Old Ground Hotel Ennis O'connell Street, Ennis, Co. Clare, Republic Of Ireland, Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 17 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Old Ground Hotel Ennis

Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

Excellent hotel. Beds are very comfortable probably the best nights sleep in any hotel that we have stayed in. Staff very friendly, food mediocre. Would stay again when visiting the area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

A lovely hotel conveniently located.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Welcoming staff. Good food. Charming location. Enjoyed our stay will recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

The room we were given was very very small but it was clean and well decorated. The food in the bar was fantastic. However the breakfast was very disapointing. I ordered the scrambled eggs and was given a small ramekin of microwaved egg. Couldn't eat it. Parking was also very scarce in the hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

After a little delaying in finding parking we checked with a very pleasant receptionist. Our room was on the 5th floor, we were offered assistance with our bags and showed to the dining room and bar - very helpful. Our room was lovely, clean, spacious and very comfortable. I would note that the heating in the rooms seemed difficult to regulate, we found it very hot at night and ended up sleeping with the windows opened. Breakfast was a delight in the morning, the choice was superb and the quality of food was very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

we had a lovely relaxing time in Ennis! it was my second time staying at this hotel.the location is ideal for exploring Ennis at your leisure.staff were very helpful too.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

We stayed at the old ground for a friends wedding. We were really happy with the hotel in comparison with many other hotels that we have stayed at in Ireland. Firstly, the staff were very friendly and obliging. Secondly, the location was excellent - right on the main street in Ennis, in walking distance of all the shops, etc. The food was excellent, without any shadow of doubt, both for the wedding meal and for breakfast the following morning. I would warn potential guests that the car park is a bit on the small side and we had to wait a little while to get a space. Otherwise, I would strongly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in the centre of Ennis.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Everything was lovely during our stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly, rooms were faultless, food was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Very nice hotel. rooms are spacious and well facilitated. staff were helpful and nice.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Lovely room - helpful staff - most enjoyable stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

One of the best rooms I have stayed in, loads of space and a very comfortable bed. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment. We attended a wedding and it was fine.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2009

Excellent hotel. Great fire blazing in the fireplace in foyer when we arrived. Comfortable beds, great food and suberb staff.. Great experience all round. would recommend it to anybody.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

We stayed in the Old Ground Hotel Ennis for 1 night on 25/10/08. What a wonderful experience, To find a hotel with excellent friendly staff, Good food,Good service, Had the most amazing dinner in the restaurant with 1st class service. I just want to back to stay 2/3 nights to really enjoy & explore this old world class hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Took a short break over August Bank Holiday weekend - hotel full but service excellent - food well presented and to order- ambience good bar busy with live music good athmosphere check in and out quick staff pleasant - only downside the weather - rain and rain

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

We felt that the Old Ground Hotel was excellent in the standard of the room, the food (both dining room and bar food) and the availability of parking on-site. Our only problem was a noisy vent pipe under our windows at the front of the Hotel which made it difficult to have our windows open during the day.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

We stayed for just one night in the Old Ground,Ennis.We were unlucky that the hotel was being refurbished at the time,so we were woken by loud drilling at 8am.Also,it was impossible to even park in the hotel carpark as it was taken up by building vans and trucks.It is a lovely hotel,the bar food was excellent and the staff very helpful.I will go back again when this work is completed.It's nice to stay in such an old,unspoiled hotel.Our room was spacious also.Ideally located,in the centre of the town,it is very convenient.Overall,a good find..

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The Hotel is in need of a refresh for sure. In some of the main areas it shows a being a bit "tatty" but that is being fussy. Overall I enjoyed the experience ( week end away to County Claire with the wife - have visited the area many times.) Nice size room, friendly staff, decent food and a real good craic in the Poets Corner(Pub) Overall value for money - no complaints.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5