Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 43 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Our Customer stayed here in September 2016

The hotel was nice but our allocated room was dark. One lamp had no light bulb. Staff were corteous and helpful and we were allowed to check out late (1pm). The pool was busy and a little small. We enjoyed our breakfast and there was plenty to choose from.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2016

It was a pleasure to go back to the Ormonde Hotel again and to see the high standards are been kept if not enhanced. From the moment you enter the engagement of staff is welcoming. The rooms are very clean and bright, the beds are very comfortable for a good nights sleep. The food was great in quality and quantity. Reception staff was helpful and a pleasure to engage with. Will be going back to the Ormonde.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2016

Hotel is ideally located in the city. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is top class. Would highly recommend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2014

We arrived early and our room was not ready but the receptionist offered to hold our bags until it was. When she heard it was my wife's birthday she upgraded us to a suite which was really lovely. Staff in the bar, restaurant and others met throughout our stay were extremely pleasant and breakfast was excellent. Hotel is clean, tidy and modern. Facilities are very good with gym and pool. Highly recommended.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

Radiator was on full blast and had no knob to turn down/off. There was a fan in the room and I assume thats there to counter the faulty radiator but that was very noisy. One of the towels had a lot of black dirt on it too(?).

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay in the Ormonde. On check-in the receptionist put us in what she called 'a quiet room' and it suited these 'elder lemons' just fine. It was also close to the lifts which helped also.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Attended wedding here. Accommodation and hotel are ok, food was nice, cutlery was dirty!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2013

Very pleasant. Very satisfied with hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Excellent friendly staff. Very busy hotel as Bruce Springsteen was in town but this didnt phase the staff at all. Fiona on reception was exceptionally pleasant and really helpful. The room was lovely, very spacious and comfy. Will definately stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Hotel was overall good, how ever we were both allocated rooms which had bathrooms designed for the disabled, which was little difficult and uncomfortable for us, as wash basin was very low which made it difficult for us to shave etc, shower in bath was also very low and difficult to use, apart from this it was clean service was good staff very polite helpful at all times food was excellent, I would have no problem staying there again but would make sure of bathroom next time.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

The Kilkenny Ormonde hotel is in a very handy location, away from the noise of the city centre but still just a short walk from everything. The hotel is quite modern and comfortable and the rooms are spacious and quiet. The breakfast was perfectly fine, nothing to rave about but adequate. My only complaint really would be that the pillows are too hard and if you like your head to sink into your pillow you'd be better off bringing your own! But I would return to this hotel as overall it was a good experience.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

Good location, clean room. WiFi did not work, breakfast was poor quality.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

I realty enjoyed the stay at the ormonde hotel. The only thing I would say is that the bed was very uncomfortable. Otherwise a great stay.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Great Location, Staff very helpful,Breakfast could be better,room was very warm, needs air condititing.All in All would go back again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Good location. Prompt check in at c. 2pm on a Saturday.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

nice hotel. friendly staff. roomsa very nice. would defo stay ere again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Ormonde is in a great central location with fantastic restaurants and bars on its doorstep. However, we were slightly disappointed with the bedrooms-too warm and poor lighting. The bar food was lovely but service a little slow in the lounge area. Breakfast was average.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Ormonde hotel is just fantastic, the room was spotless, staff couldn't be more helpful. location righ in the centre of Kilkenny. We stayed for 3 nights. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

This is our second visit to Kilkenny in 12 months and on both occasions we have stayed in the Ormonde hotel. From initial check-in the staff were welcoming, efficient and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel room was spacious and clean with little or no noice at night allowing for an interrupted nights sleep. Being in the centre of the city, local bars, restuarants and shops were only a short walk. The leisure centre is great, plenty of gym equipment and a huge swimming pool. We will stay in the Ormonde again and will recommend as a great place to stay.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Location of this hotel is ideal. No parking facilities but multistory across the road can be used for 5 euros for 24 hrs. The room needed air conditioning. It was much too warm. Noisy fans outside bedroom window. Bathroom was a little shabby.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Clean, Clean room. Great location. parking 5 euro per night, car park opposite hotel entrance. Breakfast in room no extra charge. Staff very helpful and nice. Swimming pool a little dated but clean - Steam room and sauna fine. My friends and I go to kilkenny for a girly trip and a few drinks, the ormonde is right in the middle of the city and within walking distance of all the good bars and restaurants. Great deal with Roomex 200 euros for 2 nights, incl brekkie.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

