Rochestown Park Hotel Cork Rochestown Road, Douglas, Cork, Ireland

8/10.0 Based on 133 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Rochestown Park Hotel Cork

Our Customer stayed here in August 2018

The facilities (Reception area, rooms, gym, pool etc.) were very good, staff very friendly and efficient, food in bar was excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2018

We really enjoyed our short break at the Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork. The hotel is very well located near Douglas village with easy access to the main roads. The hotel is very spacious and comfortable and free parking was a bonus. Facilities are excellent and the food service was first class. The breakfast selection was the best I have seen for some time. The bar and food areas were exceptionally clean as were the rooms. The underfloor heating in the rooms was a very welcome feature.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2018

The room was cold, the mattress was extremely soft and there was a lot of noise in the corridor on the second night with a function in the hotel.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2018

Stayed at the Rochestown Park hotel recently with my wife for one night. I stayed here last year also and really liked it. The double room we got on 5th floor was very nice with mood lighting in the ceiling and behind the bed. Bathroom had a lovely big shower with rain shower head and 3 body directed nozzles plus a heated floor. We both agreed that this hotel would be great for families as there is a huge amount of lounging space with couches in the large lobby. We didn’t eat here but had a drink at the bar. I wasn’t a fan of the bar, tables and chairs suited eating rather than relaxing and having a drink. Hotel is close to Douglas if you need shops etc.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2017

Great hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, food was delicious, will definitely stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

Hotel room was comfortable, but the shower had only two options - hot or scalding.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2017

Very good hotel, fantastic dinner at the restaurant and everything ready when we arrived.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2017

Very acceptable room etc. Breakfast was fine. Over fussy about making a reservation for evening food - it's only a bar/ restaurant? Staff very pleasant and helpful. Will stay again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2017

A very pleasant stay. Love the room and leisure centre. Chef incredibly professional and person centered. Receptionist front of desk quite solemn.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2014

For a 4* hotel, it didn't meet expectations. The window in my room would not close properly so I could hear a lot of road noise, the hotel backs on to a motorway. The room was also not satisfactorily cleaned as there was rubbish under a locker beside my bed. The bed was also broken, the springs appeared to be broken in the mattress which meant the mattress was slanted on the base.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

Good.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2014

The hotel is very nice open and spacious. We only had breakfast there but it was lovely with plenty of choices and staff. The only problem we had was with the check in,it is very disorganized. I had requested an upgrade and that was confirmed but when I came to check in it was not there for me and no one seemed to know about it. Similarly when it came to check out on Sunday, there was only one receptionist on duty all morning despite the fact that the hotel was full for the weekend resulting in a lengthy queue.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2014

Very spacious triple room Enjoyed breakfast. There did seem to be a slight issue with the lift i.e. it seemed to take a long time to come & sometimes when you pressed the button the light didn't come on so you didn't know if it was working or not. Other than the lift issue everything was great and I would go back there again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

Excellent hotel very modern and clean. Large, bright, spacious well maintained room. very friendly staff. Breakfast finishing on a Sunday at 10 is a bit early though.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2013

We both really enjoyed our stay in the Rochestown Park Hotel where we were attending a wedding. The staff were lovely and friendly and the service was excellent. The food was superb, both at the wedding reception and at breakfast. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated and with some lovely finishing touches. This was our second visit to this hotel and have not been disappointed. Absolutely Loved It There.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Room was 27 degrees!!

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2013

We arrived at the Rochestown Park Hotel at about 2.30 in the afternoon. We were informed that there would be a short delay as our room had a late check out and it was being cleaned. The delay turned out longer than expected but the reception staff were very apologetic, kept us up to date, offered us refreshments and a dinner voucher for their restaurant that evening.We were attending a Family occasion that afternoon with food so we did not take up the offer, but the voucher was hand delivered to our room. On check out the next morning after an hour in the beautiful hotel pool the receptionist asked us did we enjoy our stay and would we care to stay for lunch as we did not use the dinner voucher! I was blown away with such fantastic service and genuine care and friendliness towards us, well done to all at the Rochestown Park Hotel, we will return.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2012

all in all an enjoyable stay.no bottled water in the room said it would have when booking the room with roomes . only one bedside lamp so i couldnt read.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

The Hotel was lovely modern and elegant, the staff we all very friendly and helpful and to be honest I could say enough about everyone we met anyway. The room we superb and my girlfriend was in her element with the monsoon shower. Lovely hotel in every way.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

Had a brilliant few days.. Rooms were unreal.. Stayed in a deluxe double room and it was massive.. Was booked in for 3 nights, it was so good we ended up staying an extra night! Pool and jacuzzi were lovely.. Staff were very helpfull and friendly.. Ordered food to the room on the last night and it was lovely too!! Would highly recommend this hotel!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2012

