Treacys Oakwood Hotel Shannon Airport Road,town Centre, Co. Clare, Shannon, Ireland(republic Of), Ireland (republic Of)

Also known as: Oak Wood Arms
8/10.0 Based on 33 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Treacys Oakwood Hotel Shannon

Our Customer stayed here in February 2017

Friendly staff. Warm atmosphere. Excellent facility with ample parking and wonderful breakfast. The Oakwood is superbly located for exploring the region.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Windows were not great too much noise from outside.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel.The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. The room I stayed in was extremely spacious and the bed was large and comfortable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

As always: friendly reception, clean comfortable room, excellent breakfast. This time we also had the sunday carvery lunch.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Lovely traditional hotel, comfortable beds, great location suitable for both business and leisure stays.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

a most pleasent stay warm comfie nice staff room was perfect could not ask for better

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Oak Wood Arms. The room was clean and comfortable with a very spacious double bed. The complimentary tea and biscuits were much appreciated. The breakfast with cereal, fruits, fry and pastries kept us going all day. The staff were cheerful and helpful as always. We have stayed here before and, at the excellent rates available, will be back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Lovely clean and comfortable hotel, friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast! Lots of lovely memories in this hotel. Will be back.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

This was our second time staying here and the hotel is very nice,we had to crank up the heating in the room but it heated up fast enough.We got food to the room and couldn't complain, the service is always very good here.There was no noise in the corridors at night and had a great nights sleep.we had to check out early and the offered us breakfast from 5 in the morning which was an added bonus as we thought we would have to buy at the airport. i would recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

The hotel room was very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I would definitely recommend the hotel as it represented very good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

I arrived late and the staff were very helpful. Good size room, warm and comfortable.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

I had a brief stay at the Oak Wood Arms hotel. The accomodation was to a high standard with tea and coffee making facilities in the room. An excellent Irish breakfast was served in the morning which was included in the price. Overall, the hotel represented very good value for money and I would definitely stay there again if doing business in Shannon.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Stayed here before and would go back again. Cheerful staff, great breakfast and we like the airport history decor. The room was clean with a good tv.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Though only for one night, I rate the hotel as a superb experience. The room was comfortable, staff were pleasant, food good and for the business traveller there was only a small €3 charge for no-limit broadband use.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

The staff at this hotel were friendly & helpful. The rooms were very old fashioned but clean & tidy. Hotel kept my parents car as we were going abroad for the weekend with no charge. Overall good value for money but rooms & dining room need to be upgraded

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. Our room was about 3 minutes away, making it ideal to go back to for a bit of peace( it was actually the very last room in the hotel) You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, all in all a very nice stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Good hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2009

Although we were there just on an overnight after a wedding my husband and I were bowled over by the reception we received at the Oak Wood Arms Hotel. The receptionist was very friendly in an natural way - not gushing!! She helped with very good directions to the hotel where the wedding reception was to take place. The weather was awful so it was a delight to walk into a lovely warm environment on arrival and in the bedroom. The bedroom was perfect and included tea making facilities - a must for me. The value for money for this facility was great. The morning staff in the dining room were bright and cheerful, the breakfast A1. To add to that we got talking to a couple of locals who dropped in for a light breakfast and they were highly entertaining - the iceing on the cake! It is a hotel I would highly receommend to family and friends. The room was very tastfully decortated for the Christmas season.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Comfortable - sink in bathroom not emptying. Poor light in room

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2008

We were in Shannon for a family get together and chose to stay at the Oakwood Arms Hotel as it is in a central location. We enjoyed our stay in the Oakwood Arms. The rooms & en-suites were spotlessly clean and tidy as was the rest of the hotel. There is a lovely restuarant / breakfast area with an excellent variety of hot & cold foods available. There is also a large pub grub menu available in the hotel bar which we also sampled & enjoyed. The staff are very friendly and eager to help ensure your stay is as pleasent as possible. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone & we will certainly returning to stay again for the next family get together.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

We stayed here in October and our room was lovely and spacious, it had a big television, the breakfast was lovely, the hotel had a good atmosphere about it. Close to the airport, would stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

