Sandymount Hotel Dublin Herbert Road, Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland(republic Of), Dublin, Ireland (republic Of)

Also known as: Mount Herbert Hotel
8/10.0 Based on 163 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Sandymount Hotel Dublin

Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

Room and beds were very clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Room temperature was just at the correct level, not too hot.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

This was my second time to stay in this hotel. Seems to have been recently renovated. Got a nice room which was clean and newly carpeted and furnished. Bathroom was newly fitted as well. Clean and fresh. Tea making facilities in the room. However the cups are black in color. Breakfast was included and was good quality and there was a good variety of hot and cold. Hotel is very close to Lansdowne Road Dart train station which means it is possible to get to Dublin city centre quickly. Although the hotel is clean and renovated it has not got a modern feel to it but it is comfortable to stay in.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

A beautiful hotel in a most convenient location with public transport almost on the doorstep. I stayed on a room only basis for this trip so can't comment on breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Hotel of choice for stays in Sandymount/Ballsbridge area. Hotel clean and modern with great atmosphere on match days. Breakfast can be a little chaotic with guests having to find their own tables.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2016

Great value, comfortable hotel close to Aviva Stadium and close to DART public transport using Landsdowne Road station. Stayed for 1 night on business at a rate of €88.16 for B&B in a twin room that was shared with a colleague. Check-in & Check-out was very efficient. The room was a little small but more than adequate for a 1 night stay with a lovely bathroom & very comfortable beds. Breakfast was tasty and had a wide variety of options to choose from. The Bar was shut for renovations during our stay but drinks were being served from the dining room so no real issue. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people visiting the Landsdowne Road/Ballsbridge area of Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Excellent location for attending events in Aviva. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms spacious and adequate for all needs. Breakfast can be very chaotic at weekends so suggest going early to avoid the rush.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Perfect location, all worked out great!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Amazing service from booking to staying. Special requests were dealt with without any bother, staff were wonderful. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was gorgeous. The staff are so friendly and capable, the service is the best I've seen in Dublin, and better than a lot of 5 star hotels. Would definitely recommend Sandymount to others. It's a lovely family run hotel, and it's plain to see that the team know what they're doing. We loved our stay!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Great location and lovely hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

Good hotel, room & bathroom appear to be quite recently refurbished in a nice contemporary style and spotlessly clean. Warm & friendly staff, excellent self serve breakfast in terms of quantity & quality that includes full Irish breakfast, fruit, cereal etc. Bedroom was at rear of hotel and was on the small side with one window that looked out to view of a wall of another part of hotel. I imagine front hotel rooms have better views if that is your preference but this was not an issue for us as we only used as a base for Dublin City centre which is a 5 minute DART ride away(Landsdowne Road Station is only a couple of minutes walk from hotel). This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

I had a very comfortable stay at the Sandymount Hotel - cosy clean room; fabulous breakfast; and the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2016

A beautiful hotel - I will definitely stay here again. The staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful. My bedroom was spotless - the bathroom was as clean on day 2 as it was on my arrival on day 1.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2016

Nice room. Quiet. Was able to get a good nights rest.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2015

The bathroom floor needed to be brushed and washed. Quite a few long black hairs on the floor. A lot of noise started outside hotel at 8:00. Couldn't sleep even after a very late night. Just left the hotel about 10 but hadn't planned to leave until 12. This occasion was disappointing.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2015

Lovely staff, nice hotel, laid back and very professionally run.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Stayed for Ireland v Poland game at Aviva right next door to stadium a couple of minutes walk from dart station. Stayed in ground floor room lighting dull for reading at night. Had breakfast and dinner at hotel very good. All staff very good. First time staying at the Sandymount Hotel and I would highly recommend it if going to Aviva stadium.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Second time staying here and we were very impressed again - friendly helpful staff and great location for the Aviva.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Our stay was very relaxing and very warm and comfortable. Food was excellent. Breakfast was great. Hotel reception were very welcoming on arrival. Nothing was not a problem at all.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

Great location, great breakfast, great value all round. A little disappointed with the room - nothing that was worth complaining about but felt the room was a little dated, bathroom door didn't close and there was only 1 socket in the room. There was a nice atmosphere around the hotel for the Ireland v Poland match the next day. I'm happy to recommend this hotel, I will continue to use this venue when I'm staying in Dublin.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2015