A little confusing with regard to the layout, but once this was learnt, then it was fine, room was very good, staff very efficient and friendly, and I enjoyed my stay, and would reccomend the hotel to anyone, that did not have to be in the centre of the city,

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork;From the 14th to 16 April inclusive I must say we were both very impressed with this hotel, It was clean and the staff were so courteous,Our room was so clean and relaxing, we could not find any fault with this Hotel and we will definitely visit again soon

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2012

hotel was lovely.breakfast was good.room was nice had a good weekend there.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

Hotel, Room and Staff were all good, as was food in the bistro. Only problem , I was there on a Thursday night for business and there was a student party in the hotel that night and they put me into a room overlooking the party. I didn't sleep until well after 2am with the noise. Common sence would put business guests on the opposite side to the party. Maybe they were full on that side, but thats my experience.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2012

After arriving to the Hotel, I followed the signage to Hotel Reception which took me to the BACK of The Hotel. Parked and headed for Reception , when I got in I had to walk up corridors, through doors to actually get to the hotel RECEPTION. A total Put Off. I felt it was Just Like a Maze. But everything else was fine ..

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2011

My stay at the Rochestown Park Hotel was good. I arrived late and initially got a room that was pretty cold, but between the receptionist and the porter I was provided with another that was fine. The leisure centre was great - a well equipped gym and a nice pool. Breakfast was quick, fresh and plentiful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Service was verry impressive as was the hotel overall

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2011

Rochestown Park Hotel is very obviously a beautiful hotel. However I regret to say that my recent experience there was not a totally positive one from a room perspective. I booked a single room and indeed that is what I got! The room was of matchbox proportions and quite claustrophobic. It was on the 5th Floor (522) and resembled more a store room than a hotel room with the single bed almost completely filling the room. I contacted reception and asked if I could be moved to an even slightly larger room as I was not feeling very comfortable and felt as I mentioned quite claustrophobic. I was told that they would check this out and get back to me shortly. I waited in the room for well over an hour and a half but nobody got back to me. I was very disappointed as I would expect greater levels of communication in a four star hotel. Additionally the window blind was stuck could not be pulled down which meant continuous light in the room the whole night. I would be very slow to reserve a room in this hotel in the future.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

I stayed in Rochestown Park earlier in the year and had no heisitation in returning for another visit. Lovely hotel, restaurant and staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

Great shower, the best Ive had in a hotel. Room small, hot A.C. noisy. No shower caps in hotel! Breakfast only O.K. Wont return.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

The hotel was beautiful, and the staff very friendly. Its was clean and well presented, the only problem was the lighting in the room, they really need on main light in the middle of the room, apart from that I would deffo stay there again. The wedding that we attended was amazing, the food 1st class and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

The staff were absolutely amazing. It's been a long time since I experienced staff that pleasant and well trained. Really liked the decor of the hotel and the atmosphere. Would definately stay there again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

fantastic loved every min there

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

Even though the food was excellent, the room was very disappointing. Quite small and the light shone in at the top of the curtains in the morning

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a wedding. The reception hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Our room was about 3 minutes away, making it ideal to go back to for a bit of peace. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay ! And of course brekkie was fab

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

breakfast, whilst plentiful, was disappointing. Rooms adequate, Hotel facilities and staff very good.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Room was small but adequate but storage space for clothing etc. was very poor. Rang room service at 9.30 a.m. and was instantly rejected for breakfast before I could say what I actually wanted. Informed that room service must be booked before 3.00 a.m. The restaurant was chaotic at 7.30 p.m. - having been approached by 3 different members of staff, we still did not have a table or a menu or even assurance as if and when we might served. Reception staff were very dismissive and off-hand. I would'nt stay again unless stuck for accommodation.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2011

Excellent welcome at this hotel by the staff. Very helpful with directions into Douglas and any other queries we had. Room was very clean if a little small. Overall I would recommend this hotel from an excellent value point of view

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2011

Excellent hotel. Stayed in the same hotel four / five years ago and thought it was very poor. Hotel has since been refurbished to a very high standard. I will stay in this hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently for two nights. I felt the reception at arrival was very poor and I was hardly acknowledge. The room was very small and generally did not enjoy my stay. The pool is its only saving grace and the staff in the bistro were excellent.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

We had a very nice stay in the Rochestown Park Hotel. We eat in the Bistro and that was fine. The bedroom was very nice, I think it was one of the newly decorated rooms. The lighting in the room was lovely. We stayed there on a Saturday night and was a little dissapointed that there was no music while we were having a few drinks. We had to walked down to a local pub for that. Staff were very friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

As we have come to expect our stay was very relaxing and most enjoyable. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were checked in very efficently. We already look forward to our next visit.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Very happy with the overall service which was provided from Roomex and throughout my stay at the Rochestown Park Hotel. This was expressed to the staff upon my departure.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

