, I got a little box of chocolates and a letter from the Manager thanking me for coming back. I use this hotel as it is so close to UCD but I also stayed there over the Summer with my daughter. The food is very good - they serve delicious porridge for breakfast - really sets you up for the day.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The room was acceptable. However, I recall finding the staff rather officious, and vowed never to return...

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5