Very good hotel. Great location for the Aviva Stadium.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

Great location, lovely hotel and really helpful staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

Delighted with the room in Sandymount hotel. It wasn't too warm, which most hotels are. I could open the windows for air, when I arrived. Will def. come again. Great work owner and staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

The Sandymount Hotel never disappoints. Stay there regularly and always try to book it for rugby matches - need to book early as it fills up quickly! As well as an excellent location for Aviva and RDS etc, it's also great for going into town for shopping and that. And it's a very well run hotel with excellent staff. A good stay guaranteed.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Very pleasent experience. Great service of shuttle bus to the 3 Arena.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Turned down heating room roasting!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

We were there for a trip to the RDS. It was a brilliant experience such helpful staff who went the extra mile. Food in the restaurant was very good value. The room was perfect being on ground floor and very clean and comfortable. We both had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was better than most hotels of same star rating. The setting is nice and quite residential.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Most enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

The Sandymount Hotel Dublin was the ideal location for our recent visit to the City. It was easy to get to from the M50 and had ample parking. Bar food was good and reasonable also. Rooms were small but clean and adequate for a night away in Dublin. Ideally located and within walking distance to the Aviva Stadium and the Dart Station - only 2 stops to Connolly. Would definitely return.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

Nice hotel, location with good access to city centre whether it be by Dart or by Taxi. Room was clean but worn and dated, could do with updating. Breakfast was lovely and staff very nice.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

My stay was very enjoyable. The staff very helpful and polite. The food was tasty with good presentation. I would go back stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

This was not my first time at this hotel, and it will not be my last. This hotel represents great value for money, it's location is also great. Staff treated me well, the room rate with breakfast was really good value for money. Got a lovely room, spacious with all I need in it. Faultless really.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

Thank you Roomex - I wanted to stay here and you gave me the best rate in town. As always, the staff, hotel and food were great. We look forward to staying here again :)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

We stayed one night here in September as we were going to a concert in the Bord Gais theatre. The hotel is convenient if you are attending any of the main concert venues or indeed the Aviva Stadium. A courtesy bus is also available from reception to your venue (tip driver at your discretion). Hotel staff we found most friendly and the rooms were very clean. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and choice was good. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

It is definitely Dublin's bed kept secret but judging by my experience, not for long. Great location, great hotel. Service at a level expected, but not always received, from a five star 🌟. Delicious breakfast and great rate. Definitely my 1st choice for Dublin stays from here on.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

Beautiful room, comfortable and spotless clean, including the bathroom. Very helpful staff. Very good buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Would highly recommend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

Very friendly staff who were obviously enjoying their work.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Staff and food were excellent. Room a little tired but still very acceptable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Very friendly staff, good breakfast and bar service.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

The hotel, as usual was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean (ensuite was very small but functional) and the food was excelent. Will use the hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Excellent hotel with lovely staff, great food and very comfortable. The room was a little small but there was only me so it didnt matter too much!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Excellent location for Dublin south-side.Hotel well equipped and very comfortable. Staff professional, helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good - good selection buffet both hot and cold. Heated croissants delicious.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Nice hotel but the room wasn't great. Can't help feeling that because we didn't book directly with the hotel that we got one of the lesser rooms.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2014

Hotel so close to Aviva, clean and reasonable price, staff very friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

we were offered an upgrade to a suite but was very disappointed as it was just a bigger empty very cold room - we had tea & coffee provided but there was no biscuits - just don't think it was worth the money. Staff were nice and friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful,food in restaurant very good,parking great ,location A1