Nice looking hotel in own grounds on outskirts of Cork city. €18 from railway station in heavy traffic. Well appointed building. Room adaquate in size, great shower, but lighting too complicated and not bright enough for ageing eyes. Staff generally friendly and helpful, except for function manager who was "too busy" to help after a waitress spilled soup over my back. Later offered to have suit cleaned, but too late then for customer satisfaction.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Our recent visit to Rochestown Park Hotel was as usual most enjoyable. We arranged our trip so that we could meet with some old nursing colleagues with whom I trained 50 years ago! The new reception area really lends itself to a very relaxed get-together with friends. Our room too was without fault and as usual the staff were friendly and helpful.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2010

Upon first entering the reception area I was taken back by the unmissable clean and crisp look. Nice and friendly staff checked us in within a few minutes and I was shown where my room was. The room itself was very nice, clean towels and shampoo's etc. Large double bed and a single bed. For the money we paid it was very good. I would stay there again no doubt.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

Very nice hotel, extremely comfortable. Lovely foyer airy and bright. Really liked the green areas for sitting outside as so many Irish Hotels have lovely grounds but they are all golf courses with limited space to stroll after dinner. Very pleasant experience. Nice for families good leisure facilities.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

What a fantastic hotel, staff couldnt do enough and the rooms were amazing will definitely be going back

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2010

Great hotel. Very modern. Rooms very spacious. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2010

we stayed in the rochestown park hotel for a family wedding the staff were very friendly the food was superb a lot of my family stayed in the hotel with young children there were very happy with the hotel the lesure centre was outstanding I would recommond the hotel to anyone visiting douglas

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

I have stayed in this hotel before it was refurbished and it was great. It has now been upgraded and it is fantastic i love the new rooms with the mood lighting and it is really clean and welcoming.I look forward to staying there again very soon :)

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

Again a wonderful stay in this hotel. Booking in was painless and a lovely modern room with good shower facilities. Continental breakfast room service was quite nice but I would have liked the option of a full breakfast. Overall a lovely experience.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

The room in the hotel was the nicest part, it was nice and clean. The pool was nice also. The barfood menu wasn't bad value. The food was average but cold, it was very busy there that night. The chef slapped up the carvery breakfast with no attempt at presentation at all. This also was cold. It lacked a homely feel about it. Where we had breakfast the decor was dated. The breakfast cups were anything but clean. Overall it was good value for money for what we paid. But would be slow to return again.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2010

The Hotel room was beautiful, particularly the shower but unfortunately the room was beside a fire door which could be heard opening/shutting. There was obviously a party on in the hotel and the noise in the hallway kept waking me during the night with guests shouting and banging doors. Breakfast was good and the lobby is stunningly beautiful but without sleep, Id find it hard to recommend.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2010

Very comfortable, plenty of car park spaces. Great choice for breakfast. Enjoyed the big shower and the power jets on the side of the wall. Good location just five minute walk to the shopping centre.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast good. Room dust on ledge over bed, scum stains in shower, noted on 2nd morning. Painter touching up doors very strong smellof paint on corridor to room.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2009

Good in parts but not up to 4 star international standard. Room decor was trendy contemporary but functionally frustrating. For example, there were loads of multi-coloured lights but not enough light to comfortably read the newspaper . The space-age shower was a mystery to operate and the water was never warm enough even for a quick shower during my stay. An old tin bath would be preferable to a shower that is so poorly designed! Food in Bistro and breakfast room was good and staff pleasant.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

fantastic hotel really enjoyed the stay.Food excellent

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel. There were a few small technical problems with the TV in the room and the heating control as the hotel had very recently undergone extensive refurbishment. However, these were sorted out very quickly by the staff, who were extremely helpful and attentive. The room was very nicely designed and the walk-in shower supurb. The new facade, reception area and bar was also most impressive. We could not have asked for more.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

The hotel had recently refurbished and the quality of the rooms were fantastic, albeit not finished off with lights in the units still to be fitted. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We used the Bistro for dinner in the evening and ordered food at 8 pm and it arrived at 9.50 pm, after a few words with the waiting staff, who were very nice and tried to resolve the situation, however for five peoples fish and chips it was a bit of a wait, they did however give us a bottle of wine and the food on the house, perhaps some teething problems? They did also ask our room number, however to my knowledge there was no discount of the stay. Overall to be fair its a great hotel and would stay here again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2008

The hotel had just recently been renovated to a very high standard. Rooms were excellent with all the usual mod cons and some new additional aspects such as built in LCD TV, colur changing lighting, newly tiled bathroom and shower etc. Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and I also tried out the newly opened restaurant which too had very friendly staff and a competitively priced menu. Food was served promptly and was of a very high standard. Overall my stay was extremely pleasant and i will be returning to Rochestown Park again in the near future.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