On a recent stay at the Ormonde hotel my wife and I found the hotel to be below our expectations. Now I know Kilkenny is a good town for going out and enjoyning yourself but due to the stuffy and way over the top temperatures in the hotel room we had to keep a window open just to let some cool air in. This resulted in every single noise and chorus of elvis songs at 3 o clock in the morning being heard. When we came out on to our floor from the lift there was a confectionery vending machine that heated that little room up to a very uncomfortable level. A fire alarm went off at some ungodly hour and no explanation or apology was given for this. When we arrived home the following afternoon we had to go to get some much needed sleep. Word of advice when you're staying in kilkenny for a weekend break stay outside the sity unless you intend to get very inebriated which should allow you to sleep through anything.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

We had a wonderful stay overall. Check in was quick, room was lovely, very spacious top floor room. The staff were really nice and helpful The location was excellent, right in the heart of Kilkenny City. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on this. The car park is right in front of the hotel which is 5 Euro per night. The only negative thing I have to say about this hotel was that the room was very warm and the pillows were very hard I would recommend this hotel and could see myself coming back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

A beautiful hotel in a perfect location. I was able to check in at 1 pm and shower and chill out before going out to explore Kilkenny. Room perfect and great price with Roomex.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

I had booked this hotel in June, 2011, for four people for three nights - two rooms, bed and breakfast. It was just a short break away. Having checked the reviews, I telephoned a few days in advance to ensure that our rooms would be non- smoking and near to each other. I was advised that check in time was 4:00 p.m. - which I thought was very late. However, they said they could store our luggage. I was also told that we would have to pay for parking, but as this was only €10.00 for the entire stay, I was not bothered. We arrived at approximately 2:00 p.m. The lobby was mayhem. Storing luggage meant leaving it all over the lobby, with nobody checking as to which bags belonged to which person. I could give a blow by blow account of our stay, however, I will confine it to the following. This hotel clearly has a major problem with staff. Most of the staff, with one or two minor exceptions have a very poor attitude. We were left waiting for long periods in the lobby/bar area and at breakfast. When the staff finally arrived with what was requested, they simply dumped it on the table, regardless of who requested the item. Frequently, the 'hot'food was all but cold, this included, coffee, eggs, beans (which appear to have been taken directly from a tin and placed on the table). The staff then operated a 'blank' approach, i.e. passing by and refusing to catch your eye. Only when I actually got up and stood waiting for a staff member - sometimes for a very long time, i.e over ten minutes, did we get any service. Frequently the 'hot' food was equally cold second time around. On enquiring regarding Dinner, I was sent from the Restaurant to the bar, to the Restaurant to the bar, with nobody seeming to know, where dinner was being served. We decided to eat out. On enquiring regarding Spa treatments on Saturday evening, I was told the SPA closed at 6:00 p.m. - no problem. I advised I would return the following day. When I attempted to make a reservation on Sunday, August 21st at reception, I was told the SPA, was closed on Sunday and on Monday and had no vacancies for a treatment until Tuesday, late afternoon - we were leaving on Tuesday lunchtime. The advert in the elevator states 'any treatment, any time, €50.00, Monday to Friday, however, not the reality. I did note my complaints to the Manager and he did send a nice note, offering a reduction on a future stay. However, I would suggest, you consider another Hotel, especially in the busy season, they simply do not appear to be able to cope with busy times.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Very friendly staff with a lovely fairly large double room. Very comfortable stay in this stylist hotel. Will stay again in the future.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Good location for acccess to town centre, arrangements with car park across the road allow one park car and forget about it. Hotel itself rooms clean, bright, noisy at times door banging and could hear music from party, leisure centre very good and stays open till 21.30 hrs no rushing back to get a swim in.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Location is very central and its a lovely hotel the only think was noisy kids in corridor in the morning and the cleaners hoovering outside my room also early in the morning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Over all a satisfactory stay, would have expected drinking water to be available in the rooms. Hotel is a good standard but nothing stood out for us as been really bad or really good, long delay while waiting for service for lunch in the reception area and again a delay while waiting for our lunch to arrive.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