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

I booked a room from Roomex for the Sandymount Hotel, Dublin with breakfast at a very reasonable rate (night before Ire -v- NZ at Aviva) but was told on arrival that breakfast was not included. I disputed this but unfortunately I had forgotten the Roomex receipt and I was informed (politely) I was incorrect. We were told that we could buy breakfast for €10 each the following morning which we did. Upon returning home I checked my Roomex receipt and I was correct, breakfast was included. I rang the hotel on the Monday and after a little investigation they concurred when I provided them with the Roomex reference number. Since my phonecall, the Sandymount Hotel, Dublin have indeed accepted that a mistake was inadvertently made on their behalf and have very kindly forwarded me a voucher for 20 euro to cover the cost of the 2 breakfast. I have stayed at the hotel a number of times and always found it a pleasant place to stay in a ideal location and with a nice bar and good food. 4 stars.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Stayed here the night before the Ireland -v- All Blacks Rugby Match. We were pleasantly surprised. Stephanie, in reception, had a great welcome for us. I thought our room (234) would be noisy as it faced the front of the hotel and was on a busy corridor, but it wasn't. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Although the room wasn't 5 star standard, it was clean and comfortable with all the essentials and plenty of hot water in the bathroom. The bar is lovely and the food superb, the pizza was delicious! There was a good variety of well cooked food for the buffet breakfast and plenty of everything. The best thing about this hotel is its staff - they were friendly and helpful and made us feel as if we were more than just a number on a busy weekend. Of course, the price was good too. The hotel is convenient for town as well as for the Aviva, RDS, Bord Gais Energy Theatre and the O2. I will certainly stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Stayed here to attend a rugby match at the Aviva stadium, the location couldn't be better, room was spacious and clean.The breakfast was plentiful but the serving area very a bit too compact. Would def. stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

My stay at the sandymount hotel was sub standard and very poor value. I specifically stayed at this hotel for the Dublin marathon 2013 as did over 50% of the guests did that weekend however the hotel staff and management were totally oblivious to this. To say it was a shambles is an understatement. IF YOU ARE DOING THE DUBLIN MARATHON DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay. Room very nice ,comfortable bed and everything very clean. Breakfast excellent ate to much! Overall I would recommend this hotel. Free parking. Staff very helpful. Definitely stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

The first thing I noticed was the very friendly receptionist, very warm and i felt instantly relaxed, not many hotel staff have such qualities. The hotel itself is very nice, it has a homely feel about it. The food was good. The only negative comment is that some of the breakfast staff are a bit dosey, not rude just not awake. A smile instead of a grumpy face works wonders. Overall I'm definitely going to stay there again. It's also right beside the Aviva which is handy.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Lovely Hotel in a great location. Very Friendly staff and room was good and clean . Cant ask for more

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Great location, staff super let us check in early. We asked for a room near reception and got it no problem. Food excellent and great value. We ate there both days and really enjoyed it. Room was spotless and bed very comfortable. Altogether a fab stay and would recommend it without hesitation.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Excellent welcome at reception and very friendly dining room staff

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Excellent location. Free parking on site wonderful. Staff professional, helpful, friendly. Breakfast very good - good selection of quality freshly prepared food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Excellent service provided. Stayed for one night. Lovely room, friendly service. Very convenient location. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends and family.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding at a different venue on Saturday. We requested an early check in to change into our wedding gear as we had travelled. This was no problem even though it was the bank holiday weekend.It was also no trouble to get a fast and very nice sandwich before our taxi arrived.The room was clean and had all the facilities you need. (even if looking out on rooves and another bedroom wing.)The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room is very pleasant overlooking a nice garden. The hotel hosted a BBQ on the Sun for the wedding guests. we didnt stay for that but our son did and said the food was fab.All in all a very satisfying experience.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Hotel is located in beautiful area in Dublin 4 and very near RDS and Aviva with regular DART train to centre. Very comfortable hotel and service was excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

We had another very enjoyable stay at the Sandymount hotel last weekend! We were in Dublin to attend the Michael Buble concert in the O2 and we availed of the hotel Shuttle bus to get us there. When we arrived I asked the receptionist if we could have a room towards the front of the hotel as the windows are large and could be opened to let in some air from the beautiful heatwave we in Ireland are experiencing at the moment. As usual the receptionist was more than helpful and we got a beautiful large spacious cool room. The staff as always were helpful in every way! Nothing is a chore to them - from the front desk to the bar, restaraunt,the porters etc are friendly and helpful! We had a lovely relaxing two night stay, we ate in the bar both evenings as the food and service was excellent and hating leaving on Sunday morning! We will be back - again!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2013