The problem with this hotel is that it is under reconstruction and refurbishment, which was not mentioned at the time of booking. It is almost impossible to negotiate one's way around it at this time and the internal directional signage is very poor. Old signs for reception point towards windows or blocked up doorways. To get from reception to the dining area and bar involved a trek through a maze of corridors. To get from floor to floor was only possible with great difficulty; corridors ended up in deadends and back you went to try the lift, which brought you part of the way. Great practice if you were interested in orienteering! We met many guests wandering the corridors trying to find their way around - it wasn't just us! Our party of four travelled from Wexford to Cork (three hours almost by car) to attend a wedding. I rang two days in advance to specifically request that we be facilitated by having somewhere to change our clothes and freshen up before going on to the church for 2pm. I was told that check-out time was 12.00 but they would put a note on the computer and would do what they could. We arrived at 11.15 and I again re-iterated our request. Nothing was available yet. Tried again at 12; still nothing. We eventually got one room on the fifth floor at 1pm. The two men changed first and vacated the room for the two ladies; there was no time for showers or anything, just change clothes. We had to leave at 1.40 to be at the church on time. The second room was available on our return from the church at 3.30 on the 2nd floor; had then to transfer luggage from room on 5th floor. I found reception was not all that helpful over this issue and felt that more effort could have been made.Surely everyone was not checking out at 12 or later; you would expect that at least some rooms would be available earlier than that, even on a temporary basis. On the positive side, the rooms themselves were quite good with good facilities. The 5th floor double had been modernised and had excellent shower facilities. The 2nd floor twin room was of an older vintage but was quite roomy and very satisfactory. The breakfast was good also the next morning. Staff generally were friendly and cheerful. Even taking into account the building work that was going on, there are a couple of points which lead me to give the below average rating I have given: the website should have pointed out that some disruption might be possible due to the refurbishment; some warning should have been given. the signage was pretty poor; the effort to accommodate our request for changing facilities was poor. That said, I would be prepared to give the place a try when all the work is finished and I would be interested to see what it is like under more favourable circumstances.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Even though the hotel is currently under renovations we didn't let this put us off staying here. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms which are very tastefully decorated and cosy. As it is under renovations both the bar & restaurant are together so you have to have a drink in the restaurant which isn't an ideal setting, still it's very centrally located so no problem for us to go out instead. Also the hallways are a bit messed up but we figured this will be a class hotel when the work is complete & as we were only there for one night we couldn't complain at all.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

This was my second time to use the hotel and i must say that while this time i was attending a wedding reception and staying overnight, we were affected by the building in progress.To get to the room on the 1st floor,we had to go to the 2nd walk to a different section and get a different lift back to the 1st, walk back to our section.The wedding reception was excellent,the food and facilities and staff were top class. Breakfast was minus the toast and the tea was made a long time.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

Small bit of reconstruction going on otherwise the hotel is fabulous, should be finished in a few weeks, didn't disrupt my stay. Roomex prices were very reasonable as I had expected to pay more for the hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

We were there for a wedding and enjoyed our stay. Wedding meal and breakfast the following morning very good. HOWEVER A LOT OF CONSTRUCTION GOING ON AT MOMENT SO HAD TO GET TWO LIFTS AND WALK TO OUR ROOM BUT ROOM VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The Room were lovely and cosy

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

we were in Cork for a family reunion, The noise levels from construction were annoying. Restaurant was a bar converted and very tight for room at the tables

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Despite booking online at a very reasonable price, we had the pleasure of one of the newly renovated rooms,very stylish decor, power shower with massage jets, flat-screen TV, coloured LED lights over bed which could change colour.This completely made up for the ongoing renovation work in the hotel and its ensuing disturbance to the grounds.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

fab hotel. room as very clean and spacious.there for a wedding. food was great and piping hot. staff were fantastic. will definetly stay here again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Some construction work going on in the hotel caused some unconvience but not so much that i wouldnt stay again..

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our break at your hotel, at first I was disappointed to discover that there were renavations going on at the hotel. This did not affect our stay as we were well looked after during our meals in the breakfast area. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We will definitely go back for a break from the "KIDS" or we might just bring them with us as you provide brilliant facilities for families. Thank you.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2008

Hi We realy enjoyed our stay at Rochestown Park Hotel although the hotel was in the middle of some major refurbishments it was still a very ejoyable and plesent stay. One area which really stood out for me was the staff in the bar/dining area they were so nice and friendly something which is great to see . The rooms were very spaceous and clean and the noise levels were zero which is a very important factor for me in hotel stays. I will be going back to stay in this hotel again as I cant wait to see it when they finish sll their work

