Talbot Hotel Carlow Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland

Also known as: Talbot Hotel Carlow
8/10.0 Based on 20 reviews.

Here are the latest reviews for Talbot Hotel Carlow

Our Customer stayed here in January 2015

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Talbot hotel Carlow. The staff were very welcoming, rooms airy and big, beautiful views over the countryside, and a great rate from Roomex, best online as far as I could see and wondering why I missed this site before. The breakfast was really good. Our tv wasn't working and within minutes they changed the batteries on the remote. Will return there again and also to Roomex.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2014

The hotel is clean & has very good facilities/ amenities. The breakfast is great. The hotel is well situated. The rooms are not sound proof so if you're a light sleeper this may be an issue for you. The biggest asset is the staff. They are all lovely & friendly especially Conor in the bar/ restaurant who is one of the friendliest staff members I've ever come across, made us feel super -welcome. One thing to note; order the steak if eating in the restaurant, it's one of the best I've ever had (and I like my steak!).

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2014

Quality and standard of the set up of breakfast was very poor

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and good service all round.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in July 2013

Spent 6 nights in the Talbot, enjoyed it from start to finish, all staff very helpful and friendly, food was that good we ate there 5 of our 6 nights trying different dishes each night, great value for our stay, would give 5 stars only for no air-con and the week we stayed we had some extremely warm weather hitting close to the 30's most days, would have no problems going back to this hotel :-)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2013

The hotel is nice and the staff are nice. But the room and food had more of a feel of a good *** hotel as opposed to **** hotel. The room etc. were all very clean. But given the price of the stay, I would have expected a small bit better.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2012

I thought the hotel itself was lovely, large rooms, very clean & good facilities. The only negative thing I would say is that we found the bar staff & breakfast waitress very unfriendly & slightly rude.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in August 2012

I could not have asked for better service, all the staff were friendly and efficient. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. I hope I get the opportunity to stay in The Talbot Hotel soon again.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2012

staff were very friendly....we arrived too early and our triple room was not ready which was no problem for us...we had lunch, and later left for the town.....we did not arrive back till later that night and the night porter brought our bags up for us. but they had not put the extra bed in our room there was not enough towels for 3 of us and only 2 cups for tea....so they had not bothered to sort pour triple room it was only suitable for 2. the towels were so hard and looked like they were very old. it wouldnt stop me returning to the hotel but i will be letting them know when i book again the problems i had....and no low fat milk........

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

I would not rate the hotel 4 star. My 3 friends and I availed of a b&b and dinner deal for €58 each. Reception was not friendly, rooms were ok. Shower was dreadful. Shower unit over the bath which sprayed water everywhere. Beds were comfortable and there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There was also an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The bed was very comfortable. Dinner was good. However, breakfast was a very disorganised affair. The waitress would not leave the teapot and coffee pot on our table and we had to look for her to get a second cup. When we asked for brown bread we were told that there was none left. All in all it is a very good deal for the price. There was music in the bar that night and there was a good athmosphere. However, I have stayed at another hotel for a similar deal and found it much better.

Rating: 3/5
3 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in February 2012

I attended a friend's wedding at the hotel. Everything was great from the accomodation to the food. Totally enjoyed my time there.

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

attended my nephews wedding last week. staff very friendly and helpfull. food excellent and breakfast was top class. very pleasant stay .will return. thank you

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding the receptionist was very pleasant and the room was lovely breakfast was a bit hit and miss no teapots available so we were given watery tastless tea and a couple of other small little issues but overall really enjoyed our stay and would stay again

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2011

Lovely hotel, very comfortable room, delicious food ,,, cannot wait to go again

Rating: 5/5
5 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in June 2011

Stayed here on the 19th June 2011. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from. Would definitely recommend and stay here again :)

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in May 2011

Really enjoyed my/our time @ the Talbot. Reception/general hotel staff and bar staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was lovely: Good size, very clean and cozy. Only aspect of my two nights there I didn't like as much as the rest was the restaurant. By the time we were seated, had a starter, main and dessert we had been in the restaurant for 35-40 minutes... hardly relaxing time. But other than that I/we really enjoyed our stay at the Talbot hotel

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in March 2011

A group of us stayed in the hotel for just one night, we were instantly impressed with the standard of the rooms. All the aspects you would expect, it was clean and tidy. although we didnt have much dealings with them the staff were helpful and the food in the bar was good and seemed to be very family friendly judging by the amount of people with small children eating there. the taxi into town was around ten euro but there was no problem getting a taxi into and back out of town.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in January 2011

Lovely hotel. Lovely room. Very poor shower

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in December 2010

We recently stayed in the Talbot and had a lovely time. We had some bar food when we arrived and it was really lovely. The decor in the Bistro could be a little less haphazard. The rooms were well decorated and very clean, beds comfortable and room warm but not over hot! Didn't manage to make it for breakfast but my friends told me it was lovely and lots of everything.

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5
Our Customer stayed here in September 2008

The staff was wonderful, hotel was clean and roomy, great bar area. Sound proofing is not good for a new hotel, the band could be heard easily late into the night

Rating: 4/5
4 out of 5