Oriel House Hotel Ballincollig, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 62 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Oriel House Hotel

Our Customer stayed here in June 2018

Lovely hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Bedrooms up-to-date and clean etc. Plenty of free car parking. Walking distance to the town. Leisure centre available. Full buffet breakfast available

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2018

Overall pleasant stay. Toilet seat loose. Only one button to flush worked. Early checkout-11am; not conveyed at check in - thankfully we were out by then but numerous rooms received call from reception so maybe it wasnt conveyed to them either. Comfy bed. Lovely shower. Pleasant staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Really nice hotel, needs better signage tho especially towards finding rooms from the lobby.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2017

Great Hotel, lovely staff and great breakfast. The hotel is investing in new rooms which are exceptional. Very handy for Cork City and West Cork.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2017

Nice spacious room but quite cold. The blow heating system was slow to heat up the room. There was a noticeably strong smell from the drains in the bathroom and I had to ensure to keep the door closed to prevent the pong from coming into the bedroom. No signage in the underground car park meant that I spent time in frustration looking to find the entrance from there to the hotel. The same lack of signage on exiting the lift left me wondering where was the reception desk. I would like to find something positive to report but unfortunately I had a very mediocre experience.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2016

Nice hotel. Comfortable room. Nice bar. Decent food. Good breakfast. Although breakfast only been served between 8am & 10am on a bank holiday Monday is disappointing. Most people like a lie in so an extra hour would have been nice. Short stroll to town centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

Showers in Leisure Centre were cold. Breakfast on both days very poor, had ran out of certain hot foods with half an hour to go to end of breakfast time. Staff never asked if we wanted tea/coffee, we had to approach them after waiting 15mins. No information in room regarding hotel or facilities. Locker in leisure centre required a Euro coin but no one told us that & we didn't have one with us.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2015

Very friendly staff. The room was nice and clean. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2014

Staff friendliness and general ambience a huge plus factor.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2014

The Oriel has deteriorated considerably over the past few months and is now not comfortable. Main observations: poor choice of food, food quite tasteless, menu never changes and no healthy options. Clientele now staying are also quite rough and often very noisy not ideal when I am using the hotel for midweek buisness, up for work early etc. I try not to stay in the Oriel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Helen

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

Oriel House Hotel was welcoming and comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were a good size.Breakfast was generous and staff very friendly and helpful. My husband liked the 25m pool. Overall, it was very good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Fabulous hotel, leisure facilities are great. Staff very helpful and friendly. The only negative was beds were a little uncomfortable but not enough to stop me enjoying my room service breakfast, which arrived exactly on time. From check in to check out this hotel is a luxury experience so close to Cork city but the peace and quiet makes you feel like you are miles away. Will definitely stay again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Staff very helpful and a lovely room

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

I enjoy staying at the Oriel House, and always choose it if I am in West Cork City, the rooms are large and comfortable and the facilities good, and the room rates excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

Very happy with our stay staff and food superb Thanks

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Stayed here for one night as was attending a meeting the following day at the hotel. There was a wedding on and my bedroom was on the ground floor and noisy would suggest your own earplugs!!! hotel itself is very nice and breakfast was lovely free wifi which was great however ther is ,I tied phone coverage in the hotel.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2013

Good hotel, quiet location, breakfast good, gym sauna steam room good quality.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

My second stay in two weeks.once again i can only complement the staff and management for the successful operation of this hotel. It was a lovely relaxed stay , and the food was very nice. I have stayed in other hotels and it was like faulty towers , no staff one person doing all the duties, but with the oriel house they take care of there customers, no shortage of staff in any field.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

the oriel house in ballincollig is a lovely place to stay. The bedrooms are spotless and sound proof. our room was to the back of hotel, and there was no noise at all. There is a beautiful swimming pool + kiddies pool. The breakfast was lovely and hot and most of all the staff at reception and restaurant were very relaxing and helpful. I have another date booked for my daughter and myself to stay there again, as we are on a shopping spree for confirmation outfit.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Very friendly staff and lovely comfortable room. we had a tasty meal in the restaurant and also a lovely breakfast. We would definitely visit again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

