Ocallaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin 2, 8/10 Merrion Street Lower,, Dublin 2,, Ireland

Also known as: OCallaghan Davenport Hotel
8/10.0 Based on 24 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Ocallaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin 2,

Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

Room had recently been renovated- very nice though tv/media centre was left un connected. Breakfast was a disappointment, staff ignored me on arrival as had to wait to be seated, offered coffee on sitting down, had to request it again by trying to get staff attention - my request for a milky coffee not fulfilled given a pot of black coffee. I was not offered a breakfast menu, then was glad on hearing another gentleman state this was his 5th time ordering an omelette, buffet choice was severely limited. Lots of staff but poor service!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2017

In a good location, hotel is comfortable and clean.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

We had lovely stay in the Davenport hotel. It was central to the places we wanted to visit and easily accessible to walk to Grafton Street for shopping and dining.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Delighted with hotel great location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Business Travel - Breakfast room open on time at 7am. Good facilities desk and iron + board in room. Good location. Nice food in bar - served until 10pm which was a plus for late arrival.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2017

Location is very good, very close to the main galleries and museums and a 5-10 minute walk to Grafton Street. The hotel was clean and in good condition, even if the decor is a little dated and tired looking. The room I had was comfortable and clean. However, the only window was internal and overlooked the entrance atrium so there was no view outside to natural daylight. Parking was close by in another building and the subsidized rate was good. Staff were very friendly.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2017

The hotel was centrally located and the staff were very pleasant, polite and courteous even under pressure on a busy weekend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Excellent location, rooms very clean, great breakfast and staff - used hotel parking - great value at 12 euros per 24 hours - certainly will be back.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

Overall I found the hotel a lovely place to stay with wonderful staff. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the breakfast as the hot food was cold.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

The hotel is located in a quite area. The check in personal was very nice, the room needs a bit of update but the bed was comfy and the size of the room was pretty good. My only dissatisfaction was with the breakfast. The white pudding and sausages were not fried enough, there was mould in the white bread for toast and one of the waiters was quite rude, pointing out that I only had 20 mins before they stopped serving breakfast. Overall a good value for the room considering the price, but I would stay away from the breakfast.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Simply amazing hotel and the location was superb.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Nice, comfortable room, courteous service.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. I was there for the World Airline Road Race. We all had a great time. Rooms very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Bar staff very efficient.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

The hotel is centrally located with easy access to anywhere in the city. The staff are very friendly and very knowledgeable about the city and where to find interesting places to see.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Nice Hotel, good location, friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

The staff were as always helpful. The breakfast was as always good but needed more scones.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Very accommodating, eager to please.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Everything was perfect from early check-in, friendly hotel staff to clean and nice rooms. We really liked the breakfast buffet. WiFi worked well too. The location of the hotel was perfect to visit all the important sights within walking distance. Short-term room change request was handled without any problem. Would be back again during any further visit.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

I had stayed in the Davenport once before in Dec 2012, we had booked a family room and we enjoyed our stay. We booked this room on the friday night for the great price of €50 - room only. When booking on Roomex, I had asked to have a upper level room and ideally one not facing a road as I didn't want to be disturbed by street noise. We were given a lovely 6th floor room, king size bed, not overlooking a road. The shower was excellent - great pressure. The nearby parking wasn't bad at €12, discounted by the hotel and it was secure and about 400m away. Very pleasant receptionist when we arrived. The Davenport is in a great location, its far enough away from the bustle of the city but within walking distance of it too. Very happy with my stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Lovely hotel - well situated in the heart of Dublin, with great sound-proofing,. re. traffic etc.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

Good central location in Dublin city. Spacious rooms, nice bathroom and very comfortable beds. Very good breakfast and pleasant staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

This hotel advertises itself as four star luxury but in reality it is at best a three star hotel. Upon check in I was given a very grotty twin room. The handles were hanging off drawers. The furniture was scratched and shabby. The rugs on the beds had seen better days and there were wires poking out of the wall in the bathroom. The bathroom was also poorly lit and had a hair dryer from the 1980's. I called down to reception to say that I was not happy with the room, particularly with the wires coming out of the wall. They gave me another room which was exactly the same but there was a safety covering the wires poking out of the wall in the bathroom. I gave up complaining as I realised I wasn't going to get anywhere. It appears that the sole purpose of the hotel is to rip off the large tour buses of Americans that were the only other people in the hotel. Added to this the fire alarm went off the next morning at 8am for a good fifteen minutes. The hotel is well located but I would not stay there again as it was not of the standard expected and I feel the hotel is falsely advertising itself as luxury when it is at best the same standard as the Ibis.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

I was not happy with this hotel considering how much I paid for it.....The car park was tiny with no spaces the food was terrible and I waited 45 mins for a cremated burger that was raw in the middle. This was a treat for my mother as a mothers day present along with the Neil Diamond concert. The receptionist told me it was a 3 minute walk to the hotel im afraid she was wrong took us nearly 30 mins. I wont be booking this hotel again or recommending it to anybody.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

My sister and I had a very nice weekend at the Davenport, we really enjoyed it, the room was very comfortable and clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly and looked after our luggage the day we checked out so we could do some shopping, as the hotel was very well located to the shops. The best thing of all was the late breakfast up to 11am at the weekend,so you could enjoy a lie in. Bar food was lovely and reasonably priced. I would definitly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5