I was impressed with this hotel. It was modern and the rooms were very spacious, well decorated and the beds were comfortable. I found the hotel to be very clean. Breakfast was nice, there was a good selection of foods. I did not dine in the restaurant but if it is anything like the rest of the hotel I am sure I would have been satisfied. I would definitely stay in this hotel again the next time I am in Kilkenny. Thank you to the staff at the Ormdone Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Surpassed my expectations & would highly recommend.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2010

I had a great stay at the Ormonde in Kilkenny. It is very centrally located and the staff are very friendly and always available to help. The room was clean and comfortable although I was unsuccessful in my attempts to raise the room temp by following the instructions in the info book. I had 2 treatments in the KO Spa which were extremely good value for money. The only downside being that they don't have laser card facilities there and we had to trek back over to the hotel (across a road)to swipe my card and return again after. This meant that I had less time in the relaxtion room prior to my appointment than I would have liked.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

The hotel was wonderfuland the staff were wonderful

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

The Ormonde is a well run hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City, just a few steps from everything you will want to see and do. The staff were friendly and the rooms large and comfortable. The rooms and lobby are nicely decorated. The only downside was there were quite a few hen parties taking place in the residents bar on Saturday night, however, once up in our room you couldn't hear any noise.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

Food at the hotel was superb, rooms not exactly 4 star standard more like 3 star but overall nice place and will be back

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2008

Very nice hotel, staff friendly and helpful . Stayed for 2 nights . Breakfast was poorly Organised though and the loud club style music in the leisure centre was out of character to the relaxed ambience of the rest of the hotel. All in all would stay there again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Very pleasant stay. Staff most helpful

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Fantastic place. Very friendly staff. excellent facilities.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

We have stayed in kilkenny many times before, but never at this hotel, On the web it look impressive with its swimming pool and award winning restaurant, On arrival we were greeted by the sound of kango hammers and drilling, from work that was been carried out to upgrade hotel. The reception staff although extremely friendly were trying to come to terms with a new system that was installed, so checking in was slow. On looking around the hotel the restaurant had a very good menu, that would cater for everyone's tastes. After checking in we went to our room which was adequate but basic enough, but all facilites were working well. Whilst sitting in the bar relaxing with a coffee i noticed a sign on the reception that said swimming pool closed till further notice, although we had no kids with us, there were a lot of family's who had and i'm sure this was a disappointment to them as i'm sure they were not informed of this as nor were we on time of booking. We might come back again to this hotel but only when all upgrades have been carried out.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

very disappointed in hotel, carpets in entrance hall were discusting The corridor to our room had not been cleaned up obviously someone had been sick, but this was not something new, you could see the amount of stains Would never recommend this hotel to anybody. e. evans

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

excellenn service, did not get a recipt on leaving and would be glad of one may thanks

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Stayed here with 2 other friends. We had booked a triple room but reception said they had received a booking for a deluxe room i.e. a double bed and a single.As I had my print out of the booking which clearly stated a triple room we were offered an upgrade to a superior room big enough to fit a pull out single camp bed which sufficed but was not ideal.This is a very nice, modern hotel and very central,one of my main reasons for booking it.Staff were helpful and friendly enough and there was no problem getting breakfast at 10.30am whereas some other hotels would be quite unaccomodating in this regard,as they were due to stop serving at 10.30.Breakfast was very good as you would expect for a 4-star hotel.The leisure facilities looked great, unfortunately we hadn't time to use them.I would recommend this hotel but having been to Kilkenny many times before I would have stayed a second night if there was a better deal on offer.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The hotel was beautiful and it was right in the heart of town. The hotel's residence bar had a great atmosphere, with a sing song going until 4am. If I am going back to Kilkenny, this is the hotel I will be booking.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5