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Our stay in the Rochestown Park hotel certainly was an experience! I booked this hotel as a birthday present for my boyfriend. Having looked it up on the internet, it seemed impressive and worthy of 4 star status, however in reality this was not the case! On arrival, the hotel resembeled a building site more so than a hotel. There was a make shift entrance, with a note from management apologising for the poor facade as the hotel was undergoing refurbishment. THe reception area was also makeshift, which was unimpressive but understandable. The lift was in poor condition, the buttons on the door were hanging out of the sockets and the lobby area of the floor we were staying on had tester paint on the walls and dirty footmarks on the carpet. THe room itself was in the "new" part of the hotel. It was average in size, but the view was less than exemplary. When we opened the curtains, the view consisted of scaffolding and building works. While it was understandable that the scenery was distasteful due to renovations, there was no excuse for the lack of communication concerning the wake up call was received at 7am Monday morning. Hammering, banging and knocking was heard right ouside our window, and when I opened the curtains, there was a friendly builder looking in! The light in the room kept flickering all night and when I mentioned this and other concerns to the receptionist on checkout, she was quite indifferent and unhelpful. I understand that when there is work being done, the normal routine and appearance of a building can be altered. However, there was no mention or note of this when I researched the hotel on the net or when I phoned them prior to our arrival. If I had known that this was the case, I would have booked another hotel in the area. The Rochestown Park hotel merited a 1 star status and certainly not 4 star!!! I was very disappionted with it and we do not plan to stay there again in the future.

Rating: 1/5
1 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

The hotel is currently under renovation so parts of it are like a building site. It is difficult to find the reception area and it is also located a long distance from the restaurant. The lounge area is currently closed but you can be served the full bar menu in the restaurant. The new rooms are excellent with modern facilities, flat screen TV, mood lighting etc Although the TV control is a bit messy as you need two remotes to make it work. The new showers are excellent. It should be really good once the renovations are completed.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

The rooms in the Hotel have just been refitted, They are superb, with a walk in shower and comfortable bed. The only thing was the temporary reception area, as works needed to be done. I was not told of these works at time of booking! This did not effect my stay, overall I was pleased with the value for money, clean and good food.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

still undergoing huge revamp. Fantastic large room complete with lcd mood lighting, great comfy bed and plasma tv...amazing walk-in shower. Ample parking. BUT sadly a dingy restaurant cum breakfast area which is also the bar/ late bar. Why couldn't they update this area first? so offputting- feel like a 2-3 star hotel because of it. Go out in Douglas for a meal and Barry's for drinks which is a short taxi fare away (5mins).

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

With all the renovations going on in the hotel, it is hard to give a satisfactory rating. However, we were made aware of the renovations prior to confirming our booking.

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

The price was reasonable and the room booked was fine but close to a slamming door adjacent to reception - were moved without fuss to a different room however this one fronted onto an area where construction was underway complete with jackhammers etc. It was however OK later at night. Would probably stay again at the price we paid but I suspect after renovations are complete that might change

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2008

Rochestown Park Hotel is well located , close to the beautiful village of Douglas. It is set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by magnificent trees. Extensive work is being carried out on the hotel however any inconvenience is negated by the friendly staff . Particular compliments must be made to Vourneen at the front desk and other reception staff . The rooms are tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are of a very high quality with both a bath and a shower. Breakfast is beautiful with fresh fruit,cereals,pastries,homemade brown and white breads and a hot breakfast was served. I would confidently recommend Rochestown Park Hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Due to the renovations presently in progress we did not find our stay as relaxing as usual. This is of course understandble but disappointing. The staff were as pleasant and helpful as usual and our room comfortable.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Unfortunate start with room keys had to down to reception three times before we could get into our room.Next day locked out of our room again after 12 PM.Hotel undergoing renevations but will be very good when finished.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

We were at a large function approx 200 people, the food was excellent, the staff attentive and our rooms were up to date, comfortable and were not noisy despite the number of people in the hotel and also the fact that renovation work was taking place at the time. I woud definitely stay in this hotel again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Enjoyed this Hotel , found staff very friendly and helpful but as there is quite a big construction job going on at the moment it was a bit scattered , dificult to find your room etc but I would love to revisit when all improvments are finished. I would definitly recommend it for a Wedding or any Function as we were attending same and it was excellent.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2008

Room was excellent. Very clean and tidy. Shower and bathroom were very spacious. Shower was superb. Breakfast was a delight. I really enjoyed my two night visit and hopefully will get an opportunity to visit Rochestown Park Hotel again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Overall my stay was satisfactory however on arrival I indicated that my companion had limited mobility. I was told that the room allocated was the closest available and given directions how to get there. It was at ground floor level. The route to the room involved walking down steps and several corridors before reaching the room. I met a member of staff how indicated another simpler route which involved taking a short corrider to the lift and then going down one floor. I was annoyed that this route was not indicated on check in. I also complained on arrival that the disabled parking space was occupied by a car not displaying a disabled parking badge. Nothing was done to rectify this. All other staff and amenities were satisfactory.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2008