Quite happy

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

quite happy. Nice and friendly service

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2013

food very good staff were very helpful good rooms

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

we stayed for a wedding of a friend and everything was spot on. I would recommend that anybody planning to get married should consider oriel house.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Lovely hotels and facilities are great.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Lovely Hotel. I don't have a bad word to say about it. Everything was perfect and beyond expectation. The staff were lovely and helpful. Had dinner and breakfast and both were lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back in the future.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

brill, had a great day at the wedding and a lovely room

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. I was working in the area and it was so pleasant to come back to in the evenings. Staff were very friendly and rooms were very well kept. I thought that the weather update and lavender scent left in the rooms was a very nice touch. The gym and pool were also to a very high standard and were a great way to unwind in the evenings. Overall it was an enjoyable stay and I would definately return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

Hotel was very nice and was impressed at first, there was only 2 problems one was that when i arrived they put us in a smoking room and i asked to change but the girl behing the reception told me that there is a wedding tomorrow and retirement party tonight, and i repeated i was there for the wedding, but i was thinking what is that to do with putting me in a smoking room ? Even if i wasn't part of the wedding it should of been no problem moving me anyways,I did get moved to another room and it was a nice room it just seemed like it was a bit of effort for them to move and they only seemed to move me once they realized i was the brides brother. Also on the Saturday night at the wedding reception i ran out of money at around 11.00 neither bar the reception or the main bar excepted cash back on laser cards i had to walk all the way into the town to use a bank machine to get cash , A 4 star hotel really should accept laser cards in this day in age and provide cash back, I found this very frustrating having to spend over 40 mins to find a Bank machine when i should of been enjoying the wedding. Apart from these two situations i was impressed with the facilities and the catering staff for the meal we had. Thanks

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

excellent hotel. we stayed in a wheelchair accessible room with bathroom. when showering the whole bathroom became soaked - this cant be very safe!!! lovely comfy bed & bedding. went down at last minute to have breakfast - about 15mins before end of service - no sausages left & only dried out beans left. leisure centre - nice facility but felt the changing rooms dirty & old looking - could do with the refurbishment especially on the floor.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

I have stayed at the Oriel House a number of times before, and find it a clean, comfortable friendly place to stay, with plenty of parking and handily located near the centre of Ballincolig which is a modern, charming small town.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

Very happy with our stay at Oriel. Best hotel pool I've seen for a long time. Spacious room. Good breakfast. Only negative thing I could say is the beds didn't have duvets, they had a blanket and then the comforter/bedspread. Wasn't cold but would have preferred a quilt. Not really a complaint, just something constructive to say.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

Luxurious rooms. Polite staff and very swift and easy check in and check out.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

We stayed overnight at the Oriel Hotel following a lovely dinner and dance for the Retired ESB Workers. The room was perfect in every way and staff were very friendly and efficient, particularly the Receptionists, which put us at ease straight away. The breakfast the following morning was excellent too, with a wide choice of food available. The fruit salad was particularly delicious.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

We stayed atb this hotel for week end 19th of November. ACCOMMODATIOM WAS BRILIANT AND THE STAFF WERE EXTREMELY HELPFUL Food was excellent and extremely reasonable for a hotel of this quality.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Loved the hotel. Would go back again, no problem.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Very nice hotel. Breakfast was nice. Only problem was that the room was freezing when we got to the Hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

A nice comfortable hotel, large room, nice breakfast using local produce

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

excellent hotel very satisfied with our stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

We stayed at the Oriel for a wedding, very quick check in and check out, room was lovely, very comfy bed, fabulous meal. Only slight complaint was that the shower seemed to be blocked and it took ages for water to drain out before partner could use shower.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Stayed here as part of my brother's wedding. Room was very nice with large bed. Staff were very friendly, courteous, and friendly.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Top glass excellent service wonderful food. No complaints what so ever!!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

the stay in the Oriel was very good from walking in the door to leaving. the staff were very pleasant and polite. all in all a great place to stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

I booked the two rooms in the Oriel House Hotel in Cork for a group of 4 on Roomex. Having the Hotel Coupon made the check-in process very quick and efficient. The staff were extremely attentitive and polite. Both rooms were bright and spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee making facilities and an iron were welcome after our trip from Dublin. We didnt have dinner in the hotel as we were going to a family party elsewhere. Breakfast was excellent and overall we had a great time in the Oriel. We shall return next time we stay in Cork.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

