Doubletree By Hilton London – West End Hotel 92 Southampton Row, London, Wc1b 4bh, United Kingdom

Also known as: PARK INN RUSSELL SQUARE
8/10.0 Based on 8 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Doubletree By Hilton London – West End Hotel

Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

I would have chosen "awful" for the room and the lack of service regarding moving from it. The food and drinks service was good so the average overall rating I give is Below Average. The room was the smallest I have ever encountered in the last 30 years of travel. It was claustrophobic, no room to store my case, the ironing board took up the room beteween the small single bed and the "desk" / drawer area so ironing the shirt was a feat in itself. The shower nozzle didn't stay up on the shaft in the in-bath shower (v small bath), there was no bedside locker as there was no room for it so a shelf above the head was provided, when I complained they said it was fully booked and to come back Wed. On Wed they kicked to touch saying theree was no note of the compalint or promise to rectify and that the hotel was still fully booked so tough luck. I persevered and went back, to be offered a slightly bigger room in a small room that had a mini bedside locker. I took it to relieve the claustrophobia. Cost was high even at Roomex discount price, far too high for the cabin sized cupboard masquerading as a room. Internet access was extra cost. The second room did not have an iron, they couldn't deliver one in the evening and promised to have one by the door first thing in the morning. Did it arrive? Heck No - what do you expect - service??? At only £750 for 4 nights???

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

THE airconditing was awfull set at 19oc very uncomfortably warm made it difficult to sleep room that we were given was the smallest I've ever seen It was my second time staying herefirst time was when it was the park inn and it was was much better

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

twas very nice hotel and well located for shopping and general access to london central.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2010

Overall, I found this hotel to be fine, and would be happy to stay there again. It's nice and central (Holborn station is only a short walk away) and the room was clean. The room was perhaps a little "compact", but that is fine and expected for London. The air conditioning in the room worked well and was very welcome in the sticky heat of Autumn. There were a couple of minor things in the room that could be brought up to scratch, though - insulated tape on the towel radiator, and a dangling cord (with more insulating tape) for the blinds, etc. should be put right. Breakfast was also pretty good (typical buffet affair) and offered up until 10 in the morning. The only real complaint I have with the hotel is the state of the lounge/bar, which is pretty awful. Poor and mismatched furniture, dreadful draught beer (flat!), and poor staffing gave the bar area the unwelcome atmosphere of a doctor's waiting room or something. We avoided using it, frankly; not at all nice, and really lets the hotel down on one quite major point. Anyway, a good, clean, well-located hotel (with some room for improvement).

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2010

I had read mixed reviews about the Park Inn Russell Square but decided to book it anyway. I was very impressed by the hotel. It is perfectly located for a weekend break. Holborn tube station is less than 5mins walk away, and from there its a tube ride to anywhere in the city. Our room was well proportioned, comfortable and modern. Our booking included a buffet brakfast which was gorgeous. I am a vegetarian and they even had vegetarian sausages available, which I have never come across before, so I was delighted with that. The staff were all super helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Wonderful staff. Friendly and welcoming hotel. Will definitly be adding it to my "must stay here again" list.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Nice hotel, very clean newly refurbished single room. Downside the room was tiny to the point of being claustrophobic but surprisingly I thought the lovely bathroom was marginally bigger. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was plentiful although the sausages were very undercooked. All in all a good experience as I didn't have to spend too much time in my room but it would have been a problem if I had. Although the refurbishment is ongoing it caused me no problems. The location is fantastic for theatres, Covent Garden, Bristish Museum and I walked there in a short time from Kings Cross station. Two minutes from Holborn tube station for the Picadilly line to take me to Heathrow airport.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

My room was very clean and tidy, very comfortable bed. The restuarant had a nice atmosphere, food was very nice, service was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would happily stay there again when visiting London.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5