Not the warmest of welcomes and breakfast quality was poor. Location is ideal although.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Very happy with the room, and the staff were excellent. The irish breakfast however was poor, with there being very little choice and the scrambled eggs looked as if they had been there for a long while

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

The Hotel is ideal well located for extremely friendly staff and excellent breakfast

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Very clean hotel, in a great location. Food (room service) was delicious and arrived fresh and hot. The reception staff were most helpful, friendly. I will definitely return to stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

We stayed on Holy Thursday night. The hotel is lovely, a great location, it's nicely furnished, the staff are friendly and helpful. We upgraded our room to get an Executive Room - this was spacious, nicely 'kitted out' with all we needed - great value for the €15 extra we paid. Where we had breakfast was a lovely room - a nice view of the garden. The breakfast was delicious - a great selection of hot and cold dishes, the cereals and fruit were all lovely and fresh, the hot food looked and tasted as if it had just been cooked, unlike some hotels where such food can look and taste that it's been prepared hours in advance. Basically, I'd stay here again and I'd be happy to recommend it as a destination to stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Good location for the IPA. 5minutes to beach,great for an early morning run. Llovely area.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Comfortable, friendly and well located near Lansdowne Road DART station. I would recommend this hotel to friends and will be staying here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Very enjoyable ,helpful staff and very close to Landsdowne stadium and railway link to central dublin. I was there to wacth Ireland play,and the hotel is very close to the ground and after a night game the hotel is ideal instead of waiting in a large crowd to quene for transport links to other parts of the City. The Room was clean and breakfast very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

having previously stayed at this hotel in a beautiful room i must express my disappointment at my recent stay.the room was quite small compared to the previous visit and the bathroom was no bigger than the ensuite in my own house and could only be described as grubby,badly needs an upgrading.location perfect though being charged e5 each for a 3minute shuttle drive to the o2 was a bit over the top.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Very pleased with stay in this hotel in general. Be careful if using sat nav, my tom tom could not find it, but google maps on the phone did. It is really close to Landsdowne stadium if going to a match less than 10 minutes walk. Print directions in advance just in case. Car park facility is good and free which is great. Front desk staff lovely very welcoming, Rooms are fine quiet large, could have done with rads on when we arrived as it was quiet cold but when I turned them on it heated quickly. We were at front of hotel and there was not a large amount of passing traffic but I suspect the back would be even quieter. We used the bar and it was good, reasonably priced for Dublin and staff were excellent. We did not eat there but lots of people were and it looked very good for Bar Food. Breakfast was a buffet type with plenty of fruit, cereals and the typical frys. Only complaint here was the staff could be a bit more attentive and do less talking to each other. Also the croissants should be covered as they seemed to be attracting flies. Bacon should be cooked more but in general fine. Again check out excellent and really the Bar and front desk staff are lovely. Including complementary papers really nice touch. I will definitely stay again its top value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Loved the room and staff were so friendly. Could not fault it.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Its location close to the city centre, The O2, Bord Gais Energy theater, the RDS and Aviva Stadium is great. Room was very comfortable and the food in the Bar and restaurant top class. Free Wifi and parking were the small touchs that make this hotel stand out among the other hotels in this area of Dublin. The staff were very helpful aswell and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet location close to all the attractions Dublin has to offer.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

This hotel was comfortable and the staff were very accommodating. On arrival I asked for a desk height TV instead of the one mounted high on the wall. Within a very short period this request was acted on and a temporary TV installed in the room. The room was comfortable and all in all there was a very good feel to the welcome given.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

I stayed in the Sandymount Hotel for college and it was just what I needed. Nice and relaxing.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Hotel was good value.busy that weekend with some German fans still n Dublin. When u walk between corridors the floor level changes si be prepared. Breakfast good and staff very friendly.hotel located near the dart and easy access to city centre. Very good value compared to other hotels .

