Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference And Leisure Centre Galway Oranmore, Galway, Ireland, Ireland (republic Of)

8/10.0 Based on 16 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference And Leisure Centre Galway

Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

I stayed in a double bedroom and had breakfast the next morning. I expected the rooms to be a bit better for a 4 star hotel but it was satisfactory for the price that I paid. The breakfast the next morning was very good though. I wasn't impressed when I had to pay for WIFI when it says clearly on their homepage http://www.oranmorelodge.ie/ free WIFI. The charges for the WIFI for 24 hours was 9 euro which was the most economical because i had to do some work during my stay.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

The room was outdated, overpriced and the staff weren't very friendly. The hotel is in serious need of modernisation and they need to look at their pricing, €106.00 for a double room with no breakfast and very scant facilities. €9.50 per person for breakfast if you have a booking for it but €12.50 per person if you don't, in these recessionary times everyone is trying to review their prices and offer guests the best value but that is not the case in the Oranmore Lodge Hotel. I left feeling very disappointed and hard done by and I will not be returning. Ever.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

I chose this hotel due to it's location, Oranmore being a good base for sight-seeing both in Galway & in Clare. On arrival we found staff at reception to be both helpful, friendly & professional. The room was a good size, warm & clean, although we did have a few niggles - the fan in the bathroom was loud & sounded like it was on it's last legs, the hand soap appeared to have been watered down & one of the window latches was broken, causing an irritating whistle which only resolved when my fiance wedged the ridiculously large key-ring supplied by reception under it to keep it closed. The bar in the hotel is a good size, the staff friendly & the food good, although a little overpriced (saying that, Galway in general tends to be a little overpriced!) The first disappointment of our stay was breakfast on our first morning. Service was split over two rooms - cereal, fruit,juices & yoghurt was available in our room, however someone neglected to put out the milk. Hot food was available in the primary breakfast room - did not have any at any point during the stay, although it did look good. A personal bugbear of mine was the self-toaster, one of those contraptions that bread is fed through & pops out at the bottom - it set off the smoke alarm during breakfast. The staff appeared confused with no-one assigned jobs & on two out of three mornings we had to chase our order of tea & coffee. Part of the deal I booked was a dinner on one night. The food was overall very good from the inclusive menu we selected from - however a look at the a la carte menu the following night discouraged us from dining there again - the prices were ridculous. The only issue we had was with my fiance's main course - he had ordered pepper sauce with his steak, & had been supplied with chasseure sauce to which half a pot of pepper had been added. Thankfully it had been served on the side, nor did he have an allergy to mushrooms, which could have been somewhat problematic. The staff again seemed disorganised & a little rude. Overall the hotel was nice & as mentioned in a very good location. The hotel is advertised as 4 star, however I did not feel that it merited this rating. The entire building is a little shabby & outdated. On my next visit to Galway, I will be booking alternative accommodation

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Staff were lovely, room was big but room security was poor. Door did not lock automtaically went closed door had to manually lock door.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Olde world style hotel but fine line between olde world and outdated, but room was v. spacious and quiet, staff were friendly and helpful, ate in the restaurant which is cosy and food was lovely. Overall an ejoyable stay.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

enjoyed at oranmore lodge hotel, very nice girl in the restaurent very pleasant and helpful, same can be said for the front desk both morning and evening, would stay there again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

