O'callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 1/4 Merrion Street Lower,, Ireland

Also known as: OCallaghan Mont Clare Hotel
8/10.0 Based on 52 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for O'callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Our Customer stayed here in February 2018

Central, comfortable rooms. Some traffic noise

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2018

Stayed here on a Friday night recently for work. I was at lectures nearby on both Friday and Saturday. The room I received was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. My overall experience was very good and the room was very reasonably priced considering the location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

Very good room and breakfast. Nice staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

Good room book just 2 days prior to stay at a very reasonable rate.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

Great location for a night out in the city. Parking is a bit messy. Good breakfast and comfortable room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

Great Hotel in great location. Very friendly staff and good breakfast. I lost my wallet on the way to the room. Hotel staff found it and handed it back to me next morning. Big thank you!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

Very well located hotel. Will stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2017

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2017

Hotel has everything! Very good location and accessible to and from Dublin, clean, very friendly staff, generous breakfast selections. Will definitely come back!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2017

Good Location room basic and clean. Breakfast was average.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

The room was tidy on arrival. The breakfast offered a very poor selection for guest who do not eat pork. However, the staff kindly offered beef slices when asked. We would suggest separating eggs and tomatoes from sausages and bacon for the future and keeping them in separate dishes. Great location.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

Room was very small though very quiet and comfortable, TV poor reception, no electric/ plug access near beds, furnishings need tlc and up-dating. Bathroom sufficient - sink area mildew present. No dinner/food access on arrival at 8:30 pm bar/restaurant closed, dinning room service closed. Breakfast- prompt greeting service, self service continental and fried breakfast items. The location was convenient to work location.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2017

Items of clothing were stolen from my room. I left my dress and jacket in the room upon leaving the hotel. I got my daughter who was also staying in the hotel as we were at a wedding in the Davenport across the road to pop back to grab them for me which she did but unfortunately they had been taken. There was approx 20-30 mins between me leaving and my daughter calling into the room. I have gotten no where with the hotel about this issue as every time I ring they fob me off. My husband has also called in there twice and he has been giving a bullshit answer. I will not be staying in any of the O'Callaghan hotels again. Also my son in law works in social media and I will be spreading the word that this hotel employs thieves.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2017

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 nights and were both very impressed. The room was nothing special, but that was fine by us as all we wanted was a bed. Room was very clean and had everything we needed. Room was cleaned every day. Hotel staff were all very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from. Hotel is in a great location. Nothing bad to say about it.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2017

Bang centre of city. Always good value. Food is good in hotel or adjoining hotels - Davenport & Alexander.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2017

Staff are lovely and very accommodation. Hotel is very clean and suited us just perfectly. Location is fantastic.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Room was comfortable, bathroom very small. It was not clear at the time of booking that there is no bar/snack service available at this hotel, so having returned from a concert at midnight, we had to walk to a sister hotel just to get a pot of tea - NO food available in either hotel!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Staff very friendly, room clean & tidy. Not informed beforehand that hotel bar and restaurant were closed and would have to go to sister hotel for bar facilities. Not the only one in the dark. Other clients at check-in surprised at that information.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2017

Good location for the aviva stadium. Parking was hard to find. Rooms were small but comfortable. Breakfast the following morning wasn't great. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2017

Staying at the Mont Clare is an OK experience. Do not expect too much from the hotel. The basics were OK & were fine for an overnight or two. The breakfast was good. Staff seemed friendly enough. A couple of niggly issues: the aircon in the room didn't work, the window was un-openable, The TV was difficult to get going & the channels were only half tuned in, the key card didn't initially work & on returning to reception was told there was a 3 minute delay between cutting the key & its activation, the bar was closed. This wouldn't be my first choice for future stays, but I wouldn't rule it out either.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2017

Room was too small. No sockets. Could barely move.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2017

Great location in Dublin City Centre, not in the busy area but just a 5min walk to Grafton Street. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was one of the better ones I've been offered recently. Not a buffet but a la carte. The room was compact but clean and could do with modernisation. The sliding wardrobe doors didn't work too well but other than that, I could have no complaint.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2017

Really nice hotel 10 minute walk from cc. Would definitely stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2016

Stayed there for single night on business, ideal for this. Though a bit dated, the hotel was clean and the breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and the service was very efficient. I would stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2016

Okay where do I begin, very different outside to the picture listed on Roomex. Staff were fine, gave us our key to a very small, run down, 80's type room. Awful view out the back. Again the rooms listed on the hotels web site look an awful lot better, I wonder was it because we got such a good rate with Roomex we got the equivalent room? Breakfast was great, had the salmon, which even though I don't have a big appetite was very small! My wife asked Magda could we sit by the window to which she replied "we are expecting a large group". This would be fine except on 2 separate occasions after we had sat down 2 other couples who came in after us each took the 4 person window seats, and nothing was said to them! Only duck down duvets on beds, I don't like feathers so they dropped me up a blanket (with a cigarette burn). Overall a pretty bad experience, I would not recommend this hotel ever. I guess you get what you pay for.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2016

Clean bed and bathroom. Carpet could had some stains and needs replacing. Quiet room no noise. Staff friendly and breakfast was lovely. Made to order which was nice. I would stay here again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2016

A very average hotel. Wifi doesn't work in room 328. Would stay again but only if other hotels were too pricey. Paid 110€ for twin room for a Saturday night which was good. €5.90 for a bottle of beer in the bar but I suppose that's Dublin.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2016