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

Our stay was enjoyable friendly staff very clean hotel and good nights sleep

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

I extremely pleased with my stay in the Sandymount. The room was well propotioned with everything in it that I needed including tea and coffee making facilities and a good selection of TV channels. The beds were comfortable and the hotel itself was quiet with very little noise outside. The complementary WiFi and parking were a definite plus especially in this part of Dublin and the staff at both the reception and the restaurant were both very pleasenat and helpful. Breakfast itself was lovely with a good choice of cereals, cold and and hot food. Overall I would recommend the hotel and will definitely stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Had wonderful time mostly due to Donegal wining Sam back (up Donegal) The hotel was wonderful, very clean, Staff very pleasant and efficient Garden was beautiful tranquil and relaxing. food most enjoyable and atmosphere was lovely and chilled. Would highly recomend it.P.S Jimmy's winning matches Jimmy's winning matches Jimmy's winning games, Jimmy brought Sammy up to Donegal again. UP DONEGAL.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay to see Robbie Williams at the O2. Staff were friendly efficient and courteous at all times. The room was superb with cleanliness top class. We had dinner before the concert and the food was perfect not long to wait and a varied menu. Breakfast was great too with anything you could ask for available. Will definitely be recommending the hotel to friends and family and I will be back again as the short walk to the O2 makes it an ideal location, away from the busy streets but yet still close enough for all amenities.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

The hotel room was very small and the double bed was small and hard. The plug in the bath didn't work so the water seeped out while i was in the bath. There was a lot of noise as a group of young teenagers from Italy were on our floor and were very noisy. The breakfast was plentiful but cold even though we were eating it at 8 am

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Great hotel! Super location

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

From the moment we arrived at The Sandymount Hotel everything was perfect for our stay. It was a lovely sunny day and we decided to have our lunch outside which was no trouble for the waitress even though she was up and down steps with our food. The room was lovely and bright and the bed was really comfortable and the power shower was a great pick me up after a hectic night out!! The buffet breakfast was second to none plenty of choice and lots of fresh food which was replaced regularly, very friendly staff definately be back again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

The Sandymount hotel is a superb hotel to stay in and especially the reception staff are so friendly. the bar food is gorgeous and such comfortable rooms to just relax and have a coffee. the on site parking is a major plus. I have now stayed 3 times at the hotel and certainly will be back

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

great hotel, great staff

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

We've stayed in the Sandymount Hotel for the last 4 years for the Dublin Horse Show. It is a great location near the RDS which is about a 10 mins walk. It is also a very quiet location. Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable and the staff could not have been more helpful and were friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the secure,free parking is brillant. The breakfast was lovely and we also had the evening meal, which was very reasonably priced and the portions were very generous. We will definitely be staying again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Very convenient to RDS for Horse Show and great breakfast

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay when we attended a Bruce Springsteen concert.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Lovely staff, Shower head was broken asked for this to be repaired on arrival but alas it wasn't but we were provided with another room to shower in the next morning, Rooms were too warm, Breakfast lovely

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2012

Was delighted to get the room through Roomex cheaper than the hotel's "best rate". The room was OK, not as modern as expected. The shower was either extremely hot or cold. Buffet breakfast was OK, but the fried eggs were still a bit raw. Staff very nice and helpful, plenty of parking and great location.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Very friendly staff. We got up graded room because we were repeat customers. Breakfast was excellent on both mornings

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Only stayed one night, room ok, clean and everything we needed was there. Bathroom could have done with updating. Enjoyed a meal in the bar and breakfast was excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

The room was clean and well laid out. We had a very plesent stay. The breakfast was good with excelent service. I would happily stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Location, staff, rooms, service, attention to detail, friendliness, all top quality at Sandymount Hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Comfortable welcoming hotel ideally located in Ballsbridge.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Excellent hotel in great location for matches or for the dart into town. Staff were friendly and food and atmosphere was terrific.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

The hotel is in a very convienient location, it is clean and comfortable but quite basic. The price I paid with Roomex for 3 people bed and breakfast was much more reasonable than the price the hotel quoted me. The staff are friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

hotel ok,got a room down stairs from reception, never like that,room itself clean,ok for one night.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

everything was good. food was a little pricey but everything else was very good. very close to the RDS which is what i wanted. will definitely stay again if i am in the area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

This is a great Hotel, even tho it was very busy staff very professional and frieldly. I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Location was perfect. Rooms fine. Service was very poor. Not enough staff. Long wait for everything. Seemed not to be able to cope with the numbers they had. Food ok when you eventually got it.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

we were attending the neil diamond concert at the aviva, so it was great getting a hotel so near. we had a very comfortable stay at the sandymount. the staff were friendly, the room was lovely, what more could one want. i would recommend the hotel without any hesitation......