Excellent hotel with great customer service. Room ex service excellent with no problems with booking. Many thanks

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

all ok, large and clean rooms, great breakfast

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Myself and my friend really enjoyed our stay in the Rochestown Hotel in Douglas, Cork. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All of the meals were lovely, and we enjoyed our few drinks in the bar also. As we are both wheelchair users, we found the accessibility to be very good in general, but the ramp on the way to the bar is quite steep and my friend had difficulty going up it, though the friendly staff did help her. However, this ramp could become potentially dangerous due to how the staff from reception may be in a hurry coming through the door and could accidentally hit into any disabled guests that might be going up it. It may also be dangerous for non-disabled guests in such an instance. Thank you for your time, I would gladly stay again. Kind regads; - Ann Sinclair

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in April 2008

Excellent location, straight off the Main Road, great sign posts finding the hotel, spotlessly clean hotel, pool was fantastic especially for the other half who isnt a great swimmer. breakfast was the best meal of the day! Shopping centre just down the road in Douglas, great bus service into cork city, room had seperate shower and bath, heated towel rail and both heating and airconditioning! not to mention the great price from Roomex! will definatly be back again!!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

After watching Ruth Watson the Hotel Inspector on TV3 I visited this hotel with her hat on . The reception was clean and well staffed . After getting my room and leaving my luggage in it I and my partner went out for the evening. The bed linen was clean but I could not say the same for the windows which were very dirty.On monday morning we got up and my partner pointed out to me that the ledges above the bed and around the mirror were very dusty a no no for the hotel inspector I also noticed a crack in the cornish plaster above the mirror.we left the room and went for breakfast. The breakfast room was busy but my partner noticed that part of the carpet had tape covering it another no no for the hotel inspector again she noticed dust on the ledge beside our table. We had our breakfast and went out for the day . On Tuesday morning I looked out the window to check the weather and noticed a cutting from a nail that was not there the day before we went and had our breakfast but noticed on the corridor a piece of a potted plant lying beside a radiator. On returning to our room we passed the piece of plant still on the floor and also noticed a member of staff walking past it.As we were leaving after our stay I notice the plant was still on the floor and another couple of staff passed it by without picking it up. It is my opinion that the standards at this hotel have fallen and only that I got this booking at such a good rate I would not have stayed at this hotel. I would not think that the rate charged by the hotel on its own website was good value.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

Staff were what you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Certainly no complaints there. We were given a smoking room (without consultation) in which everything in room from carpets to bed linen to curtains stank of smoke. The room was also located on an inner square and was overlooked by two busy coridors so all other guests could look directly into our room. Lastly the room was located on the fifth floor which was served by extremely slow lifts. If other guests had called lifts from other floors it could take an eternity for the lifts to arrive.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

excellent service from very nice staff and very clean rooms

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

very nice hotel, double beds were a little small in size but overall the hotel was lovely

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

We were here for a wedding which went good . But the crac in the residence bar was spoiled by a group of Westmeath footballers , who I think played Cork earlier that night . The bar manager on the night was terrible and dealt with the situation poorly . Bride + groom very upset by a lot of rude and boisterous shouting and roaring !!!!!

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

standard double room but had extra single bed so loads of space was very happy overall and good value for money thanks to roomex.com

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

This is a very comfortable hotel with great facilities and location. The staff are very frindly and helpful. The food, drink and gym are superb. However the swimming pool is a little dissapointing with a small dressing room.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2008

I have used this hotel a number of times when in the Cork area and always find the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable, a nice atmosphere in the bar where I have eaten from a good and varied menu. There is lots of parking and a good location for the main roads and airport. All in all an excellent venue

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Very nice hotel with the staff being excellent. One small issue was they dont deliver cooked breakfast in their room service package. Otherwise we have a great time. John

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Our stay in Rochestown park hotel was a delight. Very easy to find and only a stone throw away from Cork city. here was a beautiful SPA in the hotel whihc was wonderfull . The bar food was great and there always seemed to be buzz around the place. We headed into Douglas village a couple of nights whihc is only a 5 minute walk away and the hotel staff were very good in telling where the in places were in the village .