I spent one night here at the Oranmore Lodge. It was a four star hotel but I did not feel it was up to the standard of previous 4 star hotels I stayed in. Just the little things seemed missing. In previous 4 star hotels you got little luxuries such as a laundry bag to put you washing in, maybe a notebook and pen beside the bed, perhaps a sewing kit or even a bottle of water. Oranmore lodge just had the basics and none of these little extras. Also the channels on the tv had very bad receptions on some of the channels. I feel the room was more 3 star. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and could not have been better. The leisure centre was adequate but again no plastic bag to bring back your wet togs in and just body wash in the dispensers. In other four star hotels you got a roll of bags on the wall to put your wet clothes in and maybe shampoo and conditioner in the dispensers. Just these little things were missing. Still the price from roomex was very good, handy parking and a quiet resendential bar and dining area. I enjoyed my stay and did feel that the little extras would have made me feel pampered.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We booked hotel for friday night through Roomex as told FULLY BOOKED when tried direct. We were visiting someone in the Galway Clininc. Checked in and had dinner in bar , Food was excellent but bit understaffed ! Came back just before nine o'clock and NO PARKING AVAILABLE There was a wedding on in hotel and some of the guests were very aggressive in Carpark over spaces. We had a young Child with us and found this very distressing !!! There is NO PARKING reserved for HOTELS GUESTS so we were unable to go out again without losing space. Food at breakfast was excellent and probably best we've had and we go away regularly ! Service was excellent . Only downfall is rooms are quite dated with just portable tvs.and also car park. We were woke several times by wedding guests outside door but when rang down to reception was promptly sorted ....6 am !!!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and efficient service. Quiet and relaxed atmosphere which is what I was after this time. Very happy with my stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

The Oranmore Lodge turned out to be a very pleasant surprise - I'd booked it simply as it's handy for Galway Airport and I needed somewhere for a long weekend after a week's trip to Inis Oirr. The room was large and comfortable, and the food at the Oranmore is first-class. It has a great leisure centre with a good-sized swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Best of all was the helpful staff, one of whom took great trouble to find out about check-in times at Galway Airport. I'd happily stay there again and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday in Co. Galway.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

What a surprise we got when we booked this hotel - it was just lovely - great experience! Beautiful charming hotel with lots of character. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome, bar staff were very friendly, funny - its great to be able to sit down at the bar and have a chat with the staff.... makes the evening less boring especially when you work away from home alot. I had food in the bar which was great - the best steak ever and lots of it!! Colleagues of mine dined in the restaurant and said food was fantastic also! Lovely lesiure centre, very good clean large rooms with Wifi - great! Definitley will be back again - would highly reccommend it!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Great Location, just a few miles from Galway City. Helpful, friendly staff. Good sized room with fridge and microwave and although I had booked a double room, there were actually 2 double beds in the room. Could do with a bit of a makeover and unfortunately there was no entertainment at the hotel although this wasn`t really a problem as Oranmore village is only a few minutes walk away. Overall, a pretty enjoyable experience.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Its was a great spot peaceful yet near to Galway city and a great base for touring both Clare and Connemara. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel room was very spacious and comfortable. I will go back in the future.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

We stayed there as a treat for the bank holiday weekend, having stayed in many hotels around the Provience and especially around Galway we have a bar or a standard, this hotel unfortunitley feel below the bar. There was no shampoo or conditioner in the bathroom, the general layout also we thought to be very poor, having to go outside to enter the leisure area which was very small. The bar and lounge was not very appealing or comfortable. It just did not seem like a 4 star hotel to us compared to some other 4stars that we have stayed in recently. At breakfast time they were understaffed with tables having to be cleared by guests themselves. Our table was not completley set with no napkins, sauces and we had to ask for tea and toast etc. We will not be returning.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I was very happy with my stay at the Oranmore Lodge Hotel I just stayed for one night and dined there only for breakfast It is situated a little off the main road so it is removed from the traffic Its a short walk to the village of Oranmore but very close to the main bus stops for the Galway or Limerick Buses which are well serviced The hotel is clean and nice and the staff are friendly The room was fine with all the usual conveniences and I have to say the it was reasonably quiet despite being on the ground floor. There is a leisure centre which is well serviced of which I used the pool. The breakfast was very well managed with lots of choices. Pick up the free Sunday Newspaper before you go in for breakfast though!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Loved the feel of this hotel as soon as we entered as it has the feeling of entering somewhere warm and luxurious, but without the price tag. Had a lovely time overnight here, we ate in the bar and found the food was delicious & reasonable. The bedroom was large, airy, clean and comfortable, the bathroom was spotless. There was a good atmosphere in the bar in the evening & the girl who was waitressing could do the job of 4 people - great worker. The only draw back is that there is no lift, therefore for the less agile this presents a problem but otherwise a most enjoyable stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5