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

A very comfortable hotel in a very good area. Peaceful surroundings and near dart.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Room very small, Breakfast cold, Staff very pleasant

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Didn't look anything like the photos on-line. Room smelled of stale smoke and a little shabby. Staff very pleasant, breakfast good.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Pros: Perfect location for the Aviva Stadium.Parking included in the price. Cons: Breakfast was disappointing, little alternative to the Full Irish. The radiator in our room didn't work but the receptionist was very helpful and brought a replacement. Poor quality shower gel/shampoo was a bit of a let down. Overall a nice hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

bar and restaurant was very cold and the food on the first night was not good. the last night we had the food it was very good, so maybe the chef was different. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, Staff very friendly, great location to stay for a weekend.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Lovely comfortable hotel, in a very convenient location. Hotel is rated as a 3 star, but the service, quality and cleanliness of the rooms, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff should warrant this charming hotel a higher rating. Good food and bar facilities are an added bonus. I would definately stay her again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Prompt check in but double room very small and ensuite tiny. Would have complained if we had paid top price for the room but got a good deal. Breakfast very good but would be reluctant to stay again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

we really enjoyed our stay at the mount herbert,great location,very comfortable,very friendly staff you would never think there was nearly two hundred bedrooms as it maintains a small hotel feel, would definetly stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

We reaaly enjoyed our stay at Mount Herbert Hotel. We were in Dublin for a concert in the RDS and the hotel is within walking distance which was great. Check in was very quick even though the hotel was busy. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean which is always a big plus. It is a beautiful hotel and I would reccomend it to anyone looking for some where to stay for a concert. The food was really good and breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel. We will be staying there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

Stayed here when we went to Paul McCartney at the RDS. Enjoyed the stay the room was lovely had breakfast delived to the room also very nice. The staff were very friendly, helpful and pleasant.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

Perfect hotel for a short break to see a concert at the nearby RDS.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Pros... Room and hotel was clean. Good variety at breakfast. Staff friendly. 5 min walk to Dart station and stadium. Great value. Cons... Difficult to locate room in maze of corridors. Plug missing in sink. Would like a bar of soap. Keycard didnt work in door, long walk back to reception to fix.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

lovely food, comfortable warm rooms, very friendly and helpful staff!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

great location, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. room lovely, warm, big, quiet. great variety fo rbreakfast, complemenatary newspaper. taxi rank nearby. nice lounge/bar area

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

I recently stayed in the Mount Herbert Hotel Dublin. It is in an ideal location as it is just a 2 minute walk from the nearest dart station and this means that you can stay out a bit from the hustle and bustle of a loud city while yet just being minutes away from it! The breakfast there is self-service and has a wide range a foods to choose from to suit everyone. There is free internet access to guests. Also, there is a T.V. in each room with a wide range of channels. However, the the bathrooms within the rooms are a bit on the small side and are quite basic. The staff are very helpful and it is overall a excellent 3 star hotel. I will be returning here no doubt!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Nice friendly staff . Good bar food. great parking

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2008

On business in D4 area and hotel is ideally located. Hotel car park a definite asset. Staff helpful, friendly and professional. Good breakfast, overall excellent value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

i have stayed in this hotel before so thats the reason we stayed again. it is so convenient to dart and rds. the hotel is nice and quite, i was in a three single bed room, the beds were very comfortable. i slept really well, nice peaceful surroundings. I met the owner of the hotel, who was very pleasant also spoke with members of his staff. We eat in the bar, and the food was very tasty. All in all, I will be back to stay in the near future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Most welcoming

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

Good location. Room was small in size and could do with modernising, although it was very clean and functional. Sound proofing was very poor and one could hear most activity on the adjoining stairs and halls.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

I BOOKED 2 ROOMS FOR 1 NIGHT IN SEPT FOR MY SON HIS DAD AND HIS 2 FRIENDS.THEY WERE GOING TO A CONCERT AT THE RDS AND I WANTED THEM CLOSE TO THE VENUE,WHICH THIS WAS..THE ROOMS WERE SPOTLESS,THE STAFF WERE LOVELY AND EVERYONE WAS MADE TO FEEL WELCOME.WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN...