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

As previous visitors to Rochestown Park on a number of occassions, we were not disappointed once again. The courtesy and friendliness of the staff and the comfort of our accommodation was as consistent and wonderful as ever - from reception to room service,to housekeeping, to leisure centre and dining room - we experienced it all. The purpose of our stay was to visit our only grandson who lives nearby and who has just started to walk. One would imagine that he would not be welcomed in the dining room for dinner that evening, but in true friendly and tolerant fashion the staff were more than happy to accommodate us. Even when our little grandson took on the role of 'Maitre D'' and insisted on checking out the other diners, they regarded him with humour and patience. There were other infants in the dining room that evening, and I couldn't help but wonder if the real Maitre D' thought he was running a creche! But there was not a sign or gesture of frustration or annoyance from him or his staff.A lovely atmosphere prevailed, and we were able to enjoy our precious time with our little grandson and his parents - a rare treat for us as we live in Dublin and do not have the opportunity of seeing them very often. Thank you for your part in contributing to our pleasure and enjoyment. We will be back!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

A pleasant welcome at the reception desk. Waited a few minutes to receive this as the two ladies behind the ocunter were procesing other bookings. The public areas in the hotel are now refurbished to a high standard. Our rooom was OK - bed cover a little worn and we had a double and a single. Bathroom clean - bath and separate shower and both were sparkling. Some of the rooms over the main entrance can be a bit noisy (people going out to stand outside and smoke now that smoking is banned indoors) (they like to talk and smoke at the same time!), but our room this time was at the side and it was quiet and we slept well. Breakfast is usually well attended, and you wait to be assigned a table, after which you can get a danish or two, or a hot breakfast, juices and cereals yourself, and the staff bring you coffee or tea and toast. If you need help there are enough staff on hand it is no problem. Lunch is amazing there - not the food, although it is pretty good. No, the comment is in regard to the number of middle-aged people who go there for lunch - possibly the only hot meal of the day - service is good. You queue for your main course, and the staff will bring dessert to you, and are seen helping some of the older people to their tables, carrying their trays etc. The lobby has seating areas where you can wait, or have tea and scones, and it is a great place to sit when the hotel is busy, as you can watch the world go by, and for some people the high point of having afternoon tea there is seeing the bride arrive for the wedding reception. You are within 5 minutes' walk of a large shopping centre, Douglas Court, and the area is one of the premier areas in Cork (two local comedians, Cha and Mia (pronounced My-a), say that "de Rochestown Road is de new Montenotte" (referring to another "desirable" residential area in Cork!)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2008

Typical Business hotel. Everthing works but hotel is very in personal and charm.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

As regular visitors to Rochestown Park Hotel we rate it highly as a place to get away from it all and relax. As usual our most recent visit went without a hitch----superb food,friendly and helpful staff and we know that the standard of cleanliness of our room never varies. Overall an excellent visit. Miriam Fitt.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

The hotel room was lovely, however wi-fi did not work and there was no-one available in the hotel to fix it. I drove to the Maryborough house hotel when I left Rochestown Park and I successfully connected to the wireless connection there so there must be an error with the wi-fi in Rochestown Park.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Free wi-fi broadband access, gym + pool. Excellent experience!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

I stay there regularly. the Only down side is the breakfast, sometimes the mushrooms, sausages etc are not very tempting. Bar food and atmosphere excellent, pool and gym is exellenent, rooms are spacious ( do not go for the single rooms, they are tiny )

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Accomodation was very good. Also we needed internet access in the hotel and they couldnt have been more helpful in dealing with our queries.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

We really enjoyed our weekend break at this hotel. Everything was of the highest quality. All staff were very helpful and courteous. Two of our friends joined us for dinner on Saturday night and the wine,food and service was excellent.We used all the facilities in the very modern and clean leisure centre, and I enjoyed a very relaxing seaweed wrap and facial.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

The location of the hotel (set within landscaped grounds, a bit out of the city) was nice. The hotel is in a process of extending or renovating and parts of the hotel were closed off. This meant that not all rooms were lift accessible and directional signs along convoluted routes to various parts of the building were ambiguous. This caused some confusion and mild annoyance on arrival. The hotel rooms were well equipped and spacious but they and the hotel in general are probably ready for a bit of a facelift. Conference room was spacious and bright. Service at breakfast was only fair - had to ask twice for a coffee and then a cup of coffee (not a pot) was served. The hotel was fine for a business stay.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Staff where very pleasent and professional the food was delicous i was surprised at the size, decor and cleanliness of my room definately worth a visit whether it be on a business trip or leisure you will certainly enjoy your stay here!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

the corridors were freezing it was a 4 star hotel there was no restaurant open at night only bar rest which we were not told of and the same food was on both nights we were there not a 4 star experience

Rating: 2/5
2 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

enjoyed our stay, facilities superb,a great way to spend my birthday especially as it was a surprise.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Hotel very comfortable, food in bar good. However I rang for room service next morning only to be advised that I could not have a cooked breakfast in my room. I expect better from a 4* hotel. The least they could have done was put these details in the room information folder under room service. I complained at the front desk and was advised they get a lot of complaints about this, If they do surely this should tell them something.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2008

Very nice ordinary hotel - nothing too outstandingly good or bad about it. I like the fact that they put bottled water in the bedroom. I didn't like the fact that when we asked them to call us a taxi, the receptionist - who wasn't busy at the time - pointed to a courtesy taxi phone on the desk and said "Use that".