My husband and I stayed over night at this hotel after an evening landing at Shannon airport, and en route to Connemara. Although it is close to the airport, you need a taxi to get there, (and to find the hotel for you).We thought the hotel was extremely good. The building is an interesting one with numerous conference rooms, plenty going on and lots of people about. Reception/check in was excellent, the room was lovely, spacious and clean and very quiet (which was nice after travelling). Breakfast was averagely good amd the staff were very pleasant. We would certainly stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We booked into Oakwood for Sat and Sunday , and got a better deal through roomex then direct with hotel. Rooms are a good size with a bigger than average double bed and plenty of room for a travel cot without feeling squished. Bar is lovely and friendly , we had sunday lunch at the carvery which was sold out by 2.30 as was so popular, but chef made us roast chicken dinners very promptly and it was gorgeous. Hotel is walking distance to Shannon shopping centre and taxi ride from airport and pubs and restaurants in Bunratty . We also went for dinner in Bunratty in Durty Nellys definitely worth a visit! Breakfast was very good and waiter on very attentive and pleasant. Check in and out was very straighforward as paid direct to roomex Ample free car parking and a great base to stay for exploring Co Clare .!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We had a wedding there-the room was grand but a little cold- Breakfast was nice

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Large hotel lacking atmosphere Friendly helpful staff Comfortable room. Although a non smoking room the air felt stale

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Such a comfortable well run hotel with friendly efficient staff on the whole. The room was very welcoming being bright, airy, very clean and top marks for providing an iron and an ironing board. The bar food was tasty and reasonably priced, with a mixture of locals and guests eating there. The resteraunt offered an 'early bird' menu which was also keenly priced. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive away from the airport, in a great spot to be so convenient to the airport yet far enough away to enjoy ordinary surroundings - including a shopping centre right across the road from the hotel. Another big plus is that the hotel is right next to what is the nearest petrol station to the airport - so handy for those needing to fill up a hire car prior to return. Would highly recommend this hotel and especially at the low rate offered by Roomex which was incredible value.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

The Oak Wood Arms Shannon is a well-maintained comfortable hotel with a classic decor that gives it a nice warm character. It includes a gym and sauna/steam room facilities. To list the few small negatives that resulted in a 'Very Good' rather than a 'Superb' rating: I stayed by myself but I would have rathered one double bed rather than two singles. The grapefruits segments were slightly off on two mornings. I used the sauna and steam room twice and the sauna didn't appear to heat on the second occasion. They should also state the time when the early bird menu in the restuarant is finished. Overall, however the standard was good, the staff were friendly and I would recommend the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

the hotel is extremely clean, well maintained and very comfortable. with Sauna, Steam room and a gym, all free of charge made my stay that little bit more enjoyable.. all staff were very helpful, and i have already recomended to friends flying there. i also found it was cheeper when booked through the roomex site compared to the standard hotel room price. overall an enjoyable experience

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

The hotel was efficiently run and the facilities were fine. The main restuarant was rather expensive so we ate in the bar. I used the business centre to print off an airline boarding pass, which worked well and was a free service. We were just using the hotel as a convenient place to stay near Shannon Airport and for this it was fine. For people looking for a large hotel near to the airport it was very satisfactory.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

good, clean room- the hotel reception was helpful and dependable for my much needed wake up call.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

From check-in to check-out everything was perfect - loads of parking, food was delicious and the rooms were spacious, very clean with comfy beds. If we were staying in Shannon again we would definately stay at the Oak Wood Arms Hotel again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Having been in Ireland 4 days for a Wedding, and having a fairly early flight back to England, our overnight stay at the Oakwood was a welcome break. Extremely convenient for Shannon Airport and, after a false start, easily found. Our room was clean and tidy and the service was good. Unfortunately for us there was a private celebration going on in the dining area and the people were extremely noisy, which did little to make our stay peaceful and quiet, but not the Hotel's fault. You cannot choose your clientele.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Our hotel trip was very good however on our arrival we were informed that our booking was cancelled. When I queried this I was told that the booking and cancellation were both made at the same time. Luckily for us the hotel was not full so we got a room and enjoyed our stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5