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

friendly staff,room spotless+BATHROOM AND A EXCELLENT BREAKFAST. THANK YOU ROOMEX

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

I stayed here for 1 night on Business. All was fine - staff very helpful, breakfast good & public facilities good. Room was OK - fine for the 1 night, but a bit difficult to get to if you are dragging heavy bags. Good location, particularly for the DART. Good for parking also.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

On arrival at 9pm we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who handled our check in very efficiently and gave the welcome news that food was available in the bar until 10.30pm. Good choice of food on offer and reasonably priced for the location. The lobby and bar areas have a modern but welcoming feel. The hotel is an amalgamation of several properties and as such the route to most bedrooms is like a rabbit warren. The bedroom and en suite were clean and suited us for a one night stay but were dated which given the history of the hotel was not an issue for us. Breakfast was served buffet style and looked inviting. Tea, coffee and toast were brought to the table by the waiting staff. (we recently experienced a 4 star establishment where having queued for breakfast you had to queue again to make your own toast and collect coffee). Breakfast was included in our rate from Roomex but for those on a room only basis vouchers can be purchased at reception for continental or Irish breakfast at 10 and 15 euro respectively. Another very helpful receptionist gave us excellent directions for walking to an appointment close to the RDS but allow a few extra minutes to the estimated time as we were caught on both walks by the closure of the level crossing at the railway line. I would have no problem returning to this hotel if I needed accommodation in the area in the future.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Really enjoyed our stay here. it was very close to the RDS for a concert we were going to. I would def stay here again. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Very enjoyable stay. Very clean and staff were extremely helpful and polite. We stayed one night on business trip and night out in Dublin. Short taxi ride but within walking distance from City Centre, clubs and bars, weather permitting. Will book to stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

standards everywhere in this hotel were as usual very good. Very welcoming staff, good food, good parking facilities. Great location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

I had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at Mount Herbert Hotel for the second time. Great location on quiet tree lined residential street with easy access via walking or public transportation to all Dublin has to offer. Service most friendly and efficient, with check out a breeze!! Very attractively decorated refurbished hotel lobby, lounge, pub and restaurant. Rooms small but quite comfortable and reasonably priced. I would defintely stay at this hotel again any time I am visiting Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

GOOD FOOD GOOD WINE GOOD STAFF NO SMIRNOFF TOTAL LET DOWN ENJOYED OUR STAY

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

very good, very reasonable... staff very friendly.. no complaints whatsover

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Room was very small but served the purpose. Will use the Hotel again. Breakfast very good located very close to DART rail transport providing easy access to central Dublin.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

We were in Dublin for the Bruce Springsteen concert and stayed at this hotel. On arrival staff were very friendly and we were allocated our room very promptly. Room was small but very clean and sufficient for our stay. Checking out was again dealt with very efficiently, no queuing, hitches etc. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

We choose this hotel as it was near RDS arena for Bruce Sprinsteen Concert. We were very disappointed with the size of the room. In my opinion it was a single room with a double bed thrown into it. When you walked in the door you were on top of bed. There was no space around the bed at all and my husband kept hitting his head of the flat screen tv on the wall as he is 6ft 1". The room & bathroom were very clean but this could not be appreciated as we had no space to enjoy the room. I did tell them i wasnt happy about the size of the room, girl on reception just apologised and said she would pass it on. location was fine but good is taking out of it when accomodation not right.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Hotel was perfect for a RDS concdert - 5 mins walk away. Room was good, not huge but had a double and a single, had tea/coffee making facilities and was clean. Checkin was quick and efficient. Only downside was the service in the bar area - It was very busy but the food took way too long to arrive. And even service for drinks was poor. Overall a good stay and perfect for events in RDS or Landsdowne

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

We were a bit late arriving and rang ahead. Very friendly receptionist reassaured us. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Service overall was likewise and I would recommend a stay at this hotel which we felt was terrific value

