Prince Of Wales Hotel Athlone Church Street, Athlone, Co Westmeath, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 27 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Prince Of Wales Hotel Athlone

Our Customer stayed here in March 2018

Warm, clean and comfortable room, free car parking and very friendly and helpful staff at reception. I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment. Good value for money in central location.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2018

While the hotel room was very nice, the general appearance of the communal areas was grubby. The breakfast crockery hadn't been washed satisfactorily, and it was difficult to find a plate or bowl to use.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2016

Lovely, clean, comfortable room and a quiet night's sleep will ensure that I will return to the Prince of Wales hotel when my work next takes me back to Athlone. The friendly staff serving breakfast add to the whole experience.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2016

Nice hotel in the middle of Athlone, renovated with good décor, wifi and decent breakfast. Rooms on the first floor over the nightclub are noisy until 3AM!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2016

Hotel is excellent but the noise on Thursday night was terrible. Guests should be allocated rooms away from the disco area and away from the street when the disco nights are on. Really disruptive noise lasted until after 3am. Hotel room and facilities are excellent and staff very helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2016

Great location in centre of town. Good value for money.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

Town centre location. Friendly, efficient, competent staff in all areas. Reception staff and the housekeeper deserve special mention! The room was perfect for my needs. Music was very loud in the bar at the weekend.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2016

Central location, friendly staff, spacious room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2015

Room was nice and clean. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2015

Room was large and modern. Very clean and bed was king size, giving a good nighhts sleep. TV needed change to flat screen but SKY sports was available which was a bonus.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2015

Excellent room and general facilities, well located in the centre of the town - would recommend it highly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

The hotel is centrally located, the rooms are clean and adequately equipped and the staff were efficient. Overall I got very good value for money.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2014

A group of 12 stayed Saturday 8th March. The receptionist at check-in was friendly efficient and welcoming which set the tone for our stay. Lovely rooms, beautiful breakfast and good value. Thanks to all.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Lovely hotel in the heart of Athlone. Very nice friendly staff. Comfortable room, hearty breakfast. I could not fault this hotel.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2013

Friendly staff - excellent breakfast and reasonably priced

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2013

Nice rooms, Nice Breakfast, very central, free parking brilliant for going shopping, brilliant if you are going to be staying in a group going out for the night, skip the queue into their night club, then free entry as well. down-sides are no gluten free bread for breakfast and no card reader in the bar so barman has to run off with your card for 10/15min trying to get the wireless one from reception to work...

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2013

This is our second stay at the Prince of Wales it is ideally located in the center of town, has a lively friendly bar. Rooms are very comfortable with air conditioning, fantastic shower. Will be returning.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

The room was very large and modern. As the weather was very hot it was great to have air conditioning. Staff are extremely friendly and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2013

Another great stay at the Prince of Wales. I have now stayed in most of the hotels but this hotel gets my repeat custom because of comfort, service and most of all, because the staff are fantastic!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, 6 of us from work stayed as it was our Xmas night out. Room was lovely, very clean with lovely colour scheme. Also staff were very friendly which is very important, breakfast was very nice. Will continue to use this hotel as often as I can and the room rate is very competitive.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2012

Unfortunately I was given a twin room although I had asked for a double. I was rushing when I checked in to get ready to go out to a function so had not time to rearrange. Also there was a band playing until very late so my sleep was very disrupted. I did complain when checking out. I was told I would be contacted by a manager but two days later have heard nothing. I had to use the two single duvets to keep warm. There were no spare blankets. I did try to change the thermostat.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

This hotel is in such a great location, right in the heart of Athlone town, just a few steps away from the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre. The hotel itself has good sized bedrooms, which are clean and comfortable. The bathroom/shower room is also clean and of standard size. Breakfast was great, orders taken at the table which was great as the food was hot and of generous portions when served by the waitress. Overall the stay at the Prince of Wales Hotel was very pleasent, no complaints and would consider visiting this hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2012

I can honestly say, it was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was amazing. Highly recommend this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Ok hotel, Room reasonably nice,breakfast very slow, but too expensive for single room in Athlone. €74 too much for small town, midweek.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

Our stay was very enjoyable. Very central location in Town. Staff very friendly and room very modern and clean.Situated directly beside shopping centre. Overall we had a really good experience and would not hesitate in recommending hotel to friends and family and we will return to this hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

Central location, clean room, perfect for a short stay

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Very nice stay. Great location in the town and right beside the shopping center. Had evening meal in the restaurant and very impressed with the food and service.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5