We have stayed here before and I felt that the service here has improved on what was already very good service. From reception, to the bar and restaurant, and on to room service, there was nothing that was too much trouble for staff. The food was very good. We had a meal as part of our package which was served in a special section of the bar. We have eaten in the restaurant before, but while the food was good, I felt that the room lacked atmosphere. Our meal in the bar was very good. Rooms were clean and comfortable with air con, fridge, tea/coffee, flat screen TV, and large bathroom with seperate bath and shower. We asked to be placed in a quiet room whcih we were, away from the ballroom and conference rooms. While the hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the city centre, there is a small shopping centre near it. It is ideally placed for touring as it is near the main city ring road and perfect for visiting South and West Cork. Overall, another pleasant stay in Oriel. Highly recommended.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Very Enjoyable stay.Receptionist greeted us with a warm smile, room was better than I had expected. Bed very comfy, large flatscreen tv & my favorite room anywhere I stay , ''the bathroom'' was realy nice.It was lovely to actually get a bath that was bid enough to lie down in fully.We ordered room service & found the menu to not be to expensive & the food was georgous. Would definetly stay in this hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Excellent hotel, rooms very comfortable. no pressure to check-out on time which was much appreciated as we had a wedding there the previous evening. A little more staff on duty in the bar would have been better on the Sunday as we had to wait a long time for our lunch.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was lovely, very comfortable and clean, a few nice touches such as a lavender bag on the pillows, very nice. We couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts. All the staff were very friendly. We had a meal in the resurant and it was really good, i had the duck Starter,no trace of fat on the plate just tender moist duck. the rest of the meal wasjust as good. Breakfast could have been a little hotter but all in all, we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and would most deffinatly stay here again. Didnt have time to use the leisure facilities, but it looked realy clean and inviting, will have to try it on our next visit.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

The hotel is excellent I would definitely recommend it. The rooms are big and of a very high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was of the highest standard and fresh. A lot of the produce served was locally sourced.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Very pleasant stay. Rooms were modern and spotlessly clean. Staff couldn’t have done enough for us. Great hotel. Would recommend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

brilliant

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Facilities very good staff friendly and courteous. Attended a wedding and food was superb for such a large crowd. Room spacious and clean and well away from function room. Would go back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a family wedding. Absolutely faultless!! The hotel itself was fab, the rooms were bright and equipped with everything one may need. The cookies were a lovely treat! Staff were fantastic, both at the wedding reception and at the front desk. you couldn't have asked for more and nothing was too much to ask. I would definately stay here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

My husband and myself only stayed 1 night in the hotel. On arriving after 4pm we were told our room would not be ready for 20 minutes as the hotel was full the previous night and had not been serviced. This was despite the fact that check-in time was from 3pm. Besides this our stay was very pleasant. The swimming pool is 25 meter and never got too busy and the changing rooms very very clean. The room was spacious and comfortable and breakfast was lovely. The bar like most hotel bars lacked athmosphere and character. We did not have dinner in the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

Excellent food, staff, service and decor. Highly recommended.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We attended a wedding in the hotel. The food, service etc was excellent. Our room was very nice. I was delighted to find sheets, blankets on bed as I find most hotel beds far too warm because they use high tog duvets all year round. The extra touches were lovely -chocolates on our pillow and a lavender sachet under the pillow.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We stayed in this hotel for a four day break, and thorougly enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend it. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good - lots of choice. We found the hotel very central to explore Cork and we could walk to the village from the hotel. High on our list to return for another break.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

We stayed at the Orial House Hotel Ballincollig for a wedding and we were very impressed with it overall. The rooms were spacious and spotless, the facilities were great and the staff could not do enough to ensure our stay was very pleasant. I would have no problems recommending this hotel to family and friends and I would certainly be staying there again. Thank you roomex for your professionalism in dealing with my reservation and I will certainly be using and recommending your web site again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

friendly helpful staff,comfortable,modern rooms and good food a very relaxing stay

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Our stay with this hotel was great, we were there for a Wedding and everything went off really well. Our room was not to far from the Reception hall which it made it very easy for us. The food was very good and over all service from Room Service - Reception desk was very good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Stayed here for a wedding for 1 night. Really nice hotel, staff very friendly & helpful. A short walk down to town centre. Food good quality, lots of variety at breakfast. Leisure centre is very nice, large pool & well-equipped gym.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5