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Lovely hotel, in excellent location. Quick check-in - Room clean & comfy. Reception helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Usual first class service from all staff....just one exception this time...fire alarm sounded at 4.30 a.m....no staff members around to tell us what was happening.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Room was basic but clean.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Many thanks to all staff (reception, bar and dining room staff)at the Mount Herbert Hotel for making us feel very welcome from the minute we booked in, to the time we left. We were just staying for one night as we were attending a business event locally. The location of the hotel is ideal with good parking facilities. We were able to leave car safely parked in hotel carpark which was great. On entering hotel, you were met with a nice homely atmosphere. The bedroom was splendid, big bright and roomy with everything a visitor would need. The breakfast was very good as you could help yourself and eat as much or as little as you wanted! We will definitely come back to stay at the Mount Herbert in the future and hope to have a longer stay the next time. All in all our one night stay at the Mount Herbert only cost €86.20 which included breakfast and was great value. Many thanks to all.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Great Location, very tidy hotel. Staff very helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Excellent location, friendly staff, clean well appointed rooms.Good food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Check in / room / breakfast all fine. A small problem arose when we returned to the Hotel having had a meal out and requested some drinks to find the bar was closed. A compromise was reached and we were served some drinks in our room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

The Mount Herbert is a most plesent place to stay. The rooms are fine, the bar food good and the staff friendly and helpful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

We stayed in the Mount Herbert on business in February this year and as usual found the hotel to be excellent. We have stayed here a number of times and to be honest the hotel is getting better and better following it's recent refurb. The staff are friendly and accomodationg and the breakfast is lovely. Nothing is too much trouble for The Mount Herbert and we will be booking it for our next stay in Dublin.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Great location. Friendly staff. Car Parking. Rooms recently refurbished. Upgraded breakfast menu with more choice.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Nice hotel with an excellent rate from roomex.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

I stayed one night and enjoyed it thoroughly. Most of the hotel inside has been renovated to a high modern standard. Excellent bar, excellent food, great breakfast and friendly staff at a great price. The room was smallish - but then it was a single and was clean and comfortable. Recommended.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Hi there, myself and my fiance stayed at Mount herbert Hotel last friday night. We found the service great, the staff were all very friendly. The rooms were lovely and spacious& the food in the restaurant was delicious!! We'd definitely return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

We stayed in room 550.We actually enjoyed our stay at the hotel except for the toilet/bathroom where there was water dropping from the ceiling. We came from Cork to Dublin because we had an appointment at the British embassy on Friday at 10.30am prompt so we had to check in a night before. The room was very clean and tidy.It's a pity we couldn't wait to have breakfast before we left.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Nice Hotel Good facilities

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

breakfast was appalling and so were staff at breakfast, room was freezing and very disappointing.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

very enjoyable stay, receptionist, anna, made my wife and i very welcome, some of my wifes family joined us for a not expensive and well presented meal ( excellent wine @ E19 a bottle), they stayed for an enjoyable meal while i walked to the village for a few pints with friends and my relations. The room was tidy and clean, we will revisit.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times now. Great location for sports events, and the recent renovations have made a good hotel into a lovely hotel. Great value for money. Lovely foyer and dining room. Nice bedroom. Generous breakfast.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

We had a lovely stay at the Mount Herbert Hotel, the room was very small but over all very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

I was very satisfied with my stay at this Hotel as it was clean and convenient to where we were going. I would stay here again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

lovely old hotel. staff very friendly. room very warm,clean and comfortable.big hot breakfast in am. very convenient to rds.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Friendly, bright, clean, good food, what else is there to say. We'll be back. Thanks.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

very good location and very good price considering its in Dublin city. We stayed there twice, once for a concert in the Point and the other in the RDS and both were very accessible from the Mount Herbert. 24 hour room service was also much appreciated at 4am!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Very comfortable room but small, nice hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Excellent choice of hotel. Staff very helpful. Dining area was under refurbishment but staff went out of their way to make up for this unavoidable closure and the food in the bar was more than adequate. Rooms were small but clean and we would have no trouble at all in recommending this hotel to anybody. We are in our 50's so there was no great need to sample the nightlife in the area but when we did wish to get out and about, Sandymount and Ballsbridge were on the doorstep. Dart train service is only minutes away also.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

very nice hotel kind staff i would recommend the place to others

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Enjoyed the stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at your hotel - I carry out business in the area and I find the location to be extremely convenient. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I will be sure to return to this hotel again on my next visit to the area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5