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

Just there for one night, wish it was longer. The room was really comfortable and luxurious with all the extras included as standard. The hotel is spacious with a lovely air of relaxation about the place. The staff were very helpful and the food excellent. It was a perfect location with a lovely setting.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

I stayed in Roachestown Park Hotel for 2 nights 22-24th Dec 2007.I must say the staff were very helpful and also very frienly and chatty. I was very happy wit my stay and very relaxed there too! I will be goin back there very soon again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

As regular visitors to Rochestown Park Hotel booked through Roomex we can only say that we always find the staff very welcoming and the rooms are very relaxing. The hotel itself is very well situated for trips to the city center or short sightseeing drives. We look forward to many more visits in 2008.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

I booked all my family into rochestown park hotel a total of 5 rooms.. all my family enjoyed their stay.. The rooms were lovely and spacious, room service was excellent. the location of the hotel was perfect only 5 mins from the douglas village and about 10mins by car for city center. "Excellent"!!!!

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2007

It was fine, a bit cold though

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Could not fault this hotel in any way! The staff were really welcoming, the hotel setting was supurb and the room was very clean. Not one fault that I could find with this hotel.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a conference and to meet friends. The conference hall was designed and set up beautifully, everything finished off to the highest quality. Our room was about 3 minutes away, making it ideal. You couldn't fault the room in any way, being clean and tidy with the usual comforts, the way a 4 star hotel room should be. Staff very friendly, all in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay ! the leisure centre is first class and a great way to unwind.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Food lovely, hotel very clean and nice to stay in, but no heating in room first night. Reported to reception and was changed to a different room but still had the same problem. Therefore the room was very uncomfortable. The next night the heating was on and was a pleasure to stay in.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Staff were very nice and helpful, the food was nice but the room was cold and a bit smelly, musky old smell.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

We had a great weekend whilst in Cork. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. The only problems that we had whilst there was that the cleaning staff knocked and entered our room even tough we had a do not disturb sign on the door and also the chef serving the hot food for breakfast was very off hand. On the plus side of things, the food in the restaurant was absolutely georgous. We stayed there last Feb and that was the main reason for going back as we have not had a meal like it anywhere else. Also the staff in the bar were so friendly. There was a debs or ball on down there when we were there but they made sure that the residents were looked after quickly and promptly. Also the price is very reasonable for dining. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone just looking to relax and take it easy. Will def be going again.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I was there overnight to attend a conference. The room was nice, big, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was satisfactory. I was disappointed that the dining room was closed for evening meal. Bar-food was good but limited and bar-staff friendly and helpful. Reception staff were efficient.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

rooms were spacious and very clean. bathroom was also spotless. staff are friendly.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

we stayed for one night as we were attending a function which was also being held in the hotel. the function halls were excellent with friendly bar staff and excellent entertainment, the drink however was rather steeply priced but nothing out of the ordinry for a hotel. Afterward a residence bar was available which stayed open well into the next morning! When we returned to our rooms we were delighted to learn that we could order freshly made sandwiches to our rooms, the food was delicious and served to an exceptional standard. one could argue that the most important thing when staying in a hotel is the comfort of the bed, lets be honest theres nothing worse than going away for a night and limping around the next day with lower back pain! well that wont be a problem here as the beds are probably the most comfortable i have ever stayed in away from home. all in all the rooms were thourougly cleaned, the facilities were excellent and the staff were very friendly, very much recommended

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

The room was close to reception yet very quiet. Check in and out was very quick which suited me fine. The room itself was excellent value, a perfect temperature, immaculate and well stocked with everything i required. Breakfast was great with a superb choice and friendly staff.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Very comfortible hotel and a great location to explore the Cork Area.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I have stayed in the RPH too many times to mention and it is always fantastic. Their leisure centre is second to none. Lovely hot jacuzzi is a must. Will go back over and over and over and over (if 1800hotels keeps the price down!). It is cheaper to book through this website than any other one. Something to bear in mind! DM from Ballydehob

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

I have stayed in the RPH too many times to mention and it is always fantastic. Their leisure centre is second to none. Lovely hot jacuzzi is a must. Will go back over and over and over and over (if roomex keeps the price down!). It is cheaper to book through this website than any other one. Something to bear in mind!

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in November 2007

Over all I found my stay very pleasent in this hotel. The hotel staff from reception,lounge and restuarant were very helpful and willing to please. I would have no hesiation in returning to Rochestown Park Hotel at any time in the future or recommending it to friends.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5