Staff superb. Location fantastic. Food and service second to none. O' Callaghan hotels have become a second home from home to me.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

Location is excellent rooms spacious and very comfortable. Food was amazing for breakfast and dinner and all staff very helpful and pleasant. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

Room was clean if a bit dated. TV reception was poor. Staff were efficient and friendly. I was staying over for business and it is a perfect hotel for that.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2015

Delighted with the hotel, lovely staff and very comfortable room. Booked at last minute and great location for a business meeting I had to attend. Great breakfast each morning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2014

Bed very comfortable & room spotless. Staff really helpful & fabulous breakfast. I'll come back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Mont Clare overall: the staff, the food, the lounge and the location. Unfortunately the door to our room (#106) was left ajar all day by the cleaning staff. We also had problems shutting the door without an extra pull of the handle. The staff were good in apologizing and said it would be fixed next day, but 2 days later the door was again left open until the evening when we returned to the room. Nothing was taken, but it made us feel uneasy about leaving the room in the mornings. Next day, when another room was available, we moved. A word of warning - do not ever take room #128, which was offered us first. It's like being in a shaft with walls, piping and vents outside the window. Other than that we have no complaints about Mont Clare.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

The front desk staff, breakfast, price and location were tops while everything else was good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Wonderful hotel in the perfect location for tourist such as us. The staff was very friendly and efficient.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

super central location,very clean & friendly, good breakfast, only complaint shower was so hot I coulnn't use it.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

I stayed one night on business. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was very good and the staff were very polite. The lady at reception was very helpful when my card would not work to open the room door (apparently it should not be near a phone!). My room faced onto a side street where until approximately 3am students were walking up and down the street, so it was very noisy as the old windows in the building are not soundproofed.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

Super hotel, great staff, great location.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

The room was good, if a bit old fashioned. You can see where the old meets the new so am sure that there is upgrading in the works. Bed was comfortable, slept like a log. You do need to upgrade bath and showers though, very dingy. The two girls at reception were very friendly and asked were we up for leisure purposes, did we need directions or recommendations? We are familiar with Dublin so knew where to go but it was nice to have them offer. Check in and check out quick and efficient. We didn't have breakfast here because the price for a buffet breakfast was extortionate and there are plenty of places that are just as good and cheaper. It was a good room for a good price. I cant fault it really!We did wonder why ye had two hotels opposite each other, we found that strange!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Quite a nice hotel, staff were very friendly and breakfast was lovely (warm too). Walking distance to the Aviva, would highly recommend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

One night stay for business reasons. Room warm, comfortable, slightly on the small side. Breakfast buffet was varied. Coffee was pretty grim..tasted stewed , rather than freshly ground. Staff friendly and professional

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Rooms fine if a little small. Quality of breakfast could be improved, only had choice of 3 types of cereal and fried breakfast was ordinary. Friendly staff though.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

The Mont Clare is a very centrally located hotel on Dublin's southside and an ideal base from which to walk to any city centre attraction or for business meetings in town. It is good value for money if all you seek is a bed on which you lay your head and a shower in the morning. It is not a hotel in which to lounge around and there are no leisure facilities. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. It has a touch of faded glory about it, however, and could do with a face lift.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The hotel is in an ideal location for visiting Dublin and for getting to in traffic. Hotel is comfortable. The TV in the room was useless and kept making noise. Also the air con / heat system was not simple to use. I am technically minded and failed with it. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean and tidy. There was some noise from the street traffic through the windows. Hotel parking was a bit away but safe and secure. Overall i was happy with the place and would stay there again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Obviously most of the furnishings in the hotel need refurbishing or replacing. However, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast is just fine and the rooms a decent size and clean. The MontClare is very comfortable and conveniently situated - I would stay there again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful location and the reception is stunning. The staff were kind and efficient. How ever I did find the room to be very hot although no heating was on and I found the shower very difficult to regulate and it was a case of have a very hot one or a very cold one. The breakfast was great and hot. I do hope to stay here again and maybe ill have better luck with the shower.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

i was happy enough with my one night stay but when i went down to the bar for a cup of tea i had to wait 10mins before i got served. I had to go out to the receiptions and asked for service.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Clean hotel, friendly staff. Acceptable. Paying for convenience to the location. Hotel needs a revamp though. Oh, drop the internet charge!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

We were not that impressed with this hotel. After checking in, I wanted a shower but there was no hot water. Our room was on the small side. We went to a concert in the 02 and came back to the hotel around midnight. As soon as I opened the door I could feel cold air, there was no heating on at all. I was going to ring reception but didn't want to cause a fuss. Again, next morning I went for a shower and the hot water was just about lukewarm. I don't think I'll stay there again

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Early December I stayed overnight midweek with my girlfriend. The room was cold when we arrived as obviously no heating had been turned on. When heating was turned on, the system was quite noisy and rattling went on well into early hours. As a result neither of us slept well. The bed was too short so my feet stuck off the edge even though I'm average height, being 5ft 10 / 1m 78 I'm not sure if the lift or heating mechanism was beside our room Breakfast was fine, average buffet style. They don't have a dinner restaurant so they sent us to their nearby sister hotel, the O'calllaghan Davenport. The food there was nice and the staff friendly.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at the O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel. It was very suitably located as we attended the Neil Diamond Concert at the Aviva Stadium.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5